Submitted: Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 17:52
Member - Axle
Well where breaking ours !!, Swmbo and myself are off to
camp on the river for Xmas Day, Our own grown up kids are fine with this , But we leave a few disgruntled relos behind,but when its all said and done all they ever do is put on a big luvy dove show for a few hrs then after their free fill and top up of drink start to whinge &whine about everyone and everything.So we thought lets just do what we want to do!.
Merry Xmas Everyone
& a healthy Happy New Year.
Reply By: rosso1234 - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 18:10
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 18:10
Here Here!......... Spend the $$$$ on
camping gear :)
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 18:17
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 18:17
LOL!.....You Betcha!!.
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 18:12
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 18:12
Well, we are certainly breaking with tradition. This will be our first Christmas with NO family, except each other. We are in Tassie and will be spending Christmas in
Hobart at Glenorchy Showgrounds in the caravan. We chose to go there (rather than
bush camp) to be in
Hobart for the finish of the
Sydney to
Hobart race.
We were going out for lunch, but have now decided to do our own thing, so a visit to Salamanca Markets (with the crowds) looks to be on the schedule for Christmas Eve.
Hope Santa finds us!
Norm C
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 18:31
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 18:31
Have a Good one Norm!.
Axle.
Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 21:33
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 21:33
Hi Norm,
You are camped just up the road from us. We have moved into a house in Glenorchy (Dickson st). I might swing by sometime and say "HI". Are you in glenorchy now or arriving soon? Hope you enjoy your stay in Tassie.
Josh
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 21:36
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 21:36
Norm, you lucky so and so's. My ambition mate.....one day.....sigh....!!!!!
Enjoy, and a very happy and safe Xmas mate, and don't worry, Santa knows where everyone is....he'll find ya..... :-)))
Fred.
Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 21:40
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 21:40
Fred G,
My 2 girls tell me santa knows where we are cause the
Easter bunny tells him ha ha ha, and he has found us in some funny
places around oz.
Josh
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 13:01
Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 13:01
Hi Josh,
We are on
Bruny Island at the moment (lovely spot - the
Bruny Island Cruise is fantastic). Will probably head up to Glenorchy tomorrow morning so we have a couple of days before Christmas to find where things are.
Love to meet you if you drop in. Our rig is easy to find - just see the pic at the bottom - I doubt there will be another like it there. Will probably have the annex out for only the second time in its life, with the way the Tassie weather has been.
Norm C
Follow Up By: Member -Toonfish - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 17:45
Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 17:45
i have friends just around the corner from dickson st glenorchy (small world)'
but ther have a beautiful holiday house in
sandy bay for thhe summer (tic).
maybe doing the xmas get away from the family should be the new x-mas tradition or at least bi-annual.
that what we keep planning on
Robe last year but family illness prevents high country xmas this year unfortunately.
have a happy and safe christmas
Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 19:09
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 19:09
Hi Axle,
This year we will travel up the road to the mother in-laws for Chrissy dinner and head home Boxing day Arvo.
Usually we stay a few days, but this year the five of us will head up river to a nice little caravan
park on the banks of the Mann River for a couple of nights.
This will be the first time that we'll try this. After a long year it might just be the trick to recharge the batteries before New Years.
Hope you enjoy your change too Axle.
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 21:27
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 21:27
Something Different Mate!!., How many other things have changed over time in this world....LOL.
Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 10:34
Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 10:34
Hi Jon.
Heading to Cangai on boxing day.
If you are staying at Jackadgery CP, call over for a xmas beer or two.
Vince
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 15:28
Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 15:28
Where abouts mate, At the double bridges?
That'll be at the cattle yards turn off?
I'll come over for a drive on Sunday :)
MM me where abouts exactly.
Follow Up By: Member - barbara M (NSW) - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 18:54
Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 18:54
Hi Hairs & Fysh,
We are off to
Nymboida National
Park from may be Christmas arvo or boxing day
barb
Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 19:23
Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 19:23
Jon.
MM sent.
Vince
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 19:45
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 19:45
Yannow Axle, Its those traditions that your kids remember when they are older. Christmas is a stressy time for me too but we do it cause we do it. There's time after the big day for
camping and ourselves but Christmas is a day of compromises and if noone does it then we all end up doing our own thing, and in the end we end up alone, which is the crappiest place to be at Christmas time.
YMMV but for my money, put up with the whinges and whining and take a deep breath and enjoy the day.
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 20:05
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 20:05
Hi Bonz, Know what your saying, ...But Mate! i see my two daughters every day as they call in early on their way to work, Wife takes Grandkids to school everyday before she goes to work!, We cherish that, ...But! we are going to do our thing and thats it.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 20:10
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 20:10
Yer thats cool mate, everyone is different.
Have a great Chrissy and give the kids a hug extra for me.
Bonz
Reply By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 21:09
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 21:09
Hi Axle, We spent last christmas in Tassie and the one before that in
Andamooka S.A. Tradition is what you make it. This year will be back in Tassie. Was asked if we were flying over for inlaws chrissy lunch. I said no but you are welcome to come here. "What all that way". What a shame LOL. Have spent a few christmas lunches up the bush with family over the years. Have a good day and don't worry about the rest, it will just give them something else to winge about when your not there LOL.
Josh
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 21:22
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 21:22
Thanks Josh,....Think i'm on your wave lenght at the present...LOL.
