Does a lower speed limit reduce fatigue

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 09:54
ThreadID: 73843 Views:5313 Replies:17 FollowUps:44
In its wisdom the RTA has reduce the speed limit on the Newell highway to 100 ks wef 1/12.
They did state that speed was the main cause of accidents but at a recent meeting with local communities and politicians who have requested the data used in their decision they have stated that fatigue the main cause of accidents on the newell.
The only excuse they have now used is that the slower you go the less damage and injury is caused.
The recent accidents on the highway (from my observations) do not indicate speed related as they have been head ons and driving off the road and hitting obstacles.
I personally do a lot of travelling and I find the slower you go on a long trip the more fatigue you seemed to get.
I have goggled speed related statistics and it seems that in the UK and USA they are rethinking slow speed limits as they seemed to increase accidents.
Note that this is open road speed not in town or built up areas.
The Northern territory is a good example of increased accidents and road tolls when you reduce speed.

Honky

Reply By: equinox - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 10:31

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 10:31
In my personal experience, whilst an increase of speed increases linearly, fatigue and concentration required increases exponentially.

AnswerID: 391724

Reply By: GregF - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 10:33

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 10:33
HI Honky.
I live in the Alice, So the drive to darwin and the drive to Adelaide are just about the same give or take 50 Kliks.
I find the drive to Darwin in either my Commodore or 105 Series, with the cruise set on 130 KLMS relatively easy, about 11 to 12 hours depending on how many smoko breaks for the Family. On the other hand, I am flat out getting to Port Augusta, let alone to Adelaide,in a alert state of mind.I have lived in the Territory for over 40 years and have driven to both Capitals many times, and its always the same .,Easy one way, hard the other. You are spot on about the MVA figures in relation to speed limits.
AnswerID: 391725

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 10:44

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 10:44
Honky

its just like the pacific highway here on the coast.......they cant fix the road so they lower the speed limit,then they get on TV and sprook how they are lowering the road toll..........as well as raising more revenue through speeding fines.

AnswerID: 391728

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 11:47

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 11:47
Not to mention reducing the speed limit from 100kph to 60 and put a speed camera in, then raise the speed back to 100kph 200m up the road (ballina).
Or 3 speed cameras within a couple of minutes.
But it is all about safety not revenue raising.

2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

FollowupID: 659674

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 11:56

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 11:56
your dead right there....all in the interest of "safety" they tell us??
FollowupID: 659675

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 10:45

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 10:45
It seems some drivers are dangerous at any speed.

I find its the conditions not the speed which makes me tired.

One day last week went from Albany to Hyden with a side wind all the way,

really had to work with large van on the back.

In contrast from Hyden to Kalgoorlie which was further was a lot easier as

there was no wind

Certainly the faster you go the more you have to concentrate which will tire

you out if you are not used to driving long stints.

AnswerID: 391729

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 10:55

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 10:55
Graham
you make a good point there.
as an interstate driver of a heavy vehicle i am subject to a raft of rules and regulations regarding my driving hours.these include the maximum hours i can drive and work for,even how much rest i am to have.
now here's where it baffles me.........the average Joe Blow who works however many hours he likes,then gets in his car ( with or without van or trailer) and drives however many hours he likes!!!...perfectly legal !!

buggers me!
FollowupID: 659663

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 11:08

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 11:08
Graham
So your telling us that you don't give as much conentration at 80Kph as you would at 110kph .
The same amount of concentration should be the same at 50kph as it would be at 130kph

yes mate, I agree 100%.

FollowupID: 659666

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 11:30

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 11:30
Doug you are being a bit ridiculous.

What I meant was that the faster you go the quicker the lamposts go past so

you have to be a bit more "on the ball"

Any experienced driver knows that driving is a full time occupation.

You dont read the paper (or a map) look for something in the glove box etc

You drive the car with all your attention.

The ones that p me off the most are the ones who yap all the time and have

to turn and look at whoever they are talking to.

Easy to spot especially if wearing a baseball cap they look like a duck swivelling

their head all the time and swerve a bit each time.

Cant they watch the road and talk Beats me.

