ozexplorer
Good Afternoon everyone,
Being the loving parents we are we are driving to
Broken Hill from Gosford this Thursday so the son and heir can pick up a new car! Nissan Navara STR.
We anticipate we may only get as far as
Wilcannia, heading out through Dubbo.
Does anyone have any recommendations on accommodation in
Wilcannia as we won't be towing the van for such a short trip, we have to be back by Saturday night!
Any info will be appreciated.
Suellen
Reply By: signman - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 15:57
Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 15:57
My personnal recommendation....steer clear of
Wilcannia...windows up and drive thru as quick as you can..
We generally use Nygan or
Cobar as our stopover..
Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 16:11
Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 16:11
AND DOORS LOCKED !!
Follow Up By: dedster - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 22:14
Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 22:14
C'mon fellows,
It's not like that at all......It's just a big "hooha" about the place. And if you don't have anything nice to say, Don't say anything at all.
Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 14:02
Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 14:02
Steve, I do have something nice to say about
Wilcannia............... I really enjoyed seeing
Wilcannia in the rear-vision mirror!
And i have very good reason to say "Keep your doors locked" even whilst sitting in the car!
Reply By: ozexplorer - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 16:02
Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 16:02
Thanks signman,
I thought that may be the situation, depending on the light we might even make
Broken Hill with three drivers.
Thanks again
Suellen
Reply By: Volvo driver - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 16:02
Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 16:02
agreed..
Reply By: Member - Keith P (NSW) - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 16:18
Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 16:18
Cobar has a pretty good caravan
park with reasonable cabins etc...and is exactly halfway for us between
Orange and
Broken hill.
HTH.
Cheers Keith
Follow Up By: Fatso - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 21:20
Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 21:20
Stayed in a nice motel in
Cobar this year.
Forget what it was called, but it was about 200 yards back towards town from the van
park on the same side of the road.
No dearer than a cabin in the
park & had the better facilities.
The van
park never had any linnen & we were too tired to unpack the swags to get any out so we took the motel.
bakery in
Cobar as
well.
Reply By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 17:14
Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 17:14
The best place to stay in Willcannia is only a few klm's this side
well maybe
250klm or so, it's called the
Cobar caravan
park!!! they have some nice cabins. best to book ahead for the weekends. ph 68362425.
LOL.
Rob
Reply By: Member - A J- Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 17:43
Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 17:43
ozexplorer - we camped up the river about 2 kms from the town in July 2009 with no problems at all. We purchased fuel in the town and was directed there by the people in the fuel depot which is not on the main drag. For fuel when coming from
Sydney you turn left just over the bridge and follow the signs. A lot cheaper than the main highway. In 2008 we stayed in
Wilcannia for about an hour and did some shopping for supplies as they were running low with no trouble at all.
You will note that if you google motel accommodation in
Wilcannia you will find at least one motel.
At
White Cliffs we stayed a number of year ago at PJ's Undergound - Bed and Breakfast which was very good. It has won a number of awards for a B & B and you actually sleep underground.
I do not think the stories about
Wilcannia are true any longer.
A J
Follow Up By: Member - steve. B... (NSW) - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 18:13
Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 18:13
I stayed in Wilcann back i 1973 with a broken windscreen on the way to
Adelaide. I pulled into the
BP servo just over the bridge. A
young lad asked me if I wanted the windscreen repaired and directed me to a workshop half way down the main street. They repaired the windscreen while we had lunch across the road. On our return from
Adelaide we were low on fuel and slept on the side of the road about five Ks west of town, only to woken by two Black Fellas about five thirty in the morning. I opened the window a bit and they said, " you had better move on mate as the kids will be out this way as soon as they know you are camped here" we drove into town and refuelled, had breakfast and set off back to Dubbo. The last time I went through
Wilcannia a lot of the building were boarded up and I think the pub by the bridge was closed. May be a dry town now.
Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 19:06
Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 19:06
Gidday
I’d stay in
Cobar, or turn off the highway and find a spot to
camp down the Cobb road for the night.
It’s a bit of a shame about
Wilcannia with all those historical building going to rack and ruin.
As somebody else said, fuel up at the BP Depot. When I was up there in May this year, they were 14cents a litre cheaper than the mob in the main street.
Kim
Reply By: tripod - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 19:09
Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 19:09
We stopped overnight in this town as we were caught in the recent dust storm. Not your average town. I recommend the golf club for meals. GREAT chinese
cook. We stayed in a motel NOT behind the servo as recommended by police. The place we stayed at was called Wilcanna motel. Hope you are safe and have a good trip. Great to talk. Love the area. John and Deslei
Reply By: robertbruce - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 19:09
Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 19:09
i had a break-down 12 k's outside of willcania last year...
i am white-skinned male, the only people that stoppped to help where some of the local fellas... i am very thankfull for thier help
Reply By: Member - Andrew (WA) - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 19:32
Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 19:32
I drove into
Wilcannia a few years ago not knowing anything about the place...I learnt quickly and boy what a place. Not on my list of
places to re-visit in a hurry.
