Marine mechanic information required

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 11:57
ThreadID: 72868 Views:8669 Replies:13 FollowUps:20
Do we have any “marine mechanics” (or experienced similar) here on the forum ??

I'm seeking "qualified" advice on selecting a new outboard for a plate alloy 4.6mt centre console
I want it for ocean fishing and also chasing the elusive (to me so far) Barra in the rivers up in the Kimberley and Kakadu etc
I’ve been given conflicting advice by ‘sales people’ so looking here for any realistic information
Yes, I’ve looked on fishing forums too

I don't believe this is 'OT' in any way as I'm just going to tow a boat, not a caravan or camper trailer, this boat will carry some of the things I would usually put in the Camper trailer that I sold some months ago

Can't tow both so made the simple choice
unfortunately the Camper lost
it could not float :))

Maîneÿ . . .

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 12:43

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 12:43
I'm not a marine mechanic but I can tell you what I have.

4.85 plate alloy boat that weighs around 700kg all up with fuel but no people on board.
I have a late model 60hp Yamaha 2 stroke (all electronic) and it will hold 50kph with 4 adults and an 8yo, 70 lt of fuel and extra water and all the normal extra junk and fishing gear that you seem to take with you.Image Could Not Be Found

Good on fuel and as it is computer controlled oil injection it uses suprisingly little oil too.

2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 386246

Reply By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 14:04

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 14:04
Hi Mainey.

I have an Evinrude 2 Stroke E-tec which I'm extremely happy with. Chk out the Evinrude site for promotional stuff re the respective merits of 2 vs 4 strokes.

The E-tecs don't need servicing until 3 years and the only every 3 years thereafter. Warranty is 3 years.

AnswerID: 386255

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 17:31

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 17:31
an Evinrude E-tec rep just advised me the oil is A$ 80 for 4 Litres :(

However he can't tell me how much is used per hour, because it's dependant on running conditions, other than oil used in the first 10 hours is doubled because it's running in.

Have watched the E-tec and Mercury 'sales & demo videos' and they contradict each other too
( I see why people have problems with technological issues with solar now )

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 653854

Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 17:47

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 17:47
It is dearer Mainey.

You can get the motor reprogrammed to take normal 2S oil. I did ask for this to be done and while the techs conceded that this would be cheaper/litre by a factor of perhaps two, it wouldn't save me any money because the Evinrude oil is consumed, at an average they said, at about half the rate. On their advice I didn't proceed and I use the propritary oil.

I've observed oil consumption to be fairly low compared to my previous Evinrude but I haven't actually done any volumetric tests.

The techs also said that if they did change the settings, it would be the first such request in their experience.

Overall, in any case, oil costs are so low a part of total runnings incl petrol that I don't give it a thought. I also buy in 19l drums which saves a bit on $/litre.

Cheers. J.
FollowupID: 653861

Follow Up By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 20:06

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 20:06
Hi. Penrite make an oil which is suitable. If you buy it in a 20ltr drum it works out about $10 per litre.Bob.
FollowupID: 653867

Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 14:41

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 14:41
Mainey, i believe the best Outboard money can buy is the Yamaha 4 stroke. After them i would only go either Suzuki 4 stroke or Evinrude E Tec. I would say you would want a minimum of 60hp, especially to push the tides comfortably around here. Im only really qualified to speak about Yamahas as thats all i've ever been around and never experienced any dramas at all except buggered props. Although i do know a few blokes with new Suzuki 4 strokes and they are pretty impressed with them. If money is no object go the Yamaha 4 stroke, if moneys a little tight go the Yamaha 2 stroke. I wouldnt buy anything else if i could afford it.
AnswerID: 386258

Reply By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 15:19

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 15:19
Hi Maîneÿ

I've got TWO 50HP Yamaha 4 strokes on the back of my 6m Cairns Custom Craft. Very happy with the fuel economy (27litres in 4 hours trolling for Mackerel). My problem is I don't use them enough.

Two years ago cost me $1600 to service the two motors (remove carbies (8), etc) at the local Yamaha dealer. Now I'm up for removing and cleaning the carbies again. This time I went elsewhere (he's currently doing both motors again - Noel at NQ Outboard Wreckers 07 4774 8330 - I reckon HE could tell you in a flash what NOT to buy).