FollowupID: 659669

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 11:34

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 11:34
Graham
Yes I agree with you about the head turners..

FollowupID: 659670

Follow Up By: Off-track - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 23:27

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 23:27
For me, and I would think most, there is a point where too low speed makes driving quite boring and therefore hard to maintain effective concentration whereas at a decent speed I am much more alert.

Similar to when I raced dirt bikes in enduro etc - the timed stages where you were on it you had maximum alertness but during transport stages there were times I could have fallen asleep at the bars.
FollowupID: 659766

Reply By: Top End Explorer - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 10:54

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 10:54
Hey Honky.

The Northern territory is a good example of increased accidents and road tolls when you reduce speed.

The above statement is not correct, in fact it is not even close.

I have lived in the Territory most of my life, the first year of the lower speed limit there was an increase in the road toll, however a very small percentage happened on the Highways and those that did were High speed accidents ( above 130 kph the now legal limit).

As for lower speed limits and fatigue, well it has never affected me and I have driven millions of km's both before and after they dropped the open speed limit up here.

Dropping a speed limit 10 kph wont kill people by fatigue IMHO.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 391731

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 11:00

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 11:00
"Dropping a speed limit 10 kph wont kill people by fatigue IMHO"

That would have to be one of the most ill-informed comments that I have ever read here!

Does anybody remember what the annual road toll was 30 years ago?
In Victoria alone, it was over 1000 killed!

FollowupID: 659665

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 11:43

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 11:43
An ill informed comment hey, well work this out.

The N.T. speed limit has dropped from open to 130 on the highways, here is an extract from an N.T. police web site.

The road toll for the Northern Territory for 2009 to 7 November is 28. For the same period last year the road toll was 69. ...

30 years ago cars were much less safer than today, EG: front rear and side air bags 95% of cars today have 4 wheel disc brakes and or ABS as apposed to drum brakes, you get my point, but I'm buggered If I get yours.

My old man is currently on his 5th lap of OZ since he retired, he never travels faster than 100 kph towing his van, with most highway speeds being 110 kph, and your way of thinking he should have had many accidents and or be dead by now.

FollowupID: 659673

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 12:33

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 12:33
Sorry, I quoted the wrong sentence (brain fade, must be the heat) .... I was agreeing with you wholeheartedly.

I meant to quote this ...... "The Northern territory is a good example of increased accidents and road tolls when you reduce speed.

The other thing is if you drove the whole 1064kms of the Newell non-stop, it would only make a difference of around 1 hour, hardly life or death.
The big saving would be fuel, the average diesel 4x4 would save in excess of 10%.

FollowupID: 659683

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 12:44

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 12:44
Yeah no problem, I understand about the heat, that is why I'm sitting in the aircon.LOL

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 659685

Reply By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 10:57

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 10:57
Sites like this show that road toll is not related to speed , and more closely aligned to various distractions , so its reasonable to conclude that spending longer on the road will cause more problems.

http://www.roadsense.com.au/facts.html

AnswerID: 391732

Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 21:07

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 21:07
Now ya talking,
The time I went from home to our state capital's main airport in 2 hours 10 I had no problem concentrating and I spent 40-50 minutes less time on the road than normal thus reducing my time related exposure to risk.......

Now the Victorian freeways are littered with "safety cameras" I suffer much more from "driver fatigue" or "boredom induced coma"....

MadCowz ;-)
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 659753

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 10:59

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 10:59
My answer would be yes, OK i know a lot of you will disagree with some of what I have written, I can go back to 1970 when I owned a 1969 Cortina GT 1600, I travelled from Coonabarabran NSW to Nuriootpa, SA 1,268 Klm in 14½ hours, during that time I did not feel fatigued , ...why...because at 80mph my concentration was full on , no gawking around paddocks etc, eyes glued to the road, and of course I applied the same level of concentration during my 30 years of truck driving, my favourite sections of road to go quick was the Putty Road, Windsor to Bulga, and the old sections of the Pacific Hwy between Balina and Murwillumbah taking in Burringbar Range, Never once did I ever come close to losing a truck, It's when people travel slower they tend not give as much concentration into driving, wander around on the road, takes longer to get from A to B , they rubber neck at every thing they see, you don't do that when driving fast.
Now having said that there are people out there on our roads that are unsafe no matter what speed they travel at, they just can't get the act together, I've had some say to me ....they hate driving , well why are they driving , I take an interest in driving, it's like a hobby, if you don't like it then one shouldn't do it, like... if your not into stamp collecting you don't collect stamps, if your not into playing sport one don't play sport, should be same about driving, catch a bus ,

