Kidson Track Video - (Swindell field and the abandoned outstation)
Submitted: Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 21:58
Member - Mick O (VIC)
I must be getting cleverer (I made that word up). This 7 minute movie is my first effort at stringing a few video clips together. It covers our route along the Kidson Track on 16th June, 2009 as we make our way to the jumpoff point where we head into the
Great Sandy Desert and the unknown. It includes
Swindell Field and the abandoned outstation and
bore as marked on the Hema GDT N/W sheet.
First effort but watchable considering at 5.00 p.m. today I had no idea on how to use Movie maker.
For anyone planning to travel the Kidson next year, it’ll give you a good look at the conditions on the southern half of the track.
P.S. I'll get better at it don't worry. At least it keeps me off EO! (sort of LOL)
Reply By: Member - John - Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 22:48
Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 22:48
Mick, thanks, awesome video, will be there next year. John
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 06:50
Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 06:50
You'll love it. Hope to be back that way somewhere myself. The plans are slowly taking shape. Cheers . Mick
Reply By: Member - Megan and Kevin D (AC - Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 22:51
Monday, Sep 28, 2009 at 22:51
Great, Mick. We really enjoyed seeing that beautiful country in your video. Now I need to do some work on
mine! Hmmm....
Megan
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 06:48
Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 06:48
Thanks Megan. Having seen the quality of your photographs, I can hardly wait to see your video. Looking forward to it.
Mick
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 00:30
Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 00:30
Jeez!! Mick your getting to be a "clever-era" (I made that up also) bugga.
Good job as always great viewing.
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 06:47
Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 06:47
Look out Equinox.....not. Got a bit of learning to do to catch up with Al. More of a video-blog really.
Cheers John.
Mick
Follow Up By: equinox - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 09:48
Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 09:48
I'm sure it's great Mick, but I cannot watch it with my slow NextG connection from my second rate motel in
Laverton...lol
Suns out here, after beakfast probaby check out
Hanns Camp a bit later and maybe those statue things at
Lake Ballard, don't have to be at work until Thursday...
I'm getting old Mick body is rooted - thanks goodness for OME
suspension.
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 17:35
Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 17:35
I've got a lot of catching up to do Al. Take care out there you lucky bugger! Bring me back a bag of W.A. dust (purely for medicinal purposes LOL).
Mick
Reply By: DIO - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 10:29
Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 10:29
Well done. Perhaps you might consider getting a 'wind sock' to cover the microphone on the camera to reduce wind noise. Will make a lot of difference and give professional sounding audio.
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 17:37
Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 17:37
Yes but I'm not that professional Dio ;-) I think they call them a "dead cat" or similar. Maybe next year. In the meantime I'll try and drown it out with music.
Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 12:22
Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 12:22
Well done Mick,
I would now expect the sequel to be along the lines of "Shine -with Mick O" or "Storm Boy in the Desert"..........lol lol
Michael
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 30, 2009 at 15:30
Wednesday, Sep 30, 2009 at 15:30
Hmm outback travels with a pelican loving, autistic savant. Your onto something there Michael. Need a dancer though. No doubt you're available. Ha Ha.
Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Thursday, Oct 01, 2009 at 20:02
Thursday, Oct 01, 2009 at 20:02
rotflmao...
Away in the big smoke for a couple o days and my daughter sends me this photo.............
"I'll disown you dad if I get much more of this"....LOL LOL
-not sure, add your own caption...
Michael -Flatchley???
Reply By: Member - David G (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 13:13
Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 13:13
great video mick we were in that area 2weeks eariier but our camera was not perfoming so thanks to your effort we can now show the family what the kidson is like and just as a
point of interest the stockmans
camp wasi a type of borstal unit put there at the behest of the traditional owners so that the
young fellas who were getting into troble in town could go oot there and learn how to live and hunt in their traditional ways etc. great stuff keep it up.
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 17:43
Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 17:43
Thanks for that information David. Certainly explains a lot. I'll get the rest tidied up over the coming month and throw them in a blog. Great country isn't it.
Reply By: Member - David G (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 18:29
Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 18:29
yes mick i found it had changed a bit since i was last there like old mum nature has reclaimed alot back from what it was like in the late 80s that track was quite busy then but that is all for the good and we enjoyed the challenge and the solitude and the scenery and will be returning there again in the not too distant future. cheers
Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 22:31
Tuesday, Sep 29, 2009 at 22:31
Hi Mick
Another great outback desert clip.Keep them coming. The overgrown sections are similar to the
Sydney Yeo Track.
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 30, 2009 at 15:26
Wednesday, Sep 30, 2009 at 15:26
Thanks Stephen. I'll file that bit of info for next years trip. Cheers. Mick
Reply By: Navigator 1 (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 30, 2009 at 11:21
Wednesday, Sep 30, 2009 at 11:21
Hi Mick,
We travelled across the Wapet/Kidson track a little after you on the 30/7, 31/7 and 1/8. We don't have a video camera so this clip will be great to show friends and family. It will certainly explain the scratches we now have along both sides of the car.
Early in the track,
Well 33 end, we called in to see the windpumps at Burrow
Bore and
Razor Blade Bore which had both been restored by Jack Bennet and Sam. We were hoping that the next one would be in a similar condition but no, it was the abandoned one you showed in the clip. We didnt think of trying to get
water as your mate did.
We did the track alone which we now realise was a foolish move. If we had we broken down, it may have been a long wait for the next passer by.
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 30, 2009 at 15:25
Wednesday, Sep 30, 2009 at 15:25
Glad it'll be of use to you. All the video clips I shot are available at www.vimeo.com. We stayed the previous night at Razorblade. Beautiful quality
water. I'm sure I'll get around to putting a clip together of the first hundred or so km of the Wapet/Kidson soon. We turned into the Great Sandy at the halfway mark on the track and headed in on the old track towards McTavish Claypan so I'm yet to do the upper western half of the Wapet. Got to leave something for later.
Cheers Mick.
Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Wednesday, Sep 30, 2009 at 22:12
Wednesday, Sep 30, 2009 at 22:12
Mick
I really enjoyed that. I am pleased to see the roadside vegetation has come on a bit in the five years since we were there.Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found
The CSR seems to attract the hoards, but I reckon when you look at the map
the Desert Rd and Kidson look far more appealing ( taking you from
Alice Springs to
the beach!).Image Could Not Be Found
I don't mind confessing that I teared up when we reached
the beach having left the eastern states some 8 days earlier.Image Could Not Be Found
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 30, 2009 at 23:11
Wednesday, Sep 30, 2009 at 23:11
Cheers Bob. It appears the gardeners have been extra busy with the landscaping efforts LOL.