Camping........Gone full circle

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 13:39
ThreadID: 72930 Views:6612 Replies:17 FollowUps:29
I started this camping caper a while back

Last century:

1960’s we had a 2-man tent, gas stove, gas light, camp beds, esky and ice.

1970’s pretty much the same but ‘upgraded’ to inflatable mattresses. Bought first 4by.

1980’s upgraded to 12volt camp lights and bought first Engel fridge. Had a succession of caravans when moving around

1990’s bought first generator, discarded tent and bought double swag. Then came a 27ft caravan and we went on the wallaby for 5 years. Swag based camping on roof rack of truck or on ground when exploring.

New Millenium:

2000. Flogged van and settled down in a house. Lost swag off roof rack. Made up bed in 4by. Bought sleeping bags.

2001. Bought another 2-man tent and new camp beds

2002. Bought new Engel and first roll-up table

2003. Bought Two-zone to fit to Engel

2004. Upgraded 4x4. Started modernising camping gear. Fit roof rack to 4by

2005. Decided that bush trailer was the way to go. Trailer set up to carry 240lts fuel, 100 lts water, porta potti and camping gear. Now have Toilet tent, Screen tent. Flogged the generator.

2006. Built bed in back of 4by. Bought self-inflating mattresses. Flog roof rack (it broke).

2007. No change

2008. Bought 2 roomed tent

2009. Trailer based camping.

2010. No more trailer based camping. Fit new roof rack. Rework interior of 4by to carry extra fuel, water, food. Upgrade 4by suspension. Looking at swags again. Might even leave the fridge at home!

Gone full circle in 50 years :-)

Reply By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 13:46

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 13:46
A demonstration of incredible indecision.
AnswerID: 386593

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 13:53

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 13:53
Funnily enough I am still out there doing it......where is your CV on this?

FollowupID: 654160

Follow Up By: Member Dick (Int) - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 14:28

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 14:28
Hi Willem

I don't think many, if any, can surpass your CV when it comes to exploring.

Would like to see your latest plans for the trusty Nissan if you are abandoning your trailer. Hope you will post your plans and some pics as you progress, as we can all learn something from you.

I guess this means that 2010 is going to see some serious cross country travel.

Dick
Dick

FollowupID: 654163

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 14:56

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 14:56
Hi Dick

Working on it. Not sure where to next time around. There is some country to be re-explored but then there are still some tracks I haven't been on in the
deserts :-)

FollowupID: 654166

Reply By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 14:08

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 14:08
Next Willem?

AnswerID: 386596

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 16:07

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 16:07
A definite NO!!!!.....lol

FollowupID: 654177

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 16:36

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 16:36
Ha ha ha, never say never Willem.

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 654185

Follow Up By: mowing - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 18:28

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 18:28
Willem, This would be just the shot, it even has your initial on the side "W" :)

FollowupID: 654197

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 14:17

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 14:17
It's interesting to plot that stuff.

I started out as a kid with my world strapped to my back. Did a bit of camping using a push bike for transport and then graduated to a motor bike before buying a Ford Escort.

I managed to get everything in the car until the kids came along, the tent got bigger and then hooked up a trailer.

I experimented with a roof rack for a while but went to a camper trailer.

Now the kids are not travelling with us we are wondering about the camper.

Couple of weeks ago my bushwalking buddy started talking about a motor bike, got me thinking and then he says we still have to finis that walk we pulled out of years ago.

I think I know where that back pack is. Best go and dust it off.

I don't call it indecision. The fact that our gear has changed over the years is testament to our ability to make decisions and adapt to changing needs. It is more a determination to stay out in the bush, whatever it takes.

AnswerID: 386597

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 09:40

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 09:40
G'day Duncs

Our needs change as life moves on. Looks like my dearest has come to the end of her camping days so I am reverting back to travelling solo for short stints into the Never Never. I will be trimming the stuff carried for 'Wot if?' big time and only take esentials with me :-)

FollowupID: 654250

Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 14:18

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 14:18
Gidday Willem

Good to see you back.

Interesting topic, which makes me wonder how much money I’ve spent on camping over the years. Needless to say I’d probably be a rich man today if it never happened.

