Frustrating Drivers - 2 new names - What do you call them?

Submitted: Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 18:42
ThreadID: 73642 Views:5698 Replies:21 FollowUps:60
Driving daily for your job is quite lucky I would say. It also gives you a chance to see the way driving behavior is getting more and more out of control.

The two new trends that are becoming frequent in my country area are these that I have put a name too.

1) The slow speeder - This is the person that will sit in the 100k zone (where usually there are no passing opportunities) at around 85-90k. This in itself in a busy world gets a trifle frustrating, but hey we learn to put up with it. The bit that gets me with this lot is a trend that I see daily now. Having spent ample time under the posted speed limit, when they hit the Town zones where the speed reduces to 80 then 60 they keep driving at the same speed oblivious to the world and they disappear off into the distance.

2) Hurry up and wait - This is the person who screams up to an intersection, takes a couple of quick glances, ignores the fact that they can not pull out in time to not hinder the person traveling at highway speeds and pulls out so you have to hit the anchors or disengage the Cruise control. You could put up with this if it was not for the fact that now they only want to travel at 85-95 in the 100k zone and that there was nobody behind you anyway. Everyone knows these people and I know I try my hardest not to be one.

I think that impatience is now appears to be the biggest problem on our roads, I know I suffer from it but at all times try to keep the demon under control :-)

Now lets name and add all the other categories that are ever so apparent these days. :-)

Cheers Tony

Reply By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 18:48

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 18:48
I start it off with another

P Plate pro - The ever increasing amount of P Plated drivers undertaking multiple overtaking tactics, speeding and doing the lane change dance like they were on a racetrack and a seasoned pro driver.
AnswerID: 390638

Reply By: Cruiser .- Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 18:57

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 18:57
Tony,

The roundabout straight liner................ they go into the roundabout in one lane and exit in another because they take a straight line instead of following the marked lanes.

The roundabout lane changer................ who just thinks its OK to change lanes within the roundabout despite the fact that there is a solid painted white line which means your not allowed to do so.

The roundabout I have the right of way driver......... they think that they are a major road and you are on a side road so they have automatic right of way despite the fact that you are already in the roundabout.

Thats it, thats my whinge.

Cruiser
AnswerID: 390640

Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 19:21

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 19:21
Cruiser All valid :-) - Surprising how many can not navigate a roundabout the way they were designed for :-)

FollowupID: 658406

Follow Up By: HGMonaro - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 23:56

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 23:56
Cruiser, you should try some UK roundabouts... you have to change lanes to get on and off whist obeying traffic lights at each road...

an example
FollowupID: 658475

Follow Up By: HGMonaro - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 23:57

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 23:57
opps, link didn't work :(
FollowupID: 658476

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 11:32

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 11:32
The roundabout at Hemel Hempstead in UK is a real doozy-it goes in both directions
FollowupID: 658531

Follow Up By: Rob! - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 11:48

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 11:48
Cruiser

I think you will find that lane changes (although not wise) are permitted on roundabout.

See page seventy. road rules

and Part 9 Section 117
Transport Operations Regulation 2009

Also, I don't believe I've ever seen a roundabout with a solid painted white line. How would you get into the inside lane on such a roundabout?

R.
FollowupID: 658535

Follow Up By: Cruiser .- Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 14:29

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 14:29
Rob!,

I don't know where your located but in NSW lane changing is not allowed if there is a solid white line dividing the lanes in the roundabout.

I am in Port Macquarie NSW and this place is full of roundabouts with solid white lines.

We also have roundabouts with broken white lines which indicates that lane changing is allowed.

If I know a roundabout has solid white lines, I plan ahead and get into the appropriate lane before I enter the roundabout, that corresponds with where I need to be when I exit the roundabout. Its not that hard to do.

