Best 12 volt light?
Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 12:57
PandJ
Have been looking for an outside 12v light to use with our camper trailer.
Looked at Piranaha, ARB Adventure and Versa lights and have been told that the Piranaha is actually a Versa light.
Being a little confused now we are seeking some advise from this site and are the LED lights brighter than the Fluro? Where is the best place to purchase them?
Any good info will be handy. Thanks P&J
Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 13:15
Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 13:15
The fluro lights are much brighter than LEDs but draw much more current. I use an 11w fluro light that I bought for about $30. The others you mention are good if you need a fully waterproof light. I never have. I find for general
camping use the cheapie works fine.
Reply By: CJ - Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 13:23
Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 13:23
Some people like the LED, personally and for the family where we do cooking etc. at night by light we prefer the better light of a fluoro
Yes they draw more power but we find it quite mangable.
We always had a Versa. Very good, lasted 10 years
Having recently trying to save money we went with a $30 cheapy, then a $50 cheapy, then decided to again invest in one of the brands you mentioned. All around $100-$120 but
well worth the money
All of course IMO, hope this helps
Cheers, CJ
Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 14:13
Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 14:13
I concur.
Have had a Versalite for over 10 years, and it's been great, both for light output and reliability. Often run it out in the rain, no probs. For some reason, it seems to be a lot brighter than other similar-wattage CFLs. Have only had to replace the tube once in the period of owning it.
At present, I don't reckon the LEDs cut the mustard, but they are economical on current draw.
Gerry
Reply By: Moose - Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 14:12
Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 14:12
P&J
Make your own. Far cheaper than the ones you mention. Instructions have been on this site in the past - maybe someone will post a link to the appropriate spot. Essentially buy a trouble light (workshop light) from say Bunnings without a globe. Buy a suitable 12 v globe that will fit the holder (fluro - about $30). Change the plug at the end of the cord. Simple. Heaps of light. Draws bugger all. I have attached a magnet to the holder so I can stick it to tent poles, trailer body etc.
Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 09:34
Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 09:34
This is a Bunnings workshop light, 12 Volt, 12 watt warm white low energy globe (equivelant to 60 Watt, spare globe is 12 Watt 'natural' light) with 12v (low voltage) plug, will hang from anywhere too, cost about $66 (29 + 15 + 22) from memory Image Could Not Be FoundMaîneÿ . . .
Follow Up By: Moose - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 09:39
Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 09:39
Hey - that's the go Mainey. I bought the red holder instead but same outcome. They're tough too - dropped
mine from a fair height recently onto hard ground and no damage. I thought about $50/$60 all up was what
mine cost too.
Reply By: nsngood - Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 14:14
Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 14:14
I have used small lights as a mechanic for 20 plus years I have had one versa light for for the entire time it has bee run over dropped in oil had acid and any number of fluids puored over it it is now at the stage where hardly ant light gets out of it It is scratched dented broken the lens has holes in it the cord needs replacing BUT IT STILL WORKS. I use other lights both leds and flouro's and find the leds are good for when you need a good
bright light in one spot but the flouro's are better when you need more light spread out.
For me led's = spot
Flouro's = spread
Buy a good one you wont regret it
Follow Up By: nsngood - Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 14:15
Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 14:15
Excuse the spelling sorry.
Reply By: Rangiephil - Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 15:33
Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 15:33
I bought an Arlec 12V 11 watt fluoro at Supercheap for $49 when my Versalite finally died after 10 years as I thought the $129 or whatever asking price is exhorbitant.
I had to add a $5 in line switch.
It has performed flawlessly on my recent 3 month trip.
Regards Philip A
Reply By: mazcan barry - Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 17:33
Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 17:33
i have a fluro see-ezy 11w draws 1amp12v bought from op-loc several years ago $90 never gives any probs is rubber encased on ends with a hook
imho the brighter the light the more insects you attract especaily if your the only camper at the site
Reply By: Member - Bentaxle - Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 21:00
Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 21:00
PandJ
Have a look at EBay under 12V Led Lights you will probably find what you are after, prices range from abt $15upwards
| May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.
