a sad time for me OT

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 15:03
ThreadID: 73897 Views:4834 Replies:48 FollowUps:3
I hope no one minds, but I need to share my sad news with my exploroz friends - last Wednesday morning my lovely husband John had a stroke, and sadly passed away last night. We have been on the road for just over four months this trip, and had come down to SE Qld to see our daughter and her family - so I am lucky that I am with family to help me - I just hope John is still remembering the great times we have had on the road - Cooktown, Karumba, Lawn Hill, Cloncurry, Elliott Heads ( great place). He passed while we were doing what we most liked to do - moving round this great country.
His funeral will be next Thursday, and we will have a great time celebrating his life.jules

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 15:14

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 15:14
Crikey Julie,

Not the best year for either of us.

Right on, celebrate John's life and his memory.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 391994

Reply By: Member - Patrick (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 15:20

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 15:20
Sorry to hear your sad news.

It is a very hollow feeling when you loose someone you love. Time heals some of this but the emotions are always very raw.

Please accept my sincere condolences for your loss of John.

AnswerID: 391995

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 15:43

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 15:43
Julie,

My condolences to you and yours.
AnswerID: 391998

Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 15:55

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 15:55
Hi Julie

Sorry to hear of your very sad news. Our sincere condolences. Just wanted to mention that if you have insurance with the RACV there is quite alot of help available to you with Aussie assist. I used to work for them and have helped many people out in your situation. You would be surprised at what they can do.
Send us a Member message if you want any more details.

Laurie and Jodie
AnswerID: 392000

Reply By: Member - Vivien C (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 16:03

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 16:03
Julie,

I'm so very sad for you but glad that he was doing the things that he loved. You will have some wonderful memories of your times travelling around Australia and they will be with you forever.

My sympathy to you and your family

Viv
AnswerID: 392001

Follow Up By: V64Runner - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 16:23

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 16:23
Am so sorry to hear of your news Julie. I hope he didn't have to suffer, but at least you will cherish the wonderful memories of your travels for the rest of your life. Look back at all the wonderful times you had together in this journey through life that you shared with him
Our Sympathy to you and your family members as well
Peter & family
FollowupID: 659986

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 16:22

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 16:22
Julie, we are one big family here with a very common bond, so we are all here for you in your time of grief and need.
Words don't come easily at a time like this, but please know that Christine and I are thinking of you, and may your beloved John Rest in Peace.
He'll be right mate, John will be up there swapping yarns with Footy, in the Ultimate Bushcamp for all of us.
You and your family take care, and may you get a little comfort knowing all of us on here will share your loss.

Fred and Christine
AnswerID: 392007

Follow Up By: Fiona & Paul - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 18:00

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 18:00
Words of support are the only things we can send and Julie our thoughts are with you at this time.

Fred G said it all.

Paul & Fiona
Paul H
OZ Downunder

FollowupID: 660000

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 21:10

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 21:10
Julie condolences from Sally and me as well, Fred has said it all
FollowupID: 660028

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 16:25

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 16:25
Hi Julie and family

Please accept our condolences.

AnswerID: 392008

Reply By: Member - John D, Wandong (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 16:45

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 16:45
Hi Julie,
So, so sorry to hear about the loss of your husband John.

Please accept my heartfelt condolences to you and your family.

Kind Regards,
John D
AnswerID: 392010

Reply By: D200Dug- Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 16:57

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 16:57
Sorry for your loss, it is always a sad and difficult time.

doug
AnswerID: 392018

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 17:01

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 17:01
Sorry to hear of your sad news Julie, our sympathy to you & your family.
AnswerID: 392022

Reply By: Luke SA - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 17:02

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 17:02
Julie

Please accept our condolences.

Luke & Careen
AnswerID: 392023

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 17:08

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 17:08
Julie,

Our deepest sympathies to you, you are in SE Qld? We are on the Gold Coast, if there's anything at all we can do, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely

Brian & Gayleen
AnswerID: 392026

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 17:12

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 17:12
Our sincere condolences to you & the family, Jules...........oldbaz & Ros.
AnswerID: 392030

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 17:14

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 17:14
Julie,

Please accept our condolences for a very sad time in your life.

If it helps a little, just think of all the great times you've had together travelling this great Country of ours.

Hopefully you will continue to do what you enjoy to do.

Bill and Bev.

AnswerID: 392031

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 17:33

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 17:33
Please accept my sincere condolences.

AnswerID: 392037

Reply By: Wilk0 - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 17:44

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 17:44
Hi Jules,

It is a difficult time please accept our condolences

Wilko and Loz
AnswerID: 392039

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 17:49

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 17:49
Hi Julie
Our sincere condolences to you and your family

Stephen and Fiona
Who has been here

AnswerID: 392041

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 17:59

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 17:59
Hi Julie, so sorry to hear of your sad news, please accept our deepest sympathies to you and your family.

Deanna & Bevan

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 392044

Reply By: Member - Neville & Sally C (VI - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 18:12

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 18:12
We are so sorry to hear your news, . Strokes are a dreadful thing. Those who survive a bad Stroke really suffer, it is so very cruel. John will always be with you, all that you shared together will forever be part of your life. Those we truely love never really leave us, they live on in our hearts and our memories. Take care Julie. Sincerely, Neville & Sally
AnswerID: 392046

Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 18:18

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 18:18
Very unfortunate and please accept my sweetest condolences.

