Suggestion, Lonely Hearts Club..........

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 16:54
ThreadID: 72511 Views:4922 Replies:15 FollowUps:49
G'day, just a suggestion for David and Michelle, a lonely Hearts Club for the members. It is very difficult being single and trying to find "Miss Right" some one that is very comfortable travelling and camping etc..... Probably get moderated, but I would like comments from other members on the idea..........

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 17:13

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 17:13
I've seen these ads before:
Guy seeks woman with boat and outboard, must be able to clean fish. Oh, and must have 4wd.....

Sorry, John, couldn't resist that....

Gerry
AnswerID: 384485

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 17:24

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 17:24
Yeah, send picture of boat.....

Actually John, I think you have a good idea. Some of my most treasured moments are just Mrs Bush and me out camping somewhere in splendid isolation (don't let Mrs Bush see this she'll think I've gone soft).

Once the years start to accumulate and you start to feel a bit mortal, I just could not imagine what I would do if I did not have a soulmate to share these moments.

So, yes, John, I think you have a good idea. Maybe Members Only to prevent mis-use etc, but definitely worth thinking about.

Oh, I know a band that could play for you too.

"It was forty years ago today,,,,,,,

you know the rest.

FollowupID: 652236

Follow Up By: Member - John - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 19:06

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 19:06
I left my self open, you have spotted the ploy, I don't have a boat............yet.

FollowupID: 652267

Follow Up By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 23:09

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 23:09
40 years GB,-- CONGRATULATIONS to you and Mrs GB.
Wont be long and you will be up to me.

Tony
The rig

FollowupID: 652313

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 23:33

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 23:33
Tony,

you are close (38 years) and I see where you got that from but I was actually paraphrasing the first line from Sgt Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band where they say it was 20 years ago today, whereas it is actually 40 years ago (in 2009).

I'm not usually that subtle.

FollowupID: 652316

Follow Up By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 23:45

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 23:45
I just reread your followup--I must have had tooo many reds!!
However, 38/40 two years is nothing. Wait till you are 3 years off 50.

Tony
The rig

FollowupID: 652317

Follow Up By: Ray - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 08:48

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 08:48
What about 3 years past 50
FollowupID: 652335

Follow Up By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 15:05

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 15:05
Ray,

Hope I get to that figure.

Tony
The rig

FollowupID: 652365

Follow Up By: mazcan barry - Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 19:47

Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 19:47
hi
OMG! 40 years !!!!!!
that's two life sentences without parole
onya mate,
hey there's nothing like being a sucker for punishment
cheers lol
mazcan barry
FollowupID: 652507

Reply By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 17:25

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 17:25
Good Idea John.. And here's hoping you find that permanent travelling companion!
EO marriages maybe!
AnswerID: 384489

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:27

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:27
There's been one EO wedding Jo, Muddy and Judy, thats the only one I know about.

We should aim for more

FollowupID: 652248

Reply By: Member - Donks1 (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 17:41

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 17:41
Where do I sign up ????

Donks1
AnswerID: 384492

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 17:47

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 17:47
Change your nikname first....

Unless it's an advertising campaign lol...

FollowupID: 652239

Follow Up By: Member - Donks1 (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 17:59

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 17:59
Ha Ha Ha

Iv'e had that name for a long time
It didn't come about the way you think though. It happened after tripping over a letter box during a game of street cricket. 1 of my mates was laughing and said " you're such a donkey." Then decided to call me that from then on.
I rarely answer to Steve now if someone calls out to me. Even Mum calls me Donkey.....LOL

Steve..( AKA Donks )
FollowupID: 652240

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:05

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:05
Excellent Donks,

However, don't bank on too many romantic encounters from WA.

"Heathcote" was our one and only Lunatic Asylum for decades.

My Mum always threatened that I would end up in Heathcote when I was a looney teenager.

FollowupID: 652242

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:21

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:21
Can we offer our spouses for swap possibly, or maybe "FREE TO A GOOD HOME"

AnswerID: 384496

Follow Up By: Member - John - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 19:08

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 19:08
Swap for boat?????

FollowupID: 652268

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 09:52

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 09:52
Hey Bonz, I just ordered a Stessl 380 Edgetracker! Falling about laughing......
(but I really did - Ian's so busy building the house and they drink everyday to celebrate the roof, every day - maybe it's the girls turn to do the swap) - just see it now.... Send photo of bank balance!!
FollowupID: 652341

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 10:02

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 10:02
Ruth !!!

A Stessl 380 Edgetracker !!!

A whole new level of attraction for you just opened up. Sweetheart !!

FollowupID: 652343

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 12:39

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 12:39
Stephen, that's the actual one I went to buy - it was gone so had to order. Note - comes with trailer for me to put boat into local dams or as rooftopper on ute for chasing big yellas outback! Note also 15 hp Suzuki - bring your own gear though because I'm note sharing any of my new lures with you. Oh yes and hopefully I will get an electric motor for my birthday as well. This little duck is not sitting around waiting for the drinking workers to kindly take her fishing - she's taken things into her own hands! I'm taking to to SA in March to chase whiting.
And, I am having a proper clip on seat on a swivel - stuff sitting on that hard aluminium. The redclaw better look out at Somerset.
FollowupID: 652352

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 13:07

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 13:07
Not sharing your lures ????

