Don't buy Garmin

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 18:00
ThreadID: 73029 Views:5082 Replies:19 FollowUps:21
After numerous emails to Garmin about the total uselessness of their Toppos product and not one reply I hereby want to advise everyone that Garmins backup service and customer relations is nill. The basic product is not bad but if you have a problem don't even bother to try to contact them.

Reply By: age - Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 18:30

Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 18:30
Why email them - why not call their toll free number and speak to a person. They will give you a incident number so you can track your problem. Rang one day to get a rubber cover for my Nuvi 500 that fell off and they sent me one off a demo unit so I didn't have to wait for the part to land. Arrived the next day.

Hardly think a map set is grounds for not buying a brand with about 100 products in their range. There was plenty about the Topo maps on the net and their short comings - do your research buyer beware

A
AnswerID: 387195

Follow Up By: Kirk and Jeanette - Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 23:20

Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 23:20
When they have a 'contact us' number they should at least respond. They may have 100 products in their range but their after sales service needs a lot to be desired. I don't need to ring them and probably be kept on hold for half an hour and as far as buyer beware if you buy a product it should do what it is supposed to do and if it doesn't the supplier should put it right or refund your money. I did in fact get the seller to ring Garmin before I bought it to make sure it was what I wanted. It does not do what it it supposed to do full stop. Any supplier should back up the product. In Garmins case no. I am not the only one in this situation. I put a thread on this forum some weeks back and there are a number of customers trying to get refunds. As far as I am concerned if Garmin cant do this then they are not worth a peice of garbage
FollowupID: 654798

Reply By: KennyBWilson - Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 18:57

Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 18:57
Do you think , Tom Tom, igo8 have better Topo Maps then Garmin
AnswerID: 387196

Follow Up By: Kirk and Jeanette - Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 20:18

Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 20:18
Either way the supplier should provide a product that does what it is supposed to do and if not provide warranty or money back.
FollowupID: 654759

Reply By: Member -Chops - Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 19:01

Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 19:01
Dougs gonna get ya. Don't say you weren't warned.
AnswerID: 387198

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 00:30

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 00:30
I'm watching.

FollowupID: 654813

Reply By: snapper49 - Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 19:45

Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 19:45
Have to say I use Garmin products and the I receive has been ok
Had black spot appear on one of my lcd screens they replaced unit although it was almost out of warranty
So done ok by me
AnswerID: 387203

Reply By: Kiwi100 - Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 20:12

Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 20:12
I have to disagree - our experience with a 4-year-old GPS has been the direct opposite. We had a frustrating problem with getting a maps update onto our Apple laptop via the internet, so called the helpline. The Garmin guy spent a full hour and a half on the phone to us, during which time he took over our computer remotely. Our system was completely updated at zero cost.

Product support gets no better than that. We're welded-on Garmin fans forever.

Michael
AnswerID: 387204

Follow Up By: Kirk and Jeanette - Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 20:22

Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 20:22
Perhaps I should try to ring them but they know there is a problem with the program and they won't do anything about it. I believe there is an update in 2010. Why can't they at least say this and offer free updates to those that have had the misfortune to buy this product?
FollowupID: 654760

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 21:08

Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 21:08
As you say, "why not phone them" and talk to a real person, then make a decision as to the results of your conversation with the person repesenting the company, only after they tell you they won't give you the update or fix a warranty problem then openly berate them
Just my thoughts on the matter

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 654768

Reply By: Atta Boy Luther - Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 21:42

Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 21:42
I have topo australia and its brilliant . Every track and every road that i would ever need and its routable , even the tracks . You have to tell me what is the specific problem or i just dont believe you .
AnswerID: 387228

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 23:05

Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 23:05
Atta Boy Luther
I raised this issue a number of months ago. When using the maps on a computer screen, or on the GPS, all the tracks seem to be there. Take them bush and it is a complete and different story. Like Kirk and Jeanette, I have contact Garmin and even offered them to supply my own track files and compare them with those that are on Topo Australia. Some tracks are that far out it is not funny. In there defence also, most of the tracks that are correct are great.