Best wishes to yourself and family.

Kroozer
AnswerID: 392048

Reply By: Stu & "Bob" - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 18:41

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 18:41
Hi Julie,
Please accept my sincerest condolences for the loss of your husband John.

Kind Regards

Stu
AnswerID: 392055

Reply By: Member - Lia H (SA) - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 18:52

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 18:52
Please accept our condolences and prayers. XO
AnswerID: 392056

Reply By: Member - barbara M (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 19:34

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 19:34
Dear Julie,
My thoughts and prayers are with you. May your memories comfort you at this time. My heart goes out to you and your family.
barb
AnswerID: 392063

Reply By: Member - Royce- Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 19:57

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 19:57
I hope you smile on Thursday as you remember the good times.

I haven't visited the Forum for a while... My grandson's christening today.

Your's was the first post I opened. I'm glad you shared with us. Good luck. Royce

AnswerID: 392066

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 20:43

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 20:43
Julie,

Nothing can ease the pain you are feeling.

Take comfort that your unkown friends here on ExplorOz will share
some of your grief.

Experience tells me that time, whilst it will not heal, will at least
help you to come to terms with your loss.

Michael

AnswerID: 392074

Reply By: Gramps - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 20:53

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 20:53
Julie,

Our thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.

Al
AnswerID: 392077

Reply By: WBS - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 21:08

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 21:08
Julie,
Please accept my condolences.
WBS
AnswerID: 392082

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 21:12

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 21:12
Hi Julie. How brave you are for sharing this with us. I hope you will take some comfort in knowing we are able to share your grief and hopefully take some of your load as well. Give John the send off he deserves. As said, he is up there now with others before him and now watching out for you. Take care and my best wishes for Thursday. Bob.
AnswerID: 392083

Reply By: Member - Matt & Julie (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 22:57

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 22:57
Hi Julie

Our thoughts are with you and your family at this very sad time, I will send
you an mm, please take care.

Julie

Matt & Julie

AnswerID: 392099

Reply By: Member - GREENDOG - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 23:35

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 23:35
Sorry to hear of your bad news Julie,our thoughts are with u and your family.GREENDOG
AnswerID: 392106

Reply By: Dave... Adelaide (SA) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 00:21

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 00:21
Condolences from my family to yours Julie...We wish you the very best....
AnswerID: 392113

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 00:47

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 00:47
No good Julie :-(

Hold fast to those memories as they are precious.

My thoughts are with you.

AnswerID: 392114

Reply By: Tricky Dicky - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 06:28

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 06:28
our thoughts are with you at this very sad time
Richard and Christine
AnswerID: 392122

Reply By: Member - Heather G (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 06:37

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 06:37
So sorry to hear your very sad news Julie but as you say you are lucky to have family to help you through this terrible time.

Please accept our sincere sympathy.

Heather and John
Of all the paths you take in life, make sure a few of them are dirt. John Muir

AnswerID: 392123

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 07:53

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 07:53
Julie, that's very sad news, a crying shame.

It's a natural thing that you would share this with your friends, whether in person or scattered about in this Forum. I'm pleased to be your friend.

Sincere condolences from me and Mrs Bush.

AnswerID: 392128

Reply By: Member - Rick P (NT) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 08:22

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 08:22
Julie
Please accept our condolences as well
Rick & Robyn
AnswerID: 392129

Reply By: Member - Leanne W (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 08:32

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 08:32
So sorry to hear your terrible news.
I'm glad that you both got to do what you loved. Some people never get the chance to do that.
Sincere condolences,
Leanne
AnswerID: 392130

Reply By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 08:41

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 08:41
Julie, our sincere condolences to you and your family on your sad loss.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 392133

Reply By: Wisey - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 09:21

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 09:21
Julie, a sad time for you and your family makes for a sad time for us all here too. Thanks for sharing, may you build strength from this tradgey.

R.I.P John P
AnswerID: 392141

Reply By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 09:51

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 09:51
Sorry to hear of your loss Julie. A sad time for all but as you say you have the memories of doing what you both loved doing and thursday as you say will be a celebration of Johns life. May the memories of your good times help to fill the void he has left. Thanks for sharing with your extented EO family

Josh
AnswerID: 392148

Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 10:15

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 10:15
Hi Julie, I am very sorry to read of your news. Please accept my condolences.
AnswerID: 392153

Reply By: Isuzumu - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 10:53

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 10:53
Please accept our condolences to Julie and all the best for your future

Bruce and Annie
AnswerID: 392159

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 11:21

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 11:21
Hi Julie

Sorry for your loss, remember the good times.

Darryl and Fay
AnswerID: 392164

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 13:52

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 13:52
Julie

Thoughts are with you.

AnswerID: 392180

Reply By: Member No 1- Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 13:56

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 13:56
Our condolences to you and the family

AnswerID: 392181

Reply By: Member - John G- Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 15:32

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 15:32
G'day Julie

This wonderful lexploroz community is made strong by folks like yourself and John. Our sincere condolences.

John & Vicki
AnswerID: 392191

Reply By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 16:33

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 16:33
I'm sure he is remembering , so you take care Julie
AnswerID: 392197

Reply By: Member - Ann D (WA) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 21:09

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 21:09
My condolence to you and your family

Ann
AnswerID: 392237