Landcruiser 100 Series 4500 Petrol - Yes or No?

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 16, 2010 at 21:38
ThreadID: 76075 Views:37688 Replies:10 FollowUps:8
I am looking to change my Tow vehicle and am thinking of a 4.5L 100 Series Landcruiser. I will be towing a van that could weight upto 3Tonne loaded. I have a mate who is in the Toyota game and he says he would recommend the V8 4.7L Petrol over the 4.5L 6 cyl because the 4.5 is very "thirsty". I would be interested what kind of fuel consution people are getting out of these vehicles towinf this kind of load.

The 6 cylinders are a lot easier to find and i need to purchase in a hurry because my nissan 3.0L wont tow my new van, so i am told.

dave

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Feb 16, 2010 at 21:43

Tuesday, Feb 16, 2010 at 21:43
This pains me to say it but seeing as you have a GU Grenade, why not get the 4.8l petrol GU and swap your accessories that match over to the new one??

I would recommend that you seriously look at a 4.7l V8 if you really want to go the 100 Series route.

AnswerID: 404480

Follow Up By: happycattle2000 - Tuesday, Feb 16, 2010 at 21:55

Tuesday, Feb 16, 2010 at 21:55
thanks kev
i guess the 4.8GU would do as well but they seem to be more $ and very few around.

I would like to know why you think the V8 100 Series would be the best of the Cruisers though.

FollowupID: 674165

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 07:22

Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 07:22
The 4.7l is the better petrol version of the 100 Series lineup. Better fuel economy and that little bit more power.

A 4.2l 1HDTE is thought to be the best but I think my 1HZ is the BEST LOL

FollowupID: 674199

Reply By: pop2jocem - Tuesday, Feb 16, 2010 at 22:40

Tuesday, Feb 16, 2010 at 22:40
Dave,

A mate of mine just returned from a trip to Esperance (WA) from Perth towing a 24' Jayco with a 4.7lt Cruiser. Fighting a headwind all the way there, you know the type, came from just off to one side. If you have towed in similar conditions you know what I mean.
He was rather horrified when he calculated his fuel consumption at 34litres/100kls.
Now this bloke is not one to let much stand in his way when he wants to sit on 90-100kl/hr, plenty of power to tow and pass but he reconned maybe he should have taken it a bit easier..........lol.
Got 21litres/100kls on the way back with a bit of a tailwind.
I guess if the cost of fuel is not a worry then this is the engine for you.
His is an auto Safari top of the wazza by the way cut down into a dual cab and he had a quad bike on the tray as well. The good Lord only knows what the all up weight was...........(;-))

Cheers Pop

AnswerID: 404492

Reply By: Member - Barnesy - Tuesday, Feb 16, 2010 at 22:58

Tuesday, Feb 16, 2010 at 22:58
What's wrong with a turbo diesel? Won't be as fast or 'racy' as a V8 petrol but will give a lot better fuel consumption figures.

Can't answer for the 100 series but my 4.2 diesel Patrol tows at worst 15l/100km. No petrol could get any where near those figures.

I thought the 3.0 Nissan had a tow rating of 3.5 tonne?
AnswerID: 404495

Follow Up By: happycattle2000 - Tuesday, Feb 16, 2010 at 23:13

Tuesday, Feb 16, 2010 at 23:13
nothing wrong with 4.2 turbo but i cant find one within my budget in tassie at present
FollowupID: 674172

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 11:09

Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 11:09
Grenade towing limits are 2500kg Auto 3200kg Manual

I had an auto, too light had to buy a Cruiser.

FollowupID: 674220

Follow Up By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 08:05

Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 08:05
I disagree that a 4.2TD won't be as 'fast or racy' as V8 petrol. At all 'normal' driving revs, the TD has more power and torque and for towing there is simply no debate.. In the LC 200 that is even moreso the case but...,actually finding a used LC100 TD is the major concern. They are as scarce as Rocking Horse Sh..

And fuel economy...my V8 petrol LC100 used to return 25l/100km without towing, driving around Sydney and doubt the 4500 would be worse than that, so if you can afford the TD, thats the way to go.
FollowupID: 674367

Reply By: westozal - Tuesday, Feb 16, 2010 at 23:53

Tuesday, Feb 16, 2010 at 23:53
My previous 1996 80 series auto Gas/ Petrol 4.5 towing a 5.8 m poptop with family on board used to get roughly 3 to 4 km per litre towing.....best about 5. Towed at about 90 to 110 just depending. Got to the point of not worrying about fuel. I did not like the auto .
Figures are for gas ..add about 1 km per litre if on petrol.
I got a man 2004 Patrol 3 ltr , same van towed it better than the 80 much to my suprise.
Now a Isuzu Dmax...obviously not quite as good offroad as either of the previous but tows my van the best so far. Great economy too, ave 35mpg solo and towing I got about 10 l per 100 or 28 mpg half towing half solo.

