200 Series Rear Wheel Carrier- Is This Price Legal
Submitted: Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 16:14
Member - Kroozer (WA)
Hi all, does anyone know the price roughly of an ARB dual rear wheel carrier for the 200 series please, and also how many hours to fit one. The place were the missus works got one fitted and, if your not sitting down please do, or if not please lean forward against something to avoid fallling backwards. Cost came to $4880.
$2890 for wheel carrier and another $2000 for 10 hours labour and GST.
I understand the carriers are expensive but the extra $2000 to fit and GST is a tad extreme.
Should it take 10 hours to fit?
Daylight robbery if you ask me, who would pay $5k just to hold another tyre?
I am gobsmacked, but wouldnt expect anything less from the local ARB dealer.
Reply By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 16:23
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 16:23
Sounds like a huge rip off to me :-0
But they can charge the price they want if you are willing to pay - Sounds like no quote was sought before purchase!
I am sure if they were overcharged they could get a refund. Cheers Tony
Follow Up By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 16:24
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 16:24
PS 200 an Hour can not be right - you could expect around 80 an hour though. Cheers
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 06:45
Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 06:45
Tony & Julie, try getting an oil change on a Troopy in
Alice Springs from the Toyota agent $120 / hr for labour and allow 2 hours ! Lucky I got a quote first, did it my self at the McDonell Range CP where they facilities for campers to do their own oil changes.
KK
PS similar labour charge in
Perth.
Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 16:25
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 16:25
I've got an ARB price list and it says "Under Development" for the ARB carriers but that is the price, near enough, for the Kaymar twin carrier setup so I reckon it's correct.
Reply By: Member - greg S (QLD) - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 16:34
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 16:34
Kroozer,
Mate I just rang a local ARB mob over here in QLD and the price I got was
$3452 fitted with one carrier and another $912 for the other carrier. Total--$4364
Was quoted under $600 for fitting costs.
The price I got is certainly up there. I reckon they screwed up the paperwork.
Cheers Greg
Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 16:34
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 16:34
I fitted the one to my troopy in a morning on my own, including the trailer wiring plug!!
Does that answer your question?
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 16:58
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 16:58
fitting one to a Troopy just requires some work on nuts and bolts (and I'm not trying to diminish your skills here), but the 200 Series requires cutting away a substantial part of the rear bumper. Same for fitting the bullbar.
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 17:14
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 17:14
Gone Bush, no offense what so ever taken mate.
I did wonder about all the plastic fantastic on the 200 series and how that impacts on the fitting.
I guess I was trying to say I've fitted 1 and 1 only in my life with nothing more technical than a box of spanners, the required drill and a Landcruiser jack.
I also just realised the bar in question is ARB and
mine is Kaymar. I'd find it a challenge to believe an ARB is 2 to 3 times harder to fit than a Kaymar!
One would expect the experts to have it down somewhat pat.
The price for fitting to me would indicate 2 blokes for 7 to 10 hours or somewhere in the region of 15 to 20 man hours!
Either it's downright bloody hard to fit an ARB bar to a 200 Series or someone doesn't know what they are doing or can't read the instructions!
I do take your point re Troopy versus 200 though. More power to the 7x Series!
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 11:23
Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 11:23
hi
10hrs
well
when you take in consideration for paid morning smoko then counter lunch break and arvo tea break and overnight at the pub and a few beers for the fitters
that's quiet reasonable dont ya think lol not !!!!!!!!!!
mazcan barry
Reply By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 17:00
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 17:00
Im not being a hero here ,but I scratch built my twin carrier in about 10 hours and I mean fitting as
well???
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 19:44
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 19:44
John,
Can you post a photo for us?
Follow Up By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 23:38
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 23:38
I will try to tomorrow morning as the brain might work then,I have not done it before so wish me luck :)
Follow Up By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 23:39
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 23:39
UM post a pic not use my brain ....Um then again LOL!
Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 17:05
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 17:05
I'm not trying to defend the pricing, far from it, but there is a fair bit of work involved in this bar:
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 17:28
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 17:28
Gone Bush,
The sell price I believe is wholly reasonable considering the level of engineering, the quality of the materials and attention to detail put into the product by ARB and Kaymar for that matter.
The price for fitting has me somewhat bewildered though!
Even more so now I've seen that photo as I can't see any of the original equipment having been re-used!
It really does look like the Kaymar offering on the Troopy, strip off the old and bolt up the new with a hole or two needing a re-size in the middle.
| Geoff,
Reply By: Member - BUNDY BOY (WA) - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 17:32
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 17:32
ARB.......Standard to be more expensive..and with there service and fitting....charge like a wounded bull.....and yer one would think the so called experts could do it blind folded with there own product... if it was a prototype never been fitted to lets say aaa.....mini cooper...yer 10 hours i may understand....but ..think there doing the same as many big names do
we are ARB...we do it better so you will pay...
Bundy
Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 17:36
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 17:36
And also, it already came with a different brand rear wheel carrier and rear bar. So i dont think there would have been too much cutting of the guards, but still i am yet to find out if they got a quote first. Stupid if they didnt.
Nothing about the price suprises me now though, they charge what they want, local Toyota dealer charged me 7 hours labour to fit my Souveriegn bar. How pathetic is that. $120/hr for 7 hours plus GST. Wasnt happy.
Reply By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 18:03
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 18:03
Did we ever get to see Flywest's creation on completion ??
Follow Up By: Flywest - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 20:22
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 20:22
Hi Fred
Its on hold for a similar reason this this thread - ripoff by a sub contractor, to be dealt with hopefully tomorrow arvo.
I'll post the end results when its done & dusted.
Reply By: Member - Tom V (WA) - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 18:31
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 18:31
Hi Kroozer
I have their price list (1/8/09) in front of me for my D3 & the price to supply & fit, rear bar & twin wheel carriers (without rear park sensors) is $3753.50.
so $4800 is probably not that far out.
cheers Tom
Reply By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 22:00
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 22:00
Hi Kroozer, I got a Caddy set mounted by
Perth 4*4 for $3550 about Image Could Not Be Found15 months ago. I am very happy with it altho the rubber trim at the join to the white is too fragile and has torn.
Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 23:26
Monday, Sep 21, 2009 at 23:26
They probably charge the standard government contract and mining company price, knowing that there will be more than enough work regardless of price. Too bad if very few private owners can afford the outlay.
Its like business class on the plane. The front is clogged with public servants and dudes working for large companies. The business class fare from
Melbourne to
Sydney is $515, and the cheapest is $98.
Us plebs, who pay our own way, travel down the back.