Cruiser
FollowupID: 658555

Follow Up By: Rob! - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 15:11

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 15:11
Fair enough. But you still would have to cross the solid white line to get to the inside lane. Wouldn't you? Unless this line is broken.
FollowupID: 658565

Follow Up By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 19:08

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 19:08
In Alice Springs there are roundabouts where it is legal to exit from the centre lane while it is OK for the left lane to keep continuing around the roundabout. In the event of the inevitable (and they are numerous) collisions, the car in the left lane is deemed not to have given way to the vehicle on their right.
FollowupID: 658611

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 22:12

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 22:12
Gday Mfewster,
Roundabouts in Alice are quite simple....same as SA Im sure?
Left lane can go left or straight ahead.
Right Lane can go straight ahead or right???
As long as you dont over take while on the roundabout ( which is Illegal...Like SA) everyone is safe.

Same rule applies for 5 or more exit roundabouts........Left lane goes left or the the second left.....right lane can use the second left and anything right of that...........

FollowupID: 658629

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 19:03

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 19:03
Hi Tonyb
In a 100 kph zone 100 kph is the maximum speed, so what's wrong with doing 90 kph ? The difference is only a good jogging speed.

KK
AnswerID: 390642

Follow Up By: River Swaggie - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 19:19

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 19:19
Hiya Kia

Think he means sitting in the right lane (fast lane)..You know KEEP LEFT UNLESS OVERTAKING that a lot of people FORGET.
FollowupID: 658405

Follow Up By: Member - Lia H (SA) - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 19:26

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 19:26
Or possibly people like my mum, who sit well below the speed limit in areas with limited visability... so when someone comes around a bend who IS doing the limit, you end up slamming on your breaks to not end up in their backseat.

(I've been lecturing her about it for many years now). :)
FollowupID: 658409

Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 19:28

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 19:28
KK - Read the scenarios - The complaint is in the drivers actions.

Nothing wrong with dong under the speed limit.

There is a difference between a courteous driver and the more ignorant though.

If I am sunday driving and someone comes up behind me at the speed limit, I will let them past at first opportunity. :-) I appreciate that there are a lot of people out there on timetables.

There are a lot these days that think it is there right to go slow and just to prove it will speed up when there is a chance to overtake. I repeat there are a lot of these idiots out there.

Happy Driving :-) Cheers
FollowupID: 658410

Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 19:37

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 19:37
Lia H - Yes a lot of retired drivers up this way as well. Always try not to get upset with older drivers, we will all get there one day :-).
They are all entitled to there place on the road. Courtesy is the secret to good driving. So a slow old courteous driver is in my good books :-)

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 658414

Follow Up By: Member - Lia H (SA) - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 20:10

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 20:10
I can't believe I wrote breaks not brakes - should check before posting.

I am a bit of a closet grandma driver myself :) so I don't have any issue with people going a bit slower. Moreso with the lack of courtesy, as you say.

My mum will not let anyone past, yells at them for being yobbos when they do anyway, and I have actually witnessed her scrape someone's vehicle reversing from a park - and say nothing about it.

Of course the scariest thing is when we all start to inherit the parents' habits - as I keep telling my daughter....she'll get there one day too. :)
FollowupID: 658417

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 08:24

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 08:24
I think his main complaint is that they continue doing 85-90 in the 80 and 60 zones. I have seen this a lot and agree. They are driving quite oblivious to the rest of the world.
FollowupID: 658508

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 14:46

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 14:46
"sit well below the speed limit in areas with limited visability... so when someone comes around a bend who IS doing the limit, you end up slamming on your brakes to not end up in their backseat."

I'd question that if the bend in the road will limit visibility to an extent that you have to take extreme action to avoid rear-ending a slower driver, what kind of action would you need to take if there was a stationary obstacle on the road around that same bend (ie. a cow, broken-down vehicle, or child, etc.)? Perhaps Lia's mother is actually the safe driver in that scenario.
FollowupID: 658560

Reply By: Off-track - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 19:18

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 19:18
The Rick Kelly. Drives a slower vehicle than those banked up behind in a 100 zone but at the opening of any passing lane or opportunity Rick will speed up to protect his lead, even if it means doing 130. Cant carry speed through corners either and is an accident waiting to happen.
AnswerID: 390644

Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 19:31

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 19:31
Off Track _ It is amazing how many people do this - Why???

Good example of this is the Gillies range. People will not pull over to let faster drivers pass come hell or high water.

