Buying van at Camping and 4WD show?

We went to the Sydney show not long back and I remember they offered discounts on buying a new van. Anyone done this? Is it a huge saving? I think we saw some Jayco capmer trailers with finance options but there was so much to see and do that I couldnt remember all the details.

I just spoke to Jayco Sydney re the Flamingo ST model which apparently costs $27,000. Just wondering if we were to wait until the show next year and take up the finance offer if it would be much of a saving?

Reply By: new boy - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 14:56

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 14:56
Can only talk about Perth, where in 2004 we brought the Coromal Princeton van that was on show ,very good discount and they did a few alteration we wanted . They all appear very keen to put sold on the van's displayed at the shows makes them look good so from my experience yes there is a substantial saving
AnswerID: 384197

Reply By: WBS - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 16:23

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 16:23
I can only speak from my experience in Melbourne.

Back in 2006 we were advised by an acquaintance who worked in the industry to hold off buying a van until the Melbourne Caravan & Camping show as we would get a better deal. We did this and we did get a very good deal but we had done our research regarding the van type we wanted plus the market values prior to the show.

You have to know what it is you want and what prices are before you go to the show.

WBS
AnswerID: 384208

Reply By: paulnsw - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 17:10

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 17:10
went to the 2007 Melbourne caravan show with the intention to buy a van. got a great van at a great price exactly what we wanted. price was substantially better at show. we had done a lot of homework prior to going as living in the country you dont have many dealers. We knew which brands we were interested in and the features or layout we wanted. saved $5/6k easy
AnswerID: 384216

Reply By: skulldug - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 18:15

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 18:15
luckymum,

I came close to buying our van at the Adelaide C&C show but found I could equal the price a few months later.

Now, I go to camping shows to do my research - exact makes, models and prices. Then I visit or ring local businesses but leaving the one I trust most till last. By then, I know the going price. I let them know what I am after and what I am hoping to spend. If they get close on price, I buy it.

I don't think that scre^^ing businesses down to the last dollar is relevant. Its more important to take the time to figure our exactly what you want and to make sure you don't pay significantly more than is necessary.

Skulldug
AnswerID: 384221

Reply By: Simo & Stace - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 18:30

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 18:30
Hi Luckymum,

We looked at a van at our Adelaide C&C show and had a quote etc, then a month or two later went to the same dealer but at their premis and they offered the same thing only $600 cheaper.

I think the show specials are good prices, but you can always do better if you feel the need to push them. That said we ended up buying second hand anyway, the van we looked at hasn't really changed that much since it was first on the market, so we hunted down a second handie and saved about $15000.

Good luck with the searching and buying
AnswerID: 384226

Reply By: dieseltojo - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 18:39

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 18:39
Hi luckymum,
I agree with most that you will do well at a show.We bought an Avan in 04 and The van had more goodies than normal and was a show special.Take my advise and take photos of every thing in the van as they tried to palm of inferior items when we had to pic up the van.Things like a two speed kitchen fan above the stove and then install a single speed and told us the other model was no longer made,which was untrue.
AnswerID: 384228

Reply By: DaveNQ1 - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 18:55

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 18:55
Luckymum,

A good mate of mine this year went to the Brissie show and checked out a Jayco Swan on the first day of the show. Negotiated a best show price and said they would think about it. They went home, got on the phone and rang around to see what other dealers could do the same van for. Went back to the show a couple of days later and told the dealer what they had found. They ended up buying the same van from the show dealer but with heaps of extras including a full annexe for the original negotiated price. Shop around do your homework and don't rush in.
AnswerID: 384232

Follow Up By: DaveNQ1 - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 09:50

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 09:50
Luckymum,
Our friends bought a Jayco Swan Outback with all flys, full annex and 12 volt battery ect, for just over $25000. Brand new. I know of others who have spent close to $30000 for the same thing. The only thing i got wrong was that it was last years show and not the one just gone.
FollowupID: 652060

Reply By: luckymum - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 19:06

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 19:06
Ok, will definitely do research before the next show so we know what prices to expect.

Thanks everyone.....
AnswerID: 384236

Follow Up By: PradOz - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 20:11

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 20:11
Its lovely buying new but is it really worth it? You can save lots and lots and lots...... by buying near new if you want the latest models. The Jayco campers vary little from year to year. It is a comment I have heard (and made myself) when talking to people walking around the shows. They usually vary colours, patterns on fabrics, some very minor inclusions but the general layout is exactly the same and at a premium price for being new. Just jump on ebay as a starting point and see how many near new are available and at considerable savings over new prices. You can then use the savings to buy extras you may want that are not normally included. And as others have said, do plenty of research, even hire one first, so you know exactly what you want and buy what you want and not because of emotion when the salesman/woman shows you all the pretty points and "huge" show specials that make you think "I gotta get it now" when in fact you dont and may even do better private and second hand. Plenty available for hire to see if you really like the layout and if it suits your family circumstances, tow vehicle, storage position et. cheers....
FollowupID: 651972

