I'll second that.
FollowupID: 671378

Follow Up By: Gramps - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 22:25

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 22:25
Here's one from the bridge at Louth Oct 09

FollowupID: 671411

Reply By: Notso - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 19:45

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 19:45
There's been about 43 Gigalitres a day going through Bourke, it's starting to drop off a bit now. Hopefully there's more to follow with the rains up in QLD.
AnswerID: 401954

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 19:53

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 19:53
We have had 5mm of rain in Chinchilla since 9am this morning whereas Roma, Mitchell and Yuelba have had around the 25mm (they are 100 to 250km further west)

The rivers in that area are currently full all the way to the NSW border (Maranoa and Balonne Rivers) so some more water will definately be heading down I reckon.

FollowupID: 671376

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 21:04

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 21:04
How's the weir Kev?

FollowupID: 671399

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 07:34

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 07:34
Andrew,

I don't recommend running a boat course just yet LOL

I just checked the Rain Gauge and we have had 28mm since 9am yesterday and it looks like we may pick up a little more today.

There is bugger all run off as itis that dry so it won't make it to the river :(

FollowupID: 671439

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 13:49

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 13:49
Those blacksoil canyons would soak up most of that. :)

Bit of a change from up north, we only recieved 1-300mm around here....standard day i say. :)

FollowupID: 671498

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 14:13

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 14:13
All up we have had 43mm in 36 hours and there is still NO runoff it is all soaking in.

Looks like this is all we are going to get unfortunately :(

FollowupID: 671503

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 19:54

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 19:54
Without involving politics or mud-slinging, just how far will this water reach? Is it impacting Wentworth yet? (genuine naïve question)

AnswerID: 401957

Follow Up By: Notso - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 20:06

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 20:06
5 Gigs a day flowing through Burtundy.

10 at Pooncarie
FollowupID: 671379

Follow Up By: Notso - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 20:07

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 20:07
53 gigs through Louth
FollowupID: 671380

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 20:10

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 20:10
Andrew,

NSW River heights and regional rainfall

This is good to gauge where the water is up or down along the whole system.

QLD has one as well which I have been monitoring for the last month or so.

FollowupID: 671381

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 20:56

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 20:56
Thanks for that guys.

FollowupID: 671397

Follow Up By: Fiona & Paul - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 23:32

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 23:32
The water can take weeks to move that distance Andrew and eventually it will have some impact and I understand only Menindee Lake will be retaining any volume of water, but there ain't a whole lot showing there from the water records, but it is rising.

Paul H
Paul H
OZ Downunder

FollowupID: 671423

Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 00:05

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 00:05
Paul, there wont be any water put into Lake Menindee. It has been dry for about 7 or 8 years, so would soak up huge amounts of water before it started to pool.

If you have a look at map of the Menindee Lakes system, Lake Weatherall is the first one to fill up, and that is basically the actual Darling River, then it goes into Lake Pamarmaroo, then Copi Hollow, then Lake Menindee, then Lake Cawndilla.

There is a regulator between Lake Weatherall and Pamarmaroo to either stop or allow water to go into Pamarmaroo if there is a fair bit of water coming down the river. There is also a regulator between Copi Hollow and Lake Menindee for the same reason.

In this instance we are told that the regulator into Lake Menindee wont be opened up. Consequently , Pamarmaroo and Copi will refill, and the rest will be sent over the main weir down the river through Pooncarie to Wentworth and beyond.

Just a few days ago, they said the Menindee Lakes (meaning the Menindee Lakes system) were at 17% capacity.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

FollowupID: 671426

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 13:44

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 13:44
Thanks for that information Dave and Paul. I didn't realise Menindee Lakes were that low and was expecting some of this rain to get slightly further South. Certainly do need some more rain from this Low system to have any substantial impact along the entire length.

FollowupID: 671494

Follow Up By: Fiona & Paul - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 16:18

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 16:18
Thanks Dave B for the additional information, we go out there every couple of years to visit my best mate who explains all the workings in detail every time. Unfortunately by the time I have absorbed that info he has also forced me to drink excess alcohol and the memory suffers.

The 17% bit is great, I'll have to check out where I get my info from state resources re dam levels, maybe I am not reading all the data.

Paul H
Paul H
OZ Downunder

FollowupID: 671529

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 20:37

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 20:37
There is a bit more water on it's way south

FLOOD WARNING FOR BUNGIL CREEK AND ADJACENT CREEKS, AND THE BALONNE RIVER
Issued at 7:11 PM on Monday the 1st of February 2010
by the Bureau of Meteorology, Brisbane.

Heavy rainfall in the area north of Roma to the Injune area is causing
significant rises in Bungil Creek and other creek systems in the area. Further
rainfall is forecast tonight.

Bungil Creek at Roma is expected to reach 6.5 metres early Tuesday morning
causing moderate to major flooding. Higher creek levels are possible at Roma
during Tuesday depending on further rain tonight.

Rises and some flooding are also expected in other creek systems in the Injune,
Roma and Yuleba area.

Creek inflows will also cause rises and moderate flooding along the Balonne
River downstream of Cotswold to Beardmore Dam during the next few days.

Predicted River Heights/Flows:
Roma Reach at least 6.5 metres early Tuesday causing moderate flooding

Next Issue:
The next warning will be issued at about 10pm Tuesday.