Appologies to the many good people who live there, but there are a few more not so good I'm afraid. I thought I had walked onto the set of Mad Max.
I know that doesn't help but just had to say something.
;-)
Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 19:42
Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 19:42
Hi Suellen
When we travelled from west to east on our way to purchase our caravan a few years ago, we stopped at a cabin in
Cobar. As this trip was on a short time frame, we got up before dawn each morning, leaving at first light, and found a cabin or motel room so we could stop at dusk. We advised we would be leaving very early when booking in. This way we travelled a long way each day. I understand that due to a
water shortage, there has been an exodus of locals from
Wilcannia.
Reply By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 20:54
Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 20:54
If you're so worried about staying in
Wilcannia, why stay there at all ? Gosford to
Cobar easy....stay Thursday night . Up at sparra's and on to B/H, pick up said vehicle and back to
Cobar or
Nyngan on Friday arvo. Back in the big smoke in plenty of time for your Saturday night deadline.
Make sure you're off the road before dusk, so as not to have close encounters with the local wild life, ie roos and goats. Resist the temptation to carry on.
It's a great drive that way, just take care. Lots of B doubles to keep you company.
Cobar C/P and
Nyngan Riverside C/P are great, but can get busy all year round.
Mind you, if ya haven't been to B/H before, ya'll be tempted to stay a while.
Fred.
Reply By: BenDiD - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 21:04
Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 21:04
Suellen,
I passed through Wilcania in June. I thought it was ok, and I certainly felt more comfortable there than I have in many
places on
Cape York. I didn't see anywhere in town where you could stay, but there is a small campground / caravan
park on the
Cobar side of the river that I have read is ok. You could also detour a few klms down the darling toward
Menindee, again there are supposed to be some good
camping spots not far from Wilcania by the river - a quick search of
Places or the Visit NSW website may help.
I understand a lot of people don't feel comfortable in a community like Wilcania, but in all honesty I found it an interesting and safe place. Of course if you hoon through the main street where kids are playing or don't know how to say hello to people, you are going to invite trouble / feel uncomfortable.
Stopping at
Cobar is going to leave you with still quite a way to go the next day. You may want to consider pushing on to
Broken Hill if you have enough drivers and if, based on some of the replies above, you don't want to stay in Wilcania or surrounds.
Good Luck
Ben
Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 21:19
Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 21:19
Approx. what time would you anticipate being in Dubbo ?
Last time we went that way, left Dubbo mid-morning (around 10 AM as I recall), and were in B/H before sun-down...
As for
Wilcannia,
well I really don't know what all the hoo-hah is about...
Since 1973, SWMBO & I have passed through there at least a dozen times (and thru the '80s with a
young family), stopping each and every time for a snack/fuel/
toilet break for kids, and not once have we ever seen (or heard) anything that has made us the least bit uncomfortable about being there...
Admittedly, we've only been through in daylight hours... maybe the place 'livens up' after dark (?) it won't deter us from stopping there again though....
(YMMV ?)
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 22:03
Monday, Nov 30, 2009 at 22:03
Hi Suellen
As you make have gathered from the replies above, it is not the best place to stay. We have stayed at
Cobar, with no problems what so ever. Depending on what time of the day you will be travelling, it is only 2 hours further west to
Broken Hill. Having said that, you do not want to be travelling into a setting sun, with lots of roos on the road.
Just this year a man from
Mintaro, not far from
Clare where I live and his mate in a Ute were passing through
Wilcannia, with his Blue Healer dog in the back. After getting fuel, they were going to have a few drinks at the Pub when they pulled up outside of the pub, a dark skinned local sitting outside of the pub, asked them if they paid him $20, he would make sure that nothing happened to his car. The
Mintaro man then said back to the Aboriginal, no thanks mate, my Blue Healer in the back will look after my Ute. The Aboriginal, then said can you dog put out a fire!
With a comment like that, they told the Aboriginal what they thought of him, got straight back into the and drove on to
Broken Hill.
Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 08:12
Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 08:12
The
Wilcannia posts are like the which Fridge? or Nissan/Toyota debates.
Seeing as you typed
Wilcannia in Upper Case you no doubt meant to attract the attention of those posters with adverse
views on race relations.
A simple Google would have found this
LINK to answer your needs.
I despair at the remarks made by some contributors to this thread. It goes to show that middle Australia has a long way to go yet in fostering goodwill amongst it's inhabitants
Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 09:14
Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 09:14
I agree with your sentiments in part, Willem.
