a radio sort of problem

I have had a GME UHF fitted into the ute but rarely use it, I was waiting for a while last night and went to switch it on to see what was happening in the area.

I noticed for the first time it only switches on a powers up with the ignition switched on, so the fans aircon and all the rest of the junk works as well.

I would have thought having it wired to the accessory ignition position would be a better idea, is there any reason to have it connected this way ?

power drain or anything ?

Anyone know if it would be expensive to have it changed to come on in the accessory position ?

Just incase I want to sit and chatter beside the road sometime !

Reply By: ctaplin - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 20:09

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 20:09
Normally the installers just tap in the wire feeding the cigarette lighter. Very easy to change and shouldn't cost much for an auto sparky to change for you if you can't do it yourself.
AnswerID: 395638

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 20:14

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 20:14
Cool thanks !
FollowupID: 664212

Reply By: Fatso - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 20:14

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 20:14
Mine is wired to the accessories circuit. I got it that way so to save being accidentally left on.
The radio fitter intended to wire it so it operated all the time. I assumed that is what he normally does. Most of his clients are commercial users.
It is quite easy to change. Not sure how to explain it, but your mechanic will have no trouble changing it to whatever your preference is at the next service if you ask him.
AnswerID: 395639

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 20:22

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 20:22
I am now in Victoria and my mechanic is in Maroochydore :-(

I need to find a new mechanic I trust.
FollowupID: 664213

Reply By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 21:23

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 21:23
Just read your last comment re need a mechanic you can trust. If you are anywhere near Moorabbin (Melbourne) I would highly reccomend All Terrain 4x4. They are at 192 Chesterville rd Moorabbin 03 9532 5558. I can not speak highly enough of them. They know their stuff and are customer/family friendly. When my wife has taken the car in they treat her with great respect and take the time to explain everything to her. Now that I am in Tassie I really miss their service. If you drop in there please say "HI" to them for me.

Josh
AnswerID: 395647

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 21:46

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 21:46
Thanks but we are living in Cowwarr in Gippsland so the closest large center is Traralgon.

I am trying Ultratune there for a service on monday, they are $250 for a 20,000km log book service the holden dealer is $480 for the same job !
FollowupID: 664235

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 21:48

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 21:48
We used suncoast car care in Maroochydore and same thing Long term honest friendly efficient service and Margo could go in there and get great service and not be treated like some kind of idiot.

( The owners were a father son team and I met their daughter/ sister she would not take any guff from any bloke she had them well trained :-)
FollowupID: 664236

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 12:41

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 12:41
John McDonald Auto Repairs in McMahon St, Traralgon is very good.

FollowupID: 664297

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 13:07

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 13:07
Thanks I have the tilly booked in for a service on Monday but I will try them next time :-)
FollowupID: 664299

Reply By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 23:45

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 23:45
there are only 2 wires to connect you should be able to do it yourself without an auto sparky or mechanic if you have any problems you can contact me thru my contact email
AnswerID: 395659

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 23:53

Friday, Dec 18, 2009 at 23:53
My car is on fire what should I do now ?????

I don't fiddle with stuff I am not sure of I would rather pay than stuff up the system.

Thanks for the offer though :-) If it sounds hellishly expensive I will give you a shout.
FollowupID: 664255

Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 08:43

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 08:43
Doug

It is quite easy actually.

Here is an option that will give you radio ops at any time. But don't forget to turn it off when niot wanted.

As Stuart said there are two wires.

One will be red or brown or something with a very obvious red stipe on it this one is the positive lead and goes to the positive batter via an inline fuse.Just like this fuse holder with a 3 amp fuse in it..

The other wire should be black and is the negative lead. The black one goes to the negative side of the battery. You can also put a fuse in it if you wish. Won't hurt but dont forget that you have two so if something is wrong you should check BOTH of them.

You should use wire that is at least as thick as the leads coming out of your radio. Never thinner and laways the same colours. The wire will be available through Jaycar of an auto elec as will the fuse holder. He may even have abetter one for you.

Yoou should also get some protector tubing like this spiral tubing or tubing that is split down one side to protect the new wires.

Not a big job. Can be fiddley getting through the firewall. Look out for a rubber grommet you could push the wires through.

Just don't drop the crewdriver across the batter terminal. If you do New Years fireworks will arrive early.

It would not be expensive for an auto elec to do it for you if yoy wish.

FollowupID: 664274

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 08:41

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 08:41
Doug,

My UHF is wired direct to the battery, not via ignition, not via accessories. The reason for that is that I like to hear it when the car is turned off and the keys are in my pocket.

The power drain is insignificant, especially if you drive the car every few days.

Another thing to consider eh? I wired mine myself, its not a big issue but I understand your car on fire comment

AnswerID: 395673

Follow Up By: anglepole - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 15:32

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 15:32
Yes this is the right way to wire your CB.

My GME recommends wiring straight to the battery via a fuse as close as possible to the battery.

Just another small point, if you have dual battery's, wire to the main. Good to have a CB if the fridge flattens the aux.

FollowupID: 664312

Reply By: DarrynJ - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 09:18

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 09:18
D200dug, I can help you as I pass through Cowwarr regularly. Its a simple job as the others have said, hardest part is getting the wires through the firewall.
If you read this soon I will be passing through today.

Cheers Darryn
AnswerID: 395675

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 10:33

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 10:33
thanks Darryn we have a chrissy thing to go to today.

my phone is 51489431 if you want a cup of coffee next time you pass through Cowwarr, love to have you drop in !

many thanks
FollowupID: 664293

Follow Up By: DarrynJ - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 14:59

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 14:59
Ok, will try and catch you during the week if you are around during the day.
FollowupID: 664308

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 17:11

Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 17:11
Yep we come and go during the day depending what is going on

My mobile is 0408754250 but it does not work when we are at home :-(

We are the house in McEwan st the first st in Cowwarr before you get to the shop if you come in from Traralgon.

Green roof shade sail and small white boat and white rodeo in the yard

Or ask at the shop were doug & margo live :-)

cheers doug
FollowupID: 664324