Member - Troll 81 (QLD)
Team,
I have done the ring around this morning many
places like ARB, TJM and special
suspension shops said flat out no can do. Dept of transport was a waste of time....spoke to the guys at Fulcrum Suspensions and they were very helpful. They can do it for roughly $3300 and that includes a new modification plate stating I can have a GVM of 3700kg's
The bloke at dept of transport was saying that they will be out in force over the next couple of months checking weights, tyre sizes, lift kits etc
Reply By: Member - John - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 13:46
Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 13:46
Troll, can I ask what the money gets you to increase the GVM? I imagine new springs and maybe shocks, but other than that do they do anything else? Thanks in advance. John
Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 13:55
Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 13:55
John,
Heavy duty front coil springs, they change the rear coils to leaf, High Tensile U-Bolts, new shocks, and a couple of other bits and pieces that I can't remember now.
I don't think I will do it I might just get a nice off road trailer instead
Follow Up By: splits - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 15:48
Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 15:48
Troll
I think the trailer sounds a hell of a lot better.
Check the attached link to the specifications for the current Patrols. The heaviest model listed is 2515 kg and the GVM is 3060. Going up to 3700 kg is a massive increase and I find it hard to believe that is legal. You also have a maximum axle load limit specified by Nissan. Unless Fulcrum intend to rebuild your axles with heavier housings then no amount of spring changes will alter that. There is also the issue of how the standard sway bars will perform with much heavier springs. They are a vital component in side to side and front to rear weight transfer during cornering and will have a major effect on under and oversteer.
Site Link
Reply By: Member - John - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:25
Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:25
Troll, wow, changing the rear coils to leaves is a hell of a job, amazing that is what they do....... John
Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:29
Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:29
Yea he said they will need my car for 2 days
Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:50
Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:50
G'day Troll,
Good thread and thanks for the info. We all worry about the vehicle weight a little, me included. I was wondering about the rear springs as
well and not sure if you can answer this. But if Fulcrum needed to replace the coils with leaf springs to give you 3700 GVM - what sort of weight increases are the likes of ARB talking about and were they also planning a spring change like Fulcrum?
Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:58
Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 14:58
I am not sure to be honest all ARB said was they do a kit for the Patrol Ute and that's pretty much where I left it at.
Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 15:00
Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 15:00
Thanks mate.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 15:58
Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 15:58
Ute springs are too heavy. You'll start bending/cracking shock towers without reinforcement!
Leroy
Follow Up By: Member - Tezza Qld - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 19:01
Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 19:01
The springs ARB fitted to my gu are rated at 600kg constant and have 11 leaves. Mind you the gu leal sprung ute has a huge rear end. Funny how Fulcrum can change coils to leaf as the leaf sprung model is 175mm longer in
the chassis to cater for the spring length. Wonder how the front hangers would mount?
Cheers Teza
Reply By: Karen & Geoff - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:53
Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 20:53
Hi Troll, there is a mob in
Melbourne who can do it legally up to 3900kg's. We researched this for months and were about to get it done and was then told it does not increase the GCM, only the GVM, so there was no use us getting it done. What ever we added to the car, had to be deducted from what we were towing. We could only still be 6800kg's all up. It is the guys who do all the CFA truck upgrades. They had to do all the CFA vehicles after Black Saturday, as they were so far over weight. I think they were in Moorabin somewhere.
Karen
Follow Up By: Member - Barry (NT) - Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 22:34
Thursday, Dec 17, 2009 at 22:34
We had 3900GVM on several Patrols in the NT used by Geologists in cental Oz no problem
our LC79 cruser is rated at 3700kg in similat way since 2005 again no problems
ARB can do crusers for $2400 and includes (or did in 2005) second compliance plate if vehilce iis new. If vehicle has been on the road it is recognised and safe modification
problem is which ARB
shop to go to???
I have found "most" southern ARB shops to be retail oriented, ie what makes the profit,, rather than what we need. This is NOT intended to disreadit any ARB agency but observation when tourning Qld, NSW and parts of Vic and SA over last 2 years.
cheers Baz
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 09:08
Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 09:08
Well,
well, Troll81.....you've certainly re-kindled my interest in getting an increase of GVM for my over-weight Patrol!! Does this only apply to Patrol utes that need to be increased? The fact that they're changing from coils to leaves gives me hope that they can do this upgrade for wagons (or , as in my case, a dual cab with a lard arze).
