Member - Amy G (SA)
We are currently travelling from
Adelaide to
Brisbane and spent today driving across NSW (West Wyalong to
Tenterfield). The amount of water around is amazing- big puddles on most of the roadside, strongly flowing creeks, green grass everywhere, flooded paddocks, flooded front yards. I didn't realise there were so many turtles around either but unfortunately we saw more than 15 who unfortunately attempted to cross the highway today. We had a little water crossing too where a causeway was flooded on the Newell- great fun! It was longer than the river crossings two weeks ago in the High Country but only 20cm deep :)
The only negative so far is that we appear to have collected a bad batch of diesel from Gunnedah- since we filled up the Cruiser is chugging the black stuff like I have never seen before. The sub tank is empty now so it will be refilled in the morning to see if it is the fuel. Fingers crossed it is not the injectors or anything else!
Hope everyone in NSW is safe and dry and enjoying the soggy start to the New Year!
Reply By: D200Dug- Sunday, Jan 03, 2010 at 22:39
Sunday, Jan 03, 2010 at 22:39
Have you got your flippers and
snorkel packed ?
Follow Up By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Sunday, Jan 03, 2010 at 22:47
Sunday, Jan 03, 2010 at 22:47
Funny you should mention it, I actually do have flippers and goggles somewhere in the car :)
Follow Up By: D200Dug- Sunday, Jan 03, 2010 at 22:54
Sunday, Jan 03, 2010 at 22:54
FIND THEM!!!! :-)
Great to see water up in those rivers anyway
Sorry to see the floods causing damage but there will be more good done in the long run for some spare water about.
Reply By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Sunday, Jan 03, 2010 at 23:23
Sunday, Jan 03, 2010 at 23:23
Go Amy, I had heard that Dora had been packed to the gunwales. So you have at last been watching Dora's fuming. LOL, What was it we were telling you on Blue Rag again, and on the
Dargo road? You are blaming the bad fuel? Heheheh, I am sure you will get her to BrisVegas in good time.
I guess you will be Amy G (XXXX country) soon?
Actually I would love to go up and see some of the water movement. I hope it gets downstream into the Murray Darling system.
Follow Up By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 07:38
Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 07:38
Hehehehe, and here we were thinking you were teasing Dora because she made it to all of the same
places as your TD100 :)
Going to try to find the magic bottle of injector cleaner this morning and fill up the sub with BP to see if that makes a difference. We have honestly never been able to see the smoke before out of the window, and nothing was wrong on our first day of this trip, but then again that was across the
Hay plain and we didn't climb any hills.
We should be in Brissie in a few hours and then she can get familiar with her new local diesel
shop (Rocklea). Yes I will be Amy G (QLD) very soon- they must get sick of us South Aussies border hopping!
Hope you and Heather are enjoying your New Year.
Follow Up By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 13:29
Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 13:29
Well BP diesel and a good dose of Chemtech solved the problem, power again and no huge black cloud... YAY :)
Follow Up By: Madfisher - Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 14:52
Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 14:52
Good day
John,
Mate they are expecting the Darling at
bourke to be in flood till mid feb. The flow rate upsteam was apox 40000ml and 12m. Thats a lot of water which will not get to the murray but will put a lot of water in the menidee lakes. Wish we could get a bit more in the central tablelands, most of our lakes have only risen a couple of percent. But it is now beautifull and green.
Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 22:23
Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 22:23
Amy, so pleased you could get the injector cleaned up so easily. I thought it was a burning issue, just the smoke. Mind you I have seen a chipped Disco doing the same. We were looking for a teasing issue for you though ;-))
Pete, the
Menindee lakes will take the prize alright. The lakes and the birds there will flourish, I guess if there are more follow up rains though, there will be other flows. That be when the Madfisher takes flight ;-)
Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 14:17
Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 14:17
I went thru Tenterfeild at about 5pm (3/1/10) and it was absolutely . . p down, will upload vidoe later.
Shane
Follow Up By: Member - Amy G (QLD) - Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 15:52
Monday, Jan 04, 2010 at 15:52
I look forward to seeing it! We were hit around
Tamworth in the afternoon but were only bucketed on for about 10 minutes- it was a nice car wash! It was a great day, watching the storms roll in and being able to hear the thunder but somehow avoiding the downpour. We didn't hit
Tenterfield until around 7pm so were most likely following it all day.