Slow news day for news.com.au

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 08:02
ThreadID: 72834 Views:3868 Replies:13 FollowUps:15
Hi. Another slow news day, another anti-4WD story. See news.com article

This one is as illogical and emotional as the others.

Rod, Perth

Reply By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 08:09

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 08:09
Define 4WD, Subaru Liberty etc, Hondas????
Lets start a petition to ban small cars as they get in the way of delivery vans, trucks etc.
Lets all get emotional.
AnswerID: 386092

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 08:36

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 08:36
Jeez... what about Suzuki Jimny's. that mob is as dreary and boring as the DLS mob that appear from the rotten timber about this time every year (but that's another story) .

AnswerID: 386094

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 08:44

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 08:44
Yep, let's get onto the Fascist-Government-Control-Everything bandwagon.

You won't be able to own a people-mover unless you have more than 3 children.

You won't be able to own a Family Sedan unless you have more than 2 children

You won't be able to own a Campervan unless you go camping at least 4 weeks a year.

You won't be able to own a Van unless have a business that needs it.

You won't be able to tow a Caravan unless you get an Articulated Vehicle Licence

You won't be able to own a Sports Car unless you have a Racing Drivers Licence.
AnswerID: 386095

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 09:48

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 09:48
"Yep, let's get onto the Fascist-Government-Control-Everything bandwagon."

Another one.......

You won't be able to bushwalk without a EPIRB.

Without being too pointed Mike I recall you are a strong advocate for government control of this....... my point, no-one likes to have their rights eroded..

FollowupID: 653649

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 10:15

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 10:15
. . . add to the list -

You will not be able to leave school until you have proven competency in recognising sarcasm.
FollowupID: 653658

Follow Up By: Rob! - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 13:18

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 13:18
Mike,

I don't understand your sarcasm. Are you implying sarcasm with the use of irony, where the intended meaning is the direct opposite of the literal? If so, are you actually advocating that the rules you mentioned should be created?

Please explain.
FollowupID: 653675

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 13:57

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 13:57
Mike, Understood your post perfectly, scarcism and all...but noted your message seemed to be you wouldn't like to see your rights eroded.....

I feel much the same way.... and couldn't resist highlighting this to you given your staunch views on the other topic....

Good luck out there,
FollowupID: 653680

Follow Up By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 15:45

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 15:45
Why stop there? Wont be able to own a Ute unless you are a tradesman. Sigh.
FollowupID: 653698

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 20:49

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 20:49
TonBon,
That policy could herald the end of the Ute Muster!
Horrors!

FollowupID: 653742

Reply By: Member - Greg A (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 09:07

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 09:07
In shopping areas? Now I'll have to take my groceries home on my push bike...;-)
AnswerID: 386097

Reply By: River Swaggie - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 09:08

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 09:08
Hiya Rod

I dont think it helps our cause when the person is in a school zone and on the mobile as well...(look at the article pic)...

AnswerID: 386098

Follow Up By: RodH, Sydney - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 15:46

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 15:46
... he might be parked ...
Rod, Perth

FollowupID: 653699

Follow Up By: River Swaggie - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 17:29

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 17:29
Hiya Rod

With the amount of people using there mobiles while driving (and they dont even bother to hide it now) I couldnt even giv him/her the benefit of the doubt lol
FollowupID: 653714

Reply By: The Landy - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 09:51

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 09:51
The article has the usual run of clichés about four-wheel drives, most of which can easily be refuted with well articulated comment and statistics.

What should concern the four-wheel drive community is that a petition with 20,000 odd signatures has been presented to the Queensland Parliament. That is something no politician will ignore, they would do so at their own peril regardless of whether they are in agreement with the view being presented, or not.

We need to do the same; otherwise we will be run over by other special interest groups.

Every time an article like this comes out we need a representative from the various Four-Wheel Drive Associations to counter the argument immediately with clear, factual, and concise counter views. You only need to look at what happened with VSI50 in New South Wales to understand the power of special interest groups.

Join a Four-Wheel Drive Club/Association if you aren’t a member; strength in numbers!
AnswerID: 386101

Follow Up By: robertbruce - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 13:25

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 13:25
Hi Landy

From the article, an overwhelming majority of passenger car drivers feel that 4x4;s should be banned in the city....

"A recent survey, by insurer AAMI, found 77 per cent of passenger car drivers think 4x4s shouldn't be allowed in cities"

the odds are starting to overwhelm us...

but how do we reconcile what they feel??
FollowupID: 653676

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 14:19

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 14:19

Well, firstly I think the questions asked that arrive at these conclusions should be reviewed, and have them define 4WD. Questions can often be designed to ensure they produce the result required.

But how do we reconcile what they feel...... Education, both within and outside the 4WD community; many are simply ignorant simply because they do not get factual information, but simply rely on clichés repeated elsewhere...

Not an easy task, but if you look at the way VSI50 initially went in NSW you quickly come to a conclusion that the 4WD 'voice' has not ben 'loud' enough for our elected officials to hear. This needs to change, otherwise our rights will continue to be eroded.

Cheers.....

FollowupID: 653685

Reply By: robertbruce - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 11:44

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 11:44
i dont understand why people of this forum think this is a bad idea....

just use or buy a second car
AnswerID: 386111

Follow Up By: disco driver - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 12:22

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 12:22
I have a second car, it's a bloody 4wd too.