What happened to a little courtesy - It would make driving enjoyable again.

FollowupID: 658412

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 21:18

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 21:18
Yep my pet hate, especially when you are in a speed limited truck or bus. IF towing and want to conserve fuel then I tend to slow in overtaking lanes, rather have a truck in front of me anyway. But I had a red p plater slow in the left lane so I could pass yesterday which is a first(considerert p plater lol)
FollowupID: 658435

Follow Up By: 2000 Red Rodeo - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 22:18

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 22:18
Common Courtesy is what is missing.

Travelling home from Eden recently we and about 50 other cars got stuck behind a caravan from the Vic border to just short of Orbost, With limited overtaking opportunities and so many cars stuck behind this caravan doing 70 in the 100 zone there was no way of getting past. Would it have killed them to show some consideration for others and pull over and let people past.

Like others have said above drivers who drive at 80 kph on highways only to speed up to 120kph when there is an overtaking lane drive me crazy.

Should I start on Camry drivers........must show restraint.

FollowupID: 658454

Follow Up By: ChrisE - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 05:48

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 05:48
2000 Red Rodeo, the line of 50 cars annoys the heck out of me too...but...I don't blame the van, it's all the bloody Camry drivers that don't have enough horses under the bonnet or don't know how to wake them up and get past that annoy me more, especially when they don't leave a gap for those of us that don't drive Camry's to pick a few of them off at a time rather than going for the hoon to pass them all at once...
shame I can't do that in the 4x4...
FollowupID: 658495

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 21:02

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 21:02
I can't believe the number of people who stick in the right lane when they aren't overtaking.

I know even when I am a passenger in a taxi that sticks in the right lane, come what may, I feel like cringing.

There is a classic road in Canberra where one can observe this behaviour- Hindmarsh drive. Three lanes both ways up and over a moderate hill. The speed limit is a woeful 80 kph but our right lane hogs seem to manage only 70 to 75.

The merest abbreviated blast on the horn, or muted hand gesture as you pass these idiots on their left usually brings the flash of the high beams once you have made it past.

Most Canberra drivers have learned to drive in a sheltered workshop and have no idea about realworld driving. This is one of the reasons why the road between Canberra and the coast is a blood bath.

AnswerID: 390667

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 21:54

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 21:54
Aah, yes Bob, but at least we have roundabouts sorted out.

Well, going by the regular carnage at Russell, maybe not.
FollowupID: 658448

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 22:01

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 22:01
Bob,

From what i just read, I believe the keeping left on multilane roads only applies to speed zones greater than 80km/h (ie. 90km/h etc) or "keep left..." signs displayed therefore it would seem to be legally acceptable to be there. (not that i think that it is an acceptable practice).

FollowupID: 658451

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 22:42

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 22:42
"keeping left on multilane roads only applies to speed zones greater than 80km/h "

- the drivers causing the problems those that think "the law doesn't require me to keep left in this 80k zone, so I'm staying in the right lane".

. . . similarly "the law doesn't require me to move left, so I'll drive in the middle lane at 10k below limit, and I'll abuse the drivers overtaking me on the left."
FollowupID: 658461

Follow Up By: Member - Bentaxle - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 22:43

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 22:43
Matt M
Now all you have to do is to learn to merge
May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.

FollowupID: 658463

Follow Up By: ChrisE - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 06:24

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 06:24
Failing to keep left unless overtaking is my pet hate...purely inconsiderate for others...doesn't matter what speed your doing or the limit is...it is also just not safe to have cars passing you on both sides.

I reckon 75% of the cars/trucks etc. that I pass on my way to/from work (130km round trip) I pass on the left hand side (even when I have my cruise set at the limit), I am not all that concerned by someone doing a few k's over the limit, as I think that is no way near as dangerous as people that don't keep left as you end up with cars going all over the place to get around people.

