Planning my First Outback Trip

Submitted: Wednesday, Feb 03, 2010 at 23:51
ThreadID: 75751 Views:3366 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
This Thread has been Archived
HI I am a new member and we are planning to do our first trip to the center.
I picked up a old HJ80, high Ks but mechanically I cant fault it. After seeing some of the videos I thought the X-Trail would struggle towing a camper trailer on some of those tracks.

I have been a professional Rally Driver for over 30 years competing in some of the Safari Rallies that went through areas like Chocolate Ruffle Pass and the Fink River.
Trouble is you don't get to see much, other then the road, at the speed we were traveling at during competition. I also finished 2nd outright in the 1979 Repco Round Australia Rally.

I must thank many of the members for the information contained on this site. Great job guys and girls, it has given my wife and I the enthusiasm to go and do it now rather then when we are too old to enjoy the trip.

We plan to leave Newcastle first week in May and plan to be away 4 weeks. This trip is a toe in the water exercise for us, Alice, The Rock, Olga's, Mereenie Loop, The Macdonnell Ranges and home via the Plenty Highway and the Diamondtina Development Road. In all just over 7000km. Mostly good tracks not too adventurous for the first time.

I have just spent almost a week learning to use Oziexplorer mapping soft wear, great program but probably not necessary where we are going. Anyway hope the old Toyota makes it.

Cheers
Wayne

Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: The other Norm C (WA) - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 01:08

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 01:08
G'Day Wayne
Sounds to me like a good trip.I would think given the time frame and kilometers you and your wife should have a great drive.Take your time and enjoy the trip.
Norm
AnswerID: 402559

Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 07:00

Thursday, Feb 04, 2010 at 07:00
Wayne,

Good stuff I'm sure you will enjoy yourself.