Dual wheel carrier for 99, 100 series T/D

Submitted: Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 09:30
ThreadID: 72544 Views:4241 Replies:5 FollowUps:9
Hi all. Were preparing our car for Cape york next year and are looking to put on a dual wheel carrier.
Anyone had any good/bad experiences in WA?
Should be go with Kaymar?
or is there another brand that anyone can suggest?
Thanks in advance
Lynz and Nath

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 11:29

Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 11:29
Hi. There were some posts on here recently from Flywest who had had a look around at a few makes and decided to make/modify his own due to the cost. I think they were talking around $3000 There is a 2nd hand single wheel on eBay at the moment. Regards.Bob.
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=200387476205&ssPageName=ADME:B:SS:AU:1123
AnswerID: 384701

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 11:46

Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 11:46
Have a look at the classifieds on the 4x4 monthly forum I think I saw one on there at a reasonable price.

http://www.4wdaction.com.au/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=17

AnswerID: 384704

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 12:31

Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 12:31
Hi Nath'n'Lynz,
I was looking at one yesterday for the 100 Series, twin carrier under $2,000 In fact more like about $1,700

It required you to re-use your towbar.

If I can find it again I'll post a link, it may be the one mentioned above.

Pity I hadn't paid more attention, it wasn't any use to me as I have a 78 Series and already own a Kaymar.

I find the Kaymar very good.

If you buy one second hand with the single arm be aware Kaymar supply a single arm that carry's the wheel across the centre line of the vehicle.

This means to go to twin carriers you either have to buy two new carriers at $730 to $750 each (depending on the suppliers location and mood) or in my case have your boilermaker mate modify the RHS arm. Then you have to repaint it or get it powder coated again.

Just found it! Here Tis' Only for the IFS 100's by the look of things.

I know they are in Lansvale, Sydney but they do list a Perth phone number on their contacts page. Cost you no more than a phone call to ask.

I got the information from here: LCOOL Thread

Now for the standard princess interwebs disclaimer, "I have no association either as an owner, advertiser, supplier to or customer of the above mentioned organisation. The information is posted by way of answering the original posters question with a possible alternative to other mentioned equipment"

AnswerID: 384709

Follow Up By: Nath'n'Lynz - Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 13:49

Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 13:49
Thanks Geoff ! That really is cheap hey !! Tried to call today but noone answering - Must be watching the footy.
Thanks again.
Nath and Lynz
FollowupID: 652448

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 14:33

Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 14:33
Hi Nath'n'Lynz,
They sure are cheap!

Have a good read of the thread over on LCOOL as well before you commit to one of those units. (The second one I linked to)

On the whole the guys who've bought them are quite happy with their purchase.

Some of them are reporting a few little quirks in the fitting.

FollowupID: 652456

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 20:46

Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 20:46
The link posted takes you to a model for SOLID FRONTS

with an IFS as an option.

Be careful as the stuff they sell is Ok but odd sized at times .

Quite a few have had probs with roofracks for 100ser not fitting very well.

Also their wheel covers dont seem to fit standard size tyres.

Anyone confirm or deny this
FollowupID: 652524

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Sep 27, 2009 at 17:28

Sunday, Sep 27, 2009 at 17:28
Hi Graham,
Thanks for that, I could have sworn I read IFS!

As to the odd fitting, that's why I posted the link to LCOOL and the thread over there on the carriers.

Quite a few of the 100 & 105 Series owners over on LCOOL have bought them and posted their experiences in the linked thread.

There's even some photo's of one on a live axle 100 Series!

FollowupID: 652600

Reply By: Member -Signman - Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 13:25

Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 13:25
Why carry 2 spares for a Cape York trip??

AnswerID: 384714

Follow Up By: Nath'n'Lynz - Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 13:51

Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 13:51
Hey signman, Wouldn't two be better than one???
Can you get tyres repaired up there?
Nath and Lynz
FollowupID: 652449

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 19:59

Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 19:59
One under the back and one on a carrier.
Why go to the extra weight of a steel rear bar if you dont need to.

Oh and make sure you get the correct one as a IFS one wont fit a solid axle as the chassis is wider on the IFS.

As I found out when I bought a towbar of a 99 model.

FollowupID: 652509

Follow Up By: Voxson - Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 22:15

Saturday, Sep 26, 2009 at 22:15
Believe me, having two spares is piece of mind when travelling.
Quite often a sidewall can let go and then all a sudden you will feel pretty vunerable when there is no spare available.
Sure you can do repairs on the side of the road with those tyre repair kits (plugs etc)....
And yes there are quite a few places on the way to cape york that can repair tyres...
FollowupID: 652540

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 09:13

Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 09:13
G'day Nath..
OK on the 'peace of mind' by having two spares. Bear in mind the weight of the carrier- with the extra wheels haning off the bnack. And the initial cost of the carrier?? I don't think the Cape trip would be regarded as a 'tyre eater'- unlike some other trips. Been 3 times and (touch wood) no tyre probs.
Suggestion..carry your standar spare wheel (complete) and an extra case/tube on the roof. You wouldn't need a complex roof rack setup- just a couple of substantial cross bars.
Just my threepence worth !!

FollowupID: 652664

Reply By: Member - Josh J (NT) - Sunday, Sep 27, 2009 at 14:20

Sunday, Sep 27, 2009 at 14:20
Hi Mate,

I have just odered one of these, a few guy's on the LCOOL site have brought them and are pretty happy...i guess time will tell.

http://www.powerful4x4.com.au/estore/home.php

good luck

Josh
AnswerID: 384797

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 13:49

Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 13:49
I just put one of these on my Patrol. Overall happy. Lights are SH1T. Everthing else ok. Solid construction and looks ok.

Cost = $1650 delivered

FollowupID: 652688