Don't buy Garmin part 2
Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 12:43
Kirk and Jeanette
Carrying on from thread number 73029 Don't buy Garmin.
Well I rang them yesterday and was on hold for 16 minutes before I got on. I explained to the guy the problem with the Toppos programme, as if he didn't know. He told me that the 2010 maps were out for Toppos and he would speak to his supervisor and call me back straight after lunch. I waited and then called back this morning giving the guy the job number to check. He knew nothing about a Toppos problem which I had explained. I waited another 10 minutes for him to go and check what the story was. They were going to give me a $105 upgrade to the GPS itself as they reckon this was most likely the problem. Why when you register for upgrades do you then have to normally pay? I had checked recently and was told there were no upgrades for my account. Anyway after a few hours this morning of downloading plug ins and upgrades etc etc I think it may be done. I really have no idea until I go out bush again but the screen at first glance does seem to have more detail. Whether the initial problem is any better or not I have no idea. The moral of the story is don't email Garmin as they will not reply. You have to ring them and waste heaps of money on your mobile which is why I did email in the first place.
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 12:52
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 12:52
I had a Garmin and got a free upgrade with it when I bought it.
Normally you get "üpdates" free as in when a verision goes from say ver 8.01.01 to 8.3.01
An upgrade is usually a new map as in 8.3.01 to 9.0.01.
That unless its thrown in with the latest map guarantee you have to pay for.
Updates and upgrades to the firmware (or operating system) are normally free with most makers
You could of course ring on a home phone for a lot less.
If the problem is as widespread as you seem to think they are possibly inundated with emails and if they were to answer all wouldnt have tie to fix the problem.
Follow Up By: Kirk and Jeanette - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 14:55
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 14:55
The reason I am using a mobile is because I have no choice. I am out exploring Aus. As with the email why do they bother with a contact us address if they will only respond to telephone enquiries? They might as
well not bother and save us the hassle. The people that are supposed to answer the emails would not be the people fixing the problem. That would be 2 separate divisions.
Reply By: Fatso - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 13:13
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 13:13
I often feal let down with purchases. Like the new digital camera that fails in the midle of nowhere.
Joke is I have a Cannon SLR that is 25 years olds & works fine even after we have gone through 4 digitals. But I keep getting sucked into the consumerism that is a way of life in modern Australia. I will revert back to the cannon for the next trip simply because of the surity it brings.
I think a lot of this fancy modern stuff that we all get sucked into buying doesn't realy add to the experience we seek but tends to distract from it.
Cameras, phones, GPS systems, reversing cameras & all the crapp that we accumulate does not give us any more ability to go out there & enjoy than we had before we purchased it.
What did Len Beadell have.
Water, fuel, basic food suplies, spares & repair equipment & a sextant & compas. Sweet FA when you compare it to what we carry. Not even the maps & roads that we have to guide us.
Go back to the good old toppo maps & compas & learn how to navigate. Everybody has the ability to learn this & I do believe it will bring greater rewards than showing off your latest gadget to the bloke next to you in the van
park.
Does anybody out there even have a compas mounted in their car? When I was in a 4 x 4 club a few of us started using basic navigation skills & a couple of times we found errors in toppo maps. This was just a couple of ordinary blokes paying attention to what they were doing. We were nothing special & I reckon everyone out there can do it if they try.
Revolt against consumerism & go out to enjoy our beutiful country & not some chinese made gadget, while we still can.
Fatso
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 13:24
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 13:24
Some japanese 4x4 have compasses in them also have incline gauges so they know when they are going to fall over.
My brother had one and it couldnt have worked too
well cos his fell over ROFL
Hope you are taking your pics with a Canon Cannons are a bit noisy.
If everyone didnt bother to invent newer better things we would still be
walking everywhere and fighting with clubs
Woops forgot they still do that dont they
Seriously though your point is taken but today we are a consumer oriented
population.
A lot of it is peer pressure to keep up with everyone else.
He who has the most toys wins syndrome and by the look of some trucks they
are making it hard to win as
well
Follow Up By: Member - John G- Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 14:16
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 14:16
G'day Fatso
Serious question - what car-mounted compasses are available and where?
Follow Up By: Kirk and Jeanette - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 15:00
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 15:00
Hear hear on that one. I have very often been very close to hurling the laptop, camera or whatever into the nearest river ofr whatever. Yes they do tend to cause us more stress than they are supposed to aleviate. The thing is that when do do decide to work they are a helpfull tool. ie the laptop has helped numerous times in findind work etcwhile on the road. The GPS has helped more numerous times trying to find things and
places in strange unfamilliar cities etc. So what do we do? We press on hoping that these devices will always work, and when they don't we get all uptight.
Follow Up By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 11:12
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 11:12
John G try a boat place for a compass for your car.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 22:10
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 22:10
Rays have car compasses, I have one in the Patrol and havent looked at it since I got the GPS.
Reply By: River Swaggie - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 13:44
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 13:44
***If everyone didnt bother to invent newer better things we would still be
walking everywhere and fighting with clubs **
Arrrgh yes the good Ol Days....
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 22:01
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 22:01
I dont think Graham H has been into the
Sydney CBD late on a Saturday night!! LOL. Michael
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 22:16
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 22:16
You missed the point
I was argueing FOR technology in a round about way
No I havent been there then and wont be unless I can find my club again
ROFL
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 22:23
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 22:23
We didnt miss it Graham, and everyone would agree with you.. Michael
Follow Up By: River Swaggie - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 22:35
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 22:35
**We didnt miss it Graham, and everyone would agree with you..***
x2 lol
Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 14:41
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 14:41
Hi Kirk
Below is my last email to Garmin Support, and yes I still am waiting for the decency of a reply.
Support Team
Below is the email that I sent to you on the 21st August regarding the problems associated with your Garmin Topo Australia maps that you produce. To this date, you have not had the decency to reply to my request, which shows that no one from your company really cares about customer relations. I know that I am not the only dissatisfied customer with this product and that you are going to release a new updated version in 2010. If you do not want to receive further criticism via internet forums, a full refund on the 2 SD cards that I have or have them replaced when you release the updated version next year is expected. If you do not believe me with my request, here is just one
forum that shows that I am not the only person not happy with your lack of support: www.exploroz.com/Forum/Topic/73029/Dont_buy_Garmin.aspx
When will I receive a reply from someone in charge from your Company, or will it take further
forum complaints to get the wider public aware of the issues associated with Garmin Topo Australia.
Stephen Langman
They don't seem concerned and do not let them tell you it is a GPS Issue.
The 3 GPS Units that I use topo Australia in have all had upgrades direct from the Garmin site, which are free. If it was not a map problem, then why did our Garmin Rep Ring me at work and told me about the release of a new version for 2010, because of issues associated the current release.
Like I told them in my first emails, they have great GPS units, but are let down badly with Topo Australia.
We will all have to just wait and see what happen, and no I would not waist my money on the 2010 version, it should be for free that request it and have the current release.
Follow Up By: Kirk and Jeanette - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 15:06
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 15:06
I can only wait and see. I suspect that the problem is most likely still there and is as we know in the maps. The guy I spoke to second said it was a problem with the maps in the city part of the GPS not being exactly as the ones in the Toppos so they don't overlay exactly. Maybe .....maybe not. We will see. It all seemed a bit strange when I explained that it was a problem with the Topps card and then they came back with this "solution".
Anyway keep giving them heaps and I look forward to seeing if you get some joy with it all. Maybe we upset them and they take the ball and go home sulking.