Fair dinkum the hysteria I’ve seen displayed on the news tonight would set a man
Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 22:37
Kim and Damn Dog
The media are having a field day. What with Earthquakes in Victoria, a bit of dust in NSW, and a few snow balls in the ACT. Correct me if I’m wrong, but its Global Warming once again.
You can’t win with these dills. I’ve been on this earth over sixty years and seen droughts come and go. The good times, and the bad in the bush. Sometimes they last a bit longer than others, and history attests to that.
But these blokes insist on telling a bull tish story to sell a few papers and stirring up the
population. Nothing has changed!
The only thing left to do, is go bush and get away from it...
Kim
Reply By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 22:43
Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 22:43
Agree 100%. Anything for a bit of sensationalism.
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 22:53
Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 22:53
Hi Kim, The first rule of the earth sciences is;
"If it has happened in the past then it is likely to happen again in the future."
Fires, floods, earthquakes, droughts, ice ages and .... wait for it ...warming, they have all happened in the past so don't be surprised if - bush burns, a flood plain floods, the ground shakes,
water restrictions, the NW passage freezes over or the summers get warmer.
Now here's a prediction for next year - 'sun spots'
(the sun is due to start getting active again soon :-))
Drought and heat waves follow sun spot activity (quiet times) so if I am right then the weather will start to look normal again next year.
Journo's - who needs them ? Just follow history.
KK
Reply By: mazcan barry - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 23:00
Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 23:00
hi kim and damn dog
your spot on mate i ve also lived in the back blocks and of simular age i've nearly choked on blinding thick dust storms to many times i lost count it's a lot of hype this global warming b/s
if the ground is dry and the wind blows anywhere strong enough hey presto you have a huge dust storm like today
my mum was 94 on monday and she said tonight they dont know what there on about she is very alert andstill looks after herself
she said she has experience so many bad dust storms in her life there is'nt anything different just a lot of younger people who havent experienced it before today and go on like there going to die she reckon they should toughen up a bit
she reckons they should get a life or put their heads back in the sand lol
bless her
mazcan barry
Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 23:33
Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 23:33
Gidday Barry
I reckon your mother and I would get on
well together. What's the old saying?
'Buggar the bull sh*T' and get on with it.
Your mother sounds like a treasure.
Kim
Reply By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 23:28
Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 23:28
On the dust issue, Was talking to a fellow farmer who has seen many more seasons than I who said the dust storms aren't nearly as bad as they once were. with cropping farmers moving to minimum or zero tillage there is far less raised dust.
A dry lake corangamite gave us a fair dusting a few years back....
MadCowz
Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 23:45
Wednesday, Sep 23, 2009 at 23:45
Kim
these boof heads fail to remember that we do live on THE driest continent on earth.......or did the Uni they went to fail to teach them that?
Follow Up By: WillyWish - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 00:18
Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 00:18
Actually, Antarctica is the driest continent on Earth. :-)
Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 06:19
Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 06:19
I was doing some work today at a local private hospital, and of course keeping an eye on the dust storm along with many others, when a nurse said "Gee, that's awful out there.... " and went on to say how she didn't think a lot of people will survive it....... I replied that we see this sort of thing every now and then, whereas people who live in the outback probably see it on a much more regular basis. She saw my logic and wasn't so "doomsday" about it after that.
Oh, and don't forget the first rule of journalism......
"Never let the truth get in the way of a good story!".
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 07:46
Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 07:46
Good point Kim, the media now 'sells' the news.
Reply By: DIO - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 09:14
Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 09:14
It was obviously a 'Drop the Dead Donkey' day - a NO news day !!
Reply By: Rossco 09 - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 09:28
Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 09:28
You should see the front page of the Daily Sellagraph in
Sydney today. It's beautiful and clear this morning, but I'm led to believe that I'm already dead. BTW, don't these happen in
Melbourne all the time?
Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 11:11
Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 11:11
An interesting link
here.
Particularly the first video from
Broken Hill.
Note the climatologist's comments that “You can’t really link any individual extreme weather event to climate change......It’s much more complicated than that.” Yet in the very next paragraph, the author of the article goes on to do just that.
Reply By: Road Warrior - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 13:33
Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 13:33
Who was it, Channel 7? Doesn't surprise me.
Reply By: Mudripper - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 13:38
Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 13:38
Yes, I have to agree with the replies here. I'm getting really sick and tired of hearing about 'global warming'. They used to call it global warming, but now they say climate change. In my opinion, that's already an indication that it's all bullcrap. Australia has always experienced extremes in weather and temperatures. Why, more than a hundred years ago, Australia was hit by heatwaves, dust storms, bush fires and the lot. Don't tell me they had 'climate change' back then!
As I've said many times before, we're just going through another normal phase in our climate. OK, it's probably going to warm up for another X amount of years, and then it will most likely cool down again. It always does that. Everybody's so concerned about everything heating up and taking all these careful steps to ensure that the temperature doesn't go up by 0.001°, that the world probably will cool down so much that we'll be hoping for 'global warming.'
If our pollies don't stop bullcrapping the public, then we'll definitely end up with 'global warming.' They are the only ones that can produce a lot of hot air.
