Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 22:19
Member - Jeff M (WA)
Just checked into a ^%$4 caravan
park in CP and gotta say I was amazed to find I have to put 20c in the slot every 2 minutes for a shower. Now I understand about desalinating
water and the cost etc but we paid $5 extra on top of site fee to get
water hook up and then found out later about the showers. Nobody bothered to tell us when we booked or checked in. The principle is what concerns me not the money and you have to get out of the shower to put in the next 20c when the first 2 minutes is up etc. Even heard someone cry out for 20c because they had soaped up and ran out of coins. What,s going on, is this the norm because we aint seen anything like this in past 3 months on the road. Interested in others
views.
Reply By: snapper49 - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 22:21
Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 22:21
Has been the norm in
Coober Pedy for many years
Follow Up By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 22:52
Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 22:52
Take a bucket and a wash cloth with you. Turn the shower on, wet your self down; stick the bucket under the shower while you soap yourself up; then use the
water in the bucket to rinse off. Save yourself heaps of money and drama. Most of us are used to unlimited
water for showers, can't do that in
places like
Coober Pedy because
water is so scarce and expensive. But, yes,
Coober Pedy has been like that as long as I can remember. Was like that in 1981 for sure...
Reply By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 23:49
Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 23:49
How bad would it be if the
water stunk at least it don't smell.
We have stayed in the same
park in
Coober Pedy yeah it's a shock but you don't waste it when you have to pay.
We stayed at
Cunnamulla Caravan
park in 2007 and the
water was on the nose it smelt like rotten eggs.
Could not even clean your teeth with that
water our whole family was dry reaching.
Cheers Scoof . :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 07:09
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 07:09
Have to agree with you there Scoof.
We were there about 12 months ago and stayed in a house for 3 weeks, oh boy, not nice.
We had a shower one day, went out for five minutes and remembered we had forgot something. Went back into the house and it stunk to high heaven.
Thargomindah was no better.
I suppose people get use to it, but we didn't.
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 09:42
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 09:42
If that bothered you, don't go to the thermal springs/mudholes at Rotorua in N.Z. then.
The artesian
water is a blessing for the locals, however the sulphur smell that comes with it offends some people. Gotta get used to it out there :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 21:33
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 21:33
Fred been there Rotorua that is a sulphur smell but your not expected to clean your teeth with it . LOL :-0
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 23:55
Tuesday, Sep 15, 2009 at 23:55
We stayed there in April.
The owner was away and a
young couple were running the place.
We paid an extra $5 for
water we would have used in the ablutions anyway.
The site wasnt even big eough to put our awning out.
I know
water is scarce but to charge extra for what you would use is a bit off.
As
well as that the front ablutions were closed due to no
water and no one was doing much about it.
Also the
young couple were having matrimonal problems and once my wife went to the office and they were having a spat Throwing things ALL the words etc. No apology when they realised she was there .
Will be the subject of a letter to the Big 4 organisation
Reply By: Member - DW (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 04:21
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 04:21
We stayed in the same caravan
park recently. If one cannot have a complete shower in 2 minutes it is no wonder some cities are running out of
water. If you grew up with only rain
water to shower in, you would learn to have a quick shower.
As someone else said, you are lucky you did not get the aroma as
well as the 20 cent extra charge.
We stayed in a so called resort caravan
park near
Alice Springs and it was the most expensive and probably had the hardest
water and least facilities. Sure we did not pay for the
water but just as
well as it had an aroma for free.
Get used to unusual charges as you move around. It is just part of traveling in remote areas.
Enjoy your travels.
DW
Follow Up By: Neil & Pauline - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 04:56
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 04:56
I never had a problem with finishing a shower with 20cents. Probably something to do with growing up on rain
water tanks
Follow Up By: Member - Tony Z (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 08:08
Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 08:08
2 min is all you need for a shower I agree, we stayed at same
park 1wk ago and I had time left for my 20c
Reply By: xxx - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 07:19
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 07:19
20c is too cheap
It should be $2.