What's worse is when they combine that with the "I need to get off the freweway at this exit with 500m to go" and they probably do the same thing every day, get on the anchors on the freewat to get off...great for traffic flow....nothing better than when they get stuck and have to go pass there exit :-)

You see plenty of people nabbed for speeding by 10k's (in Vic 1 demerit point) but rarely for failing to keep left (3 points, which goes to show that someone in the past decided that it was worse than speeding by a few k's - but now forgotten since the speed kills propoganda). I say rarely, because I did see one, late at night lowered dark commodore, right hand lane (I was in left), about 100m in front of me, sitting about same speed, brand new commodore came along doing prob. 20k over limit, thought to myslef cop car, comes up behind guy in right lane, spends a couple of minutes behind, flashes high beams a couple of times (I was waiting for the guy to jump on anchors in front of cops), finally decides to move left into middle lane, unmarked coppers go past, commodore back into right lane (I think he even flashed coppers!), coppers slow down, back behind car, flash lights couple of more times before putting lights on and to top it off the guy pulls over in the right hand emergency lane. If he had of pulled into left I would have stopped to shake the coppers hand....made my day.
FollowupID: 658496

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 07:38

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 07:38
I assume Australia is the only country where they have signs regularly reminding drivers of the fine for not keeping left.

Everywhere drivers are considerate of others on the freeway and automatically move out of teh faster lanes.
FollowupID: 658500

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 08:40

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 08:40
Driving in Europe is a real pleasure. Everyone keeps out of the fast lane unless overtaking, even the bmw's and mercs doing 200+ in Germany. Absolutely nobody undertakes anyone, passing on the inside is strictly forbidden. The trucks almost never leave the slow lane. I have never seen an aggressive truck driver anywhere in Europe. The truck speed limit is 90 and they stick to it. We could all learn a lot from them.
I've had 3 month long driving excursions and am continually impressed with how courteous everyone is on the road. I come home and immediately feel like I'm on a dodgem car track full of heroes.
Still, other than that gripe, Australia would be absolutely perfect.

FollowupID: 658509

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 14:54

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 14:54
"Now all you have to do is to learn to merge"

Ha ha ha Bentaxle - totally agree! When I learned to drive, I was taught that the merge ramp was there so you could get a run-up up to the speed of the traffic that you were planning to merge into - many people I've seen are lucky to be doing 60km/h by the end of the merge ramp, then they curse everyone on the 100km/h road for not letting them in!
FollowupID: 658561

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 15:35

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 15:35
"I assume Australia is the only country where they have signs regularly reminding drivers of the fine for not keeping left. Everywhere drivers are considerate of others on the freeway and automatically move out of the faster lanes."

Mike DID has obviously not visited Asia yet! Usually the big/slow vehicles take the RH lane so their 40-50km/h "cruise" is not constantly interrupted by the almost-stationary vehicles (including motorbikes carrying up to 6 people, pedestrians or even animals wandering about) in the left lane(s). If faster vehicles (ie. cars) want to overtake (even just to get out of the smoke of the truck/bus!), they can generally only do this on the left of the trucks/buses that almost invariably stay in the RH lane. The car driver must take his chances with the 'wanderers' in the left lane(s), picking a gap big enough to complete the manoeuvre, while at the same time allowing for the occasional motorcyclist to pull into the traffic at any time from the left (without even so much as a cursory glance: they must truly believe that what they don't see can't hurt them!). Added to all this is the problem of trying to find a gap by having a 'peek' around the LH of a bus or truck while driving from the RHS of the car!

Now, at the risk of being terribly misunderstood and accused of being racist, let me make some suggestions: I am not surprised that driving slow in the inside lanes is becoming more common because I understand that very little (read: NO) training is required, and that at most (depending on the country of origin), a short practical driving test is all that is required. Now, when you have people who have learned to drive in a country where driving slow in the inside lanes and overtaking on the left is accepted as 'normal', can we reasonably expect those people to suddenly have an urge to "kept left unless overtaking" when/if they move to Australia? So, should there be re-training required before immigrants drive on Australian roads, or do we just accept their 'driving style' as part of their culture (and a 'valuable contribution' to our multicultural society!) as seems to be the current approach?
FollowupID: 658570

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 16:56

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 16:56
Don't start me on Merging Lanes:-

On night shifts I drive the M4 Motorway into Sydney. Once through the Toll gates I make sure to get into the far right lane to avoid any chance of rear ending a Camry.