AnswerID: 391733

Follow Up By: Honky - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 11:12

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 11:12
Totally agree Doug.
I travel throughout Western NSW for work and on some long stretches I set the cruise and probably spent more time on solving the worlds problems than concentrate on driving as it is so boring.
IMHO I consider an increase in speed limit to say 120-130 should be made on the road to broken hill.
As was said previously there are far less accidents on the 130 stretches of roads in NT

Honky
FollowupID: 659667

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 11:34

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 11:34
I have noticed over many years that the slower I cruise, the fresher I feel when the day is done. That is easy to say for a retiree of course - I have "all day to get nowhere", so to speak. People who make a living via the nation's highways in one way or another probably have most at stake in such discussions.
AnswerID: 391740

Reply By: Gronk - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 12:05

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 12:05
In a simplistic way......speed kills......if the car wasn't moving, you couldn't hit anything, but the faster you hit something the quicker it will probably kill you ....

Now, from a safety point of view....if all speed limits were capped at 40 k/ph, there would be a drastic reduction in fatalities.....but knowing how bad some of the drivers out there are.....there would still be some running off the road and hitting trees etc !!!!

Now, from a sensible point of view.....if all drivers were taught how to drive properly.....and all limits were the same ( or even higher )....then the road toll would still reduce drastically.....but we know that ain't gonna happen....

So, the pollies look at the stastistics.......and reduce speed limits,thinking thats going to solve the problem.....but even if they reduced the Hwy limits to 70 k/ph.....a head on at this speed is still like hitting a concrete wall at 140 k/ph, so its back to the drawing board......either make the roads so you can't hit anything or teach people how to drive..
AnswerID: 391744

Follow Up By: Rob! - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 12:28

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 12:28
i think you're onto something. Maybe we should do a driving test everytime we renew our license. That would be one to teach people to drive properly. And evry test was just that little bit mor difficult than the previous one.
FollowupID: 659682

Follow Up By: Marny - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 15:53

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 15:53
Speed does'nt kill its the sudden stop at the end:)
FollowupID: 659702

Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 12:30

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 12:30
The problem for policy makers is that you have to play to the lowest common denominator and even then it won’t be enough.

In a perfect world, drivers would be alert, drive to the conditions at an appropriate speed and display a common courtesy to all road users.

The problem is it ain’t a perfect world. So we need to have limitations imposed to take account of it. Does reducing the speed limit increase or decrease the road toll? Speed is a critical factor; increase speed and you need a comparable increase in your ability to react to changes in your driving environment. Decrease speed and you build in a greater margin than would be available at a higher speed. That may be enough to avert a tragedy in some instances, and in others it might just delay hitting the tree by an additional two seconds….

Having said that, speed is only one factor that challenges drivers – the key for any driver is that you need to know your own limitations and respond accordingly. After all the person behind the wheel has the most control over their own destiny…

As an aside, I think one of the significant contributing factors to a reduction in the road toll over a long period has been the decrease in the price of air travel…

Good luck out there….
AnswerID: 391745

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 12:37

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 12:37
Landy

having said that.........the only thing they cant eliminate is Human Error.
that will always be with us.
FollowupID: 659684

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:18

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:18
Landy,

Hmmmm ... now where are the stats for fatalities regarding air travel :)))

FollowupID: 659853

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:54

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:54
Hi Gramps

High capacity RPT operations (major airlines) had zero fatal accidents between 1 January 1999 and 30 June 2009.

Accident rate per 100,000 hours flown ranged between 0.99 and 0.10 during the period and the average was 0.29.

