e-tags

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 19:18
ThreadID: 72494 Views:4552 Replies:9 FollowUps:20
Hi there,

We are travelling to the big island soon and will be using toll roads in vic, nsw & qld. I know you can use an e-tag in any of the states but which one is the best to purchase. I've looked at the vic and nsw sites but am a bit confused on the up front costs. Is there one from any of the states that is the best cost wise?

Thommo

Reply By: MickeyJ - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 19:26

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 19:26
I have used the M7 tag for a few years.

Roam M7

No monthly fee as long as you get an electronic account.

Had no trouble with them.

Mickey
AnswerID: 384369

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 19:27

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 19:27
Can be used in all states Thommo. As a Mexican, we pay $25 for the tag and then $25 in up front credit for the use on the tollways. Direct debit once that is exhausted. Any electric tolling system on the east coast will automatically register on your tag. You may be better off getting a day pass or three day weekender depending on hoiw often you intend using the toll roads.

AnswerID: 384370

Reply By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 19:40

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 19:40
It's now called Govia in Qld and there are no toll booths. There have been some big teething problems in Qld with people trying to get tags. This is their link Govia
I already had a Qld tag from awhile back when it was Etag so haven't had any problems.
There is no cost for the tags, just the cost of the tolls. You give them an amount and the tolls are deducted from that. You can elect an automatic top up from a credit card or top it up manually. I used the tollways on a trip to Melbourne and was just charged for the toll.
I don't think it matters where you get a tag from.
AnswerID: 384375

Follow Up By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 16:47

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 16:47
Don't do automatic top up from your credit card!
Ex Toll Collector talking here...
If you do top up via credit card, once your credit gets down to $15 they top it up. That means they constantly have $15 from nearly every traveller who opts for ccard top up... It is making them a fortune and you will never see that $15!
Opt for a manual top up yourself. It will cost you $1 but you can run your credit to nil and you can opt for email notification of your credit getting low or check your account yourself.
FollowupID: 652220

Reply By: Member - Ray C1 (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 19:47

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 19:47
Hi Tommo

Check the QLD www.govia.com.au

I pay $25 and you get a tag with $25 of tolls on it,

I have mine setup with a auto add form CC of $25 when it gets down to $15,

so there is a $15 thy holding as a deposit

And they sent me a extra tag NO charge to put on my second car,

tolls for both cars come from the one account

HTH

Ray
Brisbane
AnswerID: 384377

Follow Up By: Ozhumvee - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 20:11

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 20:11
Yep another vote for the QLD tag, no charge for the tag and you can auto topup or it sends an email and you do it manually. Initial $25 up front but that is all toll money, no deposit etc.
You can have as many tags as you want all free, I rang up and got two more for the other cars to save swapping them, they arrived in 4 days, I'm in Sydney so no prob for out of state users.
FollowupID: 652141

Follow Up By: Kev - Member - Wynnum - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 21:22

Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 21:22
Ray,
They have now dropped the holding money to $10 because of complaints from the motoring public, so the Qld deal seems even better.
Kev
FollowupID: 652156

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 07:51

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 07:51
Another one for Qld etoll.
Have three cars on the one account, worked from auto top up on the visa card.
No up front charges as mentioned, just a minium amount of $10 to $25 in the account. No limit on time span for usage.
Told it works in all states.
FollowupID: 652175

Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 11:15

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 11:15
hi there
after reading these threads re: etag

i sort of gather that an etag is a system simular to the wa transperth smartrider card where
where we pay money onto the card and then it deducts as we swipe the card as we get on and off trains and buses
but with etag you swipe as you go through the road toll gates in the eastern states
am i close to the facts on this and does etag work on your public transport system as well

can somebody clarify the above for us w.a free road drivers??? i personally think the eastern states are ripping off there drivers after all they are charging you all the same as us on petrol/diesel tarriffs
wheres that going ? it's called doulbe dipping eh! ?
mazcan barry
FollowupID: 652192

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 11:28

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 11:28
mazcan Google is your friend.

No the road tag system does not work on public transport, toll roads in all states only.

Simplistically speaking, Toll roads are owned and operated by private enterprise and tax payers have not funded the construction or operating costs so user pays, thats why they are toll roads.
In other words no double dipping as no tax payer money involved.

As to why our state governments could not manage tax payers money well enough to actually build the roads for us in the first place, thats a whole different issue and maybe reading the paper or watching the news on TV would provide some insight into how your tax dollars are being managed at the state level.