Ruth, that boat is the biggest lure of all.

Get ready to reel me in....

FollowupID: 652355

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 16:45

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 16:45
Ruth, how many years ago was it that you were visiting Victoria? You have reeled in GB though I see. LOL
FollowupID: 652374

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 17:49

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 17:49
Ruth here is my bank balance for your perusal.

I expect your response by close of business.

FollowupID: 652382

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 06:33

Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 06:33
Ahhhh Bonz, it definitely appears as though this IS the close of business.
GP - you must be a sucker fish.
As for that other bloke - where have you been - fishing? Victoria is close to SA anyway - we'll be roaming for a month, this way and that.
FollowupID: 652426

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 08:35

Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 08:35
That other bloke looks like he has the same setup as JohnR Ruth

FollowupID: 652428

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 16:15

Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 16:15
Hey Bonz, the cryptic Latin gave him away!
FollowupID: 652474

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:25

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:25
John you've been a member here for 8 years, longer than most.
Just a sugestion mate, you can always put up a bit of info about youself in your profile, seeing as most visitors to the Forum check out members profiles, and let's be honest mate, you haven't told anyone much about yourself there.
Just a thought aye, and good luck with it all.
As Bushy says, it's better to have a companion with you so you can summarise the day's play each afternoon, at happy hour.

Aaaahhhh "Spring Is In The Air" it seems.

Fred.
AnswerID: 384497

Follow Up By: Kim and Damn Dog - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 19:01

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 19:01
After serving my long sentence (without learning a lesson) I think I’ll stick with the dog.

Although in hindsight I’m still being bossed around. LOL.

Kim
FollowupID: 652262

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 19:17

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 19:17
FollowupID: 652271

Follow Up By: Member - John - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 19:22

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 19:22
Fred, good idea about the profile, doh! Sometimes the obvious isn't..............

FollowupID: 652272

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 19:30

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 19:30
Only trying to help John :-) that's what mates are for LOL

Fred.
FollowupID: 652275

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:28

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:28
I'm sure Michelle would love to play matchmaker to the Australian 4wd community.

Going by the TV adverts there seems to be an abundance of singles site out there now, I'm sure you could try "must love camping & 4wdriving" type thing in the selection criteria??

AnswerID: 384499

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 22:18

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 22:18
"Must love camping, 4x4 and.....Powdered Milk".

;-)

FollowupID: 652310

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 15:14

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 15:14
Ha ha ha, ROFL Mick O! :)
FollowupID: 652366

Reply By: you eat the bear - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:33

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:33
You might even get more members!

Put me down for a 1/2 dozen please.

If you want to talk wife swap as well - then I think I'd rather keep my lawnmower. Thanks.

AnswerID: 384500

Follow Up By: you eat the bear - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:41

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:41
I meant to add... "no offense to any wives".

Sorry!

Gee access to this site can be really really slow sometimes....
FollowupID: 652252

Follow Up By: Gramps - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:45

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:45
"I think I'd rather keep my lawnmower" - another bloody Kiwi LOL

FollowupID: 652255

Follow Up By: Member - Danielle T (WA) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 23:18

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 23:18
Funneeeeee Gramps, you sure made me laugh. Thanks
FollowupID: 652314

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 06:33

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 06:33
Me too. Very funny.
FollowupID: 652329

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 07:30

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 07:30
Glad you both had a laugh :)

FollowupID: 652331

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 16:50

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 16:50
You catch auntie with your Velcro gloves now Gramps.
FollowupID: 652375

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 23:12

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 23:12
LOL careful O shapeshifting one. Methinks YETB has choked on the bear.

FollowupID: 652420

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:36

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:36
My better half, Queen Vikk, is threatening to join EO just so she can get a bit more of my time! Apparently I spend far too much time on the computer (allegedly you can spend too much time on EO....never!). Don't know about the lonely hearts but if you see a post telling me that dinner is on the table..you'll know I'm in BIG trouble.

AnswerID: 384502

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:50

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 18:50
You mean she doesn't send you a text and an email to tell you dinners ready now??

FollowupID: 652257

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 19:02

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 19:02
I know what ya mean Mick O, my wife tells everyone she kisses EO good night then me lol. Kind of addictive aint it.

