Comon campers get your act together

Submitted: Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 16:28
ThreadID: 72353 Views:3331 Replies:9 FollowUps:4
We have just been up the Old Telegraph Track to Cape York and were amazed at the amount of toilet paper left at every campsite along the way. WHY?? We go there to enjoy the pristine creeks and rivers not to see that. Girls do your bits and put the paper in your rubbish bag. Guys and girls if you go number twos take the shovel. It's disgusting. We all go there to enjoy the "unspoilt" bush not to see that. Maybe some have other ideas. DO THE RIGHT THING!

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 16:57

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 16:57
If you don't want to put it in a bin BURN it then bury the rest

AnswerID: 383660

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 17:23

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 17:23
Hi Kirk,Jeanette,
As a society the majority are becoming disgusting pigs. No offense to pigs, :)
It never seems to amaze me where you'll find a disposable nappy. Maybe the problem with them is the name. And why is it always next to a water course?
Kev's right, at lest take some matches.
I don't know what the answer is, kids are taught about the enviroment when their young, but when they become teenagers and young adults they end up with Crap for Brains that follow them around for the rest of their lives.
Sorry to hear your trip was spoiled with such filth.

AnswerID: 383661

Follow Up By: Kirk and Jeanette - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 18:08

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 18:08
Hear hear. Trip wasn't really spoilt but it did make me wonder
FollowupID: 651365

Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 17:35

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 17:35
We came across the same filth all the way across the Nullarbor last year. It does not take much to dig a hole and bury it.
If anyone here on the forum knows Pat Callinan or Ron Moon personally, it might be wise to put a bug in their ear, and maybe explain how to do it properly on one of their next TV shows, as it's something I have never seen on any Outdoors show over the years.
Way too much emphasis on showing people how big some of the vans are these days one can buy & not enough on some of the basics of camping and outdoors life.

Just my 2 bobs worth tonight!!.. Unc
AnswerID: 383664

Follow Up By: Kirk and Jeanette - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 18:13

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 18:13
Yeah same. We drove a long day going back home from the Phillip Island bike races a couple of years back and pulled over on a roadside rest stop, threw the camper out and crashed. When we woke in the morning we found ourselves waking on bum fodder. YUK! What is it with these people? I agree with you in that people need to get the basics right. Why do they go camping in the first place. Not to look at that I am sure.
FollowupID: 651367

Reply By: Ozrover - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 17:35

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 17:35
It's not just on the Cape!, we get them leaving their toilet paper in the campground 20 meters from the toilet blocks.

Just too lazy to make a bit of an effort to do the right thing.

AnswerID: 383665

Reply By: landed eagle - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 17:53

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 17:53
I've just travelled up the Leichhardt to Rocky and cant believe how many empty beer stubbies are by the roadside. Makes me wonder how many of the fatalities on our highways should be attributed to carelessness and inattention,maybe they should have a new cause..........bloody stupidity!!

Like the toilet paper in the bush,why do some people consider the bush or roadside their own personal dumping ground?
AnswerID: 383669

Follow Up By: OREJAP - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 19:31

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 19:31
As Derryn Hinch once said, "We treat our country like it belongs to someone else"
FollowupID: 651373

Reply By: Member - Marco T (VIC) - Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 20:09

Friday, Sep 18, 2009 at 20:09
What I noticed on the cape last year was the beer cans in camp areas and gun shot was the worst.

Seems there is no respect.

M
AnswerID: 383683

Reply By: Mitsi Blaze - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 01:52

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 01:52
Gday Kirk and Jeanette,

Couldn't agree with you more about the rubbish of dunny paper, SWMBO always takes a small bag and places it eather in the fire or in our rubbish bag.

As for just digging a hole and burying, unfortunately that doesn't work, within 2 days some animal in the area has dug it up looking for food. We have a little toilet bag and in it is Paper, Matches and a small hip-flask of lighter fuel, when finished before covering hole take a few seconds to tip some fuel on it and burn.

Making an excuse for many sites you see with paper is from people who believe they have done the right thing just filling in the hole without burning the paper. Hope this assists some who don't realise what happens when they leave.

AnswerID: 383729

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 06:16

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 06:16
I suspect your post will not reach any of the offenders in the said areas. People who would read this type of 'outdoors website' are generally enthusiasts and from what I have seen and read respect the outdoors.

I have no answers either, other than to say that you see it off the beaten 4WD tracks and roads as well, even amongst bushwalkers.

AnswerID: 383733

Follow Up By: Member - Joe F (WA) - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 10:01

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 10:01
G'day Mark E ~ and good day to all the ExplorOz members and friends, the answer is quite simple ~ Respect or in this case lack of respect.

In cases like what have been described it really is a blatant lack of respect for health~ hygiene and total respect for fellow travellers who will follow them into the wilderness area at a later time. It can well be the thin edge of a wedge, giving someone or some corporation the reason needed to shut everyone out.

Mining companies just love it when rules are pushed to the breaking point by mindless actions on their mining leases, most of outback Australia is covered by some form of lease and access to some of the "Holy Grail" destinations can and usual are compromised by people doing the wrong thing and not respecting the privilege of being there.

Just a couple of days ago, I took a tour geust out to the very remote Hickman Crater which was only discovered in July of 2007 ~ undiscovered and untouched by modern man prior to 2007, now adventurers like us who enjoy the freedoms our 4wdriving skills and equipment give us are crapping all over the place, I won't insert images of the scene because we have all seen it before ~ in the outback ~ highway parking bays ~ walking tracks and anywhere people who do not respect anything or anyone else happen to go.

Very sad really.
FollowupID: 651457

Reply By: Rolly - Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 10:12

Saturday, Sep 19, 2009 at 10:12
For the majority of people, life is a one note Opera:

Me.
AnswerID: 383745