good bad points on following utes

value for money

resell

disel or unleaded

isuzie i-max or toyota hilux or holden collerado

Reply By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 07:03

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 07:03
The I-Max and Colorado are the same vehicle with a different badge..(ie, they are both Isuzu's)

The Hi Lux is the perennial favourite but is a bit more expensive. Value for money..?? Does that matter really, they are all good dependable work/leisure utes, it depends on your loyalty to a badge. Personally, I'd go for the Toyota and pay the extra.
AnswerID: 390034

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 07:23

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 07:23
Why do people maintain the inacuracy of stating "they are both Isuzu's"
This is simply not factual.

Both vehicles are built at GM's Rayong Plant in Thailand.
The Isuzu D-Max therefore is a rebadged GM vehicle, made under a contract agreement with General Motors Corporation.

Bill.

FollowupID: 657795

Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 08:03

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 08:03
Bill,

They may well be built in a GM factory in Thailand but they are designed by GM subsiduary ISUZU.

Likewise, the Captiva, Barina and Cruze are all GM, if you insist but, they are all designed and, in this case, built by another GM subsiduary, Daewoo in Korea.

Look at it the other way...the Commodore is sold in various overseas markets and rebadged Chevrolet, Pontiac and even Vauxhall.

So, are THEY just GM vehicles built in a GM factory in Australia...??? Strictly speaking, yes they are but there wouldn't be any Aussie who would allow that to be thought of as true, but it is a true as the statement you made...am I making sense here??
FollowupID: 657808

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 08:50

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 08:50
Bill I am afraid you need to do a little more research, GM has no affiliation with Isuzu being wholly owned now by Mitsubishi Corporation (not Mitsubishi Motors). The Colorado and the D-Max are built in different factories, and there are not quite the same, the Colorado has a SOHC motor and the D-Max has a DOHC motor, there is a couple of other differences as well I won't go into that now. Good article here
http://www.caradvice.com.au/17207/2009-isuzu-d-max-first-steer/
FollowupID: 657813

Follow Up By: gbc - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 10:03

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 10:03
Wrong again - both colorado and d-max share the same 4JJ1 motor - the SOHC theory was debunked ages ago.

"Dear Geoff,

Thank you for your email.received by our office on 16 July 2009 regarding your Holden Colorado.

We have tried calling you to discuss your concerns though have been unsuccessful in contacting you via telephone.

Please be advised that the 3 Litre Diesel Engine is known as 4JJ1. Is a 4 valve per cylinder engine.

Should you have any further concerns, please do not hesitate to contact the undersigned on 1800 033 0349.

Yours sincerely,

Olga Katsifolis
Holden Customer Assistance Centre"

FollowupID: 657817

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 10:58

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 10:58
I got my info from www.redbook.com.au and have been told by many other sources that is correct.
FollowupID: 657821

Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 11:06

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 11:06
I was wrong about Isuzu being a subsiduary of GM, it's not and never was but, there have been agreements over the years for Isuzu to build GM vehicles for other markets. The Holden Jackaroo springs to mind. I had the Isuzu Trooper when I was an expat in Malaysia and it was EXACTLY the same as the Jackaroo and in this case, despite all the chest beating, the D-Max and Colorado are one in the same vehicle, designed by Isuzu including the engines, I don't care who builds them or where. The only differences are slight trim detail and the badge.
FollowupID: 657823

Follow Up By: gbc - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 11:08

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 11:08
I got my info from under my bonnet.

My engine Number is 4JJ1FW1050

Feel free to do your own homework using my engine number.

FollowupID: 657824

Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 11:25

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 11:25
Also, just checked the Australian websites for both Holden and Isuzu.

The Colorado has both 3.0l CRD diesel and 3.6l V6. The D-Max is only sold in Oz as a diesel and both outputs are exactly the same, that is, 120kw and 333Nm from 1600-3400rpm in auto form. Torque is slightly higher in manual at 360Nm from 1800-3400rpm.

The petrol engine is no doubt the Holden built GM global unit as in the Commodore, although not certain about that.
FollowupID: 657828

Follow Up By: gbc - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 11:42

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 11:42
I've heard holden is going to discontinue the v6 - don't know if it's true or not...
FollowupID: 657830

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 16:08

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 16:08
sic em Bruce ....

I'm with you. I followed up on all this stuff before I bought my D-MAX. Here is my VIN Plate ...

Who cares? All a reliable vehicle has to do is get you from point A to point B. Something my Patrol ZD30 could never do !!

Malcolm

living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 657854

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 16:55

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 16:55
I am just waiting to get under a Colorado bonnet hehehehehe probably have to take the cover off only problem lol
FollowupID: 657865

Follow Up By: gbc - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 18:34

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 18:34
Malcolm, It's your engine # that he needs to compare - the one that starts with 4JJ1

Bruce - I checked with your redbook line too - they have it listed as DOHC anyway.

When will this end?

FollowupID: 657873

Follow Up By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 19:26

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 19:26
Engine # GR3712

living the 'good life'

FollowupID: 657880

Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 19:29

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 19:29
It looks like the motor is not the same - Holden don't give enough info - But I wouls say different motor :-) Cheers

Colorado 3.0 litre, VCDi Turbo Diesel engine
Engine Specifications
3.0 litre, 4-cylinder, common rail, turbo charged - intercooled electronic fuel injection
Bore x stroke (mm)
95.4 x 104.9
Capacity (cc)
Compression ratio (:1)
Power
120kW @ 3600rpm (DIN, kW)

Maximum figures as per DIN regulations

Torque
Man: 360Nm @ 1800rpm

Maximum figures as per DIN regulations

D-Max Engine Specs

Series: Isuzu 4JJ1-TC Hi-Power

Description: 3.0 litre, DOHC, 16-valve, in-line 4-cylinder, common-rail direct-injection, VGS

intercooled turbo-diesel.