Josh
FollowupID: 652263

Reply By: River Swaggie - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 21:41

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 21:41
Looks like this thread should be in The 'SWAP AND GO' thread below !
AnswerID: 384522

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 22:53

Thursday, Sep 24, 2009 at 22:53
Bring it on
AnswerID: 384529

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 01:00

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 01:00
Dear Lonely hearts...
how do we help?
As already mentioned feel free to use the existing features of Membership to get the msg out there if you like - such as a story in your profile, your photo, and some blogs in particular. Isn't there a blog tag called "Love" ?, yes I just checked. There is even one tagged to it but why its the Pyreenees trip report I have no idea, must have been some gathering ;-) Also, when we setup Members Trips & Gatherings we anticipate that single travellers looking to find someone to travel with might find this useful to connect up with others - ie. suggest a trip you want to do and see if you get any takers. The only thing I will say guys is that the stats show that only 15% of site users are female so odds here are a bit slim.
Best of luck,
Regards, Michelle
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

AnswerID: 384531

Follow Up By: Member - John - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 05:56

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 05:56
David and Michelle, thanks for the reply, have never read a blog, so didn't even consider that. Will update my profile and see what happens.......... one never knows.

FollowupID: 652326

Follow Up By: Member - Donks1 (NSW) - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 17:41

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 17:41
"The only thing I will say guys is that the stats show that only 15% of site users are female so odds here are a bit slim. "

This may improve with a bit of advertising Michelle. Could be a great opportunity for a Membership drive.

FollowupID: 652381

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 18:32

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 18:32
Michelle, I don't know how you do your survey, but I do know that one male chauvinist answered wrongly to one lady a couple of years ago, because she didn't actually have a gender suggested in the profile. She had actually supported a woman's point of view in a post. Obviously the chauvinist became persona non grata with those who knew.
FollowupID: 652388

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 15:00

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 15:00
I'm in my own.....and is there such a thing as "Miss Right"....ooops.

Seriously, it would be a good idea as there are people out there of both sexes who travel solo that would maybe like to meet others.

Might have to update my profile :-)

AnswerID: 384595

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 16:03

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 16:03
Update your rig too: it doesn't exactly advertise "solo traveller" - it looks more like "travelling clan"! LOL ;-) I was advised a 75-Series ute would be a good 'magnet' for country girls, or a soft-top Sierra for city girls...

Yes, there are potential "Miss Right" 's around, but make sure you find out her first name - you don't want to end up with "Miss/Mrs ALWAYS Right"!

Maybe an ad in the Trader...?
FollowupID: 652372

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 16:16

Friday, Sep 25, 2009 at 16:16
Update my Rig ?

Why...it is what I have, so if Miss Always Right doesn't like it, she will tell me :-)

FollowupID: 652373

Follow Up By: River Swaggie - Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 14:36

Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 14:36
**I'm in my own.....and is there such a thing as "Miss Right"....ooops.***

Yep as long as she's not an Aussie !
FollowupID: 652457

Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 14:18

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 14:18
You know John, David and I were discussing this idea of yours whilst we were away and I actually think you may be on the right mark here so just wanted to get back to you to say thanks, its an idea that we are going to have a serious think about how to put together. I may even touch base with you via MM to talk some more about what sort of features you think we should be providing as part of this service. How should the Lonely Hearts Club work? Let me know what you think you'd like from it and we will see what we can do. Other than setting up a dedicated section for those that want to be a part of it, we would need to run some ads in women's magazines/sites etc to appeal to them to come over to EO (and join) to connect with interesting people like yourself!

If anyone else reading this post wants to contribute with ideas for what you think this new section would need in terms of features, facilities, how you'd envision it working please send me an email or post in here too would be fine.

Thanks MM.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

AnswerID: 386704

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 18:58

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 18:58
Michelle,

It may work as long as you don't use any photos of the Official Heckler from the 2009 National Gathering in the promotional ads in the other medias.
He would scare all the potential ones away LOL

FollowupID: 654300

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 15:59

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 15:59
Michelle,

you can add my name to that list too :-)

I'm sure it will be well used
(the list - as I'm used well)

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 654893

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 20:19

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 20:19
I think it's a fantastic idea
maybe not so much a "lonely hearts club" but more a way of meeting like minded ladies :-)

I've 'advertised' (elsewhere) previously and have taken 4 different ladies away on trips as far as Darwin (from Perth)

"Miss Right" is not too difficult to find when you advertise in the places they most often frequent

Maîneÿ . . .
AnswerID: 386755

Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 20:35

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 20:35
"Miss Right" is not too difficult to find when you advertise in the places they most often frequent..

lol...Don't stop there Maîneÿ - please go on..

FollowupID: 654313

Follow Up By: Member - John - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 06:50

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 06:50
Maine, agree with equinox, do tell....................

FollowupID: 654398

Follow Up By: Member - John - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 06:51

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 06:51
Mainey, oops, too early in the morning, sorry about the error in your name.

FollowupID: 654399

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 19:57

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 19:57
I did use 'possibilities' prior to getting a computer, I've had the pleasure of travelling with four different ladies since I've been here in WA.

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 654923

Reply By: equinox - Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 22:46

Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 22:46
Well the latest poll fair dinkum answers your question I reckon John.

Move along lovers, nothing to see here....lol

AnswerID: 387241