Discovery 4
Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 17:01
Topend
Anyone know when the Discovery 4 is due to be released in Australia. Hopefully Landrover can keep the pricing close to the outgoing Discovery 3.
New 3.0 twin turbo diesel looks good with 600nm.
Reply By: Member - Timbo - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 17:17
Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 17:17
"Late this year" according to
this article.
Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 17:30
Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 17:30
New Car Diary gives an expected arrival of October 2009.
Reply By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 20:38
Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 20:38
What"s the use of realeasing the thing in OZ, when the dealerships aren't here to support the product??, I am a die hard landy supporter, But just can't see the product excelling in sales until they get off their rear ends and market the vehicle properly!, Its a shame because the disco 3 "IS" a very good unit, so if they have improved off this model then the Discovery 4 should be a cracker!!. My thoughts only......LOL.
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 20:56
Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 20:56
Axle
"Its a shame because the disco 3 "IS" a very good unit, so if they have improved off this model then the Discovery 4 should be a cracker!!."
Grammatically I think that should read "Bomb" not cracker. LOL. Just kidding mate.
You are right about support, in all of
Sydney there are maybe only 3-4 dealers for a
population of near 4million people.
Cheers, Colin.
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 21:13
Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 21:13
Hi Colin,
Its hard to know what their thinking!, Just maybe landrover think that their vehicles are so reliable their customers don't need any support when off the beaten track!!..LOLlol. ...And just maybe Toyo have a dealer on every corner of every town in this country because their worried about their product making the distance!...hahahahaha,!! "The mind Boggles".
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 21:20
Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 21:20
"In all of
Sydney there are maybe only 3-4 dealers"
Isn't that all they need given there is only 3 or 4 Disco's in all of
Sydney?? :-))
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 21:32
Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 21:32
HERE we go Again!!!.
Axle.
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 21:33
Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 21:33
Axle & John
well done boys, 2 good retorts.
Colin
Follow Up By: AlanTH - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 22:17
Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 22:17
My thoughts exactly Axle, I've gone to the darkside after one problem which couldn't be fixed anywhere except
Perth.
I had extended the warranty after the 3 year original had run out and LRA/RACWA couldn't have responded better, immediately offering to take the vehicle (Td5 Defender) plus camper back to
Perth or on to
Karratha where there was a dealer at that time.
Pity the lack of interest by Austrans meant it took 3 weeks to get it back to
Perth!!!
I met another longtime LR owner in Quobba last week who's doing the same thing and going Jap after having to be flatbedded 1500 kays back to a dealer in Q/Land after a gearbox failure, and finding that although
Darwin was closer it couldn't be fixed there.
LR obviously don't want to be bothered with those that either live out of town or venture away from it.
Alan.
Follow Up By: OREJAP - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 22:51
Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 22:51
The disco 3 was winning hands down in the 4WD Action FWDOTYear a couple of years ago until it was driven across a
creek crossing in Nth QLD. All the other vehicles made it but not the disco. Landrover accused the magazine of using the vehicle inappropriately & all types of letters were exchanged by the Mag crew & LRA (allegedly). Finally LRA issued an apology (after legal action was threatened. allegedly) to the mag when the latter offered all of their video footage & still shots of all vehicles making the crossing. Every vehicle had a car bra fitted & the only vehicle to fail...disco 3. This type of poor publicity time & time again brings the disco down. I have had Rangies & disco's that were good cars, however the old reliable Tojo, Pootrol & Pajero are just that reliable. I am not knockung the Disco I am just giving an opinion...imagine paying $87,000 for a topline Disco, pack your family up and put the C/T on behind & get up Nth of
Townsville following other friends in their 4x4 and your vehicle just stops & must be flat topped towed back to
Townsville!!! LRA MUST give the motoring public faith in the vehicle they produce by doing what Mitsubishi Motors have done 5 year Road side assist,5 year warranty & 10 years warranty on driveline & motor. THEN they will sell more vehicles & possibly instill some degree of faith in their vehicle.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 23:33
Tuesday, Sep 08, 2009 at 23:33
"The disco 3 was winning hands down in the 4WD Action FWDOTYear a couple of years ago"
Yeah until LRA pulled the advertising spend with the respective magazine and the mags suddenly changed their mind about who is the 4wd of the year.