Follow Up By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 07:50
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 07:50
It's more than likely there so you don't waste
water.More than a money maker.
Scoof . :-)
Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 07:54
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 07:54
Hi Jeff
You will find that all the caravan parks in
Coober Pedy are the same and has been that way for as long as we have been staying in
Coober Pedy, more than 35 years. Back then you would have to buy a token - now that was a real pain, because if you ran out of them, your shower was then good and truly over. One of the parks explains this when you book in and gives you a minimum of $2.00 in 20 cent pieces in your change.
It is the old Boy Scout Motto - Be Prepared and make sure that you have few 20 cent pieces in your shower bag and you will never get caught out.
Reply By: Wilk0 - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 07:57
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 07:57
Stayed there in March, Didnt
mine paying for it It was only costing 40c max so it was OK. I do agree though it should be advertised a little better as we didnt know either till we arrived.
They could always charge $5 extra a nite for non pay showers but then there would be a lot of wastage.
I like the user pays idea. Its good
water(prob the best ive seen coming out of a tap thats not
tank water) and it reduces wastage. Just advertise a little more.
Cheers Wilko
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 17:50
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 17:50
That's my point exactly. They saw fit to tell me when I booked that it would cost $5 for a site with
water. I had no problem with that and accepted. It was a bit of an affront to assume people know about the user pays showers and they should have told me this when I booked or at least when we checked in. I'm not complaining, I just think we should have been advised and wanted others to know so they aren't caught out too.
Thanks for all the replaies. It's been interesting to share experiences.
Jeff
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 20:29
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 20:29
Jeff
Maybe just maybe they thought that because you where paying for the
water on your site, that you had your own shower on board and didn't say anything about having to pay for a shower?
Just a maybe
PS. I haven't read all the replys yet....
Reply By: kend88 - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 08:49
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 08:49
Loved
Coober Pedy and everything that went with it when we were there three years ago. I was quite surprised how cheap the
water was when we filled the c'van tanks when leaving, something like 5c a litre from memory.
I guess people who take short showers wouldn't be too happy if they had to put 40c in for a 4 minute shower, wasting the second 20c.
kenD
bris
Reply By: DIO - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 08:49
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 08:49
User (you) pays.
Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 23:02
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 23:02
It's not sop much user pays, it's rationing.
Reply By: Chawbie - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 09:04
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 09:04
The last time we stayed at CP in June 2007 we had an ensuite site, from memory there was no restriction on
water usage and no extra charge for
water. We did pay $33 site fee per night though. This was at the
Oasis Tourist
Park.
Kevin
Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 09:30
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 09:30
Just a learning curve - last time I stayed there with a tent, I asked if the had a bit of grass for us to pitch it on - that caused hoots of thigh slapping laughter !
Submariners only get 2 minutes for a shower - it can be done :-o)
Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 10:14
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 10:14
"Submariners only get 2 minutes for a shower - it can be done :-o)"
Believe they do it in pairs. 10c each for a shower. LOL
Malcolm
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 20:12
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 20:12
Malcolm....the soap on a rope is a myth LOL LOL
We had a lot of poms on exchange in my day, and we always said, the quickest way to get them out of the shower and give us more time, was to throw a bar of soap in. :-)
Sorry, no offence to our "Stiff upper lip" friends :-)
Fred.
Reply By: HGMonaro - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 11:19
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 11:19
I think it's more a case of
water saving than the $$$. What amazed me was you could load some of these things up with about 10 coins... so 20min shower if you really wanted! When showering my sons I used to take them seperately (as they annoy each other so much they annoy me!) and I'd have them washed and shampooed in
well under 2 mins. They then got to stand there waiting for the
water to run out! I usually managed with one '2 bob' but always had another ready as getting caught without washing shampoo out of your hair is not good! The Mrs was a 2 coin proposition... applying conditioner takes a bit extra!