On a more serious note (if one can take this drivel seriously) what happens in a case like mine.

We live in a small country town (<4000) and my nearest "big" town (30000) is 60km away.
On the rare occasions that we venture to our capital city (450km away), we usually go to a major shopping centre and fill the Disco with stuff we cannot get elsewhere.
Do we therefore have to have a 3rd 'small' vehicle in storage in the BIG SMOKE so that we can make several trips out to the 'burbs to ferry our purchases to our family vehicle.

In the words of one P Hanson "Please Explain".

Disco
FollowupID: 653667

Follow Up By: robertbruce - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 13:08

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 13:08
oh, so now people's lives and safety is "drivel"

i can only imagine your absoulutle need for a four-wheel-drive to go shopping could be changed by putting in a better drive-way....
FollowupID: 653673

Follow Up By: disco driver - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 18:24

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 18:24
robertbruce,
Nowhere did I say anything about saving lives is drivel!

For your information only:-- I have absolutely NO NEED for a four wheel drive, apart from beach fishing and towing my caravan, boat or trailer.

I do not have to justify my choice of transport to anyone, (not YET anyway), and the day that happens will be the end of Aus as we know it.

And before anyone starts going on about "Big car-Little Pr**k syndrome, I have bloody big EGO too.

I have heard all this before, it could only happen in Qld.

Disco.
FollowupID: 653717

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 13:26

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 13:26
There is always going to be an argument for and against everything we do or say. How do i tow my home with out the 4x4. I walk the kids to school. I walk to the shop but once a week I do need to drive 30km to do the shopping. Certainly cant afford a little run around for the once a week trip. If they brought out a new licence class so be it that would thin out the people that really need them and can use them properly.
AnswerID: 386121

Reply By: mikehzz - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 13:37

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 13:37
They probably did the survey in an inner city suburb. Half the people I know who live in the inner suburbs of Sydney either don't drive or don't own a car. The other half have a midget buzz box like they drive in Paris or Rome. The population is huge in those suburbs.
And don't get me started on push bike riders....

AnswerID: 386127

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 15:41

Wednesday, Oct 07, 2009 at 15:41
After just visiting our Accountant and finding out the amount of Tax we have to pay at 47 cents in the dollar, I feel we have the right to drive a 4x4 in this great country,we reckoned we have earned it,

PS, We will be doing a hell of a lot more 4 wheel driving, sick and tired of paying for the PARASITES who run this country, with their junkets over seas ect.
Geez that feels good, just let off some steam, ah well back to work.

AnswerID: 386143

Reply By: Time - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 13:10

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 13:10
Not only a slow news day, but a lets not let the facts get in the way of a story day.

This was raised on another forum with a few Qlders in it and one contacted the MP that tabled the petition, this was her responce

Thank you for contacting my office regarding the news reports about a petition I tabled in the Parliament on behalf of a constituent regarding their views on four-wheel drives being banned in certain areas and the way registration is assessed.
Unfortunately it has been wrongly reported.

I was as surprised as you were when I heard the radio and saw the newspaper reports as I have not commented upon the principle petitioner’s views expressed in his petition, let alone endorsed these views.

MPs routinely table petitions written by constituents who are presenting contentious points of debate which are not necessarily held by the MPs. I have always believed it was a citizen's right to have petitions tabled.

I do not support bans upon four-wheel drives nor do I endorse these proposals regarding registration.

Yours sincerely
Fiona Simpson

Further she sent this to the paper concerned

4-wheel drive petition correction

Wednesday, 7 October 2009

Letter to the Editor

Dear Sir

I need to correct your story (SCD 7.10.09) which is completely wrongly reported. I have not called for higher registration for four wheel drives. Nor do I support the banning of 4-wheel drives. I had not even made a comment upon Mr Barry Craft's petition which I tabled in State Parliament. MPs routinely table petitions for constituents which present contentious points of debate which are not necessarily held by the MPs. I have always believed it is a citizen's right to have petitions tabled.

Yours sincerely

Fiona Simpson MP

Shadow Minister for Transport and Main Roads

Member for Maroochydore

AnswerID: 386249

Follow Up By: RodH, Sydney - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 13:29

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 13:29
Thanks for the update, it is appreciated. Cheers
Rod, Perth

FollowupID: 653818

Follow Up By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 23:46

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 23:46
Mr Barry Craft would have to be one of Harry Screwball,s rellies i reckon.
What a Crock of Horse Dung.
Would be interesting to know how many 4WD were Registered in Australia out of the total Registered Vehicles.
Would certainly more than halve the vehicles on the road up here in Darwin.
Duke
FollowupID: 653920

Reply By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 17:38

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 17:38
20,000 more idiots in the world

Then delivery trucks actually any large vehicle can not go into a shopping area and must be restricted driving pass a school zone morning and arvo etc

Maybe one day the real facts will be posted.

I only will own a 4 x 4 - its what I do

What a load of bull (imho)
AnswerID: 386274

Reply By: Brian (Montrose, Vic.) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 23:59

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 23:59
As I have stated on another forum, it wiould be interesting to see how many normally law abiding citizens are turned into criminals by a law like this and I suspect the number of exemptions and permits to drive one in a "restricted" area that would need to be issues would turn this law into one giant joke, kind of like, most of our other knee-jerk reaction laws we have at present....
AnswerID: 386344