Young kids in the car

Submitted: Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 11:42
ThreadID: 7309 Views:2358 Replies:15 FollowUps:17
Perhaps a question for Michelle from ExplorOz...

Okay, heres the thing...our 2½ year old travels pretty well but I seem to be constantly having to turn around to pass him this or that (eg. food, drinks, toys, books etc). I always set him up pretty well but he drops stuff or throws it away and then wants it again. Anyway, it can be pretty tiresome and now I'm pregnant again I would prefer to keep the turning and twisting to deal with him to a minimum. Also, the thought of having to deal with Matty and soon another one in the car leaves me thinking I'll never get a chance to relax and enjoy the scenery as we travel.

Have thought of getting on of those sack things with the pockets that go over the back of the seat for him but he wouldn't be able to reach it yet. Currently, we put a toy box on a pillow beside his seat which he loves to raid but inevitably he empties it and we're back to square one.

Would love to hear what solution others might have.

:o) MelissaPetrol 4.5L GU Patrol &
Camprite TL8 offroad camper

Reply By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 12:03

Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 12:03
Hi Melissa..I have a four year old and a 2.5 year old..and the same deal...I got one of those activity tray thingeys that fold down..but also the same thing...the crayons are fine for a while then on the floor...I got a small case and put it between them and that was fine for a while too..but then on the floor..the older one is happy to read...we have some books that come with cd and she can listen to the story and follow it in the book...but the younger one..is too full of beans..I have hung some stuff on the 'jesus' handle for him and he plays with that..I can't attach one of those sunblock things onto the window..as he just pulls them off....he does seem to like looking at books that have buttons to press and doesn't seem to drop them..but if there is any other suggestions I'd be interested too...

he is happy to listen to music and he usually will sleep for a couple of hours too...which is a relief.....

LynLaugh alot..life's too short not to....

brrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!

AnswerID: 31503

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 12:12

Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 12:12
Thanks Lyn,

Much the same story. I once rigged up a plastic chain with clips from the jesus bar for Matty and had a range of toys and activities hanging from it. Entertained him for awhile but turned out to be more trouble than it was worth. Another idea I'm considering is making up a couple of "boxes" to hang off either side of his car seat. Thinking here is that he might be less inclined to throw things away and drop them out of reach if he had somewhere within easy reach to put things.

FollowupID: 22441

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 12:22

Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 12:22
I thought about attaching a string to crayons so he could fish them back again....Laugh alot..life's too short not to....

brrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!

FollowupID: 22442

Follow Up By: Member - Rick - Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 22:22

Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 22:22
hiya mrs al, melissa and all the rest of you fellow forumites,.
this one is easy, we got an old t.v. carton, cut it to size and shape so that it sits under the baby seat(now car seat).
make sure it touches the seat in front, the door, and extends slightly across the back seat towards the middle of it.
drape an old doona cover over it and he presto, nothing on the floor, spills get soacked up by the old donna cover. :):)

hope this helps.

rick.
FollowupID: 22474

Reply By: B2 - Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 12:14

Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 12:14
B1 usually likes piece and quiet when driving so I usually strap Little Greens arms to the seat belt so he can't get hold of anything and duck-tape over his mouth ;-) Works every time.

B2
AnswerID: 31504

Reply By: Member - Paul H - Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 12:22

Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 12:22
Melissa, just wait a a little longer & you wont even know their on board.
Been through all of the above. Been travelling since she was 11mths..... She's 7 now, listens to her cd walkman..... keeps her busy. Come to think of it she still drops stuff on the floor
Oh well, maybe it will never stop!!!!!!! But you would'nt have it any other way.

safe travelling,

PMK Next trip please..............................................
AnswerID: 31505

Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 12:27

Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 12:27
ahhhh the joys of travelling with kids
same here wiggles on mp3 helps -but 4 hours of wiggle?????????
books are ok for a while
master 22 months gets granky when master 7 weeks cries and both want attention.
dvd maybe the go for us but not this year.

best of luck1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
DIESEL 3.2 & SPRINGY CARLTON TOY
AnswerID: 31506

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 12:41

Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 12:41
Toonfish...we're doing the DVD thingey as well....but then that could mean 3 hours of wiggles as well....ARGH...."hot potatoe, hot potatoe"..Laugh alot..life's too short not to....

brrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!

FollowupID: 22443

Follow Up By: Member - Toonfish - Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 15:57

Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 15:57
i suppose you have sen jims setup
are you doing a similair thing -dvd?
not bad and cheap option?1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
DIESEL 3.2 & SPRINGY CARLTON TOY
FollowupID: 22453

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 16:08

Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 16:08
Hi Toonfish..no I haven't seen Jim's setup, shall be seeing him tomorrow briefly in the morning... but probably won't get a chance to check that out, might have to wait until we go to woods point....Laugh alot..life's too short not to....

brrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!

