Storing portable toilet

Submitted: Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 21:18
ThreadID: 74056 Views:6134 Replies:7 FollowUps:11
Hi, Was thinking of getting on of those portable toilets to take on a 5 week trip.
Will have a jayco camper trailer but not sure where it can be stored whilst travel.
Will probably get one off those little popup shower tents (or just use it inside?)

Is it ok to put it in the back of the car or should it be stored away in the camper trailer ?

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 22:09

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 22:09
ss--ss

There's no reason way you can't do all of above. we store ours under the bed in the van. haven't yet but if needed would use it in the van, we have a little pop up shower tents thingie, and would set it whilst camped.

This year we took it on our desert trip and stored it in the back of the Troopy, they are sealed.

AnswerID: 392952

Follow Up By: ss--ss - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 22:26

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 22:26
Thanks Richard, I'll go have a look at them tomorrow at the camping shop..
FollowupID: 660955

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 22:29

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 22:29
Make sure you buy something with a big holding tank or it will be very close to the ground for adults... Michael
FollowupID: 660956

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 22:50

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 22:50
ss--ss and Michael

You can always make a loo lift.

Got it from campertrailers.org had to make it myself, the one in the pic is Mark I so if anyone wants it let me know. It was a little to low for me with the bad hip, made the next one 50 MM higher.

FollowupID: 660960

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 23:08

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 23:08

Suits mine
FollowupID: 660971

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 00:06

Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 00:06

I didn't know that you were toilet trained?....LOL

FollowupID: 660978

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 03:10

Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 03:10
Yes first time this year,,,, all other trips I was a bear.. LOL

FollowupID: 660982

Follow Up By: robertbruce - Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 11:12

Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 11:12
height probably isnt a biggy considering pedestal toilets have only been around for a few hundred years and getting low to the ground is actually very very good for your bowels....

not to much info there i hope...lol...
FollowupID: 661012

Reply By: Mandrake's Solar Power- Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 22:39

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 22:39
We store ours under the Tardis lid and split into 2 parts - Flush and storage bits -
Only problem we had was the seal on the storage unit was NOT watertight and leaked a little bit - Just had to remember to empty it and let it dry before stowing ..

Rgds

Mandrake - dreaming of Kimberley
AnswerID: 392959

Reply By: Ken65 - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 22:41

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 22:41
Hello ss--ss,
We have one and it is great. I don't have to worry about what I leave at the beach for the next person. Remember the bigger you get them the heavier they are to lift. Ours is sealed and sits in the walkway of the camper trailer.
AnswerID: 392961

Reply By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 23:07

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 23:07
Just in case you haven't seen it.

How to Disassemble an Oztrail Pop Up Ensuite Tent
AnswerID: 392967

Follow Up By: ss--ss - Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 09:08

Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 09:08
Wow that's fantastic.. There actually is a process to folding these ! . Looks dead simple.. Think I'll get one of these..Cheers
FollowupID: 660998

Follow Up By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 09:43

Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 09:43
Hi Lex

I have never seen this video before!

Our method of folding ours up is similar, but goes like this.

Mrs Bushwhacker tries to fold it up, following the instructions that come with it. I stand at a safe distance, with the carry bag ready. If she gets it to resemble something like what will fit in the carry bag, we go, 'Quick, quick, the bag, the bag!

If after 15 minutes or so, she can't get it right, we swap places, and go through the above routine, with me trying to fold it, her with the carry bag.

On one occasion we actually threw it in the back of the ute, and brought it home unfolded!!

That guy has got it down pat, will study it closely a number of times, so we should be right when we get away after Christmas.

Overall, a very good pop-up shower tent, but we knew there must have been a knack to folding it back up.... just needed to see it. Thanks heaps!

FollowupID: 661002

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 15:22

Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 15:22
Yeh, I had it demonstrated at the camping store when I bought one - looked sooo easy!
Do you think I can get it right? I reckon that guy at the shop used some slight-of-hand when demonstrating.
Will study this video a few times.
I don't use it as a dunny tent or even for privacy when showering. Just keeps the cold wind off me when under the shower.
Thanks for that.
Gerry
FollowupID: 661026

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 04:31

Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 04:31
ss--ss

Have you thought about jimmy's thunderbox. ?????

All you need is a shovel, and a pop up shelter.

We only ever take that, even though we have the "porta ppotty", it's too messy for us.

http://www.2daloo.com/ ( here is a site for more info )

AnswerID: 392978

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 15:33

Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 15:33
Certainly packs well!
There are some camping spots on the coast in WA where you must have a portable chemical loo, otherwise you have to camp back in their area with facilities; ie, no digging toilet holes near beach.
Ningaloo and Warrara have these policies, I believe.
Gerry
FollowupID: 661028

Reply By: guzzi - Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 07:44

Saturday, Nov 28, 2009 at 07:44
It should be ok in the back of the car, they are generally a well sealed item.
If worried about a bit of leakage put it in a very heavy duty large garbage bag.
The back of the car IMO is a better option than in the trailer which will have a much harsher ride than the car.
As mentioned elsewhere get the bigger holding tank or build a platform for it, this will stop the morning inspection of the inside of your knees which will be level with your eyes with the small tank units.
Dont let the missus anywhere near it with the heavy duty 3 ply toilet paper, it will fill rather quickly, there are rols available for chemical toilets which are thinner and breakdown easier and wont dissolve at the point of contact at the critical moment.
AnswerID: 392987

Reply By: brushmarx - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 10:09

Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 10:09
We store ours in its zipper storage bag on top of the front storage box on the draw bar of our camper trailer.
The collapsible "ensuite tent" stores behind it. All ready for fast use on roadside stops if necessary.
I overheard a teenager at one servo tell his mate to check out the esky and see if there was any beer to steal.
He didn't try it, but it would have been good for a laugh if he did.
We used to carry it in the back of the wagon, and suffered no smell or spillage.
AnswerID: 393210