Maximum torque: 360 Nm @ 1800 —> 2800 rpm (manual)

333 Nm @ 1600 —> 3200 rpm (automatic)

Maximum power: 120 kW @ 3600 rpm

Bore x stroke: 95.4 mm x 104.9 mm

Displacement: 2999 cc

Compression ratio: 17.5 : 1

Cylinder head: Isuzu-patent special aluminium alloy with double-walled water jacketing.

Valve gear: Chain-driven dual overhead camshafts, roller rockers, 4 valves/cylinder, VSS

(Variable Swirl System).

Induction: Electronic ultra high pressure direct fuel injection via common rail & air-cooled

variable geometry turbocharger.

Cylinder block: Cast iron upper, cast alloy lower; Isuzu-patent melt-in anti-friction bore liners; special

pistons with nickel composite oil rings.

Emission level: Euro 4

Alternator: 90 amp
FollowupID: 657882

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 20:19

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 20:19
gbc did you actually take the cover off the motor to see if there was two cams there or is it just the engine no? I went back to www.redbook.com.au and for the Colorado/Engine...Cam/Overhead Cam....Valves per Cylinder 2
the D-Max/Engine...Cam/Double Overhead Cam...Valves per Cylinder 4
Yes they both use the same 4JJITC engine classification no, also I have found the D-Max is a lot quieter than the Colorado that's why I did the research.
FollowupID: 657886

Follow Up By: gbc - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 20:44

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 20:44
Seen with my own two eyes - she's a gear and chain driven DOHC 16 valve engine.

The only isuzu motor with SOHC was belt driven and not common rail.

I was under the same impression as you guys until I did a LOT of digging to get to the bottom of it all.

It is exactly the same engine as was in the ra7 rodeo which was a full blood isuzu d-max from before the confusion set in.

It would appear that there was a typo made (2 valve typo) a long time ago by holden in some advertising guff, and the isuzu sales guys flogged it for all it was worth - why not?

Have a good one.
FollowupID: 657892

Reply By: Member - Alex K (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 07:19

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 07:19
You've probably already read this review, if not... http://www.drive.com.au/Editorial/ArticleDetail.aspx?ArticleID=62980&vf=18

AnswerID: 390036

Reply By: gbc - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 07:50

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 07:50
Bit o.t.., but why then has my colorado got about 100 isuzu badges on every engine part, and when I got spares from holden, they too were all isuzu?

I used to pay the extras for Toyota - had one of the last Japanese built hilux's. These days you're kidding yourself if you think hilux is any better than the others - especially for a $15k premium to still not get abs and ebd.
AnswerID: 390038

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 09:53

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 09:53
Many of the parts are interchangeable and come from the same supplier. Likewise, Falcon, Toyota and Holden share some parts too.

In regards to the Toyota Hilux myth...I agree. Most utes are a much for muchness these days. It boils down to what's better suited to the individual. For instance, the Hilux has it's eye level brake light mounted on the tailgate which may not suit people who often carry over length loads that require the load to be transported with the tailgate down....just one example of many.

Bed height for a hilux is higher too, which makes for back breaking work if you're a traddie.
FollowupID: 657816

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 08:19

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 08:19
G/Day bazza

Being in the plumbing game I would go for a Hylux Traybody, with a Canopy and Pipe and Ladder Racks, you see so many Tradies driving them and with the Govt 50% Bonus Tax deal, you can't lose.

AnswerID: 390042

Reply By: Wilk0 - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 12:50

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 12:50
Hi Bazza,

I'd go for the Holden Colorado, They are excellent alue for money.

Regards Wilko
AnswerID: 390069

Reply By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 19:04

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 19:04
Collorado or D-Max - Both great utes, you can get the rebates and they are a lot cheaper than Hilux

In my opinion Toyota are pricing themselves out of the market.

AnswerID: 390117

Reply By: Isuzumu - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 20:25

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 20:25
Back to the orginal question.......The D-Max would be my pick, if they are half as good as my two Isuzu MUs they will be great vehicles.
My second choice would be the BT 50/ Ford Ranger
AnswerID: 390131

Reply By: walruz - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 23:26

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 23:26
Yeah mate , go the D-Max !!!
AnswerID: 390161

Reply By: bazza bushman - Friday, Nov 06, 2009 at 01:21

Friday, Nov 06, 2009 at 01:21
what prices on east coast

what prices on west coast
AnswerID: 390169

Reply By: marcus - Friday, Nov 06, 2009 at 09:02

Friday, Nov 06, 2009 at 09:02
My pick would be the FG Falcon on dedicated gas unless you live in the bush.A big tray or tub,powerful,smooth and kills the others for driveability and efficiency.
AnswerID: 390196

Reply By: Gossy - Friday, Nov 06, 2009 at 10:08

Friday, Nov 06, 2009 at 10:08
Sorry, haven't read the whole forum - too long.

Toyota = over priced.

Why spend extra $ for a badge when it's going to get scratched and dented from day to day work anyway!! Also try and find an old copy of the 4wd ute of the year this year. The Hilux was over $10,000 more than any other model and it still didn't win (3rd I think). D-Max came first.

Diesel will cost more up front but will give better fuel economy. Really depends on the yearly km's he travels because it takes alot of km's to pay back that difference from buying the petrol model.

you could argue also that the money he saves from buying the petrol model will pay for his roof rack and other stuff that tradies have hanging off.

I have nothing against Diesels (I own one myself) but it's important to look at the + and -'s of each type and buy the best one for your individual driving conditions.
AnswerID: 390211