FollowupID: 22457

Reply By: The Moose - Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 13:24

Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 13:24
Hi Melissa
Unless you're willing to sit in the back with your little darling I'm afraid you're going to have to live with it for a while. But as someone else said - by starting them off early you'll get to enjoy it more when they grow a bit because they are used to it. You could always increase the number of things he has so that it takes longer for them to end up on the floor. Those back of seat pocketed holders are great - they are easy to make yourself - but as you said the kids need to be a little older before they are of value. Good luck.
AnswerID: 31509

Reply By: Member - Bob - Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 13:27

Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 13:27
10 mls of Vallergan Forte, and a couple of ocky straps to stop them rolling around in the back when they're out to it ;-)Bob
AnswerID: 31511

Reply By: bruce.h (WA) - Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 13:45

Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 13:45
Gday all
We have 3 of the little darlings ,& we use the seat fold down tables for all their stuff but most time they just entertain them selfs, btw you think 3hrs of the wiggles is bad you want to try 3hrs of who let the dogs out played over & over & over lol
Regards bruce
AnswerID: 31512

Follow Up By: jonny knowalittlebit - Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 14:28

Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 14:28
I hope you dont mind me telling this story about that song but we were sent over to the solomons on a peice keeping mission 3 years ago we were at sea for nearly 60 days striaght so as you could imagine all the music trends had come and gone.
when we got back to townsville on a silly night like tuesday we went straight to a pub then a night club. All night the DJ was revving us up "im going to play the number one song soon wait for it" and all that crap. Then he tells us here it is what youve all been waiting for and he played it "who let the dogs out"..... well it took 2.3 seconds for the whole night club to be emptied. None of us had heard this song before and because it was a tuesday night there was only the people off our boat there and none of us liked it either straight back to the pub for some no nonese drinking.
FollowupID: 22447

Follow Up By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 14:35

Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 14:35
ok..you try 3 hours of "someday my prince will come!!' [4 year old is a princess freak]Laugh alot..life's too short not to....

brrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!

FollowupID: 22448

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 14:55

Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 14:55
Okay, I'll admit it...I'm not familiar with any of these songs but let confirm that "Old McDonald..." gets very tiresome even with hubby adding animal noise sound effects in the background. Or then there's "Bob the Builder"...

FollowupID: 22449

Follow Up By: macca - Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 20:20

Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 20:20
and Bendigo to Adelaide and return from" Miss Four and aint I cute" with "Chained to the wheel"
FollowupID: 22472

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2003 at 12:30

Saturday, Sep 20, 2003 at 12:30
WHO did let those damn dogs out???Laterally Literal
Seriously Serial
FollowupID: 22492

Reply By: Lyds - Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 14:59

Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 14:59
Melissa,

Firstly, congratulations and good luck.

Secondly, the Dept of the Interior have a seat console, suitable for front and rear seats, that is secured by the seat belt. Heres a pic:

http://www.consoles.com/Images/Console%20Designs%20Page%20Images/Seat_Mounted_Console_2_Large.jpg

Stuart
- To err is human, to moo bovine -
AnswerID: 31515

Reply By: Member - Rohan K - Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 16:45

Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 16:45
Melissa, you drive and let hubby deal with the little one/s. :)Smile, you're on ExplorOz
Rohan (Sydney - on the QLD side of the Harbour Bridge)
AnswerID: 31524

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew(WA) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2003 at 00:27

Saturday, Sep 20, 2003 at 00:27
Steady on Rohan, bloody hell ! :-)
FollowupID: 22482

Follow Up By: Member - Rohan K - Monday, Sep 22, 2003 at 11:39

Monday, Sep 22, 2003 at 11:39
[ View Image]Smile, you're on ExplorOz
Rohan (Sydney - on the QLD side of the Harbour Bridge)
FollowupID: 22585

Reply By: Member - Roger - Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 17:39

Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 17:39
You can purchase a portable personal D.V.D, player quite cheap now so that may help a bit. They do grow older and things get easier.
Remember spare the rod and spoil the child'
RegardsDodg
AnswerID: 31527

Reply By: Member - Stephen (Broken Hill) - Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 19:09

Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 19:09
Melissa,

The toybox thang works well until, as you said, most of it is on the floor. To ease the strain of constantly turning around and reaching into footwells to pick up stuff, we found that plastic bbq tongs are just the for retrieving detritus and returning it to its owner. Kids reckon it's pretty funny too.

