Caravan Bathroom - Yes or No???

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 16:41
ThreadID: 73165 Views:12166 Replies:16 FollowUps:6

Mate was telling me last night about 2 couples both with off road vans and both decided NOT to get toilet & shower inside as a bathroom because of two reasons:
1. Never ending mould from the moisture from the shower, and
2. The smell of the toilet permeating through the van.

They were very firm about this from past experience and were spreading the word so to speak.

I thought this was odd and certainly have not heard this before, in fact on this forum I have read people saying they wouldn't be without an ensuite, just wondered if others have experienced these problems and if so how they overcame them

Does the convenience of having an ensuite outweigh these issues?

Ev

Reply By: Member - Fred L (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 17:05

Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 17:05
We have had an (semi) off road van for over 12 months and done about 15,000km. To date we have not had a problem with mould at all and once had a bit of a smell but that was more due to me not bothering to empty the container after a few weeks back home. Of course you have to use the right chemicals and empty it out on occasion.

As far as the missus is concerned I reckon its great. We stop anywhere - do a lot of free camping - and I don't have to worry at all about the lack of ablutions!!
Fred (L)
AnswerID: 387908

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 17:06

Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 17:06
There has been a very long thread about this recently and the overall opinion was to have one.

Perhaps some better personal hygiene is required as our van which we had for 3 years never suffered from either problem.

My wife cleans the shower out EVERY day and when showering we open the vent and dont get condensation.

The toilet smelt a little but more from the horrible Thetford chemicals than the waste.

We now use differenr stuff and empty it regularly and we woudnt know it was there.
A bucket under the bed would smell worse I would think..

Our new van has a full ensuite and we wouldnt be without it.

Have seen showers in some parks i wouldnt use with boots on.

We use the park toilets for serious business and always shower in the van.

AS I said cleanliness is godliness.

AnswerID: 387909

Reply By: Karen & Geoff - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 17:07

Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 17:07
Would never be with out our bathroon, certainly no toilet smell and we use it. And never had a problem with mould. They must make sure they use the exhaust fan though. And I always have windows open in the bathroom. We have a breather tube to the outside from our toilet cassett and I really think that helps alot with the smell.

I would never have a van with out a full ensuite, and I have a full size front loader in there as well. I think they would be sorry if thye didn't get a toilet and shower. We always use the van park ones if we are in a park though.

Karen
AnswerID: 387910

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 17:08

Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 17:08
Ev

We had a seperate shower and toilet in our van (had the van for 18 months).

We trqvelled in style. If we got another van it would have to have a shower and toilet.

The smell from the toilet did not travel through the van and we never experienced mould in the shower and both got used everyday we travelled.

They may have had poor ventilation.
AnswerID: 387912

Reply By: Member - res.q.guy (Vic.) - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 17:11

Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 17:11
Hi Ev
We built a shower / toilet in to our old van 7 or 8 yrs ago, wouldn't be without it. Never had mould problems at all. No permeating smells either, however we do have a small, press button wall mounted air freshener we use on the odd occasion.
Neil
AnswerID: 387913

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 17:52

Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 17:52
We wipe our shower/toilet down after showering (30 sec job) and use Napisan in the toilet and don't have mould or smell. Empty usually first opportunity (dump point) after 3 days.

AnswerID: 387922

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 18:25

Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 18:25
Alan what strength Napisan do you use. We get our new van in March next year and would like to use it from the start
Vince
FollowupID: 655521

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 22:27

Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 22:27
Hi Vince,

we have a 15L tank and use Woolies Home Brand Nappy Treatment (Napisan by any other name.) The 3Kg one is the best value for money. I use the cap that comes with the container and use one level capful each time I dump the waste.

It works a treat, with no smell at all.

Russ
FollowupID: 655568

Follow Up By: paulnsw - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 05:42

Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 05:42
"Napisan" is a whole different product to Woolworths or Coles Home Brand Nappy treatment. Don't use Napisan as it is 3 times the price and not to environmentally friendly to septics. Home Brand can be dumped in any septic or toilet system. Home Brand also works better in the van toilet.
FollowupID: 655592

Follow Up By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 07:38

Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 07:38
Hi Vince

Agree with others that you use "Home Brand" napisan.

I also use 1 cap to the tank. I find it works fine and no smells.

FollowupID: 655596

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 06:46

Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 06:46

just a quck follow-up to paulnsw, where he stated that Napisan is a whole different product to the homebrand nappy treatments. Sorry Paul, you're just plain wrong.