Many have drawn a correlation between the reduction in the road fatality rate and the reduction in airfares over the past 10 years, and I’ll buy the argument it has assisted. Other factors will include advancements made in vehicle accident technology and greater awareness of driver fatigue…..

FollowupID: 659864

Reply By: Phil and Sue - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 12:37

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 12:37
This is not what I suggest people do these days. I am only giving an example of how speed can help you stay alert.

In the 60's I was stationed at Balcombe the "other" side of Melbourne and my girlfriend (now my wife of 39 years) was in Sydney. A mate had the same situation. Every second Friday we would hop in either of our cars and head off to Sydney for the weekend. We would drive into Liverpool and meet the girls outside Thompson Ford almost on the dot of eight hours later. Not at all tired but a little cramped. You do the figures and remember every town was 35MPH, no freeways and no speed limits. Also take note that people actually gave you a fair go. We used to wave and say thank you without getting the one finger reply. 100MPH+ most of the time in the country without one single close call. Three stops for driver change and one stop for fuel, drink resupply (not alcohol stupid) and pick up a sandwich in Holbrook. Neither slept. It was the passengers job to keep the radio on a station (no CD or tapes then) and the driver alert.

The lesson here is that we were not tired or sleepy. Never booked but followed a few times. Stopped once for a highway patrol cop to check out my car. The twit just wanted to have a look under the bonnet. He actually had the hide to ask me to switch it off. Switch off a red hot engine back then was disastrous.

Several years later when 100K limits were introduced and me still in the Army but a bit older (hey the same car though), I had to do it and couldn't do it without several stops. Tired and not much fun when I got to Sydney. Yes the slower you go the more chance of boredom setting in and you falling to sleep.

As a testament to our driving we always found it easy to get three passengers for the back seat to pay for the petrol and a service. Just had to walk into the mess and say "Anyone want to go to Sydney for the weekend?. 5 mins later we are gone.

But don't try this now.
AnswerID: 391748

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 13:14

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 13:14
Phil, I can clearly remember back to 1969 and doing the HMAS Cerberus (on the Mornington Peninsula) to Newcastle and back run most every second weekend. Gone at 1400 on Friday and back on duty at 0700 on Monday. Always had a car full, XP Falcon wagon, no CD only radio, only stopped for fuel and food, and all the way on the old highway, sometimes racing the train.
No problems, no fatigue. But you had to "drive" the road, not set a cruise control and sit back and stargaze, and just steer the car. I found the drive much easier back then, than now, not a featureless road that bypasses all those wonderful old towns.
Thanks for rekindling that memory mate.

Fred.
FollowupID: 659688

Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 13:22

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 13:22

It is a great story, and I’m sure there are others who can recant similar…….

Mind you, it reminds of those news stories you see from time to time (on those Current Affairs shows), the one were they are celebrating someone turning 100, smoked and drank all his life, and not too mention the bad women….. they do exist, but usually a rarity, most others who have tried that lifestyle are long dead….

And I’m not suggesting you were wrong or lucky……just glad you are still with us!

The Landy
FollowupID: 659689

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 13:46

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 13:46
" the bad women….. they do exist, but usually a rarity"

LOL :-))) LOL
FollowupID: 659695

Follow Up By: xcamper - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 14:06

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 14:06
from our house in Brisbane, to my sons house in Adelaide, via Toowoomba,Goondiwindi,Coonabarrbran,Dubbo,Parkes, West Wyalong.Hay.Balranald.Pinaroo,Murray Bridge , Adelaide, is usually 2020 Ks.
We do the trip regularly in the Falcon, no van . Stop at Parkes O/night, usual fuel and toilet stops .20 hrs on the road travelling, average road speed 100k per hour ,time for trip 30 hours total.
With the van behind ,same trip, three days two nights going down, five days ,four nights coming back,we reckon its better the slower way.
pete
FollowupID: 659697

Follow Up By: Member - John G- Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 18:09

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 18:09
G'day Phil and Sue

As I recall there were a lot of your Army mates around Australia who weren't so lucky, and there were from time to time, concerted campaigns in regional military areas and in the Army newspaper trying to get young diggers to take stock of driving long distances for weekends.