Am I qualified to comments. - -YES
I do freelance mapping collecting data for a Major Mapping company in Australia, so I know when a map is out or not.

Another point is that I sell the Topo Australia Garmin maps at work and I have spoken to our rep about it, and he admitted that Garmin are aware of the issues raised by customers and there is going to be a complete upgrade next year.

I also like Kirk have sent a number of emails to Garmin, and yes like Kirk, have never had the decency of a reply from Garmin.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 654790

Follow Up By: Kirk and Jeanette - Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 23:07

Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 23:07
The main problem is that the vehicle position often shadows the actual road, if there, on the map. Recently on way down from Cape York on the main road I programmed in a destination town. The screen showed 3 different lines. The road on the map, the coarse I was to follow and the line of my actual vehicle position. That hapenned many times. The roads just are not marked correctly on the map. I wish I knew how to give a reference to the thread I recently did on this as there was quite a bit of discussion from several people with the same issues.
FollowupID: 654792

Follow Up By: Kirk and Jeanette - Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 23:11

Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 23:11
Thanks again Stephen. You saved my bacon here. Still trying to get my money refunded
FollowupID: 654795

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 23:35

Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 23:35
Hi Kirk
As for a refund - Best of British Luck. I have also requested a full refund - twice in emails and Garmin have never even replied. I then contacted our rep, stating the situation and I said that I would not sell their maps (I think that their GPS units are great, and I personally own 5 Garmin GPS units, from the Nuvi 5000, to there hand held units). All that the rep said was it would be money that my boss would be loosing out on for not selling the product. My next response, was how could I sell a product that I was personally aware was not worth the money.

I am only hoping that I will receive the new and updated SD Card when released.

Another point that not to many people are aware of is that Garmin took over the Sole Distributorship of all Garmin products in Australia about 18 months ago. Up until then, they were distributed by Standard Communications, the very same company that make GME products, and their service would leave Garmin in its wake. I can not speak highly enough of Standard Communications and there service was second to none. Even though we are only a small country store, our Standards Communications rep calls about ever 6 weeks. Since Garmin took over the distribution of their products, we have never seen our Garmin Rep, I just have to take pot luck to see if he answers his phone.

All I can say Kirk, is like me, still give Garmin those emails and keep them as your records.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 654804

Follow Up By: Kirk and Jeanette - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 07:53

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 07:53
Will do mate. I am not giving up till I get some satisfaction either way. I can't afford to burn 226 bucks
FollowupID: 654821

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 22:16

Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 22:16
I had a glitch with my Garmin GPS and it was replaced no questions asked. I turned up at their office in Dandenong and talked over the counter to the guy. He tested it with fresh batteries and confirmed it was dead. Said he didnt have one there and then and it would have to come from Sydney. When I got back home the next day it was waiting on the table for me. It beat me home, maybe being a GPS it KNEW where to go.

Same deal with my software for City Navigator, emailed a couple times and in the end the lady from Singapore called me, sorted it out over the phone and it was all fixed. Took maybe two weeks to do but it was sorted.

I reckon they are pretty good at service. Maybe a phone call is the go. I have the number at work somewhere but wont be back there till next Tuesday. If you want it then just reply to this post and I will grab ot next week and let you know the number.

Regards and good luck

Bonz

AnswerID: 387235

Reply By: Kirk and Jeanette - Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 23:18

Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 23:18
Whatever the case. to email or not to email Garmin know they have a problem and are ignoring customer complaint. If they have a known problem that they cant fix then they should refund money to people that have purchased in good faith. They are happy to accept peoples hard earned, some $226 in this case for a product with a known problem. That is just not right and when they continue to ignore that is when I get upset. The least they should do is withdraw the product from sale. Rest my case.
AnswerID: 387246

Reply By: Kirk and Jeanette - Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 23:29

Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 23:29
Refer to thread number 72203 if anyone is interested
AnswerID: 387249

Reply By: Member - Rowdy6032 (WA) - Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 23:58

Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 23:58
For what its worth I have the Nuvi 700. Have found them very helpful over the phone and further information I sought was sent to me by email. No problem at all with their service.
AnswerID: 387256

Reply By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 00:11

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 00:11
Geez, I'm sticking with paper maps and my TomTom provides GPS coordinates.