But I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Kim
AnswerID: 386598

Follow Up By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 14:34

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 14:34
Depends on your definition of rich. I see alot of people with a lot of money but IMHO they don't seem rich. All we own is either in our camper or in the trailer parked at a mates place back in Vic. We don't have heaps of money but I would say we are ten times richer than the people working 80 hrs a week and never see their family. From comments you have made on here Kim I would say your travels have made you a very rich person. Wealth is not what you leave behind when you die but what people say about you when you are gone........

Josh
FollowupID: 654165

Follow Up By: Member - Wamuranman - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 18:50

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 18:50
Exactly right - there is little point in being the richest man in the cemetery......

FollowupID: 654199

Reply By: cruiserman1 - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 14:38

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 14:38
Oh dear. Another "look at me post". Apart from drawing attention to yourself, is there a point to your post Willem?

Cruiser.
AnswerID: 386599

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 15:06

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 15:06
There are two points to this post

1) To entertain others
2) To annoy people like you

Looks I am succeeding :-)

Love these Ego trips!
FollowupID: 654168

Follow Up By: RodH, Sydney - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 15:53

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 15:53
Thanks Willem. I find it entertaining. Cheers
Rod, Perth

FollowupID: 654173

Follow Up By: Ian & Sue - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 18:51

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 18:51
We really enjoyed reading your post! Bought back some memories of our own tent/car/caravan etc etc days.

thanks and keep em comin'
FollowupID: 654200

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 08:10

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 08:10
Hi Willem,

As always, an entertaining post!

Keep 'em coming.

FollowupID: 654247

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 15:24

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 15:24
Hi Willem,
We are funny cattle us people!

Your story is a great example of how needs and approaches to life change.

When we are young money is short so our camping gear reflects our financial scarcity.

As we get a few dollars we buy what we yearned for when we where poor.

And with the wisdom of maturity we realise we where probably on the right track as youngsters.

I'm very pleased to see you back, keep those possum's exercised mate.

AnswerID: 386604

Reply By: cruiserman1 - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 15:24

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 15:24
LOL, Epic fail on both then. Nothing much of value in your post other than to draw attention to yourself. I'll give you a hand to generate something constructive for other forum users though.

So I gether that the trailer is a liability then?

Why no fridge?

How much extra weight do you intend to put in the vehicle?

AnswerID: 386605

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 16:05

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 16:05
Contributions in the form of questions or comments are posted all of the time.

It is up to the reader to decide whether there is any merit in any post.

What is your contribution so far...apart from slagging off at me and others?

A Forum search reveals that your first contribution to this website was made on 29 September 2009, th date I updated my subscription to this site.

So it is most likely that you are a Forum Member working under an alias from another computer and that you have an axe to grind with me.

Sticks and stones.........

I have made lots of friends by way of this forum...and have also made one or three enemies. You are obviously of the latter.

I have an idea who you are.......

FollowupID: 654175

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 16:07

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 16:07
Yep, Epic Fail.

You're into Willem about a "look at me thread" and you're filling it with "look at me posts"

Epic Fail for sure.

FollowupID: 654176

Follow Up By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 16:15

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 16:15
Don't take any notice Willem.

Anyway who put you in charge Cruiserman1?

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

FollowupID: 654179

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 17:31

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 17:31
So Cruiserman1, I would said you have done sfa in your life and are a little jealous of our friend Willem.
FollowupID: 654189

Follow Up By: Member - Phil V (SA) - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 17:40

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 17:40
Cruiserman1, Just can't see the reason for negative posts, if you don't like it don't look.

FollowupID: 654193

Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 18:52

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 18:52
Why not jump into your cruiser, man and take a long drive and think about what you are saying.
Cheers Ray
FollowupID: 654201

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 08:14

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 08:14
"Nothing much of value in your post other than to draw attention to yourself." >snip<

Ummmmm........ in the value in yours is????????????

FollowupID: 654248

Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 16:19

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 16:19
I reckon you had it right the first time Willem. Should of stuck with what you started using back in the 60s.

