EO Trader Caution"2006 4X4 WARRIOR COMMANDO MOTORHOME"

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 23:07
ThreadID: 72156 Views:8973 Replies:20 FollowUps:26
This was listed today Maybe fake add

Well I thought it was to good to be true and sent off an email. These were the responses I recieved:

The price is $18900. The motorhome looks and runs great. I am selling the motorhome so cheap because I am in United Kingdom with my job and I am going through a divorce. I am a VerifiedTrader so the transaction will be done through TradingPost. If you're ready for this purchase, I need to know your full name and address, as soon as I have them I will start the official procedure, and TradingPost will notify you about this. TradingPost will send you an Invoice with all the info you will need to complete the transaction. Also a 10 days refund policy will be included so if you will not like the motorhome you will receive your money back. Thanks

and

I am sorry but I dont have more photos. The motorhome comes with 8 months rego left and a RWC. Yes it has a table, it has 6500 kms in total. After you will pay a deposit a transport company will deliver the motorhome to your address, you will have 10 days to inspect it. I have 2 more persons interested in buying the motorhome so please send me your full name and address if you are ready to buy it. Thanks

I had a look at the Warrior Commando website and this is listed there for $200,000. $130,000 off as its a demo model Real Add

But if I am wronf I want to buy it for $18900

Damn Crooks

Matt

Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 23:19

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 23:19
Dodgy !!!!
AnswerID: 382589

Reply By: Member - Andrew (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 23:36

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 23:36
Matt..this is dead set bull dust. I've seen similar in my job. Forget it and report it to the site admin.

If you have any details, names, numbers, email addresses etc, you go to a site called scamwatch. It's a governement site. Put the details into the search option and see what you get.

You can also add any details you have to the site for the info of others...

Too good to be true...99.9% of the time it will be bull...
AnswerID: 382590

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 23:40

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 23:40
I also notice in the add there are no rego plates front or rear????
FollowupID: 650192

Reply By: JimDi - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 23:46

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 23:46
Matt
I think this is very dodgy.....

I inspected this vehicle at the Brisbane Caravan and Camping Show, and it was priced at $200,000 very well made and solid, I dont think the owners would be selling it for much less than that price.

Di

AnswerID: 382591

Reply By: ajd - Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 23:49

Wednesday, Sep 09, 2009 at 23:49
The photos in the trader ad have been lifted off the manufacturers website.

AnswerID: 382592

Reply By: Flywest - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 03:32

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 03:32
Also let the manufacturers know - they can report their vehicle stolen and give the details to the police of who's selling it - then the police will get to the bottom of it real quick!

At the end of the day, the value of the vehicle to the owner is being debased by creating the false belief it is worth only 10% of its real selling price.

It seems to me that more than on internet scam is going on here or more than just scamming laws are being broken.

There's a website somewhere tells how to string these dudes along and get them to send pics of themselves etc to prove who they are for the deal.

Maybe police facial recognition software somewhere can put a real name to the perp and have him arrested. The police are getting a lot better at this kind of internet crime.

AnswerID: 382596

Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 05:29

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 05:29
There was a caravan ad, that kept appearing in the trading post some months back now. It was way too cheap, and I just had these terrible visions of an unsuspecting recently retired couple purchasing it, I reported it to them and the ad was deleted, funny thing though, the email was very similar to that one, ending in aol.com.!

unc
AnswerID: 382598

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 07:03

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 07:03
Hi Unc,
When we were looking for our Jayco Swan, back in April, one in the Trading Post for $8.000 2006 kept appearing (about three or four times) with a different mobile phone no each time and the location was Brisbane, No suburb. I reported it each time, it would disappear and a couple hours later reappear again with a new phone NO.
Another scam is, You have something for sale and you receive an Email asking for your bank account details because they have bought your Item, DON'T GIVE IT TO THEM, then you find your can't access your Trading Post add online, and your account with them has been canceled. Cunning bastards.
This just recently happened to a friend, not that they gave out their details.
If in doubt, contact the Trading Post and ask them to check, it can't hurt.