I can't speak for everyone, but my attitudes have been formed by personal experiences. Some positive and some negative.
Trouble is, what some don't realise, 'fostering goodwill' is a two way street.
Cheers......Lionel.
Follow Up By: Member - Dennis P (Scotland) - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 09:44
Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 09:44
Yeah, me too!!
Willem posted:
May you can be naughty and go for a drive. Chances are no one will see you. Better still drive a Toyota without a spare wheel and you will blend in. Take a bit of insurance with you just in case :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 15:06
Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 15:06
Willem,
I have lived amongst and worked with our indigenous people over some years and had no significant problems for me or for them.
I did however experience a significant and unprovoked problem at
Wilcannia a few years ago which caused trauma for my wife. The situation may have improved there but from reports I doubt it. There is still the possibility of unpleasant incidents for individual travellers even if not all have experienced it. Hence my advice to steer clear.
And Willem, I take exception to your remarks that contributors with critical remarks about
Wilcannia have adverse
views on race relations. You know nothing of my
views on race relations because I have not expressed them. I respect you and that you may have differing opinions to myself on a number of issues but please do not denigrate me if my view is not yours.
The link in your post to the
Wilcannia Motel does not answer the original enquiry.......it is a commercial advertisement and as such presents the establishment and its environs in the best light thus....."The motel provides comfortable, safe and friendly accomodation for those travelling on business, touring or transitting the region." I do find it interesting that they promote it as "safe". That is not a common expression for a motel. Perhaps they do not consider it so safe outside the motel?
Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 15:13
Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 15:13
P.S. Read what Howard has to say about the motel below.
Now I know what they mean about "safe".
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 15:37
Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 15:37
I apologise for upsetting you. It was not my intention to do so. However, my opinion on the comments as stated, remains. If you do not like that, then it is too bad.
In relation to what Howard has posted below, we experienced something similar this year while visiting
Bourke after leaving the local Club, though we walked through the crowd and were left to our own devices. Social problems abound everywhere, even in a small country towns. Cities are worse.
The main thrust of my comment was the way in which the question was presented to the
forum. It was supposed to grab the attention of those who may be inclined to voice an adverse opinion on the place. And it did! It has happened before and it will happen again and again and again...........
Follow Up By: ozexplorer - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 16:16
Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 16:16
Good Afternoon Willem,
It was not my intention to cause as issue by typing in capitals, as I do this with every email I send for my work ever day.
I do not have a problem with any race of people, I take people as I meet them and am only happy to meet new people. My husband and I owned a country pub for 5 years and were very successful at it as we do like people.
The only people I may have an issue with are those who wish to bomb, bash,rape or rob me! Haven't met many of them lately.
My initial question was and still is about accommodation as we would normally be taking our off road self sufficient caravan.
Suellen
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 23:53
Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 23:53
:-)
Reply By: ozexplorer - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 11:19
Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 11:19
I would like to thank everyone for taking the time to respond to my question, I think we will try to push on to
Broken Hill, depending on the light. Will make the decision when we get to
Cobar, we are originally from North West NSW so am aware of the damage a roo can do!
Have to say this is my favourite site on the net, where else can you get this sort of information, brilliant!
Again thanks to all.
Suellen
Reply By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 14:35
Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 14:35
about 3 years ago got caught out with sun setting and roos and decided to stay overnight at
Wilcannia rather than push onto
Cobar as planned
found a good reasonably priced motel. asked about getting a feed and was informed bowling club was the go.
despite it only being 200 yards up the road motel insisted on calling curtesy bus.
we had a good meal in a very pleasant atmosphere at the club.
however on attempting to leave about 9.30pm we were stopped by 2 security guards at the front door.
after waiting for the bus to pull up outside the
gate we were then escorted to it thru a crowd of about 25 drunken locals both male and female who had by then gathered outside the clubhouse. Apparently it was a regular occurrance.
motel also
locked gate to prevent damage to vehicles overnight.
while it worked out ok its sometime easier to avoid the issues(and the town)
did feel sorry for those with a business in the town trying to make a quid .
Howard
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 18:26
Tuesday, Dec 01, 2009 at 18:26
Stop at
Wilcannia, spend some money there. The kind of publicity above is not what is needed for a town that is struggling!! Ive been there, nothing to be afraid of.. Michael
Reply By: Member - Mary W NW VIC - Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 20:17
Wednesday, Dec 02, 2009 at 20:17
Stopped off for lunch in the
park July last year.Was really impressed withthe old buildings and the history of the place.Those old buildings are just are just amazing.Anywhere else there would be a hertiage listing and jobs for the locals in preserving the
heritage of this town.That's what's wrong -no work =no hope,
All was quiet and the only locals visible were trying to coax lunch from the
Darling river
Been in
places in the territory and Wa that were far worse
mary