Lifetime Member My Profile Send Message |
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 21:52
Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 21:52
I have owned and used a Piranha fluro and yes it is the same as the Versalite, both being made in the same factory to the same specifications.
Although drawing more amps than an LED light, the Piranha or Versalite still only draw around 1 amp and are therefore very practical.
Either of these two lights can be fitted with a yellow filter which reduces the attraction of insects, but also reduces the brightness somewhat.
Another lamp I can recommend is the Torpedo compact fluro from Evakool. The price is about the same as the Piranha or Versalite.
Evakool Torpedo
These lights are the best currently available.
The manufacturers of the Versalite have also released an LED version of their light, using the same housing, but I have yet to see one in use to be in a position to compare the illumination properties.
Bill.
Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 22:56
Tuesday, Oct 06, 2009 at 22:56
Yep - what he said!
Have had the Pirahna for 5 years and it has been a ripper. Plenty of light, particularly if you get it up high mounted on a pole. It is like a street light for general
camp lighting.
Hey Sandman is that a new truck?????
Muddy
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 07:46
Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 07:46
Hi Muddy,
Yes mate, bit the bullet and upgraded to a turbo diesel.
Different rig in storage space capacity (lengthwise) to what I was used to with the Jack with the back seats folded down, but I will learn to cope with it.
The fuel economy is the big plus to me.
Bill.
Reply By: Member - graeme W (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 00:14
Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 00:14
Hi Pandj. The ARB light ia versa light copy made in china i have 2.I thought they were versa lights.Only buy genuine versa light they fixed my old one 10 years plus old for free including postage.
Cheers Graeme.
Reply By: Boobook2 - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 06:45
Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 06:45
Flouro used to be the brightest and most efficient but that has changed lately with the new LEDS.
I have replaced all my flouro's and good riddence. The main problems are high levels of UV light which mean they are an insect magnet, and they are electrically very noisy and you can't listen to HF or AM radio anywhere near them.
I now have 2 x 7Watt Gu 5.3 - MR16 lights ( same as 50w down light) in
water proof housings from Bunnings and they are twice as
bright as my 20w flouros and only draw 0.6A each.
They will cost $80 ea and are a bit of work to make but they are tiny and like daylight.
Got the LED's here.
7W LEDs
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 10:43
Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 10:43
I'm throwing out my Fluoros and using only LEDs - no more worries about tubes failing or poor light at low temperatures.
If you search carefully, you'll find LED lights that put out as much power as Fluoros and spread the light as widely as you want.
LEDs have increased in light ouput dramatically in the last year - if you buy an old model of LED light you will get poor light output. Look for lights that use Cree LEDs, preferabley Q5 or R2.
Reply By: obee1212 - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 10:05
Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 10:05
I built
mine from a broken tail light. 2w bulb cost next to nothing and is a good spare for the car or trailer.
Owen
Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 10:43
Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 10:43
We stopped using them completely. Had a versalight. It was very good. I still have a couple of different cheap fluros that also have been fine. Now we just have a led headlight for everyone in the group and we find it is a much better solution. Everyone has all the light they need exactly where they want it. No messing around with leads. Headlamps very cheap to run, especially with rechargheable batteries. A fully charged battery lasts a long time in a headlamp led.
Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 12:55
Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 12:55
Totally agree. Nothing like a fluoro to make you feel you are still in the 'burbs.
Reply By: PandJ - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 12:29
Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 12:29
Sorry to all, I have not been able to log into the site for some reason.
Thanks for your thoughts and comments it looks like I may settle for the Evakool Tornado ( we have one of their fridges) or a Piranha/Versalite.
So now have to start a search as to where they can be obtained.
Thank You all once again. Cheers P&J