In Sydney they are the favoured vehicle of a particular ethnic group. These timid drivers leave the Technology Parks drive up Silverwater R. onto the M4 on ramp at 60k, they then wait till they get to the END of the merge lane, brake to 30/40 k's and pull straight out in front of 80k plus traffic.

Not unknown to see rear enders or free way traffic skating about to avoid collisions. I don't know what it is with the Silverwater eas bound on ramp, I just don't seem to see it any else.

My late father-in-law was a classic for this when merging onto the M5 at Wilton, always bitched that the 110kph free way traffic would not slow down to let him in.

FollowupID: 658587

Follow Up By: ChrisE - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 09:35

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 09:35
Since we have started on merging lanes, the bright sparks in VicRoads have decided to put traffic lights half way down the on ramps onto the freeways now!!!

Trying to keep longer gaps between the cars that come to a stop instead of speeding up to merge. Obvoiusly too hard to teach people how to merge in the first place, much easier to put in more lights.

So now if the freeway traffic is doing 100klicks, you no longer have 100-200m to speed up to match the traffic from a rolling/cornering speed, but you have to be able to get up to 100 in 50m!!!!!!

No problem in my sedan, gives me a good excuse to put the foot down.

But in the 4x4 with the van on ......yeah right....I'll be lucky to try and merge at 70......some "speed kills" brainwashed VicRoads person believes this is safer than me having 100m-200m to match the freeway traffic speed......WRONG....obviuosly not a problem for them in their BMW's or Camry's if they really push them, but have obvoiusly never towed a van where momentum makes or breaks....they need to get out of their offices more....

I fell better now, until the next time those merge lights go red!!!!
FollowupID: 658666

Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 21:31

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 21:31
I have just returned from my latest holiday in Philadelphia where our son lives. I do a lot of driving there in his car (BMW 645 CI) and I find that the yanks are vastly better, more considerate and careful than us Aussies. Maybe it is because everyone is using a freeway every day and have learnt to be that way, or maybe you just known who is packing a shooter in the so you treat everyone carefully just in case.
AnswerID: 390674

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 12:50

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 12:50
. . and having six lanes in the one direction means you'd better learn how to change lanes safely (then you don't hog the right lane) and you learn to move to the exit lane in good time.
FollowupID: 658538

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 22:09

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 22:09
When there's no one behind me I sit on 85-90. Towing I sit on 90 regardless whose around. I lost my licence for 6 months (over 5 years lost points went on probation for 12 months, on the last week I got caught doing a left hand turn rolling stop at a stop sign while towing I recon there would have been one second in it) so I got a chip on my shoulder LOL they ain't getting my licence again and the old girl likes to drink. I've spent a lot of time in trucks and Id say Tony's no 2 happens all the time while your driving a truck or towing a van.
Went for a nice little Sunday drive yesterday from Imbil to Jimna. Very steep in places very narrow with blind corners. What I didn't count on was Mud Bulls and Music revellers were on their way home. I pulled one fella up that nearly lost it on a corner in front of me. I said this track is fantastic isn't it. He nodded with a huge grin and I then yelled slow down you will bloody kill someone. They spent the weekend driving around doing 20km/hr god knows whats about to let go after 4x4 around the bush and let loose on the way home. By the way the track would be great after some rain. I wouldnt go east-west Sunday arvo again.
AnswerID: 390679

Reply By: pop2jocem - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 22:24

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 22:24
About 18 posts and 2 that didn't see anything wrong with doing 10 k's or thereabouts under the limit. I guess most of us are in a hurry to be somewhere else

Now I''l retreat to my bunker, don helmet and Kevlar vest .....lol

Cheers Pop

PS my BIL who was a copper before retiring once told me that maximum speed limits are for road conditions where optimum driving conditions prevail.
AnswerID: 390685