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 21:42
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 21:42
Josh, that's priceless mate....bewdifull :-))
Tell the kids not to worry, Santa ( LOL) knows where everybody is.
Fred.
Follow Up By: fivedee - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 23:32
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 23:32
Hi Josh,
Have the same thing each Xmas with my brothers. Not sure whybut its always further to my house than it is to theirs.
Bazza
Reply By: Member - Ann D (WA) - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 21:48
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 21:48
Hi Axle,
Our families tradition has always been breakfast with my oldies,when all the family is together apart from me as most of the time i work away and am usually on Xmas and New Year BUT for the first time in 5 yrs I'll be home.
Xmas tradition is what we make it, and what our Children will remember.
Hope Every one has a safe and happy Xmas and New Year
Ann
A
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 22:20
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 22:20
" Xmas Tradition is what you make it"
First time in five years!,.. Ann Have a wonderful Time!
Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 08:19
Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 08:19
Hi Ann,
Before we did our trip we used to have breakfast with my mate and his family every year before going onto our own familys. I usually enjoyed that time more than the rest of the day as it was casual and relaxing. We always started with bacon, eggs, pancakes, coffee, milkshakes. After breakfast I was not real hungry for the rest of the day lol. My mates wife was a great
cook too. It was great watching the kids opening presents and all playing together. That's was always a great start to the day before it got busy.
Josh
Reply By: Top End Explorer - Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 23:48
Sunday, Dec 20, 2009 at 23:48
G/Day Axle.
We are breaking tradition this year, instead of being hot and drinking heaps,we are going to be bloody freezing and drinking heaps. LOL
In fact yesterday we woke up to -14 and today it is a warmer -10, with snow.
We did actually do something traditionally the other day we went out in the freezing snow and picked a Xmas tree then we cut it down and Philip will help his mum and Oma decorate it tomorrow.
We have some photo's I will put up a little later.
Cheers Steve
Follow Up By: Top End Explorer - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 04:29
Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 04:29
Here are some photo's.
Philip and uncle Jens cutting the Xmas tree.
Mission: Christmas Tree[img]
[/img]
I got the task of carrying the tree.
[img]
[/img]
Philip playing in the snow
[img]
[/img]
After lunch we took the sleigh to the
hill it was -10
[img]
[/img]
Anja teaching Philip the finer art of sleigh ridding.
[img]
[/img]
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 08:14
Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 08:14
Hmm..... a far cry for
young Philip from the heat of
Jabiru! I can see that he is enjoying himself!
Have a good one :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 15:58
Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 15:58
G/Day Steve, Jeez that looks like fun,nothing worrys the kids eh!.
Have a good time.
Follow Up By: Member -Toonfish - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 17:54
Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 17:54
Oma ?
so do i take it you are in deutschland or have german relo's as
well
cant wait to do similair things with our kids .
white christmas's will never be forgotten.
Follow Up By: Top End Explorer - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 18:02
Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 18:02
Yeah we are at Anja's parents place near Düsseldorf for Xmas, we are also spending time in Bavaria Austria etc.
We are here for 6 weeks, and the first week we haven't had a day above 0, it is 8 am and it's a warm -5.
Cheers Steve.
Reply By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 01:18
Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 01:18
The two boys ,their wives, and grand kids are coming to our place this year.
It doesn't worry us as we don't go away until the kids are back at school anyway. Then it is down the South coast as it is to
dam hot to go north.
Have a great Christmas and New Year
Tony
Reply By: cycadcenter - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 03:44
Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 03:44
We are flying in to
Sydney from our
home in San Diego on Wednesday to have a family Chistmas this year.
But this year it's different as my Dad passed away on Christmas Day last year and I think my Mum will need some support from the family this year.
Sorta makes you count your blessings and family at a time like this.
We'll then head on up to our
farm in
Childers before heading
home to the USA mid January.
Merry Christmas to all.
Bruce
Reply By: Willem - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 08:27
Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 08:27
Hiya Axle
When the Matriarchs of our family were still alive Xmas gathering was performed for the masses at
Anglesea, Vic. We would be up to 50 half enebriated souls wandering around falling over kids who were opening presents or playing
Pool in the sun room. Everyone was talking at once and it sounded like a flock of geese in a swamp. Uncle Keith used to buy a Pallet Load of beer and by nightfall on Xmas day those who wanted to go
home had to wait for a taxi!
But time has moved on and all the oldies are gone (we are now the oldies...lol) and that tradition has been broken. So now we have our own tradition staying
home out here in the sticks and invite friends over. This year Xmas day will have an ExplorOz flavour as EO Member visitors are coming from
Broken Hill and Riverton (SA) for the day and some may stay over depending on how liquid the day has been :-)
Merry Xmas to you and your family and all the best for Twenty Ten and trouble free Toyota motoring
And I hope we can continue our Tongue in Cheek exchanges in the future...lol
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 15:49
Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 15:49
Thanks Willem,......Wouldn't be dead for quids Mate.!
Cheers to you and good Wife'
Axle.
Reply By: Wilk0 - Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 21:47
Monday, Dec 21, 2009 at 21:47
Hi axle,
Your normal xmas day sounds like my normal xmas day. I have to have some quiet ones just to keep sane.
Next year i'm doing what you are , Now thats living life.
Have a good one and a great New year.
Cheers Wilko