AnswerID: 387259

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 05:46

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 05:46
Kirk and Jeanette
This gps would suit you fine .....seeing as though it's friday funny day.

AnswerID: 387272

Follow Up By: Kirk and Jeanette - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 07:51

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 07:51
Ha. Yes all we can do is keep our sense of humour about it and keep hassling Garmin until they do the right thing.

The frustrating part about it is that the GPS thinks the vehicle is so far off the road it keeps trying to recallculate and then after a certain amount of retries says "cannot calculate route" and gives up so you have to reenter the destination you are trying to find.

Thanks for all the interest.
FollowupID: 654820

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 08:28

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 08:28
Have you set the unit to HIGH instead of NORMAL that it will have been when you bought it , I don't know what the unit is you have , if it's a Nuvi follow these in order,
TOOLS,
SETTINGS,
MAP,
MAP DETAIL,....select HIGH

Sometimes it helps too if you change from SHORTEST DISTANCE to FASTEST TIME,

TOOLS,
SETTINGS,
NAVIGATION,
ROUTE PREFERENCE......and change it.

AnswerID: 387278

Follow Up By: Kirk and Jeanette - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 12:29

Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 12:29
Yes tried all that. Have sat down for hours with it out of the car and played with all the settings etc. I am certain it's not me. It is simply that the maps on the programme are not in the right position. ie someone has got the coordinates out or something when the programme was made. As I said above that causes young Karen to keep saying recalculating recalculating like that robot on lost in space. Eventually she loses the plot and cancells the destination all together. Similar happens when a road has been realligned and the basic programme not updated.
FollowupID: 655469

Reply By: The Landy - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 09:16

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 09:16
Consumer laws are fairly clear, if you buy something on the basis it is supposed to do something and it doesn't, then you are entitled to a full refund. No questions asked.....

Forget about upgrades next year, you bought a product on the basis it was supposed to work as represented...take it back.

Have a look at that angle....
AnswerID: 387290

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 15:11

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 15:11
The Landy

Correct - Sale of goods Act.
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 654885

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 15:28

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 15:28
Except for the bit about "No questions asked..... "

They are entitled to establish if the goods have been used, maintained & operated correctly!

FollowupID: 654887

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 17:27

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 17:27
Although the way this is being represented is that it doesn't do what Garmin represents it will.

I've no idea whether it does or doesn't, however, if they say it will do something it won't, then you would be entitled to a refund - no questions asked.....
FollowupID: 654902

Reply By: DIO - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 10:35

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 10:35
ve owned a Garmin Quest for some years. About 1 yr back it started to 'play up'. Screen image fading, erratic behaviour, sometimes it would start on battery, other times not (likewise with A.C Adaptor). Contacted Garmin, they immediately advised me that as the unit was no longer covered by warranty that they had NO obligation to repair it. Eventually they offered me a 'factory re-built' unit with 3 month warranty for $99.00. I was reluctant to part with mine and get one that I had absolutely no knowledge of it's history etc. Having checked a few forums, I thought that the problem 'might' have been the battery. Would Garmin sell me a replacement battery - not on your life. Had to gat a replacement unit (as above). After numerous phone calls and much frustration I finally decided to open the unit (remove cover) which I did with great care. Once the cover was removed and without any further intervention on my part, a small screw fell out. Initial check on it's 'source', I couldn't see where it had come from. As the eyesight is not what it used to be, I grabbed my jewellers eyepiece and closely examined the entire contents of the unit. There was absolutely no where that I could see where the screw had come from i.e. where it had been used. As there was 'no-were' that I could see to replace the errant screw, I replaced that back/cover, powered the unit with the AC adaptor and haven't had a problem since. Seems to me that the 'misplaced' screw was moving around inside the works and causing a possible short. So much for Garmin's after sales 'service'. Would I purchase another Garmin product. Yes most probably as I consider them to be suitable for the purpose HOWEVER I would very strongly warn others to be mindful of their poor after sales service (based on my experiences).
AnswerID: 387305

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 11:03

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 11:03
Now that is disturbing on several counts.