Stephen J.Simpson in September.......
AnswerID: 31531

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2003 at 10:50

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2003 at 10:50
Stephen,

An excellent suggestion that I will adopt post haste!

FollowupID: 22646

Reply By: Member - Oskar(Bris) - Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 22:00

Friday, Sep 19, 2003 at 22:00
Melissa
Our 3 sons are all young adults now but I think I remember at least one screaming, unconsolable youngster (18 months) in the back of a 1981 Hilux 4x4 ute bucking through Sundown National Park in 1982.
Apart from that Mrs Oskar has copyright on all the other memories... mainly times I've stuffed up or ..... you know what I mean!

I don't know if it's any help to you, or anyone else, but I did see an article in a 4X4 mag a couple of years ago where the parents strung a piece of something like a light duty cargo net right across the top of the rear passenger section just under the roof lining for the kids to store soft stuff in and to hang other stuff from. Something like the stuff some play-pens have as their sides. Maybe even fish net.
Might be of some use.

Our kids really are more valuable than our possessions aren't they.
OskarMrs Oskar on Big Red
AnswerID: 31542

Reply By: brett - Saturday, Sep 20, 2003 at 12:25

Saturday, Sep 20, 2003 at 12:25
Ahh the 2 and a half year old that chucks things and then instantly wants it back, I have one of those and interestingly his name is Matthew. I'm really starting to beleive it's in their name, our friends have a Matthew and he was a terror, they warned us about that name, our 5 year will sit in the car for hours no problem, always been like this, generally go's to sleep but not the 2 yearold, just finished a weekend away where we had to keep stopping the cars and moving tree's off the track, spent 3 hours on a track that should of been 30 minutes, got back in the car once and found entire contents of glovebox strewn from the front to the back of the car
AnswerID: 31564

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Tuesday, Sep 23, 2003 at 10:52

Tuesday, Sep 23, 2003 at 10:52
Dammit Brett, nobody warned us about the name and now its too late LOL!

FollowupID: 22647

Reply By: diamond(bendigo) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2003 at 13:20

Saturday, Sep 20, 2003 at 13:20
hi melissa.
we have a 2.5 yo as well as 10/13/14/.
bubs been traveling since she was born and isnt to bad the olders ones seem to get bored quicker.the advantage of bigger kids is they can give everything back to her lol.i recently fitted 2 dvd screens in the back of the gq and on a recent trip to melbourne didnt here a word from any of them.lets just hope we have enough dvds when we go on a big trip.not to sure on the wiggles we havnt got them on dvd but im so sick already of the hooley dooleys lol we are the hooley dooleys and how do you do we are the hooley dooleys and how are you.loljamieson wild cat
AnswerID: 31567

Follow Up By: Clarky - Saturday, Sep 20, 2003 at 18:28

Saturday, Sep 20, 2003 at 18:28
Hey Diamond ,
Was just wondering on the expenses with doing the twin DVD thing , did you do it yourself/have it done. Did you have to shoe horn into your vehicle or are there easy fits available. I have 99 GU and two ruggies 7 & 8 so am very interested in occupying them during travel time.
Cheers and cold beers.
Clarky
FollowupID: 22501

Follow Up By: diamond(bendigo) - Saturday, Sep 20, 2003 at 18:42

Saturday, Sep 20, 2003 at 18:42
gday clarky.
i wouldnt say its been a very cheap option but a lot cheaper than most big brand name ones.
(1) 3x7.2" tft monitors from hope070 on ebay @$190 each delivered
(2)multi region dvd/mp3 player not mounted from strathfield car radio $200
(3)video splitter from jaycar $3
($)fm modulator $40is ebay
theese monitors arnt mounted into the head rests yet but could be they come with a stand that i mounted to the roof 2 for the back seat and 1 for the back back seat.there is brackets(about $15)available that mount the monitors to the bars between your head rest and seat but my seats are one piece seat/head rest.picture is very good quality for the price same monitors are about $400 in jaycar with a different name.copy and paste here to have a look at monitors. http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3045994406&ssPageName=ADME:B:BN:AU:1jamieson wild cat
FollowupID: 22504

Reply By: joseph baz - Sunday, Sep 21, 2003 at 20:05

Sunday, Sep 21, 2003 at 20:05
Hi all,sorry to be the bearer of bad news but with a 17yo and a15yo no many things have changed(apart from expending a lot more at the newsagency for reading material,we travelled around oz when our first child was 13m.old we loved then and still love it now,looking at the old slides and videos its all worth it!!!
cheers Joe Baz
AnswerID: 31623