He also advised me to start both motors for a few minutes every couple of weeks. Reason is, not only the fuel keeps carbies "refreshed" but also the water pump impellors have rubber offset thingos. If they stay stationery for too long, they set hard in that position. When you start the motor the fingers snap off. Notwithstanding that, they should be replaced evry couple of years.

Mate, you think 4x4 are expensive ..... wait until you've had a boat for a while ;-)

Malcolm

living the 'good life'

AnswerID: 386261

Follow Up By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 16:03

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 16:03
I had the same trouble with my 40hp 4 stroke Yamaha had to get the carbies cleaned because of fuel resadue.
I was told when the boat is still in the water but on the trailer ready to go home to disconect the fuel hose and run the engine till it stops to get rid of all the fuel in the carbies.Since I have done this each time I have had no trouble.

Cheers Scoof . :-)
FollowupID: 653839

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 16:16

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 16:16
Hi Scoof

Yep! Been told that one as well. I take it you run your boat in fresh water rivers.

After salt water running, you have to run your motors with a set of 'earmuffs' and hose until the tap water gets warm, then you can disconnect the fuel hose and let them run out of fuel. Was told (by Noel) not to do it that way, just run the motors evry couple of weeks.

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 653841

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 23:31

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 23:31
(remove carbies (8)

4 carbies in each 50hp outboard?????
FollowupID: 653916

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 00:04

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 00:04
fisho64

CORRECT. One carby for each cylinder. 4 carbies per motor.

Malcolm

living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 653922

Follow Up By: AlanTH - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 14:51

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 14:51
I've got 4.8 Quintrex which has a 60hp Suzuiki 4 stroke and has only done at most, 50 hours over 4 years and is now costing me 1400 bucks to fix as the fuel pump rusted up!
I'll get it fixed and flog it as it's a waste of money for me although it's a good motor/boat combination and runs beautifully when I do use it.
Alan.
FollowupID: 653981

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 16:49

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 16:49
Alan,
So it's not covered by the Suzuki 5 year warranty ??

I went out on Darwin harbour in a 4.8mt Quintrex with a 75hp Honda, it was impressive at speed, don't let anyone tell you there are Barra in the tidal mangrove area's on the other side Grrr.

Maîneÿ . . .

FollowupID: 653986

Follow Up By: AlanTH - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 19:46

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 19:46
No, 3 year warranty only at the time I bought it Mainey. I thought I'd use it much more than I have so I've decided to sell it.
The cook says to keep it for a while longer as I've now retired but I'm not that interested and now the WA Gov. have bought out yet more rules and licence fees, I'll give up boat fishing all together.
Stick to camping I think until they decided we can't do that either!
Alan.
FollowupID: 654004

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 20:13

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 20:13
I'm going to Mandarah boat show tomorrow (Saturday) as I want a boat by xmas.
Do you know what you will want for your setup ?
You can contact me via my email if that suits you

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 654008

Follow Up By: AlanTH - Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 20:01

Saturday, Oct 10, 2009 at 20:01
Sorry about the delay in replying Mainey. I picked the boat up today and it runs like a dream again.
Maybe my enthusiasm will be renewed so I'll keep it for a bit and see if those fish are still ignoring me!
Thanks for your interest and hope you had a good trip to the show.
Alan.
FollowupID: 654088

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 15:35

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 15:35
As an example, i had a 4.3m centre console with a yamaha 3 cyclinder 40hp....

As you explained, you may need an expert as your vessel may have a weight and/or HP/kW limit on the transom.

We just purchase a new motor for a 4.5m rescue boat and found out that we had to go honda 50hp over yamaha 50/60hp (same motor just derated) due to the weight limitations of the motor.

Good luck.

AnswerID: 386263

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 16:18

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 16:18
The hull is rated @ 70 HP
this is the same hull design, mine's blue not spewyella

Image Could Not Be FoundMaîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 653842

Reply By: Travelin OZ - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 17:18

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 17:18
I have one of these 50 hp Honda pushing a 4.75 mt sea jay Territory, it does the job great.
AnswerID: 386272

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 17:45

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 17:45
I take it you have the new EFI models? They are chalk and cheese apart in performance and ease of starting. Our local rescue boats are changing their carby models to the EFI versions for increased reliability.

FollowupID: 653859

Reply By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 17:47

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 17:47
Looks like we are all experts :-) Not - Just a satisfied user.

