Need help to get three 16" wheels from Melbourne to Sydney, or cost to tpt.

Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 19:51
ThreadID: 73325 Views:4675 Replies:5 FollowUps:7
Can anyone help me get these wheels to Sydney.

We are going to Melbourne in a month or so but I forgot we changed our plans and are flying and not driving.

Or does anyone know how much it would cost to tpt them up by carrier.

Reply By: Member - John - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:02

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:02
G'day, only the wheels?

AnswerID: 388851

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:43

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:43
Sorry John, its the rims and tyres, I assumed both together were wheels.

I can't believe I forgot we were flying down.

Must have caught my MIL's disease.
FollowupID: 656540

Reply By: Member - John - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:47

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:47
Hi, should have said just the rims, LOL. I may have been able to help with rims, but rims and tyres is difficult.

AnswerID: 388860

Reply By: Member - Nick - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 21:31

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 21:31
Boo Boo

I have only just left the Star Track Express site looking up the consignment details for 4 new Alloy 16" rims with D693 tyres fitted that I purchased from a bloke just North of Brisbane.

He delivered them to the Star Track Express Brisbane depot late last Thursday arvo.
On the Track & Trace consignment details (I was given a consignment #), I just seen they were last scanned at 12:42 this arvo in Adelaide and now only have a little overnite trip of 500 k's to the nearest Star Track depot to my home (38 k's) and I can pick them up in the morning. The cost for the 4 wheels on a pallet - Brisbane to country SA, only $80 - unreal !!
This transport system we now have in Australia is world class, especially the track and trace technology.

Don't panic Boo Boo.

Nick

AnswerID: 388870

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 21:38

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 21:38
Thanks for that info Nick I,ll give them a ring tomorrow.
FollowupID: 656572

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 21:41

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 21:41
You are more than lucky.

I wanted to send a tube witha Codan autotune in it to NSW mid coast from Caboolture.

Everyone I rang including Startrack would only do account work.

In the finish I went into Toll's office and they took it under sufferance

Would have stood in a corner out of site but worked out reasonably in the finish.

FollowupID: 656575

Follow Up By: Member - Nick - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 21:50

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 21:50
Graham H

I am only guessing, but from what I can gather, palletised goods are easier and cheaper to overnite freight than general freight.

Maybe someone who handles freight can corect this if it's wrong.

Nick.
FollowupID: 656577

Follow Up By: rumpig - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 23:55

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 23:55
from my limited previous experience i have found it to be the same. find the lightest pine pallet you can get, stack and strap the wheels (rims and tyres) to it and it should work out easier and cheaper for you.
FollowupID: 656599

Follow Up By: wafarmer - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 18:43

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 18:43
Mmm They (Startrack) must be good over there, my brother ordered some parts from his dealer who ordered them from another dealership 150ks on the same road that the truck travels , so picked up moved 150 ks and dropped off the parcel was the size of a brick weighed less than a kilo over $160.00!!!!.

It cost far more than the parts inside.

I can get a parcel from Melbourne to my place over 600ks from Perth in 3 to 4 days and the last 600ks is via Startrack or Courier Aust or Aust Post for 10.00 to 14.00 via Australian Air Express go figure.

Startrack sucks in WA

wafarmer
FollowupID: 656720

Reply By: Wazza - (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 11:38

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 11:38
I used these guys .. cheap and cheerful for 5 rims from Melbourne to Sydney a few years ago. I forget how much, but under $100.

http://www.local.com.au/selbys/

Was supposed to be depot to depot on the truck but in the end, they had an old mate that was driving down to melbourne and had room in the trailer behind his old falcon. They gave him the rims to bring down to me and dropped it off at my door. I think he got my cash as fuel money for his trip in return for helping them out in the depot in Sydney.

Wazza
AnswerID: 388928

Follow Up By: Wazza - (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 11:40

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 11:40
Forgot, it was 5 rims and one of them had a tyre on it.
FollowupID: 656645

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 13:52

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 13:52
Thnks for the help fellas, but I have decided not to buy the wheels due to the difficulty and cost of tpt.

AnswerID: 388952