holden 3ltd "C'oilorado " as per shaneo

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 09:35
ThreadID: 72450 Views:4569 Replies:7 FollowUps:11
hi g/day
so what has happened to the holden 3Ltd c'oilorado did they bury it or are they actually repairing it or have they silenced the owner
keen to hear the latest as was considering buying one until i read about the oil problem
mazcanbarry

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 10:09

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 10:09
Perhaps Shaneo found a horse's head in his bed and decided to lay low :-)

AnswerID: 384172

Reply By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 10:44

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 10:44
i am watching with keen interest as well considering i own the DMAX (Colorado is rebadged DMAX). Currently has 11,500k's on it and no issues yet.......touch wood.

Tony
AnswerID: 384176

Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 11:31

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 11:31
hi tony
what sort of economy are you getting and do you tow anything with it
mazcan barry
FollowupID: 651911

Follow Up By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 11:44

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 11:44
Currently it is carrying a permanent 100Kgs of gear with the rooftop tent and recovery gear and driving the 35klm to work i am averaging 7.8Lt per 100Klms. I have done about half a dozen offroad weekend camping trips and in 4x4 mode with the extra weight for eskis, ice, food, missus etc, etc, i average between 9 and 9.5 depending on terrain. I am not towing anything with it and to be honest i dont intend to. I have had the suspension beefed up with air bags, heavy duty shocks and springs plus a 2 inch lift and so far it has proved a very capable 4x4, the only issue being getting hung up on a rock directly under the left rear shock, my fault, swung a little early. It has loads of tourque and more than enough power. I am setting up for a long trip next year plus future desert adventures and i am extremely confidant it will take it all in its stride. And no, i have no affiliation with Isuzu lol. What part of Australia are you in? Happy to share further info if required.
FollowupID: 651913

Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 12:50

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 12:50
hi
thanks for that imfo it's good to get down to earth details that's good fuel figures even if it drops off a bit in heavy sandhills say on the csr but no worries.and the suspension sounds great too
i live in the state of w.a (wait awhile !!!) and confusion lol
i have a 1997 mazda bravo dsl and it's been a lot of places including gunbarrel to giles /csr /kidson trk and down south along coastal sand trks and up the west coastal sand dune areas and through a lot of forrestry trks wet and dry and plowed through some of these tracks with a lot of the heavy big offroad boys in there toys and so far have never had to it towed it has good ground clearance

except for once on a farm i had in the ferguson valley while rocking it back and forth in a black mud soak it's vacumn activated front hubs disengaged and i buried it to then find by chance that when vac remotefw hubs drop out which they do frequenty in the rocking mode all you do is turn motor off and then restart it and the hubs re-engage this happened several times in mud only since so that's called learning from experience

it's now done 135000ks it uses 10.7l/100kmon rd and 12l/100km offrd and still does'nt use any oil
i had a extra main leaf added to the rear springs and fitted toughdog foamcell shockies all round at 20,000km and after it had done 52000km i had a safari intercooled turbo fiitted which raised the standard 2.5ltr 64kw/174nm to 97kw/274nm also put a 2.5inch exhaust system and larger sides on the turbo pipe scoop this transformed it into a very reasonable work /4x4 vehicle
mazcan barry
FollowupID: 651919

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 16:19

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 16:19
Tony

"Colorado is rebadged DMAX" - Not exactly!!

Different diesel engine. D-MAX is double overhead cam, Colorado is single.

D-MAX - 10% better fuel consumption.

When I get to St George ( ~ next Monday night) my D-MAX should have < 600 kms on it. wooppeee.

I can just see all the questions coming ......

Malcolm

living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 651933

Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 16:45

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 16:45
hello malcolm
the d-max and colorado 4x4's have exactly the same isuzu motor
d/4t/3.0ltr 120kw@3600rpm @ 360nm@1800rpm

this imfo and full story of the splitting off of the holden rodeo/colorado from isuzu and the companies /factories etc was printed in an article published in
"complete specification reference guide
utes @vans
road tests
issue 2 feb 09
and i've also read a simular article in a more recent 4wd mag with the same details re- shared engine the only things that have changed so far are the fiddly bits here and there to make them look a bit different but down the track more changes will be made the two companies have their own thailand factories at separate addresses
not tying to be smart but these are the facts
mazcan barry
FollowupID: 651935

Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 16:56

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 16:56
hi
just forgot to mention that the opposition salesmen are telling buyers that the two vehicle have totally different engines and even chassis to try and out sell each other and i have had this tryed on me too but the phamplets for each vehicle both show the same species and i ran a tape measure over both vehicle sub frames to find no difference just tipical b/sh---t sales talk
mazcan barry
FollowupID: 651939

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 17:49

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 17:49
Malcolm,

Do you want me to organise the Holen Dealer in St George to do it's first service??