Follow Up By: luckymum - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 20:23

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 20:23
PradOz yes that is very true. We were thinking it would be better to buy brand new for the warranty and also for resale value. If we buy a new Flamingo for $30K and then use it for only 6 months we should surely be able to sell for high 20's thus only costing us a couple of grand. Originally we didnt want the newest and best, we dont need all the extras but we also dont want something that may have mechanical issues that will in the end cost us more money. We wont keep whatever we buy as we are usually campers however putting up a tent every night for 6 months is a real pain (as we have previously found out 10 years ago when we did the trip before kids)

Oh what to do!!!!
FollowupID: 651978

Follow Up By: PradOz - Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 21:22

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2009 at 21:22
I think it would have to be a real lemon or trashed by a previous owner to worry about a near new van. Not sure how good the new warranty is either - something you need to research further and judge for yourself. Plenty of people have made comments before about it good and bad.

Spending $30K so therefore needing high finance doesnt seem to make sense to me (sorry not wanting to offend) Why not buy late model around $16k to erly $20K and within 6 months sell for nearly similar price and save on high finance costs. The finance costs will negate any savings you think you will get by buying the new one wont they.

Not sure what your travel plans are, but "then use it for only 6 months" makes me think you maybe doing a long lap?? If so, it will depend on if you get any damage from your adventures as to whether you will "only costing us a couple of grand". Also if you have kids they may accidently damage the goods and then, well you get it. I think you would have more to lose on a nice new van for your circumstances, but thats just my opinion and of course I do not know all your circumstances etc. Anyway thats what this is all about - research. I am sure you will have fun in whatever you use, new or used Jayco, or tent for that matter :))) cheers....
FollowupID: 651990

Follow Up By: Dazmit - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 10:17

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 10:17
Hi Lucky Mum

Thing about your resale value after 6 months - would YOU buy a new one for $30G or a 6 month old one for $28G ?? I know if I was buying a 6 month old second hand item I wouldn't pay more than $25G.

Darryl
FollowupID: 652063

Follow Up By: luckymum - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 10:38

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 10:38
PrazOz- not offense taken, Im here to get a whole range of ideas and opinions. Yes we are doing a lap probably for around 6 months. We may not need 'high finance', possibly extending the home loan or borrowing equity may be a better option. As I said Im just looking at different options thats all. Our kids may damage the van brand new or not, I dont think that makes a difference. If they damage a brand new van vs an old van we would still need to repair before sale.

Dazmit- I would buy a 6 month old van, still under warranty for 28G easy.
FollowupID: 652064

Follow Up By: tim_c - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 14:29

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 14:29
With new cars, a lot of the depreciation happens as it is driven out of the dealer (ie. the transition from 'new' to 'used') - I understand caravans are depreciate slower than cars, but I still would have thought this would something worth considering - I'd expect there would be more price difference between a new van and a 6m.o. van than there is between a 6m.o. van and a 12m.o. van.

Given that you only seem to intend to keep it for 6 months, it would seem even more reason to buy second hand (ie. you're not going to need something that will last you for the next 20-30 years).

You might also consider the usefulness of a warranty while you're on the road anyway - you don't want to have to interrupt your trip for visits to the dealer (even if you're not paying the repair bill) - better to get a near new van where someone else has had the fun of sorting out the teething issues (but beware - you don't want the van that someone gave up sorting out!)

Having said all that, the advantage of buying new is that you probably get more choice on what you get and when you get it (particularly with respect to optional bits & pieces) ie. you might not be able to track down the ideal second hand van at just the right moment (then again, there can be big delays in delivery on new vans too!).

I wish it was me facing this decision! :) Hope you have a great trip...
FollowupID: 652085

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 11:00

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 11:00
I bought my van from the Penrith Show (Sydney) last year.

I went one day and they had a show price on it, so I went back the next day and got it for $5,000 less than show price....which was probably nearly $10,000 less than buying one new.

AnswerID: 384297

Reply By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 15:33

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 15:33
I think going to dealers before the show to get prices and as well as a heap of research and I don't mean a week before because they adjust there prices knowing people are doing just that,when I did this I found the dealer saying he is throwing in annex walls just for the show wich is untrue as he had been offering this for the last 2 months and it was the manufacturer that was doing it not the dealer,anyway when I got to the show ready to part with the best part of $30,000 odd I was very surprised to find that the same dealer that I went to speak to was happy to do the exact same deal for an extra $2800 ......as a person who I came across that use to have a stand at the show said ,he has to pay for his space at the show some how !!
Needless to say I did not part with my hard earned $$ and made a point of not buying from them at all,having said that I know of people who have gotten a bargain just DO YOUR HOMEWORK :)

AnswerID: 384325