I would suggest around a max of 50 and a 4stroke Suzuki

Why - I have used Suzuki for years and swear by them - never broken down. My latest 4 stroke is bullet proof (up to date). I think they have the best weight stats of all the 4 strokes and they make a excellent motor. Great petrol consumption. You do have to get your services for warranty and they are not cheap. But its once a year if you are not doing the hours.

Tight Lines - Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 386275

Reply By: stevesub - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 18:53

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 18:53
Yamaha's have an excellent reputation (I have one on my tinny and happy as with it) My extended family have had Mariners (6, 15 and 50hp) for many years with excellent reliability and service.

We had nothing but trouble with Mercury's but that was a few decades ago so is probably not applicable now, especially as Mercury make Mariner.

Don't get me started in Mercruiser for our big boat - we definitely DO NEED a mechanic NOW that knows what they are doing on a V8 Mercuiser with issues in the Northside of Brisbane. The Mechanics we have used have cost us nearly the price of a brand new motor ($$$ 5 figures) with their incompetence and the motor is still not fixed. I will be talking to lawyers as soon as I get back from this trip it is not fixed.

We have tried 2 different workshops now, the second to fix the stuff ups of the first workshop which they did successfully, then serviced the engine and added their own problems that they cannot seem to fix that caused us to get towed in a coupe, of weeks ago.

Stevesub
AnswerID: 386281

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 22:05

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 22:05
Hey Stevesub

You could always remove the V8 and stick in a Nissan ZD30 ';-)

Mate of mine is in the process of fitting a Volvo Penta with 6 cyl diesel into his old Haines that he has refurbished. Removed the turbo. He's only interested in safety and economy.

Be interesting to see how it goes out to the reef. I'm on his boarding party list. LOL

Malcolm

living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 653899

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 01:40

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 01:40
why on earth would he remove the turbo? Will make economy worse and a turbo failure is very unlikely to stop you getting home.
FollowupID: 653932

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 17:20

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 17:20
fisho64

Sorry for delay. had to find out the answer.

Turbo was U/S. Was going to cost $2200 to replace it or $1500 for repair.

He is not interested in doing 36 knots. Just poke along trolling for mackerel.

Can buy a lot of extra fuel for $2200. LOL

Malcolm

living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 653988

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 02:42

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 02:42
fair enough, but i think he will find that without a few more mods (new injectors?) it will smoke so badly he will be embarrassed to take it out. Dedicated turbo engines usually have a lower compression ratio that non turbo motors which makes it difficult to run cleanly non-turbo anyway.
I know how much these smoke with a turbo failure and this will be the same I reckon.
FollowupID: 654120

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 22:36

Thursday, Oct 08, 2009 at 22:36
Hi Mainey

I have a EFI 4 stroke 50 hp Mercury on a 4.6m side console quintrex topender and are very happy with it. I initially would have prefered a Yamaha but this was how the boat was packaged when I bought it.

I mentioned this to my marine mechanic when I was getting it serviced recently(who is not brand specific) and he said that mercury parts are quite a bit cheaper to purchase than Yamaha ones but both are excellent motors.
He said to stay away from E Tec motors if you intend on keeping it longer than the warranty period as they are expensive to fix and difficult to work on.

My recommendation is to err on more horsepower not less (noting more frustrating than an underpowered boat) and to choose one of the major brands ie Yamaha or Mercury purely on the basis that they have the best support infastructure for servicing and spares, you want something that can be readily fixed if there is a problem! In the same manner as getting a Toyota/Nissan in the bush over say a Landrover or other exotic european make.

Thats my 2 bobs worth.

Good luck chasing the Barra
AnswerID: 386326

Follow Up By: wilco318 - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 20:54

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 20:54
The EFI 4 stroke 50 hp Mercury is a great engine, but the Evinrude Etec is also very good, but to get the most from the engine they MUST be serviced at and Evinrude dealer, who has the correct tools, computer program and, access to BRPs technical backup. I worked on these for a few years and Found them to be quite basic, you just need to understand how they operate.
FollowupID: 654012

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 12:36

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 12:36
Have looked at these outboards on the net, would like to hear from any guys with them, relevant to their running and servicing costs and their opinions.

I’ve watched various (sales) video's put out by manufacturers, showing the comparison between their outboard and their oppositions, some are just soo funny it makes you want to cry, watching an E-tec drag a Yammy 4 stroke backwards - under water, even looks realistic :)

However, have not seen anywhere a comparison between a Honda outboard with any other brand, makes me wonder if Honda is a better outboard and they are just not game enough to compare their motor with a Honda, in case the Honda wins ??