Not that I would suggest that he who coughs up with the most advertising dollars suddenly wins 4wd of the year. :-)
Follow Up By: Topend - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 05:44
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 05:44
Are you all trying to talk me out of buying a Landrover?
I have always had Toyota 4WDs and really wanted an LC200 when they were released. Problem is the price of a TD LC200 went up by about 11% over a TD LC100 and has since continued to rise by another 9%. On top of this I have to pay another $2500 for KDSS. And don't forget this is for just a GXL.
With the release of the Discovery 4 with 600nm of torque I thought this vehicle would be much better value for money. A proper luxury vehicle that will outperform the LC200 on bitumen and dirt roads, and still be able to tow my 2800kg boat comfortably. Space inside the vehicle is not such a problem for us anymore as we tow a camper.
The issues mentioned above about dealerships are important to me. We usually do a big trip every two years including the Kimberleys,
Cape York, East Coast and down to Tassie. We live in
Darwin which does have a dealership. I rarely see a Discovery there and when I do they seem to sell quickly. After reading the above comments I will do some checking as to their servicing and repair reputation / capabilities.
Reply By: Member - Lotzi (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 11:15
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 11:15
Gday Topend
I have a friend who was at the LR Dealer launch in the Southern Highlands, south of
Sydney a couple of weeks back.
By his comments and the photos, it's a beauty and will be released later in the year, the vehicles that are in Oz at the moment are for press and dealer familiarisation.
Reply By: Topend - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 12:08
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 12:08
I stopped by the dealer today. Only one person can help me and he was busy with another customer. I will call back another time.
I did ask about the dealership having full servicing and maintenance capabilities and I was told they have everything required to do this.
Reply By: RobAck - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 14:37
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 14:37
October is the release month. The date is not yet known even within dealerships.
Whilst there will be people getting excited about 600Nm the current V6 will remain as a low spec option and that has plenty of get up and go when compared to the current crop of Japanese diesel engines. But that is not a criticism only a comparison. We run 3 120 Prado and are currently waiting to see what the D4 brings as it is on our short list to replace one of our fleet at this point
Given that we see pretty much all types and makes each year I have no criticism of the LR product. We had a RR Sport join us on a tour covering 2500km with 1500 km off road and it performed perfectly.
Well setup with Goodyear MTR G4 Challenge tyres it went everywhere without a hitch. Something most RR owners would never do I am sure but there are those who are prepared to give it a go and enjoy their cars in all types of situations
RobA
Follow Up By: Topend - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 14:59
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 14:59
Thanks for the info.
I am interested in the 3.0 TTDV6 as it compares
well with the 4.5 TTDV8 in the LC200. The superior torque will tow my boat so much better than a current LR3 or Prado 120.
I will be looking for A/T tyres to fit the LR4. So far I have only checked out the Pirelli ATR.
Follow Up By: RobAck - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 17:03
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 17:03
Depending on rim size we can recommend either the Bridgestone D694 in AT or the Goodyear Silent Armour in 17" sizes. We run both and have had an excellent run from them. At present we are running the Silent Armour 70 profile on one of our Prado and I have just put the MTR with Kevlar on to replace some D694 LT to do some back to back testing. But the MTR is not a tyre you would use unless you were really into regular off-roading. The Pirelli Scorpian series is a very good tyre and we have seen it perform quite
well off and on-road. Once you go to 18" rims it's another story sadly as the selection rapidly diminishes.
Towing 2800kg will not be a problem. I have one client with a RRSport and he tows a 2500kg boat and gets 9's to the 100km on a hilly freeway.
From a reliability perspective we keep hearing stories but not seeing anything bad. We have seen wnough of Toyota and Nissan products broken down to not jump to conclusions too early until we actually understand how each vehicle was being driven. Adam Plate at
Oodnadatta sees all sorts of 4WD each year and whilst not speaking for him he is on the public record as saying he reckons they are proving as reliable as pretty much everything else. I saw him commenting on Disco3 on a carsguide website earlier in the year to that effect.
If your primary need is towing then I suggest you select a drive course and then tow your boat over the same course/road section to compare each vehicle's capabilities as
well as the usual
boat ramp test.
RobA
Follow Up By: Topend - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 17:26
Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 17:26
I am guessing the tyre size will be P255/60R18.