12 volt or more cordless tools
Submitted: Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 01:25
Richard Kovac
I'm sick of theses thing, spitting it all the time, battery's that don't charge, printed circuit boards burnt out, just stop working... drills mainy (cheap one to boot)....
I have made one into a corded 12 volt drill for the Troopy and now have two more, might make on for the caravan as it's always falling apart.. :-(
As anyone made or brought a charger for them, I mean, not the one that comes with it but a general one, that can charge them all.
I checked the transformers for 12 volt they put out 17-18 volts no load (have a box of them) just need the electronics to control the charge.
Will try Jaycar tomorrow and see if they have something.. but if anyone has it would be neat..
Reply By: DCTriton - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 03:39
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 03:39
Don't buy cheap rubbish and you won't be disappointed... I have a Makita cordless drill that's 9yo, the battery doesn't last too long these days but it has outlived several cheap jobbies...
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 03:50
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 03:50
DC you're right I know, But I don't use them much, so never spent the money, ever time I go to use them they're flat, so Got one with two battery's , battery's OK chargers dicked..
Had a sparkie around the other day and the one he had was in a briefcase $$$$
Follow Up By: Member - Ingo57 (NSW) - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 07:42
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 07:42
Hard to teach an old dog new tricks about modern technology!
Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 09:37
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 09:37
I am still using a Makita cordless drill that I bought in 1980, only replaced the battery once in all that time.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 17:02
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 17:02
Thanks Ingo57 & Shaker.
not that old at 47, yes Makita, I have a 240 v Jigsaw at home and it was cheap at the time, and still works fine.
Reply By: Member - Bucky - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 04:11
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 04:11
No Mate
I have just soldered some heavy wires, and some clamps, to our old buggered cordless drill, making it a corded drill, and clamp it to the 4B or camper battery.
Virtually an endless battery
Goes everywhere the camper goes.
Too Easy
Cheers Bucky
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 04:47
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 04:47
Bucky cheers
I have the corded drill, For the Troopy and soon the CV, But I need one for home, ever new drill or some way of charging old units........
Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 09:44
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 09:44
Bucky,
What nominal voltage was the cordless drill before it became corded? Anyone know how
well a 14V (or higher) drill performs on vehicle 12V?
| J and V
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 16:49
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 16:49
I have a 12 v corded drill and it works great, a 14 v drill will work OK only slower and less power, but if the engine is running you will have the 14 v you need.
The thing is my 12 v works a treet at 14 v = 14.3% move power..
Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 04:40
Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 04:40
9 volts, and she screams.
Does it really matter, as it was going to
the tip anyway.
Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 07:10
Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 07:10
Thanks Bucky and Richard, I'm going to do it. My only concern was that the smaller 12V (and lower) drills mightn't have the grunt to be useful.
| J and V
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Best Off Road - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 06:51
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 06:51
Richard,
The Ryobi 18 volt stuff is pretty good and not expensive. The cradle for charging batteries has a float mode, so always have a charged battery. they recharge in about an hour.
The battery is common to all the tools, Drill, Circ Saw, Angle Grinder, Torch etc.
We use the stuff in an industrial environment and it gets thrashed day in, day out. The little Circ Saw is 15 months old and nearly stuffed (the bearings are buggered), but I'll just chuck it out and buy another for $98. The Drill of the same age is still going like new and I think it was about $120 with a cradle and two batteries.
When I started up the business three years I bought cheap stuff with a view to updating to Makita or Hitachi or similar, as the business grew. Frankly, I can't justify the expense.
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 09:01
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 09:01
Have to second Jim on the Ryobi 18 volt stuff. Drill came with charger and two batteries and I have the grinder as
well. Fantastic
tools for outback travel as a 300W inverter is more than enough for the charger. I have used the drill for tyre repairs (cleaning the inside of the tyre with a wire brush) and the grinder is mucho handy. Often wondered about the circular saw but Jim's given it a wrap and he would be a consistant user of it so thats good enough for me. That may
well go on the xmas list.