SUZUKI
60 hp, 3 cyl, 941 cc, 5300 - 6300 *wot, 104 kg, 5 yr warranty (1st choice)
70 hp, 4 cyl, 1502 cc, 5000 - 6000 *wot, 156 kg, 5 yr warranty

HONDA
60 hp, 3 cyl, 998 cc, 5000 - 6000 *wot, 110 kg, 5 yr warranty (2nd choice)

MERCURY
60 hp, 4 cyl, 995 cc, 5500 - 6000 *wot, 112 kg, 3 yr warranty

YAMAHA
60 hp, 4 cyl, 996 cc, 5000 - 6000 *wot, 116 kg, 4 yr warranty

( above are all 4 stroke motors )

EVENRUDE “E-tec” ( 2 stroke motor )
60 hp, 2 cyl, 863 cc, 5500 - 6000 *wot, 113 kg, 3 yr warranty
70 hp, 3 cyl, 1295 cc, 4500 - 5500 *wot, 145 kg, 3 yr warranty

( * Wide Open Throttle )

Hull is rated @ 70 hp, so motors rated above specs are not included

Maîneÿ . . .
AnswerID: 386379

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 13:36

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 13:36
Until recently it was difficult to compare various motors until they all changed across to EFI. The 50hp honda (and the new 60hp model) are a newish model replacing the older carby versions.

If you look at the suzuki 70,80 & 90 versions, you should see that the 70 is exactly the same displacement etc, just derated. IMO having a heavy engine derated is a waste of efficiency. I'd be surprised if your transom could take the weight in any case.

We are seeing a lot more suzukis appear in our fleet (many around the 90-115hp) whereas we use to have hondas. Whether that is due to any one reason or just personal preference it is hard to tell.....price might be a governing factor.

With the advent of EFI at the low to mid power ranges now, it is difficult to distinguish a good motor from a bad one.

Other issues we had to consider were:

- fuel line fittings and compatibility
- throttle control setup
- prop availability and compatibility
- telltale location and setup
- power curve throughout throttle range
- control cables exit location on motor (motor tilt issues)

Your choice looks good, though it is a hard decision to make without unbiased consultation.

FollowupID: 653973

Reply By: tdv - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 13:21

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 13:21
Hi Mainey

I use outboards regularly as my business is on the water. I have a yahama 15 2-stroke that has been flawless, a mercury 40 efi 4 stroke that is smooth, quiet and miserly on fuel, also flawless, albiet a little expensive to service ($300-$400) and a 50hp Tohatsu TLDI that is again flawless but cheap to service and extremely economical. The TLDI is direct injection 2 stroke technology, therefore no carbies to get gummed up during lack of use.

I think most modern outboards are extremely reliable provided they are regularly serviced. So it just comes down to price really.

If i were looking at a 70hp motor I'd consider the Tohatsu. the design has been around for at least 8 years and has proven very reliable as far as I'm aware. While there aren't as quiet as a 4 stroke they only require servicing every 200 hours (which last cost me $175) plus they have great accleleration out of the hole compared to a sometimes sluggish 4 stroke.

Anyway my 2 cents worth.

Good Luck
AnswerID: 386381

Reply By: wilco318 - Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 20:42

Friday, Oct 09, 2009 at 20:42
As a marine mechanic for 30 years or so, I would think that a Mercury 60 hp efi 4stroke would be an ideal choice (yes I work for a Mercury Dealership). But be aware they need regular servicing and it can get expensive. Evinrude Etecs are a very good product, but I would strongly advise the use of the evinrude xd100 oil in these engines. Also some people can feel the changes in the spray pattern of the injectors and, it can be off putting to some. I do not support the servicing every 3 years. They use the same water pumps, gear oil, water seperating fuel filters of Johnson outboards of days gone by. I would recommend a full service every 3 years and a preseason service and laptop check on each of the other years. Hope this helps
AnswerID: 386433

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 12:46

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 12:46
back from the Mandurah Boat Show advertised as "3rd largest boat show" in Australia

Did not see any Suzuki motors there on any boat, definately no Suzuki company stand Grrr.

As one of their compeditors said, "if you need service or spares when travelling with a Suzuki your not going to be very happy" and advised me to stay with the recognised leaders in outboard motors.

Looked at all makes there...... HONDA BF60 looks a winner !!

Maîneÿ . . .
AnswerID: 386587