Member - Chris and Denise M (V
We are planning to stay at
Katherine, can anyone recommmend where to stay thanks
Reply By: kend88 - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 18:31
Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 18:31
Stayed at Low Level Cp a few years ago and found it good. Also had two nights at the CP at
the Gorge and it was good too.
KenD
Bris
Follow Up By: Member - Chris and Denise M (V - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 18:34
Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 18:34
Thankyou
Follow Up By: ozwasp - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 01:15
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 01:15
I agree... See if they've still got that fresh
water crocodile in an aquarium at reception too
Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 19:02
Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 19:02
Stayed at the caravan
park on the highway into town (from WA) not far ffrom the service station, and i would never again. Caught some
young local kids stealing gear from a caravan while the owners were inside washing the dishes. Then they tried a camper trailer right next to it while the owners were under the awning, i yelled out some obscene words and they took off, giving me cheek until i chased them on foot. The
park sells grog, and the drunks hang around in the
park also looking for cigarette butts and stealing. They roam the
park all night, looking and waiting. The cops did regular patrols of the area also so thats a give away.
Follow Up By: Member - Chris and Denise M (V - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 19:07
Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 19:07
Thanks we will not stay there
Reply By: Avan - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 19:52
Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 19:52
We stayed at the
Knotts Crossing c/van
park. It is about 3 kms out
the gorge road, would stay there every time. We booked in about a month ahead to make sure we got a spot
Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 19:52
Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 19:52
Hi Chris and Denise
We stayed out at
the Gorge. It was not a cheap
camp ground as it is privately run, but it was pleasant and quiet, and near the walks and boat rides. It was about 32 kms into town from memory, which we did a couple of times. We don't like staying in towns!
Follow Up By: Ozrover - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 21:12
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 21:12
Just try not to get stuck next to a whizz bang! Last time we were there that's all we heard all night, I think their record was 7 times in 5 minutes!!!
Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 20:48
Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 20:48
Manbulloo Station is ok too, about 9Klms West of Town , TV reception is no good, ok if you Sat',
Reply By: DIO - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 21:22
Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 21:22
Perhaps you could be a little more specific as to the type of accomodation you are seeking. Resort, Hotel, Motel, Caravan
Park, Cabin,
bush camp etc. It does help whenb trying to provide advice to someone.
Follow Up By: Top End Explorer - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 07:40
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 07:40
I would love to respond to your 're response but I have Tourette syndrome.
Cheers Steve
Reply By: Member - Scrubby (VIC) - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 21:41
Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 21:41
Springvale Station C/P ( is/was ?) the cheapest last June.
We stayed there on the way north and again on the way south a couple of months later, very laid back and friendly, a bit rough around the edges but the facilities were as good as most others.
Camp fires were allowed in the area where we stayed and wood was available.
It is just a few k`s further past the low level C/P on the same road,over the railway line and you`re there.
The wildlife was plentiful, lots of turtles in the
billabong come to be fed , some freshwater crocs sun bake on the other side, Agile wallabies eat from your hand,
Kookaburra`s , Ducks, etc etc.
It depends on your liking I suppose but we reckon it was great.
Enjoy,
Scrubby.
Reply By: vk1dx - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 21:52
Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 21:52
Stayed at Low Level a few times without any complaints at all.
Reply By: zigdog - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:01
Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:01
Only spent two nights there both times single nights and different
places. Both were town centre motels. 1st one was cr8p and the second one was robbed in the middle of the night (the motel bar not us). Should help give you the impression of the place.
Reply By: get outmore - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:21
Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:21
consider the surrounding parks - they have good campgrounds and from memory showers
Flora river,
edith falls ,
katherine gorge. I also stayed at hot sprngs i think with no worries
Reply By: kend88 - Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:34
Saturday, Dec 19, 2009 at 22:34
Had forgotten about Springvale Station CP, we drove out to it the few km's from Low level CP and thought it looked pretty good. Made a mental note to stay there next time. Promptly forgot about it. Probably wouldn't choose either Low Level or Springvale though if it looked like there was going to be heavy rain as the area floods quickly I believe.
A few friends have stayed at
Knotts Crossing and rate it highly.
Interesting town,
Katherine. Can't remember what it is actually called but the museum on the old wartime
airstrip is good value for a visit. Make sure you watch their video about the floods.
kenD
bris
Reply By: offroad_tommo - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 00:07
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 00:07
Used to go down that way often, always stayed at the Springvale
homestead. This place is just perched up in front of the
Katherine river and is a nice scenic spot just close enough to town, but far enough to be tranquil. When I was there last time they had canoes available for hire, fantastic to just paddle down the river.Not sure what it would be like this time of the year though. They have campsites and also cabins, the cabins are pretty decent.
Past expereince has shown me to avoid accomodation in
Katherine thats near or has a take away pub, tends to get a bit noisy!
Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 00:17
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 00:17
Shady Lane is a lovely van
park especially if you get one of the sites along the edge.
They have rows of palms between each site and are wide enough for van awning and car beside the van.
The rest are shady treed sites, nice newish amenities and on the way to the gorges.
We stayed twice on this trip and would recommend it as a clean and especially in
Katherine QUIET as its back off the road and out of town.
We looked at the Low Level and what we could see were crammed in and nowhere near as nice as Shady Lane
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 06:37
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 06:37
We had heaps of room at the Low Level.
Admittedly we were
camping so we were not confined to an area and did not need as much room as a van.
Follow Up By: Member - Vivien C (VIC) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 09:55
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 09:55
We stayed at Shady Lane in 2008 and thought it was very good. Quiet, lots of roomy sites and good amenities.
Viv
Reply By: Saint Kev - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 08:02
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 08:02
Stay at
Katherine Gorge, nice pool to relax and good amenties
Reply By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 15:10
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 15:10
Lots of suggestions for where to stay.
If you want good meat go to Jones Butchery in the commercial area at southern entrance to
Katherine.
Map and phone details of Jones Butcher shop
White russian (pork roast) and black russian(beef roast) are really good eating, as is their other meats.
Pedro