They are very good.

FollowupID: 651944

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 18:15

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 18:15
Baz

I'm with you !! When I saw your post I sent an email to the Isuzu Sales Manager at Redcliffe. His answer is what I posted above. I have since gone back to him with your answer.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Isuzu_D-Max is a definitive comparison.

{Kev} I believe the 1st service is 3000km (so they told me on the phone).

Either way, I'm sure we should be very happy with what we are getting.

I looked at a 2007 CRD Patrol with local (Colorado) dealer and when he offered me $18K for my 2005 Patrol I walked out. He chased my wife out the door trying to convince her to do the deal. I was already in my vehicle with the engine started waiting for my wife. No way I am going to deal with that salesman (and I hope Tony reads this). That is when I started looking at the D-MAX. Local dealers just don't seem hungry enough to do a deal; so I went elsewhere.

Just received reply to my email with "your" contents ... "That's a weird one!"

When will these guys learn the power of the Internet. Gone are the days of talking off the top of their head ....

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 651948

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 19:29

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 19:29
Allow me set the record straight.

The Colorado is NOT a rebadged DMAX.
The DMAX is a rebadged Colorado.

Both are made at GM's Rayong Plant in Thailand, an hour and a bit out of Bangkok.

Unlike the previous arrangement where GM had an arrangement with Izusu, now the "shoe is on the other foot".

Bill.

FollowupID: 651958

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 13:27

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 13:27
Malcolm I might have to leave a space beside us for you, you will see a big ISUZU flag flying. Us Isuzu people have to stick together mate hahahahaha
FollowupID: 652077

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 18:50

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 18:50
Just lost half hour work - vapourware :-(

{Bruce} Great idea. BUT we may be the lepers down in the valley LOL

{Barry} I like to compare apples with apples. AND, what I HAVE found (so far) is the Colorado engine is NOT identical to the D-MAX engine.

I've checked the dealer and other forums and found although the specs are ALMOST identical the D-MAX has FOUR valves per cylinder and the Colorado TWO valves per cylinder. Doing a search on redbook should validate this.

This business with competitive products is always a leapfrog affair. Do your shopping, ask questions, be satisified with your decision - unless, of course, it turns out to be a lemon.

I'm out of here - doesn't worry me anymore ;-)

Malcolm

living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 652132

Reply By: Member - Cozzie Toodyay (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 11:34

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 11:34
I own a Colorado as well and also keen to hear the latest, so come on Shaneo what's happening?
AnswerID: 384181

Reply By: Member - Tony & Julie (FNQ) - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 17:34

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 17:34
The Rodeo has the same motor - but I have never seen those low fuel consumptions.

My fuel consumption has never been that good - Fully loaded around Australia I averaged 13l per 100k

Towing the Boat long distance that rises to 16l per 100k. The best I would have got would be 10l per 100k unloaded, maybe it is because where I drive the country is not flat and you are always climbing a hill. :-)

So I would expect to average 15-16l per 100k in the desert.

When I brought it it was rated at 10l per 100k and that is highway driving no load?

Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 384218

Reply By: gbc - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 18:27

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 18:27
I've got an automatic dual cab Colarado.
Just returned from a trip Bris - Plenty h'way - East Macs - West Macs - Finke Gorge- Uluru - Simpson French Line - and home thru Salvator Rosa/Expedition Nat Park, then finally a week up the West beach at Fraser.
Averaged 13 odd per hundred fully loaded with a front rack and a roof top tent over the tray - we generally travel around 10 kmh over the speed limit out there.
Not a single issue - just very impressed with the way it goes.
Dragged a d40 Navara Off a few dunes on the way thru too so that prolly knocked the consumption.
French line 600 kms for 80 - 90 odd litres.

I'm mainly a member of a fishing forum and problems have been recounted of hilux/mitsu/nissan/holden clutches all failing on ramps and trying to tow in the sand.

I'll aslo second that my colorado is a twin o/h cam engine.

Buy an auto with confidence, buy a manual (any brand with the new dual mass clutches) at your peril if you wish to tow on anything that is challenging.

C.J.
AnswerID: 384224

Reply By: Member - Cozzie Toodyay (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 18:37

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 18:37
Come on Shaneo what's happened mate, are they still knocking ya oil off?
AnswerID: 384227

Reply By: Member - Cozzie Toodyay (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 20:27

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 20:27
There is an interesting follow up on Shaneo's original thread, ThreadID: 72169
AnswerID: 384251