FollowupID: 652193

Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 12:08

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 12:08
hi john

thank you so much for explaining that it has helped me, and no doubt a lot of w.a people
one more question

can drivers still pay in cash as you pass through a tollgate or is it strictly etag/ govia /etoll /roam7
excuse the ignorance but i have'nt been through a tollgate since march 1981 (syd hbr brdg) yes you can smile /laugh it's ok by me i'm not attracted to cities
thank once again
mazcan barry
FollowupID: 652194

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 12:24

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 12:24
All Etag tolling now no cash facilities in Victoria and NSW now.

I'm not 100 percent sure in QLD maybe a banana bender can provide an answer for us?

FollowupID: 652197

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 13:06

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 13:06
No cash at gates in Qld now, check govia.com for other payment options in Qld.

Lex M
FollowupID: 652199

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 13:56

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 13:56
Mazcan,

No booths in Qld here either.

Toadkeeper Jo lost her job this year as a booth operator.

We are all issued with a little transmitter about the size of D cell battery, each with thier own ID number. It is placed on the inside of the windscreen behind the rear vision mirror.
An overhead gantry senses the ID number and the account is debted the right amount. There is also a video camera running, if you drive through the number plate recognition software forwards you an invoice with the 'appropiate' extra handling charges. So you can get screwed now at 60km/hr.
FollowupID: 652202

Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 14:09

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 14:09
hi
thank you all for your valued imfo

i have started to google the subject and have found a lot of comments on one site from disgruntled nsw/vic / residents and tourist and country /interstate visitors
the threads go on for ever and it appears very few people are happy paying the tolls and the authority isn't backward in slugging anyone who does'nt understand their system whether they be local or visiting they have a rather arrogant pragmatic attitude to the fees and admin charges and fines, regardless.

all i can say is thank god ! or me! that i live in a no toll state ,, it's a big yeeeeeeess from meeee, we no doubt have other taxes but at least we can drive anywhere with a tollgate free road system

i think if enough people stood up against the govs and the toll system it would and could be eliminated while you keep excepting it nothing will ever change (the she'll be right mate sydrome that aussies are renown for)
people power does work
cheers mazcan barry
FollowupID: 652203

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 14:50

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 14:50
Why would you object to it??
As a tax payer I have not paid for the infrastructure and if I don't want to pay for it then I simply don't use it.

As for standing up against it in the first place you must recognise that because of poor government management there simply is no money available to fund it by government so these roads would not be built at all if private Enterprise did not get involved.
Its not just toll roads either, you can extend this private involvement to other infrastructure areas such as the Victorian Desalination Plant being constructed in Gippsland as one other example.

Lots of people will object to paying their way and toll roads are no exception to this, just consider that in Victoria at least if you use the road and avoid the toll the fine is issued by the police and the toll operator only gets the original toll component owed, the fine goes to the state.

Consider this, now extend the inability to fund future projects of need because of the spending habits of the current Federal Government and toll roads and state infrastructure will be the least of your problems in years to come.

WA has also been rather lucky in respect of the resource boom has given the state a big leg up.

FollowupID: 652204

Follow Up By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 16:50

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 16:50
Onya John!
I don't miss the dhead drivers but I do miss my job and the great customers i did have.. Did I tell you I got my HR License now? yep... Can drive a Mack I can! Just need a new job now....
FollowupID: 652222

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 17:09

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 17:09
Agree with you John (Vic).

There is a short sightedness in both levels of gvment.

In the past if the state or federal governments didn't have the money they sold bonds to company and private people to raise the money. Rather than taking the responsibility they now hand the whole thing over to private enterprise, so private banks now do it, and make the profit for a little bit of organisational effort.

Good to hear from you Jo. Catch up with you next week at SG.
FollowupID: 652231

Reply By: disco driver - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 00:53

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 00:53
Thank God I live on the other side and we don't have Toll roads and all the hassles re tags.
No WA Govt would be game to try it on, it would be electoral suicide if they were silly enough.

Just my $0.02 worth.

Disco.
AnswerID: 384406

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 07:45

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 07:45
its a whole new world to me...i had NFI on what theyre talking about ie "e-tags"...and still dont lol...other than to say its something to do with roads that you pay to travel on....where is all the petrol excises going that we pay
FollowupID: 652172

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 23:01

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 23:01
Yep non of that craap here in SA, we still get roads for our road and fuel taxes, all be it in poor condition, especially once you leave the city.

Pesty
FollowupID: 652312

Reply By: Ray - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 08:45

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 08:45
I'm hoping to go from West to East soon. Will I need a seperate tag fro each state?
AnswerID: 384424

Follow Up By: DIO - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 09:17

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 09:17
No.
FollowupID: 652183

Reply By: gottabjoaken - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 14:43

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 14:43
I got very confused as well, because like WA, SA doesn't have toll roads - although the talk indicates that it may happen.

