Looking for a new vehicle.

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 12:11
ThreadID: 73265 Views:4524 Replies:6 FollowUps:13
Hey everyone,
I am seeking feed back and opinions.
Hubby and are are currently looking for a new car. We need something that is really roomy for the kids, prams, dogs and all our other gear. As much as we would love to buy a prado or a pajero it is a little out of reach for us.
We used to have a hilux surf which was great, plenty of room and we were still able to go off road and have some fun. we would still like a 4wd, even if it is only small (but not too small).
We have both agreed that we dont need a car to go off road in anymore (well for now anyway) as we will mainly be touring.
So, all that said, the vehicles we are looking at are: outlander, santa fe, pathfinder or x-trail, kluger or a dual cab hilux. Wont be doing any towing either.
I have read so many reviews but I would really like to hear from others who have maybe owned any of the above cars and hear what other people think.

Appreciate all feedback,
Thanks in advance,
Hayley

Reply By: Notso - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 12:31

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 12:31
Why not have a look at the Kia Sorrento, Diesel, economical, has a good towing capacity, if you ever change your mind about towing.

Here lots of good reports from fellow grey nomads.
AnswerID: 388500

Reply By: mikehzz - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 14:30

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 14:30
My preference these days is diesel. My opinion, the Pathfinder is easily the pick of the cars you listed. I still have a 98 model on LPG, but too thirsty if petrol. Diesel Santa Fe's are quite good, saw one up at Stockton and it handled it well. Good reports from all over about them. A mate has a Sorrento and likes it as well but 7500km service schedule is a bit excessive? My main car is a Freelander 2 diesel and after 50,000 kms I can't fault it. It is way better than any other car I have owned.
Some people say Landys are unreliable but I think the newer ones are OK. Mine has been so far.

AnswerID: 388506

Follow Up By: tazbaz - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 14:42

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 14:42
Sorento service schedule is 15000K - not 7500. For value its hard to beat a Sorento!
FollowupID: 656137

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 19:54

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 19:54
Kia salesman put me off when he said that it was 7500 cause I was considering one. He must have been a bit of a loser eh? I agree about the value.
FollowupID: 656187

Follow Up By: Bruce n Sal - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 16:41

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 16:41
Hi Hayley,

I agree with mikehzz.

I have a new pathfinder and love it. We also looked at the Xtrail but found with a growing family it was going to be too small.

It's a Diesel ST-L, only 16K on the clock but is very economical already but is steadily getting better. 4WD capabilities (if you do want to use them) are surprising, it went everywhere my brother 02 Patrol went, and in my opinion his car would climb a tree.

Compared to the the Prado it's alot cheaper and I think just as capable, my mum just bought a VX earlier this year. The equivalent Prado to my Pathfinder was nearly 10K more.

Pathfinder does not compare to the Territory and other soft roaders as it's a true 4wd with low range not sure about the santa fe etc, never considered it. And the Nissan dealer told me that the 4wd system in the Pathfinder is superior to that of the Patrol.

Should you need to tow they have a great towing capacity and I think it is slightly higher than that of a Prado.

Hope this helps, we looked for ages till we decided on the Pathfinder, now the wife loves driving it.

Bruce
FollowupID: 656495

Reply By: Hayley_Demc - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 16:16

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 16:16
After spending most of the day looking at cars and dealing with pushy salesmen I have come home thinking that maybe the Santa Fe will do the job. I love how it looks and it seems to have enough room. Also like the ford territory too.
What is the rav4 like? I dont really knwo much about them or how they go but that is another one I have started to think about?
AnswerID: 388511

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 17:08

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 17:08
It sounds like you're only looking at brand new vehicles - if you look second hand you should be able to find a decent Prado or a Pajero for around the price you're looking new for the others (I'm assuming you bought the Hliux Surf second hand as it looks like a grey import).

