Birdsville to Bris-vegas

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 21:20
ThreadID: 73360 Views:3191 Replies:6 FollowUps:8
Howdy all,
We like to get away on a decent holiday at least once a year. I asked Her in doors where she'd like to go for our 2010 holiday. She said "Queensland". So I said Righto...Birdsville it is. Ok..not exactly what she had in mind.

So the plan is to head from Adelaide, up through Marree, up the track to Birdsville and then onto those dreaded theme parks to keep the peace and make sure the wife and kids get what they want.

Looking at Google Maps, it looks like about a 1700km trip from Birdsville to Brissy. What I'd like to know, given I've never been that way before, is what places could people recommend to stay at and how long should I allow? I mean, technically I guess Birdsville to Brissy could be done in two days, but if there's enough interesting "must see" places along the way, I'm happy to take longer.

Any suggestions for accomodation and sightseeing places would be muchly appreciated. Go easy though....vehicle of choice is a Captiva. (Work car).

Ta....Fab.

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 07:31

Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 07:31
Hi Fab,
You're correct... it's about 1700k's. We took 3 days to make the trip, could easily have taken an extra day or two I guess, but we did have some time constraints.

The first couple hundred k's from Birdsville is gravel road, and along this road is a rest stop called Deon's Lookout. Take the time to have a cuppa and admire the view from this lookout, it is awesome.
We camped at Cooper Creek, just east of Windorah and also at Neil Turner Weir just west of Mitchell. There is an Artesian Hot Spring pool at Mitchell that is well worth a visit, and we found the meals at the Hotel Richard extremely good value.
Quilpie has a good bakery that serves rather good pies!

There's a lot more out there, but you'll see it as you travel along.

AnswerID: 389069

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 08:18

Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 08:18
Morning Fab.

You will need to take your time while on the dirt. You will be travelling through gibber country which will be hard on street rubber.
Windorah has a new solar power plant which may be interesting to stop and look at.
Camp there on the Cooper.
Quilpie is an interesting stop. Stop in at the old (brick) pub, now an opal shop.

safe travels.
Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 389076

Reply By: Member - beachbum - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 09:05

Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 09:05
As already mentioned Windorah, Quilpie and Mitchell have a lot to offer as does Charleville. Stay out of town at Evening Star van park/camp ground on a working cattle station, the Cosmos centre is an excellent observatory with both day and night tours, visit Corone's Pub and do their tour. As usual, no affiliations with the town or anything in it but have really enjoyed the place on a number of occasions.
AnswerID: 389079

Follow Up By: Fatso - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 16:38

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 16:38
Recommend you take in the free tour of the Met Bureau at the airport at Charleville if you can.
FollowupID: 657155

Reply By: Voxson - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 09:24

Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 09:24
If it was me i would go to Innamincka from Birdsville via Walkers Crossing and then onto The Adventure Way and follow that all the way into Brisbane.
Some great country out there.
AnswerID: 389083

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 10:26

Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 10:26
Pretty rocky from the Birdsville track towards Walkers Crossing for about 20km's. A Captiva would be better off with AT tyres for that section? I agree, it would be more interesting.

FollowupID: 656809

Follow Up By: Voxson - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 10:34

Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 10:34
I didnt see the word Captiva...oops...
That was misleading info i gave....
The rocks are a killer for a lowish car,,,,,, especially after Innamincka on the beginning of the Adventure Way..
FollowupID: 656810

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 10:50

Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 10:50
Having said that, the Birdsville track is not exactly street tyre friendly either....
FollowupID: 656811

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 15:57

Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 15:57
Me too guys, I would follow your reccomendations. If Fab72 does, then they should allow a stopover at Noccundra as well.... either the pub or the camp by the Wilson R which I particularly enjoyed. This way you could then include a detour to Currawinya NP (SE of Thargomindah) which is particularly nice and no worries for the Captiva as well. Opal mining at Yowah is not too far off the track and good fun to break up the trip.

Spose it comes down to too many routes with too many sights for just one trip, better come in from B/ville then back sth via Innaminka hehehe

Fab72, get some AT tyres as a minimum for that sort of country and know what pressure to run them at.

Safe travels,
Trevor.
FollowupID: 656829

Reply By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 09:46

Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 09:46
As stated by others you will run into bitumen about 50km from Windorah and then it is bitumen to Brisbane.

As also stated, while the car will do the trip (watch fuel range) it is tyres that could be the problem.

If you need built accommodation, there is an excellent motel attached to the pub at Windorah. Enquire at the pub. If you take the road slowly and stop at the lookout you will probably find Windorah is far enough for day which will mainly be on gravel. Quilpie is then a 200km down the road from Windorah and you are starting to get near your destination (LOL)

AnswerID: 389086

Reply By: Fab72 - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 20:30

Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 20:30
Thanks heaps guys.....appreciate the feedback and the sightseeing/travel tips.

The A/T tyres are out of the question. Work won't cover them and it's not my car. Do you really think I'd buy a Captiva..?????? Hehe.

Fuel shouldn't be too much of a problem. It's a diesel and I'm taking an extra 40 litres with me just in case.

Common sense will get us through....might be a slow trip but Australia's better seen at 80kmph rather than 120, well I think so anyway.

After all...we managed to get my last work car (Holden Astra) to Palm Valley, fully loaded and with 5 of us in there. Was slow going but well worth the effort.

Thanks again people....you are all a credit to this site and your experience is priceless. Cheers.
AnswerID: 389160

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 08:24

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 08:24
"Common sense will get us through....might be a slow trip but Australia's better seen at 80kmph rather than 120, well I think so anyway. "

That....... is probably the single most sensible comment I have ever read on any forum!! What a great attitude! If you don't mind, I'm going to use that in my signature. LOL..

FollowupID: 656911

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 09:39

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 09:39
Go for it Brian......it's all yours.
FollowupID: 656921

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 10:00

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 10:00
Thanks mate.