All i take bush is, Swag, Mozzie Net, Esky, Ice, Hotplate,Torch, Dunny Roll.

But, its when the missus comes that i gotta try and pack half the house into the car.

I find this post a good reminder to us all, that if its taken Willem this long to sort himself out there aint much hope for the rest of us. LOL
AnswerID: 386610

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 16:35

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 16:35
Hi Willem, great to see you back.

Your thread made me think about my 'camping life', mine started as a kid (5yrs old), the Nullabor being the first trip back in 1952, tarpauline on the ground and a blanket on top was the bed for three llittle girls, no fridge just a 'tucker box' and a couple of water bags for family of five, however there were the tanks accross there at the time which back in those days were left alone and not damaged, graffitied yes but always in tack. Many trips backwards and forwards followed as we use to go back to SA to catch up with family on a regular basis always travelling the same way.

When I left home the travelling for me stopped until I met hubby in 1970 and once again we started camping, this time we slept in the car but still had the basics but no real outback camping. When the kids came along in early 70s it was the end of camping but we still had the bug so in 1976 we took the kids on their first holiday trip with a caravan in tow, the bug had bitten hard again so we spent every holiday towing that van all over WA including the then Hamersley Ranges, (weren't the roads out there rough back then).

Now the kids have grown up and we are Darby & Joan plus the dog we have a tent that we do serious camping with, we have a fridge, gas stove, table & chairs and self inflating matresses, and when we are going on the black stuff we take the caravan which has been updated since our first one.

Thanks for the thread Willem, made me sit back and reminisce my past, I lost my Mum a few months ago and remembering those trips accross the Nullabor and the way things were back then has been quite uplifting.

Deanna

AnswerID: 386611

Reply By: Member - Sigmund (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 17:54

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 17:54
I love watching people rock into camp and set up their gear ... diff strokes for diff folks. There's so much variety in what you can use and still be comfortable.

I can go 4 days on foot with 16kg, or with the CT and about 1600!
AnswerID: 386618

Reply By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 17:58

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 17:58
Geez Willem!!, The way your Talking you might even end up driving a Landrover again!.......Hahahahahaha.

AnswerID: 386620

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 18:07

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 18:07
Yerrr my friend, one never knows. When the old Nissan finally karks it I might only have enough money left for a Series 3!!...LOL

FollowupID: 654195

Reply By: Member - Wamuranman - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 18:56

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 18:56
Thank you for your post Willem I found it very interesting to see the evolution of different camping and travelling styles you have used over the years. Life would be pretty boring if we did the same thing the same way all the time.

But here is one style you have yet to try:

You could always put the Nissan in the tri-axle trailer at the rear and go off into the bush as desired ...lol.

Cheers and good fortune in all your future travels. Well done...
AnswerID: 386633

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 20:57

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 20:57
The Tri-axle is the fuel tank!!!!!!!!

FollowupID: 654214

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 11:12

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 11:12
I hit the gate post with the Nissan. With that one I will tear down a whole street of fences....LOL
FollowupID: 654256

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 19:04

Sunday, Oct 11, 2009 at 19:04
Not quite the same journey Willem, but interestingly similar and over the same year span.
Started in 60's with Paddy Pallin souwester tent and main emphaqsis was backpacking and bushwalking. Things then kept being added. The camper trailer arrived in the late 70's along with kids. No coincidence. This then moved to an offroad trailer and 4wd and swags as well.
Kids departed and now likewise we are reverting. Serious stuff is based on 4wd only and swags. A Waeco was quite a recent addition, but that is going to stay.
Just got a much smaller, lighter camping trailer for onroad interstate trips. This is a hard floor model that can be erected/taken down very fast for sleeping while on the road.
So now we have two, simpler setups depending on the trip. Minimalist but rugged stuff for off road adventures and a softer option for interstate, relation visiting runs.
AnswerID: 386637

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 08:16

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 08:16
A great time line there Willem.

A friend here in our club once said to me that "your camping set-up is a Work-In-Progress" and I definitely agree with that. And by the looks of your post, i'd say the same is true for you!! LOL....