I'll get back into my kennel now...lol
Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 14:44
Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 14:44
hi
krudd and his croney's have to keep pumping the b/sh*t about global warming and climate change into peoples heads because the real reason behind all this is his main agenda that is
he desperately wants to introduce a carbon tax on us
he's already got a large majority of city dwellers believing his b/s and now a huge % of them just experienced their first real dust storm they will now be convinced
we who have lived and worked on farms and in the outback areas where these dust storms have been occurring seriously for decades on a regular basis know that it is simply the ever evolving and ongoing cycle of our arrid natured australian weather patterns and nothing that man can do will ever change
as nature will and is taking it's course and so be it
mazcanbarry
Follow Up By: Mudripper - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 17:41
Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 17:41
Exactly.
Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 15:02
Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 15:02
Hi Kim,
They covered a lot on the news but missed the most important bit, this bloke:
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:16
Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:16
Gold mate....... PURE Gold!
Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 19:19
Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 19:19
Ha ha - that's great! They probably, err, neglected to mention him because he didn't fit in quite so easily with their "climate change" tripe.
Reply By: Batboy - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 15:09
Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 15:09
I heard a caller on ABC radio ask what they should do with washing that was left on the line during the dust storm ???!!!
And yes, the expert advised it be rewashed..
Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 17:13
Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 17:13
Geez, c’mon it was a major event wasn’t it…..after all there are a lot of Prado’s out there in the
supermarket car-parks with dust on them for the first time ever, surely a newsworthy event in its own right!!
Must admit, I usually give the TV news a miss, besides, it conflicts with the Simpsons….
Tongue firmly in cheek……
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 19:05
Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 19:05
Prado's....Priceless. They'll also be put in 4 wheel drive for the first time as they pull them up onto the bark garden or front lawn for a wash LOL ;-)
Follow Up By: AlanTH - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 19:29
Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 19:29
Now now Landy, that's not nice to talk about our prized possesions like that. Although I drive a Prado after having had 3 LR products and do see a lot of very shiny Prados around. How do they keep them like that?
Mines not dented yet but it's got loads of scratches and I won't be spending heaps of time polishing them out.
I much prefer going out getting more dirt and scratches on it!
Good job I wasn't in Sidney with it though as it's no better dust proofed than my Defenders were.
Alan.
PS. It's practically heresy to speak against the "accepted" science of climate change now, as it provides many gabfests and heaps of first class travel for turkeys like KRUDD and the enormous entourage he takes with him everyhwere.
Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 23:20
Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 23:20
I can relate to the shiny Prado thing. Bloke at work has one and it sees maybe 2 trips a year up to the riverland. My Prado goes bush regularly.
Recently started going to the same mechanic as the other bloke and after the first service he did on it the mechanic commented about the difference under the body between the two cars.
He reckons that one he can eat his dinner off the bash plates but for the other the comment was "Strewth where the hell do you take this thing???".
Muddy
Reply By: Member -Dodger - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 17:29
Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 17:29
OH!
and by the way, a bigger dust storm hit this state N.S.W. in 1932.
Yep its global warming, Bullwit.
Here in the country we get the odd dust storm every year.
With more land being clear felled and then ploughed one must expect some dust when the vagaries of nature all combine.
Anything to sell a story and anything to make a buck from suckers.
Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 20:01
Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 20:01
Hi there Kim
It sure is golbal warming , but you can't not expect the media to make the most of every opportunity.
But in fairness , it apparently was the biggest sand blow 70 years.
I was more amazed at the beat up of the story on a car doing a soft roll in the Simpson, and how he managed to survive 16 hours just with only a fully equipped
Kitchen and weeks supply of
food & water nearby , although it was a little dusty.
Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 21:07
Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 21:07
Gidday Robin
Hope you and the missus had a good trip. My last one in May this year was a bit ordinary.
I don’t know the bloke, but it seems to me he was
well prepared, but got caught out a bit in the dry dune conditions. Can happen to anyone.
As for dust blows, give the OLDFIELD family a ring out of
Marree. They'll tell you a few stories about dust over time.
Kim
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 23:55
Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 23:55
Its got to make you wonder how they are able to make comparisons between a dust storm 70 odd years ago and this one, I mean they didn't have satellite technology 70 years ago that would allow them to judge its true size and speed like they used on this one.
The comparison sounds like more media bull$hit on a slow news day.
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 18:31
Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 18:31
Kim , how could you even think the media would exaggerate things - I mean , just how far can you see into a duststorm ?
News.com.au
-------------------
Birdsville policeman Senior Constable Neale McShane drove for several hours through the storm with visibility as low as 1m
Geelong Advertizer
--------------------------
Birdsville policeman Senior Constable Neale McShane drove hours through the horror storm, with visibility down to just a few metres to rescue the traveller.
Ninemsn
-----------
There were really atrocious conditions, visibility was down to less than one kilometre,'' Senior Constable McShane said.
Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 20:01
Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 20:01
Hi there Kim
It sure is golbal warming , but you can't not expect the media to make the most of every opportunity.
But in fairness , it apparently was the biggest sand blow for 70 years.
I was more amazed at the beat up of the story on a car doing a soft roll in the Simpson, and how he managed to survive 16 hours with only a fully equipped
Kitchen and weeks supply of
food & water nearby , although it was a little dusty.
Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 21:24
Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 21:24
Got more dust in the house going down the Fitzroy Dev Road lol. Only took me half an hour to clean up the dust today inside. Geez im still cleaning NQ dust out of the old girl. Who cares.
Serously while I was growing up in SA I remember the
Adelaide Plains coming alive. It must have happened a fair bit as I still look up to the west before I hang the washing out. Wow thats nearly 30 years ago, moving right along now.