SA beaches

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 19:33
ThreadID: 74752 Views:5054 Replies:9 FollowUps:8
I'm heading down to SA next year with a camper towed by a 4.2 TD patrol. Just wondering if any locals can tell me if there are any beaches that are no go zones with the above set up (weight etc). I hope to travel up most of the beaches and camp but like in Qld there will probably be a few to be careful of. Ie soft sand, heaps of sea weed etc.

Any tips?

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 21:14

Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 21:14
Drive along beaches in SA...ya deaming...............
AnswerID: 397007

Reply By: Member - Bruce T (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 21:29

Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 21:29
Try down around Robe - good beach driving there. Also on Yorke bleep ula (at the bottom - south) quite a few opportunities there and I'm sure you will find some on Eyre bleep ula.

Enjoy,
Bruce and Di
AnswerID: 397010

Follow Up By: Member - Bruce T (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 21:34

Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 21:34
Forgot to say you can drive long distance along the beach at Sellicks: where The Boys Are Back was filmed. We were there yesterday with the dogs - great afternoon, lots of people, lots of vehicles (all being sensible) and quite a number of dogs.

My Childhood beach.

Bruce and Di

PS
Eyre bleep ula should read Eyre Peninsula! LOL
FollowupID: 665749

Follow Up By: Member - David M (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 21:45

Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 21:45
Drive along the beach from Goolwa to the Murray Mouth, cast a line, pick up a 25kg mullaway and then your deaming .(dreaming).Just keep up on the high side. :)
FollowupID: 665753

Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 21:59

Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 21:59
At a guess as many as 1/3 of SA beaches would be unsuitable to tow a trailer on making touring with one a poor option. Plenty of locations for a base camp to do day drives or cut around through the back beach tracks.
This LINK is a good start for the Cununda to Robe area.
Cheers Craig..........
AnswerID: 397013

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 22:05

Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 22:05
Hi Austravel
A very long beach drive is the ocean side of the Coorong. There are a number of entry points at the south, and then head north for nearly 100 kilometres, all the way up to the Murray Mouth. Below are what it is like at the ocean side of Godfrey's Landing, Barkers Knoll and the Murray Mouth.

Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found
Who has been here

AnswerID: 397014

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 22:31

Wednesday, Dec 30, 2009 at 22:31
Austravel
I should have mentioned that at both Godfrey's Landing and Barkers Knoll, Ocean side, there are walking trails of 1.5kms and 1 kms that take you over the dunes to the inside of the Coorong. That side of the Coorong is boat only, with many magic camping locations.

Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Foundfi]/58567.5/Forum/Pic_388[/fi]Image Could Not Be Found
Who has been here

FollowupID: 665758

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Dec 31, 2009 at 13:58

Thursday, Dec 31, 2009 at 13:58
i have never n=been down that way..mate and i was thinking of doing fishing late Jan....can one safely tow a campertrailer (tent style) on the beach?
where are best camping spots
FollowupID: 665828

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Thursday, Dec 31, 2009 at 14:17

Thursday, Dec 31, 2009 at 14:17
Hi Number 1
Like any beach sand driving, drop you tyre pressures down and you should have no problem. Many places the sand will be compact and like driving on cement. A few places give access behind the dunes. When you find a suitable place, set up and make that your base. As for fishing, make sure you bring more than 1 rod. My first picture shows a Navara and tent camped on the beach. They had 5 rods out and Coorong is a top fishing spot. There are a number of entry points to the south, giving a great long drive up the beach. You will find the busiest place at the Murray Mouth. A lot of people drive up the beach from Goolwa and it is like peak hour fishing. The below picture was taken just inside the mouth, Coorong inside and there were many tinnies in the water.

Have fun and I hope that get catch lots.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 665831

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 17:52

Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 17:52
Stephen thanks...and

where is best spot to get camper trailer onto beach and how far can one expect to go towards towards mouth?

where are better camping places
FollowupID: 666506

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 20:08

Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 20:08
Hi No1
Firstly a very Happy New Year and all the best for 2010.

How long is a piece of string? There are 2 ways of beach driving to get to the Murray Mouth. Most of the locals down that way head out on Beach Road at Goolwa. Follow this down as far as you can go and you will literally be on the beach. When you hit the beach, turn left and it is just over 10 kilometres drive down to the Mouth. If coming from the south, there are a number of options, eg:
Tea Tree Crossing, 42 Mile Crossing, 32 Mile Crossing, Wreck Crossing and 28 Mile Crossing, all well south of Salt Creek and then the 100 kilometre drive up to the Mouth.