FollowupID: 650197

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 06:10

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 06:10
Somewhere down the track you will be asked to send a deposit prior to shipment, thats the scam OR you will be asked to supply bank details etc.

Just think, if 100 people in Australia send just $5000 prior to shipment, thats a cool 1/2 a Million scam.

Walk away NO run away from this one. Too good to be true always is just that.
Cheers, Colin.
AnswerID: 382599

Reply By: Member - Lotzi (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 06:43

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 06:43
Advert link for Warrior sent to Warrior SPV, knowing those guy's, they will get onto it, good people.

AnswerID: 382600

Reply By: Member - John M (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 07:02

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 07:02
Matt

Stay away from this.

I came across the same guy about 12 months ago when I was buying my quad bike.
I caught him out and reported him to the advertising medium and then found him on Gumtree trying to sell a caravan.
Be very careful if you cannot inspect whatever it is before purchasing and get some proff that these things really exist.
This person always has the same story about divorce, being in UK etc etc.

Don't part with your hard earned cash until you are really confident that the item exists.

Would be a great deal if it was true!

Life isn't about how to survive the storm, but how to dance in the rain!

AnswerID: 382602

Reply By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 08:13

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 08:13
Well possibly he is just a regular contributor to this site as he spells "dual" as "duel" as in his *duel slide out pantries*.

He probably just accidentally dropped a zero and means $189,000.

After all the poor bloke is probably distracted by his divorce proceedings. FDL

AnswerID: 382607

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 08:41

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 08:41
Allan,

I enquired to this ad the same as Matt.

I pretty much said he had the wrong price on it and he possibly left a couple of figures out.

I got the same reply as Matt, I recieved my reply about 4pm yesterday and I immediately contact the EO crew for them to check it out. I also emailed them the correct advertisement for it as well.

I assume that once they get to work this morning they will deal with it then.

FollowupID: 650203

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 08:43

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 08:43
thats what i was thinking too...but his reply to Matt also says $18900...meaning bit strange he accidently dropped a zero both times?...could be deslexic's bros i suppose..hahaha

as for divorce...he could be quite bleep ey and getting rid of stuff cheap so she gets SweetFA

non the less be wary if i say (mainly cos no reg plates and as said above the pics are lifted from manufacturers site)
INSIST on inspection or ask for copies of rego papers, Vin number etc etc

FollowupID: 650204

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 11:50

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 11:50
Kev & No.1,

Never take me too seriously! ......... FDL??

FollowupID: 650220

Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 08:32

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 08:32
I have seen the same type of ad on Gumtree.one was for a Winnebago somewhere around $18,000, also a cheap Alfa, Lexus, and BMW, all under $10,000.

I reported it to Gumtree and they disappeared very quick.

I must admit that I rang up about the Lexus, and got the sad story about the divorce.
I guess if he wants to make financial decisions like selling the Winnebago for 18K, it's no wonder she wants to divorce him : ).

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 382609

Reply By: RV Powerstream P/L - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 08:43

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 08:43
It is an absolute scam.
I und at 2AM one morning 6 items on ebay.
One such item was a UniMog 4x4 recovery vehicle with a removeable tray top camper worth between 150-200 thousand.
It was for $8000 with an Australian mobile phone number which did not work .
It claimed a divorce situation and working in England.
I emailed her and said if its fair dinkum I would buy it .

The response was pay the $8000 by money exchange and the vehicle could be picked up from Sydney.

I emailed back and said make the vehiclke availoable for inspection prior to sale and on satisfactory proof of ownership cash money would be paid.

I was requested again to pay by money exchange and and my response was the same .

No further contract.

I reported the list of items to ebay and the Federal Police.