The young ladies must have been special!!

As you say - don't try this now.

FollowupID: 659717

Follow Up By: Phil and Sue - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 06:14

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 06:14
Yes John; One could say we were lucky but not in the way most on this forum would guess.

You see we married the girls. And we are still married to them. One excellent wonderful married life. Bye the way. My wife is an ex rally driver. She and her Mother used to go in the Redex trials. Life members of the Mini club.

She always tells me of her drive with three other nurses in a mini non stop to Cairns from Sydney. I met her when she returned. Four nurses in a Mini let loose on cairns. Watch it!!

FollowupID: 659770

Follow Up By: Phil and Sue - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 06:52

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 06:52
I meant to say Sydney to Cairns and back. Four nurses in a Mini. Look out Cairns.

Do any ex Sigs remember this one at Balcomb or Watsonia:
FollowupID: 659773

Follow Up By: Phil and Sue - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 06:53

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 06:53
This problem really bugs me.

Have a look yourselves on here: http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2012837&id=1468726528#/photo.php?pid=30505984&id=1468726528&fbid=1170195062901
FollowupID: 659774

Reply By: Member - Lotzi (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 16:14

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 16:14

"Don't talk to me about statistics"

Interesting thread, at the end of the day I think FredG has it nailed, "You gotta drive the road", in that I take it to mean not only manage your own abilities and fatigue but watch other vehicles as well.

With all due respect, there is a huge difference, lets say awareness level, between country drivers and drivers on the road all the time (no matter the speed) and city drivers who just can't wait to get out to the 100k +, in a lot of cases driving their overloaded car or 4bee and caravan combinations, these drivers have never had to do a course to drive these articulated combinations, have no idea how to load them or even which tyres to put on them, then at a break they will stand around with like minded individuals and sprout off.

Don't believe me, just go and ask some of the caravan park owners about the abilities of some of these people and how park staff have to put guests vehicles/vans in their spots, makes you cringe.

These same people are the ones who will come up and talk to you about how they held someone up, how quick heavy vehicles go, played an I'll teach you joke on another vehicle, how their vehicle uses to much fuel and the list goes on and on.

At the end of the day I drove heavy vehicles (mostly overnighters) and tour coaches for 38 years and had some time driving green machines, my map of Australia has varicose vein lines as to where I have travelled, so I don't really take much notice of what people who have no idea of the real world say.

But in the end there is something in what everyone thinks and we must listen to them, we all know that you can make statics say whatever you want.

I have never seen the statistics of professional drivers x kilometres travelled x accidents x fault rate, don't think you will either.

To Steve at Top End, good to see you back, hope you had a good season, and the Cherkin Oka went well for you, the new website looks great.

That's my two bobs worth, now putting hard hat on . . )))

AnswerID: 391774

Reply By: RV Powerstream P/L - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 06:34

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 06:34
Statistics of professional drivers would sure as hell blow them all out of the water.

In the sixties I had an FJ ute and I drove from Cairns to Necastle in 39Hours non stop.Carried a 44 in the back stopped to put the syphon in and drove till the gauge was near full stoped and took the syphen out. Bloody idiotic.

Thinking I was great and telling of what I had achieved and then I was told of a truckie from Tomago in the Newcastle area that regularly drove his semi from Newcastle to Cairns and has done the return in 35 Hours did it for years.

I consider todays statistics are just another way of poeple trying to justify their existance and their fat income.
AnswerID: 391845

Reply By: Wilk0 - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 09:09

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 09:09
Hi Honky,

I believe the number of accidents on this hway will increase once its 100km/h. I live in Parkes approx 1/2 way from Brissy and Melb.

The number of people who are fatigued by the time they head thru Parkes is suprising. lowering the speed wont mean they wont try to cover the same distance everyday, It just means they will be driving longer to do the same distance.

The RTA must have a good look at themselves if they think this will do anything else but increase the road toll.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 391862

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 09:30

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 09:30
If they are driving whilst fatigued, they are just simply irresponsible!

