High Country

My wife and I have a week from Jan 1st available before I start a new job in Melbourne and would like to spend that time exploring a bit of the High Country.

We have a very well eqipped Prado towing a Tvan and we are completely self contained for remote area traval. Although new to the High Country we have travelled the CSR, Rudall River, Kimberley etc etc so we are not 4WD beginners.

I have the complete set of Rooftop and Hema maps and I have read what I can find on EO but I was hoping that some of you who are familiar with the High Country might recommend a couple of good spots to make a base camp from which to do a little exploring in the short time that we have available.

If anyone has a good secret location perhaps you could PM me so that we could keep it that way!!!

Thanks in advance.

All the best for Xmas and the New Year and keep safe.

MikeH

Reply By: Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 10:34

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 10:34
G'day Miike,

Congratulations on moving closer to the High Country! Some of the places we like to camp include Talbotville (Dargo area), Horseyard Flat (Licola area) and Moscow Villa (Swifts Creek area).

Seeing you only have 7 days you have the right idea about base camping somewhere and doing day trips. Horseyard Flat would allow you to see the Pinnacles and then use Billy Goats Bluff tk into Wonnongatta, out on Zeka and back using Howitt Rd - a pretty full day but do'able.

Talbotville (maybe an ExplorOz meet :-) ) is another good base camp spot - also allowing access to Wonnongatta, High Plains Road, Upper Dargo Road etc.

You can then head further afield after Talbotville along the Upper Dargo Road to Birregun Road and the Dog's Grave then onto Swifts and Omeo.

Heaps of options though - you've got the right maps - enjoy!

Tim - Stratford, Vic.
AnswerID: 396165

Follow Up By: Member - Fred L (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 03, 2010 at 10:13

Sunday, Jan 03, 2010 at 10:13
Hi Tim, thinking of spending 2-3 weeks in the high country in Feb. Can I get an off-road caravan (pop top) into Talbotville?
FredL (NSW)
FollowupID: 666239

Follow Up By: Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Sunday, Jan 03, 2010 at 12:26

Sunday, Jan 03, 2010 at 12:26
Fred,

No worries with the off road van - I've seen, but wouldn't recommend, HSV Commodores towing box trailers in there! An off-road van will be no problems. The easiest way is off the High Plains Road along McMillan Track.

Enjoy.

Tim
FollowupID: 666260

Follow Up By: Member - Fred L (NSW) - Sunday, Jan 03, 2010 at 21:16

Sunday, Jan 03, 2010 at 21:16
Thanks Tim, will be pulling with a well beaten Patrol. It is hard to tell sometimes because websites/books describe some roads as being very steep - when you get there you could ride a pushbike up them. Wet is another thing but obviously one man'' steep to another is an 'off road' joy.
FollowupID: 666354

Reply By: signman - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 10:58

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 10:58
Look out for Colin (forum name TONI) and the mob.
They should be using Talbotville as a base camp around Jan 2 or 3.
Have a great time !!

AnswerID: 396167

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 11:18

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 11:18
Hard to beat Place , we will be their 25th to 1st , a lot leave on the 1st and its a good time to get in and get a place by river provided you get their by around 2pm , after that drifters begin arriving.

5hrs easy drive from melbourne.
FollowupID: 664885

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 19:47

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 19:47
Gday Mike H
Signman is correct we will be based at Talbotville from Jan 2nd (about 2pm) for a week, 7 cars including 3 EO members. Club VHC trip

Look out for us and you will be welcome to Tag Along mate.
We will be doing such icons as, Billy Goat Tk to the Pinnacles, Blue Rag trk, Wonnangatta Stn, Haunted Stream (54 river crossings that's something the CSR would never have given you) & Crooked River (22 crossings) just to name a few.

Maybe see you there, Colin.
FollowupID: 664945

Follow Up By: jschacher1 - Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 16:30

Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 16:30
Hi there
I will be doing the Blue Rag trk early January and I got the rooftop map as well; however could some one please advice if , once down at the river, I need to go the same way back or are there other options?
Thank you all.
Josef
FollowupID: 665046

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 16:44

Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 16:44
Josef,

The track out to Blue Rag trig and beyond is the only track. So if you go past the trig and go on down to the river you will have to drive out the same way.

FollowupID: 665051

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 13:51

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 13:51
Mike,

The Vic High Country is not the same as the CSR and Kimberley area. You are not a novice but the tracks in the VHC can catch you out very quick.

As recommended by other replies a base camp at Talbotville would be a good move. From there day trips with out the camper will have you climbing some very impressive tracks. If you can meet up with some other travelers and follow them for the first time will same some interesting moments.

Melbourne is only a few hours drive away, so revisiting the area would not be a problem.

Have fun and I might even see you down there.

AnswerID: 396186

Follow Up By: Crackles - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 15:44

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 15:44
Agree Mike. Steep slippery hills, ruts, bog holes & rock ledges are completly different skills to learn compared to over west particually when towing.
Another option at the other end of the range is Pineapple flat giving access to Craig's Hut, Paradise Falls, Lake Cobbler, the Bluff & the Howqua mining area.
Have fun, cheers Craig............
FollowupID: 664903

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 19:50

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 19:50
Gday Wayne, we will be looking out for you.

Colin.

PS your boss has let the cat out of the bag with his series of VHC trip notes in Overlander Mag, the bugger.
FollowupID: 664946

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 20:02

Wednesday, Dec 23, 2009 at 20:02
Colin,

You will notice that there are some vital trip notes missing. It was more of an appetizer.

In the first article he had a photo of a great vehicle, Troopie of course, making it's way down the Staircase.

See you at Talbotville in January.

FollowupID: 664947

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 18:08

Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 18:08
Wonangatta Station is another good place to base yourselves, but perhaps a little more difficult to access. We saw the Parks guys preparing around the old homestead area and tracks and the river flat last week.

I agree though Talbotville has good wide open spaces, but hadn't been mown like Wonnangatta areas had.
FollowupID: 665065

Reply By: Shaker - Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 17:10

Thursday, Dec 24, 2009 at 17:10
You could also go into Butcher Country via Licola.
AnswerID: 396318