Do not get caught it is a scam.
AnswerID: 382611

Reply By: Member No 1- Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 09:11

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 09:11
he has advertised the motorhome as a "premium Listing"...meaning he has paid for it somehow?...so if he is shonky he can be traced.. so if it and the others are fake he should be able to be tracked down and stopped
AnswerID: 382613

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 09:29

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 09:29
I got in before you...wait in line :)
AnswerID: 382618

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 09:55

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 09:55
Thanks for the alert we received via email - I have now suppressed this ad from the system until the person can provide us with proof of ownership or a physical address to inspect the vehicle.
DM
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

AnswerID: 382620

Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 11:09

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 11:09
Its also been kicked off Gumtree classifieds and a R/V Caravan online sales site.

Ive reported the same type of ad for motorbikes and cars.
I sent a couple of emails to the scam mongers and they all come back worded with in same kind of prose with an alleged UK location.
Same person for sure
FollowupID: 650217

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 11:20

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 11:20
I may be wrong but somewhere in the back of my memory I thought that in Victoria at least people selling motor vehicles had to display both the price and the rego details by law??

Maybe worth checking out to ensure all vehicle adverts are compliant??

FollowupID: 650218

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 11:39

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 11:39
Thanks Guys,

Yes the license number should be captured at least - i will investigate this. Adele in our office is also currently reporting the associated credit card transactions to the bank.

DM

FollowupID: 650219

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 12:09

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 12:09
David, you might also want to look into this one...

It's priced around 1/4 of the value stated on Redbook for this vehicle, which makes it kind of stick out amongst all the other vehicles in the trader (which are commonly advertised around double the Redbook value!).

Image Could Not Be FoundMind you, if you wanted a respectable 4WD/touring vehicle that you wouldn't mind people seeing in your driveway, or wouldn't get a dented rim at the first pebble you encountered, you'd have to buy new wheels, tyres and grille (unless the seller could supply the original ones) which might bring the total cost up to somewhere around the Redbook value. LOL :)
FollowupID: 650222

Follow Up By: Time - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 12:50

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 12:50
Seems I can also buy its clone in Zambia!

FollowupID: 650227

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 14:05

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 14:05
They are getting busy ;)

FollowupID: 650233

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 14:19

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 14:19
Interesting scam this one.
Obviously now seems much bigger than first thought??
I am still amazed that people are so naive as to get suckered by this stuff.

Can have a real damaging negative impact on legitimate selling sites/forums such as the EO Trader which I have always regarded as a very good and reputable selling site having used it personally a number of times.

Would be guessing that David will have to tighten up the listing requirements to ensure the site maintains its selling integrity.

FollowupID: 650237

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 15:21

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 15:21
All dodgy ads removed all credit card refunded, addresses and accounts banned plus I have installed the 48hr free mail test system into the trader ad system. So hopefully this will fix it. Please let us know if something like this start again.

DM

FollowupID: 650243

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 15:34

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 15:34
David whats the 48hr free mail test system??

FollowupID: 650244

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 15:43

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 15:43
John,
Oh don't you know! I installed this years ago when a person who decided they did not like a mod action we took decided to register freemail accounts and then write abusive posts on the system, I would ban it they would register another and then another and so on. So to combat this I made a mod that if you used freemail account to register then you are blocked from using the forum for a 48 hours period after you valid the email account. This steamed the problem almost completly in one go. So this is the function I just added to the trader system.

It is not a 100% solution but as they register a new account we find it we then ban it and they have to wait 2 days to interact again - it does not take long to get rid of them.
DM

FollowupID: 650245

Follow Up By: tim_c - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 16:04

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 16:04
Yes, I remember that one from when I first signed up - couldn't reply/follow-up to anyone for two days! Still, I suspected there was a good reason behind it and I thought it was a clever way to maintain the quality of the site. I'd just assumed it applied to anyone contributing to any area of the site (ie. not just the forum)
BTW: The biggest problem that I have with the Mod action is my own curiosity when I see a reply/follow-up blanked out: "Just what did 'so-and-so' say to warrant moderation?!" LOL :)
Keep up the great work David and team...
FollowupID: 650248

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 16:49

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 16:49
why refund monies to a alleged crok....should check it out first and if proven to be a shonk keep it and tell him/her to get heeeved
FollowupID: 650255