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 15:52

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 15:52
I don't see anything wrong with driving 10km/h below the limit - even that is way too fast in some conditions. However, let me suggest that in good conditions, drivers SHOULD generally be able to maintain a speed that is close to the speed limit. If not:
EITHER the speed limit is inappropriate for that section of road
OR the driver is not sufficiently confident to drive that vehicle
OR the vehicle is not particularly suitable for driving at the speed limit (either due to 'limp home' repairs, towing heavy load, bicycle etc.)
OR the driver is just enjoying the scenery (or is distracted)

In any of these cases, if there are drivers behind you that obviously want to go faster than you're willing to drive, I think most would believe that it is not too much to ask that you to assist them in overtaking, or at the very least: don't go out of your way to make it difficult for them to overtake! Afterall, if you don't like somone else's driving, remember: you can far more easily avoid them if they're in front of you than if they're behind you! :-)
FollowupID: 658572

Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 17:48

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 17:48
Pop - Not having a go at people that want to drive slow - Just what some do in addition to that.

If you are a slow driver thats fine, What matters is if you are considerate of others that may not want to?

FollowupID: 658597

Reply By: landed eagle - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 22:54

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 22:54
Then there is ...."The Snoooooooozer".

Completely oblivious to all others on the road,usually will be found slowing to an almost walking pace, while in front of a line of traffic, to rubberneck at something or other or looking for an impossibly tight place to park his/her car.
AnswerID: 390689

Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 17:50

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 17:50
YEP THEY ARE CLASSICS as well! :-) Cheers
FollowupID: 658598

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 23:59

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 23:59
I like to set my cruise control at 100km/h on the open road (even in WA's 110 limit), and it really cheeses me off when someone passes me (can't bear sticking behind me), then slows down to 95 once they pass me. When fully loaded, I don't have a lot of grunt to quickly pass, and have to put up with sticking behind these inconsiderate morons.
Gerry

AnswerID: 390695

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 12:54

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 12:54
"I like to set my cruise control at 100km/h"

If you set it based on your speedo reading, you may be doing a real 90km/h, which would explain why people frequently overtake you.
FollowupID: 658540

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 15:54

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 15:54
So explain why that might cause them to slow down after overtaking him?!
FollowupID: 658576

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 16:21

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 16:21
Ah, Mike, my speedo on the Nissan is very optomistic - so I use the GPS to set my speed by :-)

Gerry

FollowupID: 658583

Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 17:53

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 17:53
Yes - I find that towing the boat - Lots of people just dont like to sit behind a towing vehicle, even if you are doing the limit or just above.

And before you say anything DID - when my speedo reads 96 I am doing 100k :-)

FollowupID: 658599

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 18:23

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 18:23
"when my speedo reads 96 I am doing 100k"

- then your vehicle doesn't comply with Australian Design Rules any more.
FollowupID: 658608

Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 18:51

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 18:51
Mike R - WHO GIVES A HOOT :-)

FollowupID: 658610

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 19:16

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 19:16
. . . your Insurance Company, the Roads Authority . . . .
FollowupID: 658612

Reply By: DCTriton - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 00:36

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 00:36
The Tour Guide...

I'll slow to a crawl, take my hand off the wheel and lean all the way over into the front seat passengers lap to point out the local sights and when you toot me I'll just slow it down a bit more because anyone traveling less than 30km under the limit is just a bloody hoon...!!!
AnswerID: 390699

Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 17:57

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 17:57
Thats a good one - Or the tourist :-)

We have a one lane bridge in a dip crossing a river - you usually come over the crest just to find a Tour Guide or Tourist parked in the middle of the bridge - Go figure the mentality? :-) Cheers
FollowupID: 658600

Reply By: robertbruce - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 00:41

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 00:41
The Old Car Hater - pulls up suddenly thirty feet behind the car in front because he thinks the car behind is too old to stop in time

The Old Car Hater - blocks lane changes cause an old car (that isnt shinny on that particular day cause it's been out bush for three months) shouldnt be allowed on the road anyway

The Roll Back taker-offer, rolls backwards before taking off...