Read the materials Safety Data Sheet at this link Napisan and you will see that the principle ingredient is Sodium Percarbonate. The other stuff are fillers and surfactants.

Now read the label on the Home Brand Nappy Treatment. The only difference is that there is MORE of the active ingredient. Note that we are talking about bog-standard Napisan, not the other variants.

For the purpose of sanitizing chemical toilet waste, they are one and the same. So why not use the cheap one?

Russ.
FollowupID: 655944

Reply By:- Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 18:53

Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 18:53
Thanks for all the feedback, I did think was odd considering what I have read on this forum and of course the number of vans that have them.

Ev
AnswerID: 387934

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 20:00

Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 20:00
G/Day Ev

No problems at all with Toilet and Shower, and zero odours in van, maybe lazy people might create problems.

AnswerID: 387945

Reply By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 22:20

Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 22:20
Ev, have a shower without mould and it is three years old - well just on. Have a toilet too, without smells:-)) It is a vacuum one though with the cannister outside. It sucks the contents away like an aircraft loo. The smells come from chemical toiltets. I prefer our shower to using cvp ones, even though it is tiny in comparison. Just step out to clean and dry floors.
AnswerID: 387965

Reply By: paulnsw - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 05:54

Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 05:54
we have a combined shower toilet. Never had mould or any smells. Always better to have window as well as vent. We have never used the fan in the vent. Window and vent are always open.
Never heard anybody complain about mould. Some chemicals do have a strong chemical smell. Use a capful of Coles or Woolies Home Brand Nappy Treatment and Cousins Morning Fresh in the flush tank. Keeps the algae away from the flush tank water when not using town treated water and gives the bowl a bit of lubrication and keeps it clean.
What do you do when you are parked in the wilds, freezing cold wind blowing rain and you need a no. 2 without a toilet? Our hot shower under the same circumstances is wonderful. Those without a shower toilet always wish they had one.
AnswerID: 387991

Reply By: aka - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 08:42

Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 08:42
Dont do what l did make sure you screw the cap on the cannister tight everthing good after that
AnswerID: 388006

Reply By: ozwrangler - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 11:07

Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 11:07
My 11 year old wanted a toilet in the CT until we told him he'd have to also empty it!
AnswerID: 388026

Reply By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 11:53

Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 11:53
Gidday,

We are a family of 5 travelling oz long term, we opted for shower and toilet, we have now been on the road almost 12mths (November 4th) I clean the shower with Bi-Carb and vinegar, I also clean the loo with vinegar (we also use the odour be gone disc's in the toilet cassette). we don't have an issue with mould or smell.

I even use the shower in the van at Caravan parks so it gets used a lot.

Its so much easier when free camping (Racheal our youngest - refuses to use long drop loo's - Princess!!) so its a real must - that and I don't want to be getting out of bed to take kids to the loo in the middle of the night.

Caroline
AnswerID: 388030

Reply By: Fatso - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 13:23

Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 13:23
I don't know how anyone can crapp that close to where they eat & sleep.
AnswerID: 388050

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 16:02

Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 16:02
The modern day Caravan Toilet Cassette is designed so the Seals stop any odour comming out of the Holding Tank, and with very Basic Hygene Habits, one doesn't have any problems, With the amount of different Diseases you can pick up from using Communal Facilities even if you are careful,I prefer my Wife and I to use our own Amenities in the van, there are a lot of Grubs out there whose Toilet Habits are worse than animals, being in the Plumbing Game it allways amazes me how some people leave a Toilet Cubical like a Cesspool, and men are the main offenders, and to make matters worse they seem to delight in Urinating in Shower Cubicals as well, and I think the majority of people who have replied to this thread would agree.
FollowupID: 655662

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 18:37

Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 18:37
Hear Hear I wouldnt use some park showers with boots on.

Always use the van I know whos been there and its always clean.

Amazes me how people can take 10 mins to have a shower.

Just cos you paid for a site doesnt mean you have to run the place dry

Some people are unbelievable.

After 6 years in Brisbane we have learnt to shower in 4 mins or less.

Like to see them try it in a van with a 23 litre HWS ROFL
AnswerID: 388087

Reply By: Member - Timbo - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:30

Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:30
Ev, do these people have toilet & shower in their homes?! :) Wouldn't have thought the issues would be much different (ok, except the caravan toilet stores the stuff until you dump it, but these usually seal up pretty well)
AnswerID: 388232