Submitted: Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 23:32
ptnuske
Hey guys,
Looking at getting a 76 series V8 TD wagon to tow our 3.5t kedron van around Australia. I am going to assume that the car will do it on it's head. But, can people please give me some feedback and experiences towing these loads?
How do poeple find the comfort?
Any overheating on long hills?
What to look out for when purchasing new or used?
Anything else that you should think we should know would be appreciated.
Any feedback appreciated.
Pete and Tracey
Reply By: Travelin OZ - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 00:38
Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 00:38
This thread should put your mind to rest.
Link
Follow Up By: ptnuske - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 11:17
Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 11:17
He he, forgot I had those DVDs and the 76 was featured in that one. Must watch again.
Thanks.
Reply By: Member - Tony (ACT) - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 09:01
Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 09:01
Looks like the 76 V8 is up to the task in more ways than one. Pity that motor is not in a live axle wagon.
Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 12:44
Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 12:44
???
That motor IS in a live axle wagon - the LandCruiser 76 (live axles front & rear)!
Follow Up By: Member - Tony (ACT) - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 17:00
Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 17:00
I mean a real wagon, a station wagon, you know like the 100/200 series and the patrol.
Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 18:11
Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 18:11
Umm... Tony, not sure what you mean by the 76 not being a "real" station wagon. Sure its a tad smaller than the GU/Cruiser, but its a real wagon.
As for requiring a live axle front end, have you seen just how
well the KDSS performs on the 200? A standard 200 has more wheel travel than a 2" lifted GU. Put a 2" lift on a 200 and it gets better again. But if you want to go for a bigger lift than 2" then you will be better off with a live axle front end vehicle. And if you think the single turbo V8 is good, factor in another 220Nm and 44kW for the twin turbo in the 200.
Follow Up By: Member - Tony (ACT) - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 18:24
Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 18:24
I reckon your getting a bit carried away with the point of the discussion. I will stick with the live axle station wagon a bit longer, and also the KISS system for remote arears.
Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 19:04
Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 19:04
Ok, now I understand what you mean Tony - $70k is a lot for the 'GXL' wagon which has an interior that looks like the inside of my old 1982 Jackaroo! :) (nothing else similar though!)
Personally, I've spent a bit of time lamenting that they didn't bring out the 76 wagon earlier ie. with the 6cyl 4.2L TD engine from the RV Troopy/ute (I think that would be closer to the KISS system than the new CRD 4.5L V8!)
Reply By: Will 76 Series - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 09:59
Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 09:59
Peter and Tracey,
We purchased a second hand 2008 76 Series in March this year. The vehicle is excellent to tow with. We tow a Pioneer Camper trailer and aluminium dinghy which is not much for the vehicle around 1500kg, however longterm intend to upgrade to a caravan.
The fuel economy is better than our previous jackaroo diesel.
Some modifications we have done for your consideration are: Get rid of the front seats they are not comfortable, we replaced them with Ricaro's. Need to get a cruise control we went for an Autron cruise control Unit-excellent. I have replaces the shocks with Koni's and bellows airbags due to stiffness of the original shocks.
Road noise is a little loud at first until the Turbo kicks in and cruising speed is reached but then it is sweat as. GXL is quieter than the standard model due to carpet.
We have also noticed on long trips that the floor gets hot underfoot on the drivers side, but I have put some carpet between the mats and it is fine now.
Over all we love the vehicle and it is a long term purchase to get us out to the most isolated and beautiful areas AS has to offer.
There is no ABS or airbags on my 2008 76 series but the 2010 model will have these items. Great vehicle and motor reliability.
Will76
Follow Up By: ptnuske - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 11:19
Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 11:19
Will , thanks for the feedback. I apperciate the tips and will take note when we
test drive this weekend. Just what I wanted to hear.
Pete
Reply By: Member - Kevin B1 (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 11:02
Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 11:02
Have had my 76 Series for just over a year, one of the best vehicles I have owned. We tow a 3 Ton full van with tinnie on the roof and average 14.7 Litre/100km and on a recent trip on the CSR averaged 13.4 Litre/100km. I agree with the above Re air bags and the only negative is the 80 Litre fuel tank they come with. I had it replaced with a 170 Litre at a cost of $1500.00 but
well worth the money. They tend to fishtail a little in the sand I think due to the front wheels being wider than the back and the rear wheels trying to follow in the grooves. Some people have had trouble with oil burn over a long period, but
mine only used oil for about the first 15000 Klm and has now stopped altogether. I put this down to the fact that I towed the Van for most of this period and bedded the rings in properly. If you buy a 76 Series GXL you won't be disappointed.
Follow Up By: ptnuske - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 11:24
Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 11:24
Thanks for the feedback Kevin,
Our pPatrol at the moment with the Kedron gets 21 l/100 that would be a great saving in the fuel bill!. Thanks for the ecconomy figures, excellent.
Pete
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 14:36
Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 14:36
We tow a Kedron Top Ender with a 79 Series. Fully loaded, we are VERY heavy 3.95m tinnie on top, 30 HP 4 stroke outboard on draw bar. Fold up boat trailer on rear, etc and lots of 'stuff'.
The vehicle handles the load very
well, but we have added a DP Chip and 3 inch Mandrel Exhaust. Also upgraded the
suspension with GVM increase to 3,700 KG and added air bags to rear. With WDH, it all sits very level and behaves very
well under tow.
We travel @ about 85 KPH on the bitumen and get around 21 litres per 100 KM on average.
The most impressive thing about these vehicles is the torque. Amazing pulling power and bullet proof clutch give plenty of confidence when off the bitumen.