Right Lane Merge Blockers - the ones that sit in the lane right of you, in the blind spot and no matter what you do wont allow you in the lane for the upcoming onramp-merge....
AnswerID: 390700

Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 17:58

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 17:58
Yep they are all out there :-)
FollowupID: 658601

Reply By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 08:02

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 08:02
I think some people forget too easily, I was once a P-plater, and use to think I was a gun rally driver in a little old Subaru ute, over take slower moving vehicles even if the journey was only a few kms.

I have also pulled out at intersections thinking I have checked every direction and there all of a sudden is a irate looking driver sitting on your rear, and you wonder where they came from.

The only worry is I am thinking of fitting steel side-rails from the bull bar to side steps of my cruiser, and this is not for bush trips, but for the occasional trips I do to metro Adelaide

Snowy
AnswerID: 390709

Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 18:00

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 18:00
:-) Quite right, we were all P Plate Pros :-)

Bar protection is nearly a must :-) Cheers
FollowupID: 658602

Reply By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 08:38

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 08:38
Not much makes me cranky on the road except for people who drive at 40kph in a 60 zone (this happens to me on the way to work every day, same bit of nice straight road, both lanes... after 4 years I still haven't figured it out!) or those who refuse to let you overtake. Coming back from the Flinders Ranges not so long ago, we ran into the guy who did not want to be behind the 4WD (me), which he overtook and then slowed down... so we overtook him as we were travelling the speed limit... he overtakes me again, slows down... some time later I go to overtake him, and he speeds up so I can't go past... don't know why my muddy cruiser was so offensive, I thought it looked pretty good :-)))

Having whinged about people who don't go the speed limit (and yes, I do understand if you are towing, you aren't the people I am talking about), I probably annoy just as many people around town driving a Landcruiser that takes 500m to get up to 60kph :-)))
AnswerID: 390716

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 16:09

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 16:09
You have a b/bar LOL no just kidding
FollowupID: 658580

Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 18:03

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 18:03
Yep them cruisers take a while to wind up :-)

I suppose its like everything - there are positive and negative drivers and thus we are confronted with these issues. Cheers
FollowupID: 658603

Reply By: Honky - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 09:49

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 09:49
I hope many of you do not drive the Newell Highway as from the 1/12 the RTA is dropping the speed limit form 110 to 100.

There is going to be a lot of fatigue drivers comming up from Vic to Qld.
As only speed causes accidents it will save a lot of lives.

Honky
AnswerID: 390724

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 13:04

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 13:04
If reducing the speed limit saves, then they'd better reduce it to 5 km/hr - think of how many lives that'll save.
FollowupID: 658543

Follow Up By: robertbruce - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 22:16

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 22:16
5's a bit mundane, but 80kph will do nicely thanks...

greed is what has set our speedlimit to 100kph, nothing else but grubby old greed!
FollowupID: 658632

Follow Up By: Honky - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 09:57

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 09:57
Robertbruce,

Is that the drivers or government's greed?

Honky
FollowupID: 658672

Follow Up By: robertbruce - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 10:57

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 10:57
it's everyone's greed, mine not so much, i can be patient...
FollowupID: 658677

Reply By: Wilk0 - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 13:18

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 13:18

1) The people who tailgate on an open stretch of highway when I'm towing doing say 100km/h and there is ample spots to over take.

I had one follow for almost the entire trip from Jerilderie to Narrandera in his little doof doof car, even though it "was" a 110km/h speed limit,

He flew up behind me sat on my tail for 100km or so then gave me death stares when he finally decided it was safe to overtake.

Cheers Wilko

AnswerID: 390739

Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 18:05

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 18:05
He was slip streaming :-)

Usually only done with trucks but you must have been breaking the wind for him and saving a lot of fuel :-)

FollowupID: 658606

Follow Up By: Wilk0 - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 20:17

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 20:17
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 658615

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 14:09

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 14:09
He was probably waiting for a straight section of road! LOL :-)
FollowupID: 658695

Reply By: Madfisher - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 16:25

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 16:25
coming back from Sydney today caught up to a bloke doing 10ks under the limit, when it was safe to do so I passed him. This idiot then sped up and sat on my bumper for 10ks.The fact I was only in a corrolla must have upset him. I have noticed this reaction whenever I am driving a vehicle that people percieve should be slow. If you are in an xr6, or sv6 they will get out of your way
AnswerID: 390767

Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 18:06

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 18:06
Yep had a couple of those today myself - slow as for ages so I passed and there they are sitting on your bumper

Must keep them awake :-)

FollowupID: 658607

Reply By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 21:56

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 21:56
The biggest problem i can see is that as far as most drivers or as i call them (steerers) are concerned its every one elses bad driving that is the problem. Just read all the above Posts.
Is it all worth getting so uptight about.
Geeeeezz we are only here for a short time so lighten up and enjoy it.
We may all think we are the best drivers in Australia but i think a lot would disagree.
Get a life.
Duke
AnswerID: 390806

Follow Up By: BuggerBoggedAgain - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 22:52

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 22:52
Couldn't have said it better, after reading all posts, I too wonder, in Army Transport they teach you how to drive to survive, in all types of vehicles, in all types of weather, in all types of terrain, rarely if ever do you hear about an Army driver having an accident.
The course goes for 3 months, 6 days an nights a week, sunday off, with elimination night on sunday.

When I returned to civies I took my training with me and ended up transporting high explosives for 20 yrs, our Army motto was

one flash and your ash, we got the best meals, hot showers, lerks an perks because our lifespan was considerably shorter than most other units, it wasn't unusual to be sitting on top of 5 tonnes of HE everyday, along with mortar rounds, ammunitions, grenades, petrol, oils, lubes, you either learn to drive properly or go out with a bang
FollowupID: 658635

Follow Up By: The Landy - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 09:44

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 09:44
I'll second that Duke....and BuggerBogged...drive to stay alive, whatever that takes.....and just enjoy life.....

FollowupID: 658668

Follow Up By: Nargun51 - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 10:29

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 10:29
Beautifully stated!

The whinge factor that appears to running through this thread appears to be the lack of consideration shown by other drivers to the poster, yet the posters to date are only capable of identifying the errors of others.

Who here has never made a driving decision that has never inconvenienced another?

If as much energy was spent in monitoring our own driving as complaining about others, the roads would be a lot safer places
FollowupID: 658673

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 14:33

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 14:33
"Is it all worth getting so uptight about."

In some cases it is... Yes, we all have our responsibility to "drive to stay alive, whatever that takes" (as Landy said), and part of that responsibility is keeping our own tempers in check (when we are mad/impatient is probably when we are most prone to do the most stupid things). But at the end of the day, there are a lot of other drivers out there who don't seem to care to "drive to stay alive" and it's not just their problem - too often they take out other road users with them. If someone is carelessly endangering your life, or the lives of your family, friends, etc. I think it's something worth "getting so uptight about". I believe our state/territory governments are handing out licences far too easily (as was predicted when driving schools were given the authority to issue/not issue licences) - too many people don't take driving seriously (it's really not a computer game where you can just tap the space-bar for another 'life').

Of course, having said that, many of the 'incidents' referred to above seem to be things that are simply annoying (lack of courtesy) rather than being particularly dangerous - I can't say the same for the average Tasmanian's habit of driving down the centre of the road regardless of oncoming traffic (you can pick the tourists because they all dive off onto the shoulder as soon as they see an oncoming car - there's a good chance it's another Taswegian!).
FollowupID: 658696

Follow Up By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 21:51

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 21:51
Timbo ya Bozo,
Why did i Know you would come back with a ridiculous statement like the last paragraph in the post above. Like the poster its too stupid to answer.
Duke
FollowupID: 658762

Reply By: Off-track - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 22:57

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 22:57
Bloody L-Platers!! So sloooow, always getting caught behind them. Dont have a problem with P-Platers, I cant keep up with them!!!

tic.
AnswerID: 390815

Reply By: Ino - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 00:05

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 00:05
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 390817

Reply By: Brian (Montrose, Vic.) - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 22:27

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 22:27
For anyone who drives faster and more dangerously than I do....TEMPORARY AUSTRALIANS need I say more?
(And of course I am the best, most patient driver I know of)
AnswerID: 390937