As I said earlier if they drove the total length of the Newell, 1064 kms, the reduced speed limit would add 1 hour. Not many do a over 1000 kms a day.

FollowupID: 659789

Follow Up By: Wilk0 - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 09:50

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 09:50
Hi Shaker,

Agreed they are being morons but lowering the speed limit wont make them stop earlier, they will keep going an extra hour to make up for it.

A lot of people do the Newell in 1 day, with not many stops. I worked at the driver reviver and the travellers said they hd left Brissy or Melb at 5/6am and were planning on stopping @ the other end.

Cheers Wilko
FollowupID: 659790

Reply By: mikehzz - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 09:50

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 09:50
Hello,
I've driven millions of kms in 14 or so countries and I think the speed limits they generally give us in Australia are either revenue raisers, an insult to our driving ability, or a true reflection of our general ability as 'road citizens'. I have found that many Australian drivers tend to drive competitively rather than cooperatively with our fellow road users. (Before you start, I am proudly born and bred here...) For instance, in Germany on the autobahns they have higher traffic density, no speed limit and no obvious police presence yet the road toll per capita is lower than ours? The autobahns are essentially no different to the Hume Hwy Sydney to Melbourne (but no single lane sections). A 100kph limit on Sydney's M7 is an absolute testament to our generally poor abilities as road users.
So whats the difference? The general German driver seems to drive as if they were one of our truckies. They know whats going on around them. They get out of the way if they have to. They drive to the conditions. Its pretty simple really, most truckies aren't rocket scientists. Driving in Europe/UK, you rarely make the 'look at that idiot' comment. Its quite common here.
My father drove trucks and he taught me to drive. A big part of it was paying real attention to what was happening around you, courteous behaviour to others and altering your driving to suit the conditions. Many drivers these days seem oblivious to their surroundings and don't recognize potential threats until its too late.

Oh and yes....I get more fatigued and my mind is less focussed the slower I have to go.

AnswerID: 391864

Reply By: Gramps - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 14:17

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 14:17
Instead of all the bluff, hyperbole, misconceptions, myth and outright bull, why don't you blokes do a little research on the subject that most of you seem to know SFA about.

Here's somewhere to start

AnswerID: 391898

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 14:32

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 14:32
Some interesting stuff there Al.
30% increase in 2008 over the 2007 figures for road deaths in the NT.
When did they lower the speed limit in the NT?

FollowupID: 659834

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 14:39

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 14:39
John,

Yeah, there's a hell of a lot to digest. One has to be very careful about making direct correlations with limited data although I'm sure the hairy chested brigade will do their best LOL

One of our colleagues from NT will undoubtedly enlighten us as to when the change occurred.

FollowupID: 659835

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 14:52

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 14:52
The speed limit was reduced on the 1st of January 07.

The first year of the lower speed limit there was an increase in the road toll, however a very small percentage of these deaths happened on the Highways and those that did were High speed accidents ( above 130 kph the now legal limit).

Here is an extract from an N.T. police web site.

The road toll for the Northern Territory for 2009 to 7 November is 28. For the same period last year the road toll was 69. ...

I'm no maths expert, but I believe 41 less deaths so far is significant.

Cheers Steve.

FollowupID: 659837

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 14:52

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 14:52
Yeah agreed.
I was actually wondering if the speed reduction was as a reaction to this noticeable increase in deaths during 2008??

I would think the original post is always going to be very difficult to correlate one way or the other.
No doubt excessive speed kills, no doubt fatigue kills and no doubt a combination of both also kills.

The answer in my view is simply take due care, drive defensively, drive to the conditions and rest often and properly.

FollowupID: 659838

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 14:59

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 14:59
Statistics for a small population such as NT will vary wildly year to year. I was there in Jan 2006 and it had just changed to 130kph (in my view a totally reasonable speed limit for a good road and modern car). Also, it has less city dwellers who rarely use a car and greater distances to travel so would logically be expected to have a higher rate.
However, your link verifies that Germany with no speed limit on major motorways has a lower death toll than Australia in every category measured. My point was that they seem to have a better road culture and driver education than us and we could certainly learn from it. Our road safety strategy seems to be based predominantly on punishment without an attempt to change underlying attitudes.