Having said that, it will come down to tidal movements and the wind. High tide and you will be hugging the dunes in soft, power sucking sand. Low Tide and it will be a firm drive and able to make good time. I personally do not like camping on the beach, as that wind from the Southern Ocean will give everything a coating of sea spray and your car will glint in the sun from the spray, and most of the time it is very windy. All away along the south drive up, you will find access off of the main beach in behind the dunes, where you will get protection from the full force of the wind. The picture below is about 10 kilometres, south of the Mouth and you can not see the hills in the background from the sea spray, and that was taken on a reasonably good day.

It will also come down to your beach and sand driving experience. Don't forget to drop the camper trailer tyre pressures at least 2 - 4 psi lower than your car.

Like I said above, you could strike perfect weather and have a perfect run through.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 666523

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Dec 31, 2009 at 09:39

Thursday, Dec 31, 2009 at 09:39
Hmmmm dunno about towing on the beaches anywhere between Carpenters Rocks and Robe as the sand can be very soft needing tyre pressures down to 10psi without towing anything!! North of Robe there are a few hard beaches. You can cross over the Coorong at 42mile and on to Young Husband Pen(dare I say it)insula but there you are driving on shellgrit. Short distances to camp spot may be OK after crossing the dunes. You will have your work cut out!!

Both the the Fleurieu and York P's have beaches normally covered in Seaweed which makes driving problematical. Further west and on the Eyre P there is access to the beaches and camp sites right on the seafront. There is also beach access in Coffin Bay NP and mucj further out around Fowlers Bay and all the way to the west.

AnswerID: 397045

Follow Up By: Member - Nick - Thursday, Dec 31, 2009 at 15:41

Thursday, Dec 31, 2009 at 15:41
You are right Willem,

Do not even attempt to tow anything on the beach from Carpenter Rocks to Southend. I am not real familiar with the beach from Southend/Beachport to Robe, but imagine it about the same as the first stretch, and that varies from day to day. There have been a few vehicles lost to the sea over the years between the Rocks and Southend, and they wern't towing anything.

Nick
FollowupID: 665854

Reply By: jeep cherokee - Thursday, Dec 31, 2009 at 09:58

Thursday, Dec 31, 2009 at 09:58
Hmmmm looks like Hairy from NT was replying to the wrong thread. Heaps of beach driving down here mate, even just South of the CBD.
AnswerID: 397051

Reply By: Injected - Friday, Jan 01, 2010 at 01:48

Friday, Jan 01, 2010 at 01:48
Be very careful on Kingston S.E beaches as the seaweed builds up in winter then gets covered in sand. It is hard to see and likes to consume vehicles. Cheers.
AnswerID: 397135

Reply By: Member - Dalb (SA) - Friday, Jan 01, 2010 at 11:29

Friday, Jan 01, 2010 at 11:29
G'day Austravel

Seems some of these replies could be a little confusing, as there are no hard and fast rules for beach driving.

My point is:
if you drive on many of the SA beaches mentioned (even without a trailer), you are taking a serious risk of getting bogged, and even losing the vehicle, especially if you are below the high tide mark.
However, again for most of the SA beaches mentioned, there are sandhills and these usually have a track just above the high tide mark or actually in the sandhills themselves. Most of these tracks are suitable for camper trailers, with due care.

There are usually many good beachside camping spots all along the vast unpopulated coastline of SA, especially from the Coorong south to the Vic border, and also Yorke and Eyre Peninsulars. If in the Robe area, good mud maps are available from the Robe Tourist office for a very small fee.

Cheers, Dalb
AnswerID: 397170

Reply By: Austravel - Friday, Jan 01, 2010 at 14:29

Friday, Jan 01, 2010 at 14:29
Thanks everyone and yes Dalb you are right no definite answer which I'd sort of thought might be the case. From the maps it looks like there is a huge about of beach driving that can be done so pretty hard to define the lot of it I guess. I just thought it might be worth the question to see if there were any horror stretches.

My beach driving has been Fraser, around CQ, the Cape and a small bit in WA. Of course have been bogged but my own stupidity and never to the point of needing assistance, just dig, dig, dig. But I'm over digging out and will this time be pretty careful, may just find somewhere easy to camp and do day trips in the patrol only. That's heavy enough to get me into trouble just by itself.
AnswerID: 397197