Cane Toad
Just wondering if you guys care to share a few ideas of where I can purchase
camping items.
For instance last week I priced up a large tarp and poles at a few shops but found exactly the same brand tarp and similar poles online for 40% less and delivered to my door within 48 hours.
Where do you
shop?
Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 15:05
Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 15:05
Bought my OzTent RV3 via the trader here, complete with OzPod. (Thanks Ed for the help, hope you enjoyed the Anne Beadell)
I bought the rope (sold as anchor rope), wooden blocks and springs in bulk from the local hardware for the tarp ropes I required and one night whilst watching the idiot box I spliced in the eye's for the pole end and attached the other bits. I got I think about about 25 guy ropes with springs for about $2.30 each.
Shopped around for my
camp ovens, can't remember for the life of me where I got them but it was very important to me they are Australian made. (How old must they be??)
My 25 year old Engel fridge I bought new as a
shop second from the local electrical wholesaler. Paid about $150 for it when the retail was about $250.
I guess I'm saying if you can make it, then make it. If you can't, keep your eye's open as there are bargains to be had if you are patient. That's the key, know what you really want and be patient.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: _gmd_pps - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 16:29
Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 16:29
online - mostly - ebay quite a bit - actually have 19 items on my won list right now,
or
Ranger when they have a 40% off day, but only certain items.
But we do not use much "Camping" gear since most is in our truck camper
anyway. All smaller items I buy from Hong Kong or USA.
Australian importers or manufacturers need to learn about competitive pricing.
Pricing too high should get them "nothing".
Goretex clothing for example is around 60-70% cheaper in the US.
When we want quality we exclusively buy in Europe, have items sent to friends
and they send it here.
good luck
gmd
Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 16:51
Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 16:51
i give hints and wate for a birthday or fathers day to come along.
Murray
Reply By: justmyage - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 16:59
Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 16:59
What are u looking for ?? I have an Oztrail 10 man tent I want to get rid of. Used twice perfect condition .2 sleeping bags as
well
Reply By: Madfisher - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 18:14
Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 18:14
Just purchased a cabin tent from Kangaroo tent City in Penrith. Great service and great price.
Reply By: 3.0turbob - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 19:43
Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 19:43
I've accumulated my gear over the past 20 odd years, buying items as I required them, K-Mart, Boot's
Camping, Caravan &
Camping Shows (bought my Autofridge at the Rosehill C&C show) Camper trailer from a local company in
Sydney. Now I reckon I can travel lighter than I used to, so leave things that don't get used all that often at home......
Rob
Reply By: Mrbrush - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 20:38
Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 20:38
That didn`t work for me, I bought a large quality tarp off ebay. Cost $120 delivered.
One week later I saw the identical tarp for $100 at my local
camping store.
Stupid thing was I have bought heaps of gear from them and knew they had good prices,
But thought I would surely get a better price online.
Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 22:22
Saturday, Sep 05, 2009 at 22:22
Sister works at bcf, or i go to campping country here in belmont nsw. Top service from
camping country, have bought a lot from them and still go to them for advice and service. my sister for the really expensivestuff!!!
Follow Up By: didiaust - Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 07:45
Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 07:45
Also a big fan of
Camping Country Belmont. Great staff & service- nothing a problem. I mangae to still buy lots a garrage sales. All the
camp ovens have cost me $1 to $2. Just bought the cutiest little
camp over last week - can wait to try it out - perfect size for a damper for 2 . I love the thrill of the bargain.
Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 08:54
Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 08:54
Hey Didiaust, which part of newie you from? I also noticed Geoff is a newie bloke aswell.
We are not alone here!!!
Follow Up By: didiaust - Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 20:25
Sunday, Sep 06, 2009 at 20:25
G'day We are in Belmont North. I work In Charlestown.
Moving to
Macksville with in the next few years.
Di
Reply By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 04:42
Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 04:42
My wife has worked in our local
camping store for the last couple of years! we are pretty lucky, as the owners love her, and most of our stuff we get is cost price if not we get a hefty discount! you would not believe the mark up from cost price to recommended retail from manufacturers, it is astronomical!
internet buying is so much cheaper as it cuts out the middle man, and buying good quality second hand is always cost effective!
Reply By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 04:57
Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 04:57
My wife has worked in our local
camping store for the last couple of years! we are pretty lucky, as the owners love her, and most of our stuff we get is cost price if not we get a hefty discount! you would not believe the mark up from cost price to recommended retail from manufacturers, it is astronomical!
internet buying is so much cheaper as it cuts out the middle man, and buying good quality second hand is always cost effective!
Follow Up By: Member - Jo Q (NSW) - Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 10:12
Monday, Sep 07, 2009 at 10:12
Like everyone else, I tend to keep an eye out for sales. Rays Great Outdoors and Anaconda often have great discounts for a couple of days at time. Some of my stuff has also come from K-mart, BCF and Kathmandu. Also got my camper from the
Sydney caravan and
camping show - it was the display model - brand new, but saved about $2500.
Reply By: bazza bushman - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 01:18