Refusal to supply a replacement battery?
Not dead sure about this but I have a feeling that under Australian law a company has an obligation to make spare parts available, although no restrictions on price!
Had an issue some years back with Sunbeam on this and won after a letter to the General Manager.

Sometimes companies apply constraints to suit themselves which are not supportable under law.

FollowupID: 654839

Reply By: tim_c - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 12:46

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 12:46
Kirk, I've had a couple of concerns and enquiries regarding my Garmin Nuvi and so far every time I've emailed them I have had the issue resolved with a helpful reply within 2 working days. Sorry to hear this has not been your experience.
AnswerID: 387334

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 18:18

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 18:18
Well I think that my old DiscoverAus, Magellan, has better tracks than my OzToppo and with my D/A I can use it on my lap top with a GPS Mouse can not do that with Garmin. I have 3 yes Three GPS's going in my vehicle, if I had known I would not have brought OzTopo as I down loaded Shonky free. A mate brought a Nuvi 760 two months ago ended up taken two back.
I do use mine for street nav only now.
FollowupID: 654908

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 18:24

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 18:24
Sorry Tim was suppose to go as a "Post Reply" not "Follow Up"
FollowupID: 654909

Follow Up By: tim_c - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 19:44

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 19:44
No dramas Bruce - have a great weekend!
FollowupID: 654920

Follow Up By: DesF - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 21:05

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 21:05
Hi, I think they are complaining about Garmin Topo, not OZ topo , mate has Garmin Topo and we find it is really good , only complaint that we have found some dirt roads and tracks have gaps in them , if you try to do a route it will keep going the long way , but we have zoomed right in along the roads and found some gaps, but that is in the Flinders , may not be wide spread.
Also when i got my Nuvi 760 first , it would just shut down by itself, so I rang Garmin ( mate has had Garmins for about 10 years and has a direct no) and they just said take it back to where you got it ( which was in Adelaide) and we will notify them to give you a new one, They sent me the replacement and a paid post bag to send the old one back, cant complain about that.
This one has has no problems at all , just back from a trip to QLD & NSW and only once did I find it at fault . left Sawtell and headed for Tamworth and it showed me driving along the side of the road and said I was Off road, but in about 8ks it put me back on the main road.
Cheers Des.
FollowupID: 654937

Reply By: Member - Phillip Graeme S (VIC - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 19:19

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 19:19
Simple....buy some maps unfold them and off you go???????????????
AnswerID: 387397

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 21:44

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 21:44
Whilst you may be entitled to a refund if an article doesnt do what it should.

I wiould think that should the owner fail to operate it correctly or to its full potential that would not be a reason for a refund.

Reminds me of a story I saw from a computer help desk file.

Lady, I cant see my monitor.

desk Is it turned on and is the computer on as well.

Lady Yes

Desk Can we check the connections.

Lady No I cant cos I cant see them.

Desk Put the light on.

Lady I cant.

Desk Why.

Lady Because we are having a power cut.

Desk You have a serious problem Do you have the original boxes.

Lady Yes why.

Desk Because you need to pack it all up and take it back to the shop.

Lady Why

Desk Because you are to bl**dy stupid to own a computer.

I know how they feel been there done that..

Absolutely NO reflection on the poster of this thread .

I just thought of it and its Friday as well

Best of luck I sold my Garmin and have a TOMTOM couldnt be happier but it did get me lost at Jarrah Woods behind Busselton today.

AnswerID: 387416

Follow Up By: Kirk and Jeanette - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 12:32

Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 12:32
Yeah funny story. As said above I am sure it's not me. I have plyed with it (the Garmin) and think I am pretty familliar with all the settings etc. It is definitely in the mapping on the programme.
FollowupID: 655472

Reply By: Kirk and Jeanette - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 12:14

Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 12:14
Think I got a result if anyone is interested in following this through. I am starting a new thread called Don't buy Garmin part 2
AnswerID: 388034