Back Home Again

Submitted: Monday, Oct 05, 2009 at 15:15
ThreadID: 72785 Views:2275 Replies:2 FollowUps:5
G'day all...back today from 5 week trip to Perth via Eyre Pen. Esperance, sw WA. Another glorious camping trip with a perfect run from old Jack & c/t.
Dogged by strong headwinds from day one for 3 weeks, with rain as well, hard on fuel & sightseeing but we battled on. Highlights....handfeeding tuna at Pt Lincoln, Lucky Bay near Esperance, big trees round Pemberton, caves at Marg. River. Biggest high was whales at head of bight, real close, filled camera viewfinder, including a white calf....just awesome. Lowpoint was a SA Plod who
radared me for 124 kph when actually doing less than 110 kph. Protested to
no avail, might write letter, no point probably. He wasnt impressed when I suggested his radar was as antiquated as the "Blow In" breathaliser he was
using. But, what the hell, too good a trip to be spoilt by a plod with shonky gear. Have to fool around til May now before heading to the Gulf & doing it all
again. Life's hard aint it ?........oldbaz.

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Oct 05, 2009 at 17:55

Monday, Oct 05, 2009 at 17:55
G'day oldbaz. Mate that's pretty much the trip we're doing next june/july. We have six weeks, and need to spend one week in Perth/Fremantle. Our plan was to motor straight over, and do the touristy thing on the way back. At this stage there's 4 vans in the group. BiiiiiiiiiiiiiiG 45 year reunion on over there.

Fred
AnswerID: 385839

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 11:04

Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 11:04
G'day Fred, bit of deja vu here. We attended our 45 year reunion in Freo for
3 days while away as well. Let me know if I can be of any help re your trip,
can recomend several camps & many sights. cheers...oldbaz.
FollowupID: 653488

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 19:09

Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 19:09
MM will follow soon.

Fred
FollowupID: 653568

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 13:00

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 13:00
Fred, tried to reply to your MM. Not sure it worked. Can you MM me your
email address & I will follow up...oldbaz.
FollowupID: 653672

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 13:18

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 13:18
MM sent. MM seems a bit erratic at the moment, took forever to send. Got yours okay, but not the usual alert.
Fred.
FollowupID: 653674

Reply By: Madfisher - Monday, Oct 05, 2009 at 18:14

Monday, Oct 05, 2009 at 18:14
Welcome home Baz,Glad you had a great time.The only excitement I have had was an outing with the Jackaroo club to Brier Station , at Mt Rankin.Bad luck about the ticket,send a letter off stating driver history etc. Second time I have heard of someone getting a ticket unfairly in SA.
AnswerID: 385840

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 12:57

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 12:57
G'day Pete, Jack ran like a clock as usual, averaged 15.01 L/100k so was more
than happy with that considering the headwinds. Will take your advice re writing to SA Plod, only had one speeding ticket in last 35 years.
cheers...oldbaz.
FollowupID: 653671