So, I just took the easy way out.

Get a QLD GoVia tag, and forget about it.

As described above, no charge for the tag(s). Just credit your account with $25 and put it on Auto top-up. The credit does not expire, so I no longer need worry where and when I travel, and can just take the best road, or follow TomTom without a fear in the world !!!

Ken
AnswerID: 384451

Follow Up By: Member - Michael John T (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 21:50

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 21:50
If you are just passing through Melb (only place in Vic you need one) and intend to use the toll road just buy a day pass (at most country POs). By the way it does make it a hell of a lot easier to traverse through Melb usually at close to 100km ph and no lights to worry about. You save time and fuel and no real stress and hassels of city driving. The cost is another issue if you work and live in the city and have to use it every day. Thankfully we don't.
FollowupID: 652304

Reply By: Horacehighroller - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 10:43

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 10:43
In reply to Thommo's original question I suggest an "Eastlink" E-tag.

(For some reason they are sold under the name "Breeze" so search for "Breeze" on Google.)

I have just changed from a"Transurban" "Citylink" etag account because Citylink have a $20 minimum charge per e-tag per annum whereas "Breeze" will supply an e-tag for each vehicle (we have four) with no minimum usage requirement. (My daughters only use about twice per year.)

You have to make an initial $40 deposit to your account to cover toll charges and I have my account set to automatically debit my credit card when the balance gets too low.

"Breeze" will post the e-tags to you after setting up the account on the phone.(Ph. 13 5465)

Tags from either Victorian company will work interstate with no handling or sur-charges ontop of the Interstate toll fee.

Because of the "no minimum annual charge" with "Breeze" it doesn't make any sense to not get an e-tag. That way, if you are unfamiliar with the tollways and accidently end up on one you don't have to worry about a (hefty) penalty.

No afiliation - yadda - yadda.

AnswerID: 384574

Follow Up By: River Swaggie - Sunday, Sep 27, 2009 at 00:25

Sunday, Sep 27, 2009 at 00:25
I dont need to use it to much but i thinks its around 10 bucks then they send an email to top up..i cannot believe my Hilux (personal not business) cost $7 per trip one way,When i do use it cost's me $14 for the day and thats not including the other tollway into Melbourne.But my mates 100 series is the same cost as a car go figure !

I'm glad i dont use it often i believe its HWY robbery..That'll teach me for trusting a Pollie wont it.
FollowupID: 652547

Follow Up By: Horacehighroller - Sunday, Sep 27, 2009 at 15:50

Sunday, Sep 27, 2009 at 15:50
Gday River Swaggie.

Yes, for some reason "Cab-chassis" vehicles are considered to be "commercial" whereas Landcruiser wagons are "cars".

I'd be annoyed too if I didn't own a Landcruiser wagon.

As an aside - as far as I'm concerned it is infrastructure and should be provided by Govt.
But who expects sense from a Polly.(Certainly not from the current crop)

FollowupID: 652587

Reply By: ChrisE - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 02:57

Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 02:57
Another option for people only travelling in Victoria.

Citylink Access account. http://www.citylink.com.au/290.jsp

I have one with a couple of cars on it as I only travel randomly. Don't have to worry about minimum charges or tags. Just costs an extra 75c each time you travel for them to look up your rego before they send you a fine! $5.50 to set up (for 4 cars) so if travelling in a group of 4 could set up one account, all billed to the one credit card.

Works out cheaper if you travel only a short section, but if you are only travelling through, buy the 24 hour or weekend pass.

From the website:

A CityLink Access account is ideal if you only need to use CityLink occasionally.
An Access account allows you to enjoy the benefits of driving on CityLink without having to contact us every time you need to travel.
With an Access account you only pay for the travel you do. If you don’t travel you don’t pay anything (no minimum monthly charges apply).
Each month we will charge your nominated bank account or credit card for the tolls and fees incurred.

Managing your CityLink Access account on-line is fast and simple.

You are able to view your statements, update vehicle details, change personal details and update payment details easily.

Features of the Access account.

No e-TAG® device required
No minimum annual payment fee
Register up to four vehicles on the one account
Travel anytime without having to contact us
Pay after travel
Trips are subject to the usual trip cap (maximum charge for each continuous trip)
For each trip you are charged a vehicle matching fee of $0.75 cents plus the tolls for the sections travelled
One-off start-up fee of $5.50 (a valid credit card is required).

Please note: A CityLink Access account is only for use on CityLink and EastLink. It cannot be used on any interstate toll roads.
AnswerID: 385025