AnswerID: 404501

Reply By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 00:58

Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 00:58
hc2000

I have '99 105 series 4.5L. I tow a 2.2 ton camper and get 20-22kms/100L. This would be much better bar the fact I have ARB bars front and back which aren't light. Also draw system adds up too!
Trick is to keep it to 95km/hr max. I aint in any hurry when the camper is hooked up.
Got long range tanks and get between 1000/1300k's between fuel stops.
Got 170000 on the speedo and I service every 10000k's religiously and it hasn't missed a beat.
It's a 4 speed auto, and recommend after market trans cooler as it is not the strongest piece of kit bolted to the vehicle when it comes to heavy towing. Later models will deffinatly be the go!
It outperforms every car I've ever driven on the beach/dunes in the SW and most importantly I can afford the fuel price! My wife has a different opinion on that one LOL...

good luck finding a cruiser.

Evan
Despite the cost of living, have you noticed how popular it remains!

AnswerID: 404508

Reply By: Member - Carl- Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 08:22

Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 08:22
Hi Dave

We had a 4.5 petrol that was also fitted for gas. At the time we were towing a 2.2 ton van but it could not cut the mustard.

We dropped the LPG use totally when towing and went to petrol. That did not really help much so we went to 98 octane and that was much better. Really though it was not perfect.

It would never be successful with the weight you are looking at. The 4.7 V8 also has the 6 speed transmittion as well. That would work but I would imagine that you could get a 4.2TD for the same price and this would be better still.

I have looked at the fuel consumption numbers of all fuels and they are about the same cost. LPG is certainly not cheaper.
AnswerID: 404519

Reply By: chisel - Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 09:06

Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 09:06
Worth remembering the 4.5 comes in live axle only, and 4.7 V8 in IFS only. The ifs will be a bit more comfy for long towing runs on the highway. It also has a bit more power than the 4.5 so if all other things are equal I'd say the V8 is a better bet.
AnswerID: 404525

Reply By: Baz&Pud (Tassie) - Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 09:31

Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 09:31
Hi yu,
We have a 2002 LC V8 and our van loaded is weighs in about 2.6ton. We average 4.6ks per liter, has been as high as 5.7 and down to 3.8pl.
Get one there great.
Baz
Go caravaning, life is so much shorter than death.

AnswerID: 404529

Reply By: Member - RICHARD P (ACT) - Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 11:04

Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 11:04
Howdy
I cannot give you any figures on a petrol 100 series. I have a 2006 Landcruiser TD 4.2.The last trip to WA and NT of over 20,000 kms recorded an average consumption of 16.5 litres per 100km. Landcruiser fully loaded with a 21ft van with a total weight of 6.3 tonne.The cruiser has a chip installed with a 3" exhaust.Average speed was around 90-95kms. Very happy with how the diesel performs.
Hope this helps with your decision.
AnswerID: 404538

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 11:14

Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 11:14
I have a 2005 TD with a chip and 3"exhaust and over 50,000k on a round the block trip reckon I averaged 5.7k per litre or about 17l per 100k

Always travel under 95kph

Van 2853k 25ft

So Richard and I got almost identical figures even though my van is heavier.

FollowupID: 674221

Reply By: Member - Geoff H (QLD) - Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 15:40

Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 15:40
Dave,

I have an 80 series with gas (60c a litre) and find the towing is fine. It does chew the fuel though, just stay under 100.

But at the end of the day fuel is only a small part of running a vehicle, so put the $10,000 you save on buying a diesel in the pocket and enjoy the ride.

AnswerID: 404567

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 15:11

Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 15:11
Geoff, I had an 80 ser. 4.5 auto on gas also and found that the fuel costs in dollar terms were similar to the diesels while ever diesel was only twice the price of gas. Once the diesel price started to rise I was in front. The further the rise the better off I was. I've posted the results on these pages in the past. The vehicle I have now is the turbo 1HD FT 96 model and it is in having the injectors and pump done up at this very moment. The performance previously was very disappointing and I hope to see a major improvement in performance. If I see no improvement I am going back to a petrol cruiser as I was totally wrapped in the previous unit.
regards, Bruce
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 674441

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 15:15

Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 15:15
should have said " I am going back to a petrol / gas cruiser"

By the way I thought the auto box was a good combination.
Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 674442