The cost ($3300- or whatever), wouldn't bother me in the slightest, so long as the GVM can be legally increased.
Got my hopes up!!!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 10:18
Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 10:18
Rochie,
I have a wagon so I would suggest the same will apply to you. The thing that worries me about all this is when I spoke to Qld Transport the guy said there is no way you can do it.
So it might be good and
well getting a new plate but will it stack up if you get pulled over...hopefully you won't ever find out
Follow Up By: Member - Tezza Qld - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 12:49
Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 12:49
I checked with ARB Southside this morning and they said that the QLD Tpt will not even increase a Patrol ute unless it has the 3 litre motor. Apparently once a new model is released the compliance for the previous model is over riden by the new model. ARB are currently reapplying to QLD Tpt to increase the gvm of 4.2 leafsprung patrols.
Checked with Lovell Suspensions as
well and the paperwork for their upgrades is done through ARB
All very confusing, frustrating and a pain in the perverable considering that people doing upgrades, which in most cases is only about 300 kgs, are just trying to keep within the law.
Cheers Teza
Follow Up By: PeterInSa - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 15:06
Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 15:06
Had my HJ61 Series Cruiser GVM upgarded also the towing capacity. Involved heavier/more leaf Springs,
Wheels, and tyres and hire of a rural airport to carry out high speed braking and cornering with xx 20Kg bags of sand on board, carried out by certified engineer. The main limitation was the carring capacity of the front and back diffs and the design and structure of the towbar.
I understand it is a lot easier to do if the vehicle has leaf springs
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 16:37
Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 16:37
FEw issues.
1) From everything I went thru in Vic, it cant be done once registered.
2) one of the simple questions was what tyres are you going to run? There aren't many rated... I think Al said ST's were it at the time.
(Info from Al Grierson on here who has also been thru this with his dual cab conversions)
3) When I was talkin to the blokes from one
suspension mob, they informed me that the changes will have to be inspected/tested on every spec patrol as the data from a 3.0 auto is different to 3.0 manual, same with 2.8, 4,5, ,4.8, 4.2 and all the differnet spoecs TI, ST, DX etc. which came to too much hard work for them - they were doing 200 series. as the testing is in 10000s each spec model.
Thats what I found out...
http://www.patrol4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?t=17506&highlight=gvm
anyway I'll believe it when I see it is what Im gettin at.
Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 11:12
Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 11:12
Troll
We have done all the changes to upgrade ours too but cannot find an engineer that will
sign it off on form 5. $3300 is including your up grade I expect. I will be watching your thread for the out come.
Sharon
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 17:02
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 17:02
G'day Sharon,
Just trying to keep this thread alive....... It's damned important to me (and, I suspect, many others who are keen to stay on the right side of the law).
So, when you say..... "We have done all the changes to upgrade ours too but cannot find an engineer that will
sign it off on form 5.".........do you mean that the company that did the conversion didn't have some pre-arrangement (with an engineer), whereby the alterations they did were "automatically" signed-off on???
It would be one of my pre-requisites of having any work done to my Patrol, that it would be returned to me with (not only) the work all completed AND the necessary engineer's report/certificate completed so that I could just waltz in to the local rego office and have the upgrade officially noted on my rego papers.
Otherwise, you run the risk of getting the work done and ending up with a non-registerable vehicle......
Or, am I missing something here??
Cheers in advance
Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 22:26
Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 22:26
Hi Rochie,
We actually had arb put the rear bar on and heavy
suspension as we needed the two extra tyres for our yearly bash across the country side. We wernt happy with the 15" wheels and brakes so put on 16"s. At the time the towing capacity was sufficient until we wanted to get a bigger van which was about 12 months later. Then the research started. With all the upgrades done by a reputable company we thought it was just a matter of getting the tow cap adjusted. We have had the car plated for roll cage how hard would it be. I think we just didn't have the right contacts in
Toowoomba. Over it now. One day I might come across somebody that can do it. The form 5 I was told from main roads.