AnswerID: 386672

Reply By: RV Powerstream P/L - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 08:50

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 08:50
Willem
I thoroughly enjoyed your post and envied it and why anyone would be negative towards it is hard to understand.

Everyone need to read these types of posts.

As a young person we didnt get a chance to camp much but one thing that sticks solidly in memory was whan my Uncle turned up in his 32 Ford softtop towing a trailer and we all piled in and went to Hawks Nest Beach after WW2 and put up an ex army Birkmyre tent slept on ex army stretchers and used pump up kero lights.

We went prawning in the river with carbide mining lamps and fished for darkies at the timber mill at Winda Whopa.

I dont suppose that was very basic then but to me a long term memorable experience.
Good on you Willem.

AnswerID: 386674

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 14:45

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 14:45
"and used pump up kero lights"

Hi Ian, Arrrh the old Tilly Lamp, I remember them well, in fact we still have two in the shed.

Deanna

FollowupID: 654273

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 18:22

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 18:22
Tilly how silly of me I couldnt for the love of me think of the name.
Thank you Deanna.
FollowupID: 654294

Follow Up By: Member - Sigmund (VIC) - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 20:57

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 20:57
Austramax also made one. Still got mine.
FollowupID: 654319

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 21:33

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 21:33
The Tilley Lamp had not even been invented when Ian was a lad.

He's one of the last remaining Humans who knows the original secret of fire :-)

FollowupID: 654327

Follow Up By: RV Powerstream P/L - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 07:50

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 07:50
Jim
Sometimes I feel that old and I probably also saw the wheel invented and Im glad you werent with me as my time would have been fully occupied getting you out of trouble with your fascination of the wheel and getting bogged.
FollowupID: 654403

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 11:38

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 11:38
Thanks for the post Willie.....

It got me to thinking too.......

My first attempts at camping involved a nylon tent, sleeping bag and a plastic tarp about 2' wide and 6' long (which I still own to this day). My mode of transport then (ie: mid 70's), was a Kawasaki 900 motorbike and I travelled solo most of the time......I owned that bike for 13 months and did 51,000klm in that time.

Had to upgrade to a bigger tent, extra sleeping bag and inflatable mattresses once I started going camping with the fairer sex. Esky was included too!

Much later (early 90's) I lashed out for a fridge.

1999 saw the purchase of the Ultimate Off Road Camper trailer with more adventurous trips to remote places (but nothing as remote as what you have been doing over the years).

The current set-up has endured for over 10 years now (although there have been a few different tow rigs during that time).

Of course, me being MUCH MUCH MUCH younger than you (and still with 3 kids in tow as well), I haven't yet reached the point where I have started to go "backwards" .....quite the opposite in fact: There always seems to be some other "essential" item that needs to be packed (GROAN!!!!!) whenever we trek off somewhere.

It's all good fun (until something breaks, then the tears flow....hahaha)

AnswerID: 386692

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 18:30

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 18:30
I am heaps younger than Willam as well Roachie.All of three mths.
Stick it to him\her Willem.
Murray
PS.. I have been monitored before so i won't push my luck.

FollowupID: 654298

Reply By: Toadkeeper Jo aka Qlder Jo - Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 23:08

Monday, Oct 12, 2009 at 23:08
A good read Willem and Roachie! love what you guys have to say.. I often can learn something from you both!

Funny.... Sometimes we choose to take just the bare essentials camping other times we take some extra for a bit more 'luxury', and then you have others who see you roll in and set up and you can just imagine that they are thinking, 'wow, we are so much better off than them! look at all our camping stuff compared to what they have'.
Sometimes we chose to take the least amount possible and sometimes I chose to use the old vinyl topped, wooden fold out legged square table that is 20 years old over my 'offical looking camp table with food storage underneath'.
Just because someone might be using stuff that doesn't 'look' like it fits in to what 'camping' is suppose to be these days, it doesn't necessarily mean that they are doing it on less of a budget. We all like to have what is new but inside we always look at that stuff and often think, 'really, I don't need that, or that, or that'... Do camping your way without the influence of what the industry tries to tell us of 'you need to have that to be able to camp'.

Camping... you gotta love it!
AnswerID: 386792