Cheers. Mick
Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 09:18
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 09:18
I have used ryobi for years, i always considered them middle of the road, and had a good run out of them, think only one faulty unit in 20 years, replaced no problem.
Compond mitre saw, table saw, hand saw, electric drill, cordless drills, just bought 2 18v cordless as
well, as much as i tried to replace my old 14.,4 volt batteries, it was just a lot cheaper to buy 2 new kits, so will turn the old 14v ones into corded units.
Pesty
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 16:57
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 16:57
Thanks Jim, Mick & Pestie
I have (after looking in the shed) 3 - 4 Ryobi 240 v products already, I should look into it.
The only problem I have had is a new jig saw I brought for the rural retreat is that it always wants to cut to the right, so much so it's cut into the guide, and it's a Ryobi, but all the other work fine.
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 07:09
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 07:09
Richard,
All cordless drill batteries reach the stage where no matter how long you charge them for, they just wont hold it for long.
The good news is that the batteries can often be repacked, or a "generic" replacement purchased.
I have an AEG drill where the batteries died and found a local supplier who sourced a couple of generic replacement batteries. The cost in my case was around $70 each but the drill is a very good quality unit and the batteries were still much cheaper than buying a new drill.
Bill.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 17:00
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 17:00
Thanks Bill
Yes that was one of my options, to look at going to battery world or alike.
Reply By: gqturbo - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 07:25
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 07:25
Toss your battery in the freezer overnight then charge it this sometimes helps Brian H
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 17:04
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 17:04
Thanks Brian
Toss the battery's in the bin more like it, no that are stuffed, made up a load tester for them and after fully charged they will drop to under 6 v ...
Reply By: DIO - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 07:25
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 07:25
Home handyman drills (and other power tools) are often referred to a 7 minute drills. i.e. the overall life expectancy being about 7 minutues. That's not long but if you cionsider that most users drill a couple of holes here and there then their use is very limited. yes there are exceptions. If you want quality, you have to buy quality. Check the box and look for something like NOT INTENDED FOR COMMERCIAL USE etc and leave it on the shelf for some other sucker.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 17:05
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 17:05
Thanks DIO
I understand
Reply By: Boobook2 - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 07:33
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 07:33
Richard, when you are Jaycar, take a look at the Notebook 12V to ( 15 - 19V) chargers. 5 A and will do the trick.
Follow Up By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 09:23
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 09:23
i use a bosch 14.4 cordless at work have had it for 5 years now. gets hammered i have only had 1 new battery. drillls 5mm holes ,sellf tappers 25mm and 35mm holes (hole saws something not recommended) still going strong just know when to charge the battery not to get a memory in them when charging them
Follow Up By: Rod E B - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 12:31
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 12:31
I have a 18 v ryobi
When I put it in the charger ( I have the charger with only one red light )
I do not know when the battery is charged , the light does not change colour
do I run it for a specified time or what , can't find the manual
I am sure I have over charged the battery a number of times
Does the Jaycar charger tell you when the battery is charged
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 17:07
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 17:07
Thanks all
I will look into them all
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 19:26
Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 19:26
These Jaycar DC-DC Convertors are NOT Battery Chargers.
They generate a fixed voltage which is used by the Notebook to power the PC and to feed the internal battery charging circuitry.
If you connect one of these to a NiCd battery it will die even faster than when connected to the supplied charger.
Reply By: Notso - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 09:20
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 09:20
You could always buy the new Milwaukee(think that's how you spell it), 5 year or 2500 charge warranty.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 17:14
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 17:14
Notso
spelling is right,
"Since its founding in 1924, Milwaukee has focused on a single vision: To produce the best heavy-duty electric power
tools and accessories available to the professional user"
There been around for a while, and I'm sure they are great tools, but see the words "professional user" I don't think I would qualify.. LOL
Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 10:14
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 10:14
I don't want to sound negative, but you pay for what you get, if you only need the equipment for now and again jobs, purchase Bunnings Cheapies, being in the Plumbing Trade we get tired of having to get our Power
Tools tested and tagged, along with our extension leads ect, so long ago we changed over to Cordless Equipment, we use Dewalt Cordless Gear, at present 18 Volt stuff, it's a bit expensive, but it never failsl, we even have 18Volt Sheers, naturally we keep a close eye on our gear on job sites with all the light fingered b*s around, but like every thing you have to look after it.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 17:23
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 17:23
DAZA
Yes I know where you're coming from, I am a tradesman and Love tools (the metal type) and know the quality is important, I use to be big is best, type of person so I have a shed full of
tools some had me downs from work..