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 17:22

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 17:22
No.1 that would be a good idea however they used stollen credit cards to make the transactions so we would have been forced down the track to refund anyway and then got slugged with charge backs for the transactions. It is all upto the merchant to deal with the transactions as the banks just will charge us a charge back fee plus take the monies back - ah just love the banks....
DM

FollowupID: 650259

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 07:32

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 07:32
duh...didnt think of them using stolen cards

"ah just love the banks"...hahaha....thanks for the admission Dave
now I know its just not me that complains :))))
FollowupID: 650318

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 16:27

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 16:27
No.1, just becuase someone else might be a crook, doesn't make it right to be a crook back
FollowupID: 650391

Follow Up By: wozzie (WA) - Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 21:50

Friday, Sep 11, 2009 at 21:50
When I saw this ad yesterday, I did a search through Google for the vehicle type and one of the listings was from Gumtree for this very same vehicle, piccies and all, but at $9,500.00, where the ad had supposedly been placed the day before 6th Sept from memory, went to Gumtree and it was no longer there.

I thought that this was a very astute business person, perhaps buying off Gumtree ad for the $9500.00 and very quickly reselling at a 100% profit at $18,900.00 the next day on EO. <(:-0)

I then went back to the google listing and checked their cached version of the Gumtree page and it was definitely the same vehicle.

The ad reminded me of sometime last year when I was checking out some other ads on Gumtree fro caravans, as others have mentioned there were some very well priced vans on offer !
Dreamin' agin

FollowupID: 650436

Reply By: Road Warrior - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 13:32

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 13:32
Heh, these sorts of bogus ads pop up on ebay all the time. Cars, bikes, boats, you name it.

"If it's too good to be true, it probably is."
AnswerID: 382636

Reply By: Member - Jo Q (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 15:28

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 15:28
"Tell him his dreamin"! :)

AnswerID: 382645

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 15:55

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 15:55
You can put that one up in the pool room!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 650246

Follow Up By: tim_c - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 16:05

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 16:05
Ha ha ha LOL :)
FollowupID: 650249

Reply By: Wazza - (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 16:16

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 16:16
I just did a google search on these words:

"cheap because I am in United Kingdom with my job and I am going through a divorce"

And, yep these were the hits:
Similar SCAMS

Wazza.
AnswerID: 382648

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 22:30

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 22:30
There was 428 hits when I googled the phrase

"cheap because I am in United Kingdom with my job and I am going through a divorce"

FollowupID: 650294

Reply By: OREJAP - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 20:29

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 20:29
This same add has appeared in the Trading Post Vic & when last contacted 4 weeks ago The Trading Post was endeavouring to stop such adds. The greedy people out there jump in w/out caution & get stung thinking they are getting a cheap bargain. There was one fellow who lost $10,000 on a deposit to purchase a late model mercedes benz. Thought he was getting a bargain because the seller was teaching her ex a lesson & her ex " just said sell it and send me my half!!!" Ooops there goes another one & look there goes another....my goodness all these flying pigs!!!
AnswerID: 382679

Reply By: Serendipity of Mandurah (WA) - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 22:58

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 22:58
We had a similar event when my wife listed her car on trading post for sale. We received a number of enquiries from a guy in England who wanted to buy the car unseen as he was coming out to Australia. Of course he said he was landing in Sydney and we live in Western Australia. Mostly all he wanted to know was my wifes full name and bank details so he could 'supposedly' deposit the money.

Of course we just deleted the email. We did keep getting them all with a slight variation. I think the African scammers must of obtained English citizenship and moved over there.

AnswerID: 382702

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 23:18

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 23:18
LOL - Just because they SAY they are from UK or the address is from a .uk domain does not mean the keyboard is not physically located in Nigeria.....

FollowupID: 650302

Follow Up By: Serendipity of Mandurah (WA) - Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 23:27

Thursday, Sep 10, 2009 at 23:27
I agree. As with IP address you can purchase them anywhere.

I was having a tongue in cheek go at the British immigration laws. Where we live on the west coast there is a big population of British ex pats who have migrated here because they where the last ones in their district to speak english.

FollowupID: 650303