FollowupID: 659840

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:01

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:01
sorry, must have been 2007....
FollowupID: 659841

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:06

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:06
Thanks Steve
Yeah I guess it just shows that the stats in the short term can't be relied upon to have any degree of accuracy and no doubt as Mike suggests a small population will cause large swings.

The German point is no doubt influenced by a whole range of local factors and higher/safer road construction standards would be a main one.
Better vehicle engineering, better educated drivers, lower numbers of roaming stock and wildlife etc etc also influence.

FollowupID: 659842

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:09

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:09
Mike,

I'm not arguing, just suggesting that some on here do some research before spouting off. That includes 'professional' drivers who seem to think their personal experience transcends all other data. Experience and/or qualifications does not necessarily make you a better driver than the next bloke.

FollowupID: 659847

Follow Up By: Top End Explorer - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:10

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:10
There is one sign I see over and over every where I travel, you know the one

PLAN A BREAK or the other one DRIVER REVIVER, It is the responsibility of every driver to be aware of their limits.

We now have very strict and new laws up here now for the tourism industry in regards to fatigue management and driving.

Cheers Steve
FollowupID: 659848

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:10

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:10
Mate, I'm no real fan of things German (not against them either) but they opened my eyes to how well they drove and the respect they showed other road users. I have to give credit where it is due as it humbled me cause I though us Aussies were top drivers.
FollowupID: 659849

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:19

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:19
The argument for low speed is also supported by the figures. The Netherlands comes out on top and that place is a giant parking lot.
Like the guy (Mark Twain?) said, there are lies, damn lies and statistics.
FollowupID: 659855

Follow Up By: Nargun51 - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:50

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:50
From my experience Germans have impeccable driving manners on multi lane billiard smooth autobahns, where everything from the camber of the road to the radius of corners are designed for good vehicles to be driven at speeds up around the 200kph mark. On D class roads in Norway they were crap; the owner of a B&B we stayed at complained bitterly about German Tourist drivers

The time it takes to travel across Germany is similar to drive from Melbourne to Sydney.

Almost 3 times the population in a land mass smaller the NSW and a far stronger economy...they can afford better roads (and they never know when they might have a war on 2 fronts)
FollowupID: 659863

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 16:01

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 16:01
Fair comment. However, when you are in the thick of it with 200+kph cars and bikes whizzing around you and you are only doing 130 feeling like you are walking, everyone is alert and on their best behaviour I suppose. Otherwise nobody comes out alive?
FollowupID: 659865

Follow Up By: Nargun51 - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 16:20

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 16:20
I found the Autobahns scary; 140 kph and working out how to pass some tanks travelling at 60 kph whilst watching for Beemers that were only a speck when you started overtaking and were 2 metres from the bootlid by the time you had passed.

I understand what you are saying, but using Germany as an example is a bit like comparing apples with oranges.

If you are going to to comparisons, at least use a bit of statistical rigor about it; ie number of Km travelled on autobahns versus deaths per 100000 Km travelled, etc

The obvious place to find all this information is when organisations have taken the time, energy and money to research this in detail.

Funny, the only people that would do this is the road saftey bodies that are recommending lower speed limits
FollowupID: 659869

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 16:28

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 16:28
The link above provided by Gramps was very good as it had stats by population, number of vehicles, kms travelled and it had historical for each group by country.
FollowupID: 659873

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 16:42

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 16:42
I think that maybe I've been misunderstood a little. I'm not advocating unlimited speed etc. I too was fairly intimidated by the sheer magnitude of things happening around me on those roads. What I was saying was that their statistics are lower than ours even with all that going on. To me that points to a problem with our road culture and education. If we could reach their level of road sense and couple it with a reasonable speed limit (130 maybe) then I would say everyone would benefit and it would result in a lower road toll.
FollowupID: 659876

Reply By: Mogul - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:46

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:46
If there is no obvious reason for an accident the speed box will always get ticked, which will obviously skew statistics.

AnswerID: 391916