Latest River Heights:
Balonne R at Surat * 2.99m steady 05:00 PM MON 01/02/10
Bungil Ck at Tabers * 2.28m rising 06:10 PM MON 01/02/10
Bungil Ck at Roma 5.0m rising fast 07:00 PM MON 01/02/10
Balonne R at Weribone * 1.4m steady 05:00 PM MON 01/02/10

FollowupID: 671607

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 20:25

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 20:25
How long is it since the Darling ran like that?
AnswerID: 401962

Follow Up By: Notso - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 20:34

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 20:34
I remember seeing it at the Murray Junction in Early 2001. We had the Darling coming down all white and Milky from the clay, meeting up with the Murray, all tea coloured by Tannins, they more or less ran side by side till they went over the weir then it looked like Milky tea. Great sight.
FollowupID: 671384

Follow Up By: Wilko - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 21:58

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 21:58

I took this Pic of the river going under the Louth bridge on the 30/01/2007.

It was running fast then as well.

Cheers Wilko
FollowupID: 671406

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 02, 2010 at 07:52

Tuesday, Feb 02, 2010 at 07:52
Went for quick look in Feb 08 when they filled Copi Hollow and Parmaroo, and at that stage the water came within 1 metre of the bottom of the bridge at Wilcannia.
Going again for another look this month sometime, probably near end of month when they say will be the peak water flow at the lakes area.
Bit hard to wade through all the political bull regarding how much reaches Murray lower lakes, but i believe it to be around 170 gigalitres at this stage, which will be a good lifeline, but will be well below sea level still, need twice that to fix it up.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 671659

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 23:42

Sunday, Jan 31, 2010 at 23:42
Such a pitty the rain up here goes straight out to sea. Thought the ocean was getting louder as it is nearly high tide then I herd bang. Out I go to save the dunny tent the bang was a palm limb fell on top. Thought better go and have a look at the bom site. 56km/h yep I recond thats right. We are sheltered in Kinka Beach from Great Keppel Is.
Longreach had a fair bit of rain but that's the wrong river for the Darling Murray system. I use to spend my school hols skiing on the Murray and was always amazed at the flood height markers on the trees. Now im much much older and well travelled all I can say is it must have taken a very wet wet season up this way to do that.
AnswerID: 402002

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 09:27

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 09:27
Thanks Willem,

Last time I was there a couple of years a go you could have walked across.

Looks like they will get some more soon.

Looks Kev will too.

Predicted rainfall for the next 4 days from BOM.

Web address is :

BOM foecast railfall.

Looks like Queensland is sending some rain to SA direct, not even worrying about rivers.

AnswerID: 402033

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 09:38

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 09:38
Rain forecast for the 5/2 to 8/2.

Looks like Kev has steady rain forecast for over the next week. :o)

And some follow up rain for northern NSW.
FollowupID: 671451

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 13:24

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 13:24
Looking at that John I reckon we are in the area that has 5 - 15mm for the next week :( We are in the yellow section between the two darker green ones.

FollowupID: 671490

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 09:54

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 09:54
Willem,

This photo was taken 26/5/09 from the same lookout.

BTW did you get to see the Crossley Engine running while you were there?

AnswerID: 402039

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 12:09

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 12:09

Have looked at the Crossley before but have not seen it working. Anyway this was not a sight seeing trip. Came in late and left early next day

FollowupID: 671474

Follow Up By: Notso - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 17:43

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 17:43
Good - Better - Best
Never Let It Rest
Till Your Good Is Better
And Your Better Best

So you've been reading the end bits of Furphy water carts have you?

FollowupID: 671557

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 17:47

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 17:47
Notso,

Only at the Birdsville working Museum.

Well spotted. :-))

FollowupID: 671558

Follow Up By: Notso - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 17:53

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 17:53
I was born and bred near Shepparton in Victoria where he made his tanks, as a matter fact the company is still there making tanks just like the old ones.

Furphy Tanks
FollowupID: 671561

Follow Up By: kev.h - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 20:06

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 20:06
Hi Wayne
Is the crosley at Bourke i assume its a pump engine I'm going that way later in the year would like to have a look
FollowupID: 671600

Follow Up By: Wayne (NSW) - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 20:15

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 20:15
Kev.H

Here is a link on the Crossley Engine

Crossley Engine

FollowupID: 671602

Follow Up By: kev.h - Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 22:24

Monday, Feb 01, 2010 at 22:24
Thanks Wayne
Kev
FollowupID: 671625

Reply By: Barnesy - Tuesday, Feb 02, 2010 at 01:42

Tuesday, Feb 02, 2010 at 01:42
How much of this beautiful water will make it down the the lower Murray for SA?
AnswerID: 402197

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Feb 02, 2010 at 07:40

Tuesday, Feb 02, 2010 at 07:40
Have you read reply 2 and 3?? as they cover it pretty well

FollowupID: 671656

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Tuesday, Feb 02, 2010 at 20:05

Tuesday, Feb 02, 2010 at 20:05
Sir Kev,
I did read reply 2 and 3 and didn't see SA or the lower Murray mentioned once.
NSW was mentioned a few times but it is a long river that people from several states rely on.
FollowupID: 671807

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Feb 02, 2010 at 20:18

Tuesday, Feb 02, 2010 at 20:18
I would think that if they don't fill the Menidee lakes then not much will make it to SA

FollowupID: 671813