You might also consider changing/removing that second pic in your profile since you have the car advertised in the trader on this site also! ;-) LOL
FollowupID: 656156

Follow Up By: Wherehegon - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 21:10

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 21:10
Good advice from Timbo about removing picture not a good selling point. Personally I wouldnt touch a territory, read up on them first if you really want one, major rust issues, (yes already), faulty ball joints that require constant replacing etc, dodgy rear diff, Do your home work first, hence why there so cheap to buy second hand, as Timbo has said look around at some good low klms, one owner never been off road prados (plenty of them), you would pick up the latest shape 120 series, D4D diesel might be pushing the $$$ a bit but the 4L petrol there are heaps, go like the clappers (179kw) under 12L per 100 on the open road (not towing or sand work) and heaps of comfort ??? and nice big 180L fuel tanks standard, just make sure you get the series 2 (04 upwards) they refined a few things like sagging rear door and couple of other mods, there is actually a series three as well, 5 speed auo, climate dual air standard in the GXL now, think the last update was late 07 ?? Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 656194

Reply By: landed eagle - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 16:43

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 16:43
If you're already thinking of the Mitsi Outlander and the Toyota Hi-lux ,add the Triton dual cab to the list.A lot of people seem to ignore this vehicle when looking for a 4wd and I wonder why. Only ever mentioning the Hi-lux.
I'm towing a van from Port Douglas to Hobart with mine and it's great. The rear seat was a consideration for me as I have two teens and their comfort was on my mind when I started looking for a new vehicle.They sat in the rear seats of all the contenders and it won hands down. Larger rear door to get in and out of too. It has the four way selector for the drive train giving me all wheel drive/2 WD and 4WDH/4WDL.

Towing a van it's giving me 14.7litres/100ks and when I'm just around home usually about 9.8l/100ks.
AnswerID: 388514

Follow Up By: Hayley_Demc - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 16:51

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 16:51
Hi, I agree about the triton, it was on my list to start with but for whatever reason hubby doesnt like it, something to do with the shape.
FollowupID: 656151

Follow Up By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 17:19

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 17:19
And while you are at it, have a look at the Isuzu DMAX. Every bit as capable offorad and as comfortable as a Hilux without the fuel usage. I am currently getting constant sub 8L/100Km both to and from work in Sydney as well as long distance driving carrying around an extra 150Kg to 100Kg of gear onboard with tent, recovery gear, camping equipment, tools etc.
FollowupID: 656160

Follow Up By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 17:20

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 17:20
oh i forgot to mention, $15K cheaper than the equivalent model Hilux.
FollowupID: 656161

Follow Up By: landed eagle - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 08:40

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 08:40
Yes you do pay a lot for that toyota badge.

I drove a D-max when I was looking. It may have been the one I drove but it was a dog to drive,turned me off them right away.

I personally like the fact that the Triton looks different to all the others.
FollowupID: 656235

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 10:34

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 10:34
J've just taken delivery of a new LS D-MAX 4X4 Diesel Auto and driven it from Brisbane to Townsville. ~ 8.8 l/100km (has the gauge on the dash).

I intend to make a new thread later on and post my impressions.

Malcolm

living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 656244

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 21:18

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 21:18
Keep yer hands in yer pockets when buying 4by's. Don't go into debt!!!

Buy a late model Nissan Patrol GQ diesel 4.2 :

They cheap(er) than $10,000
They have plenty of room
They are reasonably economical
They are virtually indestructable

AnswerID: 388551

Follow Up By: Member - Sigmund (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 22:03

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 22:03
Must be a better market for them where you are Willem.

A quick search on Carsales.com: for $10k or less you'd be looking at 12 years or more old and/or 300,000 and upwards on the clock.
FollowupID: 656205

Reply By: D200Dug- Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 22:02

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 22:02
If you are not going off road then why buy a 4x4 ?

It does not make sense to run a 4WD on bitumen, I would look at lone of the larger people movers and spend the money you save on trips and holidays with the kids. We drove a 9 seat bus when the kids were still at home it was slow and cumbersome around town but awesome when the school wanted to head out on a camping trip or field outing !

On normal holiday trips each child could have a seat to themselves and room to spread out, so we had quieter stress free drives.
AnswerID: 388559

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 10:39

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 10:39
Why buy a 4X4 if you are not going off-road? Have to agree with this especially when you are not towing anything.

Also, we bought a dual cab ute on the basis of keeping the smelly stuff out of the cabin (bit hard for me to drive from back there LOL). Put a canopy over the ute part - fold-up windows are great for getting at the frig.

Malcolm
living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 656248

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 12:13

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 12:13
Up untill now I have always had 4x2 utes and loved them. very useful and the dogs barked their brains out in the back. good ground clearance, LSD and light truck tyres I could go a lot of places normal cars could not.

We have the rodeo 4x4 to tow and to head off the beaten track taking photos still love the ute part and use it for carrying stuff like tools and rubbish.

I just don't understand why people want 4x4s for on road use ????
FollowupID: 656260