Funny Stories !!, about how you got going again after a bush mechanix fix !
Submitted: Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 19:32
Member - Axle
Friends of ours had a fuel pump prob in a old Holden, out on the
Birdsville track, The only way they could get it to run was to have the fuel a lot higher than the pump, So with just enough hose the good wife sat there with a gallon tin between her legs and a length of hose out of it down to the fuel pump, worked a treat till they had the pain of filling the can again!, Although Hubbys biggest concern was after about ten
miles she was hanging out for a smoke!!,,,,,,,,,LOL
Cheers Axle
Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 20:00
Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 20:00
Axle
you sure she's not part of this mob????
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 20:09
Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 20:09
HAhahahahaha,! Yeah can see some similiar antics Mark,....LOL
Follow Up By: Fatso - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 21:07
Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 21:07
Can't possibly be her in that car. It's got no roof.
Follow Up By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 21:10
Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 21:10
Gooday Axle,
have you seen their other videos? These guys are hilarious. Problem is, their stories are more true to life than most people realise. I have seen some amazing cars (or should I say, the remains of...lol..) in some communities.
Reply By: Kim and Damn Dog - Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 21:51
Thursday, Dec 10, 2009 at 21:51
Axle
Carburettors and fuel pumps were put on this Earth when Hughie was going through a difficult stage in his life. He was also the first bloke to invent valves.
God bless him!
The old girl was the original mother to hang out the door holding a jerry can on the roof back in the fifties. The old man use to say, 'what are you bloody carrying on about women.... we're almost home' LOL
Regard
Kim
Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 00:19
Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 00:19
You can always tow a 3 wheeled CJ5 Jeep home backwards!
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 07:18
Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 07:18
G/Day Geoff Is that what you call a direct Hitch?....LOL
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 18:19
Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 18:19
Hi Axle,
I think you may be right about that!
This was our first idea, I can tell you it isn't worth spit as the log wears out way too fast!
| Geoff,
Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Kerry W (QLD) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 00:32
Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 00:32
Bush Mechanics
Came across these guys just after the wet up at
Cape York - they had spent the night beside the track "heating up the battery in fire, to make it work again".
Battery was singed and melted and really flat. Had to laugh but they really thought it through, reminded us so much of the Bush Mechanics. Needed to run 4 Jumper leads to get the thing cranking fast enough.
But turns out they had a fuel line leak which I finally managed to discover after I helped them start the old Patrol by getting them to blow air into the fuel
tank to get some fuel to the pump as it wasn't drawing from the
tank.
It only ran for 300m before it lost prime again, ended up giving one a lift to
Lockhart but some family must have got worried and came out looking for them, met us along the way - they had been on a booze run but I don't think there was much left by the time they got picked up.
| Kerry W (Qld)
Security is mostly a superstition. It doesnt exist in nature. Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.
-Helen KellerLifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 10:03
Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 10:03
LOL! Kerry, Wonder it didn't blow em to Buggery!
Cheers Axle
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 11:28
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 11:28
Hey Kerry..............i hope the Exploroz
shop has better communication than this :))))
Reply By: vk1dx - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 09:08
Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 09:08
I had an old FB station wagon. On the way back to
Sydney we were in some fire in the Bulladella Mts. The cop said not to stop.
Well the heater warning light came on and at the top "Bang".
Coasted down to a village and left the car there for a week at the servo. Came back next weekend. Took the head off and yep - cracked. No dealer or heads in town. But the old guy in the servo said a mate out of town had an old rusty wreck in the paddock. Okey got the wreck's head off with a heap of Penetrene and heaving at the bolts. Broke a couple too. Rusty and as filthy as hell. Cleaned it up as best I could and put it on with both head gaskets and some kind of muck the servo bloke said would help. Used a bit of pipe as a torsion wrench and got back to
Sydney. No smoke and the rocker cover hid all the muck.
Try doing that now. No way. The old
grey motors were a top bit of kit in their day.
Sold it two weeks later and bought a 1968 Kingswood HK
sedan. Red also. - = fast. Boy didn't the cops pull me over. Seems a red car with a surfboard on the top was a real thing for them. Never got booked though. Had it for 20 years.
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 09:10
Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 09:10
I should mention it was in 1964. Sorry. Kinda puts a different light on things doesn't it.
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 09:11
Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 09:11
Still got it wrong. Try 1968. Mug. Must be the left over Christmas cheer.
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 10:09
Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 10:09
The old
Grey motors, used to fume and blow clouds of blue smoke , when worn , but like a lot of old donks ,seldom let you down'
Axle
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 10:42
Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 10:42
Only too true. And unlike today you could sit in the engine bay and work on them.
I could take the head off the Kingswood (okay a red motor) give it a clean and polish and have it back on, and the tappets adjusted as
well, in an hour. Try that in the LC.
Follow Up By: Member - Lotzi (QLD) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 20:40
Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 20:40
Ah yeah, but with the old
grey motor, get the cracks in the head pinned, shave the head and the most important thing to do was . . . .. .
elongate the holes in the side plate for them bloody screws . .