Sharon
Reply By: Outbacktourer - Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 20:39
Saturday, Jan 16, 2010 at 20:39
Not sure what problem is trying to be solved here but when I had my 600mm stretch (wagon) done by John
Bourke at Specialised Vehicles (Orangeville near Camden,
Sydney) he offered to have the GVM upgraded to 3500kg by the engineer at the same time as the inspection of the stretch. He said because I already had H/D springs and shocks and LT tyres there was nothing else needed. Got a new GVM plate and all. Engineer was $900 for the one look.
OBT
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 10:03
Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 10:03
Thanks OBT,
Can I ask how long ago that happened, please?
Also, did you keep your Patrol as a "stretched" wagon, or did you add a tray on the back?
Thanks in advance.
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 10:15
Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 10:15
Have a look at his profile pics Roachie ;)
It is a Stretched Dual Cab with Heaslip Camper on top.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 16:30
Sunday, Jan 17, 2010 at 16:30
Yeah, alloy tray, Tare was actually 50Kg lighter after the conversion.
It was done 3 years ago...
OBT
Reply By: Mick O - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 16:35
Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 16:35
I also looked at John
Bourke in
Sydney as
well as just about everyone who does this type of work along the East Coast. (Also had a look at Creative Conversions in QLD as one of the main contenders). My brief was an extension and GVM upgrade on the new 79 series ute.
I’ve now got the ute at Multidrive Technology in
Geelong. They have a couple of standard GVM upgrade packages of which one included an extra 200mm in the chassis with 540kg upgrade. I’ve had them extend that to 500mm. The vehicle is registered first and the engineer then completes a secondary compliance plate for the mods and upgrade. Was very impressed with their workshops and the quality of their workmanship. I will have
mine back next week so will fill you in on a few more details then. GVM is now up from 3300 to just short of 3900Kg. Cost is about the same as the 700mm extension by either
Bourke or Creative in QLD.
Multidrive Upgrade
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 16:44
Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 16:44
Good to see they didn't waste anytime on chopping yours.
Thats Multi Drive link in the post does not work Mick??
Follow Up By: Member - Wamuranman - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 20:59
Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 20:59
HI Micko,
Just wondering if you checked out 6X6 Australia at Coraki NSW
6X6 Coversion
If so what was your impression of their 6x6 conversion technicals as compared to Multidrive system.
Follow Up By: Mick O - Wednesday, Jan 20, 2010 at 15:42
Wednesday, Jan 20, 2010 at 15:42
Just received the latest photos regarding the cut & upgrade.
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 17:02
Monday, Jan 18, 2010 at 17:02
After reading in an Overlander mag about the GVM upgrades for the 200 series QUOTE:]
it seems that whilst the GVM of the tug is increased the GCVM stays the same.
The effect of this is that it actually REDUCES the weight that you can tow
To quote from the 200 article
A LC200 at its old GVM of 3300kg could tow 3500kg
The GCM is unchanged with the new GVM so while the 200 can still tow
3500kg it can only do so at a weight of 3300kg, or if it weighs 3580kg it can
tow 'önly' 3225 kg. [End quote]
These weights include the ball weight of course.
So be aware of this when you do the sums. I have read elsewhere of this in reference to other vehicles as
well
Reply By: Eric Experience - Tuesday, Jan 19, 2010 at 22:56
Tuesday, Jan 19, 2010 at 22:56
Gentlemen.
Seeing as this tread is going to live more than most it may be worth giving some background information on vehicle design from a retired designer.
When a vehicle is being designed the manufacturer wants to maximize sales so the comments of motoring writers are taken seriously. comments on ride are important to buyers size of wheels and towing capacity are also important. The cheapest way to make a vehicle score
well in all 3 is to make it heavy with soft springs. The easy way to do this is to use cheap mild steel for most of the components. That is why most passenger 4x4's are heavy and not able to carry a load.
A commercial vehicle with the same running gear can carry a lot more because it is a lot lighter build using hightensile steel.
Examples hilux / prado. triton / pajero. Mercedes sprinter/ Ml270. VW golf/ transporter. By way of comparison, a Merc sprinter tare weight is 1780 kg gvm is 3500 kg carries about 1500kg almost its own weight. A Suzuki vitara 1790 kg gvm 2200 kg carries about 300kg minus passenger weight.
What is the point? If you want to carry a load buy a commercial vehicle.
A small truck like a Canter can carry 2000 kg with room for a camper body.
If you are wanting a smooth ride and safety buy a Sprinter 4x4 both cost less than a 200 series. Eric.