Cheers, Nige
Reply By: discovery099 - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 12:03
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 12:03
Name and shame the supplier...LOL
I would like to install a couple in my house so I don't have to keep knocking on the door to get my lot out of the shower pronto.
It would be very effective on $2.80 a week per person!
Cheers ;)
Reply By: wendys - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 12:24
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 12:24
Have experienced pay showers in
places on the Nullarbor, too. Doesn't worry me, in
places where
water is so scarce and expensive to produce. We would be complaining more if they didn't provide showers at all!
Follow Up By: Witi Repartee - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 19:09
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 19:09
Sounds a lot like townies to me not realizing the constraints of outback
water supplies. Can't get over the winge about 20c.
Reply By: Member - Dave and Shaz (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 19:04
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 19:04
Not sure if availability of
water is the issue. Were
camping at Lake St Clair in Tassie in February of this year and had to pay for showers there - no shortage of
water at that place (being on the banks of the country's largest
freshwater lake). Most of us have quick showers and don't waste
water, but some of us don't so it's a good way of making people think about how long they stand under the tap I reckon. Can think of heaps of other
places where we've had to put coins in for a shower and we are always surprised when we
camp somewhere that has unlimited showers.
Follow Up By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 20:01
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 20:01
We paid for showers all around Tassie- in caravan parks no less! Don't quite understand it myself... being a woman of the conditioner-using variety I usually didn't get my showering finished in the first coin-drop. Put another coin in to finish up the hair rinse and then of course stayed there for the rest of the shower... no doubt that wasted much more
water than just having my shower in the time I would have taken otherwise. I am guessing that the coin-operated shower is one of a. a nice way to make a bit of extra money or b. a nice way to stop strange people leaving the shower running.
Nothing worse than paying for a shower in a feral shower block though. Yuck!
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 19:33
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 19:33
After living in
Brisbane for 6 years and supposedly having 4 min showers I cant believe the number who stand in the shower for 10 mins or more.
One kid in
Geraldton had been in there for 25 mins and the whole room was steamed up from him in the shower.
Seems the attitude is Im paying for it so will stand here all day.
If I owned a
camp I would have timers on all taps and once they go off they stay off for a while.
The
water charges they have must be astronomical due basically to selfishness.
We shower in our van and still take less than 4 mins to do it.
I agree however that you should be told or at least read the rules on the paper they should give you.
This
park leaves quite a bit to be desired in more ways than one.
See my reply above.
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 13:46
Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 13:46
It's amazing how many people can be completely unaware of water restrictions.
We were in a CP in Wakerie last year. The whole area is as dry as a bone, dust storms etc.
In the gents showers, another person was in there before me, all the time I had a shower, all the time I had a shave at the sinks and was still in there when I left.
I couldn't resist yelling a short, sharp message to him when it became obvious from the slapping noise that he believed that "it's
mine and I''ll wash it as fast as I like". Pity the poor bugger who used the cubicle after him.
Reply By: Family Friendly Oz Camping - Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 20:43
Wednesday, Sep 16, 2009 at 20:43
My family did a trip around the eastern Central Australia last year which was excellent, the public showers outside the
Innamincka Store & Pub, cost $2 for 2 minutes, usually we finished in 2 minutes just in case we had the extra coin. We didn't mind paying we had to wash somewhere, jumping in
Coopers Creek didn't look too inviting. We had a great time there, visiting the Burke and Wills sites definetely worth a visit if you are going that way.
Follow Up By: D-Jack - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 13:25
Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 13:25
Yeh it's amazing after spending a couple of weeks heating water up on the fire to wash with how much you'll be prepared to spend on a nice hot shower. I thought $2 was reasonable and people are complaining about 20c!
Follow Up By: Family Friendly Oz Camping - Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 14:04
Thursday, Sep 17, 2009 at 14:04
Exactly right, we were camping on the banks of
Cooper Creek,
Innamincka is really in the ouback, we were happy to pay $2 to get some of that red dirt off for a few hours at least LOL