I think Ive still got the special spanner/ socket gizmo for the head bolts.
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 21:27
Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 21:27
Ah!!!
Thats what that old bloke was on about. He took the head off and I just basically handed him
tools as he asked for them. I know he drilled scraped and ground that head a heap before it went on. Thanks.
Never had that trouble with the head on the red motor as I recall.
Doug Chivas was the main mechnaic. Do you know that name? There is still a photo of our car in his old worshop in Sefton,
Sydney. The head mechanic was an apprentice who still remembers our car today. He knew it in 1970. Small world
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 21:34
Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 21:34
Valiant Charger Man!!Raced at
bathurst,,, am i right?,, lol
Cheers Axle
Hope the mod squad are asleep!
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 22:32
Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 22:32
I think you will find that Doug Chivas actual pushed Brocky's XU1 Torana that day. They got him to go around a few more times so that they could dropa pit stop at the end. Whoops did not work.
Cest la vie.
He was still a top bloke and he and barry Seaton helped us immensily.
Thanks gyuys
Follow Up By: Member - Lotzi (QLD) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 22:39
Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 22:39
Ahh, the old sideplaters, only 3 blokes could get them going . .
Merv Waggot
Barry Seaton
Headly MacGee
In Speedcars and Humpy Js at the Farm . .
I remember a
young kid, when Bo lived beside the bridge at Liverpool, used to hand his ol man spanners when Bo and Waggot were in the dyno room, think his name was Glenn.
Hey Axle, wasnt the Charger to worry about, what about the green test ute that was the mule for the Charger, from memory Leo Geoghan did a demo run around Oran
Park one weekend, ute later owned by Mick Lambert and used as a work ute at his Fivedock workshop.
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 23:23
Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 23:23
Barry had an exhaust workshop in Liverpool. Did the exhaust plumbing for our Kingswood. Good job too. With Dougs cam and carby work with a lot of polishing etc as
well and the exhaust nicely open up it really took off at 3K.
Kept popping uni joints though until we replaced the gearbox with the M34 (6 cyl 1st option) and a lot of 350 Monaro rear end stuff.
Gee that's a few years ago.
Reply By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 16:50
Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 16:50
G'Day Axle
That reminds me of the time (~1972-3) MMA company mechanic and I took the "new" bus from
Perth to
Tom Price to run the airline bus service (MMA had taken the twin otter out of service to Paraburdoo). First we had to put up with cyclone Vanessa at
Carnarvon then, heading inland, all we could see was two little mounds of dirt at the edges of the road. The rest of the place was covered with
water. We drove in the middle of the road - not much traffic. ;-)
Then we broke down - same thing fuel pump. Hooked up a four gallon round drum with syphon hose out the top down to the carby. I was left balancing the drum on the handrail whilst the mechanic drove. TP airport manager drove out to meet us along the road. Silly bugger pulled straight across in front of us like heading for a "head on". Driver slammed his foot on the brakes and drum of petrol and me hit the windscreen sending petrol everywhere. Bloody lucky the whole thing didn't go up in flames. I flew out of that bus and gave that DH a real dressing down he'll never forget. His comment, "Do you know who your talking to? I'm the manager of MMA in Tom Price". I won't tell you my response. He didn't last there much longer. (I was on leave from the army doing a feasability study on Ward's Air Cargo running this bus service for MMA).
Memories ....
Malcolm
Follow Up By: Member - Rob Mac (QLD) - Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 20:59
Friday, Dec 11, 2009 at 20:59
Ah Mickey Mouse Airlines, flew them from the DC3's in 55 on to the F27's in 69-70 odd then the F28's, before they got bought out by Ansett and became Ansett WA. Can remember doing a milk run in late 60's
Wyndham to
Derby in a DC3,(around 12 yrs old) Spewing up on first leg and the Hostie taking my clothes and washing them, hanging them up in the back of the plane and me spending the whole trip with a blanket over me. I still think of MMA, TAA.
Rob Mac
Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 06:44
Saturday, Dec 12, 2009 at 06:44
Did a front diff at Yawal on Dusties a few years ago. Not remote but a problem to get out of the area. Removed the front drive shaft and drove home in 2WD. Made a racket for 100KM until the teeth ground off the crwn wheel.
Another time I did a CV, brake line and holed a radiator on a 4WD track in the bush at West Wallsend (again not remote but caused a few hassles at the time). Fencing wire to hold the axle central to the CV to stop it flapping about, Vice grips on the broken brake line (Lucky I was driving uphill when I realised I had no brakes :oops). Poured
water into the radiator until I got to the blacktop for a flatbed home.
Another incident in a mates car he holed a radiator in
Litchfield NP. Silver solder didn't work but 5 minute araldite lasted the rest of the trip.
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 18:25
Monday, Dec 14, 2009 at 18:25
Hi Richard,
Must be something about West Worldsend!
I sheared the head off a centre bolt in one of the rear spring packs in my FJ40 out there one afternoon.
Finished the days 4wd'ing and drove home at 45 degree's.
Talk about a land crab!
| Geoff,