Norm C
Follow Up By: ptnuske - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 18:36
Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 18:36
Thanks for the reply Norm,
Any engine heat issues? Does the car get hot driving the van up long hills?
Pete
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Nov 06, 2009 at 14:27
Friday, Nov 06, 2009 at 14:27
Pete, I have not fitted a pyrometer, so cannot measure Exhaust Gas Temp. I rely on the standard temp gauge. It indicates no measurable increase in engine temp.
We have driven up through Cunningham's
Gap twice towing the van. ( very long climb over the range south west of
Brisbane. First time was pre any engine mods. We pulled up it very
well, but could not hold revs in 3rd gear, so we took it easy and pulled up in 2nd.
Second time (just a few days ago), with 3 inch exhaust and DP chip, we ate it up in 3rd.
I kept a close eye on the temp gauge both times and could not see any rise. But I did notice that the alternator voltage dropped about .4 Volts, which suggests the alternators temp compensation had kicked in a bit, so I suspect (and expect) there was a bit of extra heat being generated.
Norm C
Reply By: Member - The Crow (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 14:38
Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 14:38
Hi last year we towed a 21ft Coromal to WA and back it was about 2300kg did it no worries. Our new Van has an ATM of 3360kg we towed it to
Sydney and back in June with our 76 Cruiser with no dramas. We will be heading to
Perth on the 30 Nov just hope there is not a lot of head winds. That will knock the fuel around.
| 200 Series V8 Diesel
Thanks for the Rest Flying West and Flying Very Low along the track not coming back. The CrowLifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 15:27
Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 15:27
We recently came back from
Borroloola at the end of the high winds that caused the dust storms. Wow, did the head winds ever wreck our fuel consumption.
Normally get over 400KM per 90 litre tank before the fuel light comes on. Got about 320 KM per tank when we had head winds.
Norm C
Reply By: Member - Carl and Pamela - Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 11:29
Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 11:29
Good morning Pete,
Like Norm I tow a very heavy Kedron but with a 200 TD cruiser. As the saying goes "sometimes I forget it is there".
Ours a 22.5 ft ATV and weight is near 4 ton fully loaded. On the Pacific Hy you can easily sit on 100 on the flats and up slight hills.
The bench mark hills out of
Tamworth, Cunningham Gap in Queensland and Up to Toomwoomba are still ok without making the temp go up at all.
My understanding is that the front tyre track is wider than the back track. You might ask Norm about this and if he has had any trouble with tracking in sand. I only mention this as you want to take a Kedron and I assume it will be off road.
I never cease to be surprised at the debate on two vehicles. Not you but all other forums. Landcruiser is king of the outback in both it's performance and back up out there. Goodluck
Our fuel is 23 litres per 100 so Norm is doing
well. I was interested to see his fuel numbers.
Carl
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 29, 2009 at 17:19
Sunday, Nov 29, 2009 at 17:19
Interesting benchmark hills you mention Carl.
First time up
Cunninghams Gap, we used second gear much of the way. Vehicle would rev out in 2nd, but if I went to 3rd, it slowly died, so we took it easy in 2nd.
Next time, I had fitted a 3 inch mandrel exhaust and DP Chip. What a difference!!. Pulled up all the way in 3rd.
I have not towed the van up the
Toowoomba range yet, but have come down. It would be a 2nd gear job in parts - perhaps even 1st on that last pinch near the top. I'm not in a hurry to test it.
On the current trip (
Gold Coast to Tassie) we are getting around 19 litres per 100KM. Lighter load than normal as we left the boat and its accessories in NT. This is towing at around 85 KPH.
Norm C
Reply By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 22:48
Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 22:48
Peter & Tracey
My main
feedback would be to question a 76 wagon ahead of a troopcarrier or even a trayback. Presuming you are travelling two up the troopcarrier or trayback may be a better choice. I went for a trayback so am probably a bit biased. It may have been a troopy except that I carry loads that need a tray.
As has been mentioned in other posts the 76 wagon misses out on the second tank that the others have and for the weight you plan to tow (meaning higher fuel consumption) the extra tank may be a must have (or a replacement larger tank). Also I understand that the 76 has shorter rear leaf springs than its troopcarrier and trayback siblings and suffers a little because of this.
I climb the long steep hills regularly and no overheating issues however I have not towed the load you plan to tow. I have towed 3 tons or so on the flat without problems but that counts for nothing much. Up the Moonbis probably only up to about the GVM of 3300 kg. Been up other steeper climbs but not heavily loaded. If climbing with the load you intend I would not use 5th gear at all climbing hills.
If the standard seats are the same as the trayback (as in bad) you will need to budget for new seats (or new backs). I went for a Stratos
suspension seat, others have done the same or gone for Recaros.
Purchasing new -
shop around. Prices vary by many thousands. I purchased in
Sydney and saved a few thousand. The local dealers contacted did not return phone calls. So I bought elsewhere. Funny that some seem to think they will automatically get your business.
Well there is competition out there. Another tip - load up the sale with any items you can that you might be planning to add later. It seems pricing on Toyota extras is a little flexible at purchase time. In my purchase was a second spare wheel and tyre and towbar. The prices were reasonable and almost certainly a lot less than getting them later. Another tip, only buy from a dealer who has one to sell. This may limit choice of colour but most likely you will get a better price than ordering for delivery in 3 months.
Second hand -
well I would advise don't. The second hand landcruiser prices seem too close to new to be good value. Good if selling but not good if buying. Some of the traybacks get flogged by their drivers (employees) but I would doubt the wagons would suffer from that.
I have found my cruiser to be tough and reliable and factory
seat aside it is a lot better than I expected.
Doubt that you will find anything better than one of the 70 series cruisers for what you intend to do.
Flynnie