But as I get older I seem to want to spend my money on other things.. and seem to buy more crap
tools than I should..
I think I should take a long hard look at nyself... Thanks
Tagging???? a way to make sparkies richer... $1500.00 ever six months, properly 3 months for you
Reply By: Member - mazcan - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 14:16
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 14:16
hi richard
dont know if this retailer sells battery chargers but they have over 2000 thousand batteries avaluble for what ever you can think of including power
tools try them they are good to deal with bought 2 12v replacement ni-cd batteries from them online in august 09 for my 12.5 yr old black"n"decker no problems
www.globalbatteries.com.au there at
global battery sales & service
7 davies rd
padstow nsw 2211 aust
hope this is of use to you or other members i just became a member yesterday as i'm convinced it's a very positive thing to do now that the site probs are fixed
cheers barry
sorry dont have a ph no
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 17:24
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 17:24
mazcan Thanks
I
check out there site, cool
Reply By: Member - Tom V (WA) - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 14:58
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 14:58
year ago I purchased a chinese cheapy from bunnings. went to, batteries plus, got them to take the battery case apart & replace the batteries with good ones. still works today.
was interesting to see what was in the old battery case.
another thing I did, went to Dick Smiths & they have a 240v transformer which has a female cigarette lighter fitting on the cable end. so if u can get yr old drill corded & fit a male cigarette lighter fitting on the end, should solve yr
home problem.
cheers Tom
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 17:29
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 17:29
Thanks Tom
I will look into the new battery thing.
The two drills I have, are 1 a cheap copy of a Bosch so I should be able to get a newie. the other the charger burnt out, it has two battery's that are OK just need a charger.
I will look into both thanks
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 20:03
Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 20:03
First of all thanks for all the replies.
i went out today and had a talk to the guy at Batteries Plus in Cannington.
He sold me a Swallow AC/DC2 its a Digital Peak charger
* Input Voltage
DC input 11-15V
AC input 100-240V
* Li-Ion/Po : 1-5 cells
* NiCd/MH : 1-14 cells
* Lead-Acid : 1-6 cells
* Charge rate : 0.1-5A
* Discharge rate : 0.1-1A
It can do a heap more than I wanted it for, so it was worth (for me) getting, I will give it a go and report back 2-3 weeks....
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 18:44
Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 18:44
Just to let everyone know, I tried out my Swallow AC/DC2 its a Digital Peak charger and it works very
well.
I turned the 14 volt drill into a corded drill for the caravan, it will be needed to repair all the things that break every time we use it, badly made, but bad luck...
again thanks for the input
ps, I haven't been out and got a new Ryobi yet but I will.
Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 23:00
Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 23:00
I bought quite a few cheap 18 volt
tools 5 years ago (GMC, Ozito, Aldi) and was ready to throw the batteries out last year because they just wouldn't hold their charge.
Then I bought a Swallow Multibattery charger - the largest model that can do 15 NiCd cells - and used it to cycle the batteries - they're all still going strong today.
The secret to along life from NiCd or NiMH batteries that you rarely use, is to discharge and recharge them AT LEAST once every three months. i.e. discharge to 0.9 volt per cell at 0.1 C and recharge at 0.2 C. e.g. if it's an 18 volt 15 cell 1.3 ah battery, discharge to 13.5 volts at 0.1 amp and recharge at 0.2 amp. If the battery is self-dicharging, I run through the this cycle three times - the Swallow does it automatically.
I modified the Battery holder by bypassing the internal indicator so the battery was connected directly to the Swallow charger terminals.
The chargers you get with these cheap
tools is what damages the batteries.