Fridge/Freezer or Fridge only.

Hi guys

Just after some thoughts and experiences people may have on this one.

I am looking at buying a new fridge for the Trak Shak shortly (unfortunately the 40L Engel we have doesn't fit in it and the Leimack that came with it went with the sale of our old trailer).

My thoughts initially were to buy two 37L Waecos and use one as a fridge & the other as a freezer and/or fridge.

Then with a bit more thinking I realised that two waecos will take up a bit of storage room in the trailer when mounted on the tail gate(we are a large family 5 kids from 3months to 8 years, so need as much storage room as we can!), and now think a 60L Engel may be the way to go (runs across the tail gate, so won't take up as much room (lengthwise) in the trailer).

So if we head down this path, is the standalone 60L Engel fridge the go or the 57L fridge/freezer combination a better option?

Up to now we have been using the 40L only as a fridge, with meat etc vacuum sealed on our up to 2 week trips (some in isolated areas), so I'm wondering if we really need a freezer (& the resultant loss of a little bit of storage room).

So to summarise my ramblings - which is better(?) - standalone fridge or fridge/freezer combination? Any thoughts?

Reply By:- Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 20:54

Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 20:54
Hi there i have the 57l engel combo it work great, i have had other engels in the past and i am glad i went this way this time. You would be amazed at what the freezer gets used for. I thought i woundnt use it much but it comes in handy
good luck
AnswerID: 404618

Reply By: CJ - Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 20:55

Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 20:55
Personally and after having experience with both I would suggest to go slightly larger and opt for the fridge/freezer combination.

Don't be fooled into believing that it is ideal; depending on your settings and the ambient temprature some fridge items may become icy/frozen and/or some freezer items may not stay frozen

Having said that it is nice for us (family of 5) to be able to pack the freezer section at home with good meat, fish, pre-prepared foods etc. when we set off on a bush trek.

Afer the first week the freezer section obviously becomes less full and we use the remaining section for quicker cooling of drinks and beers. Then as the freezer becomes empty we change the setting to have one big fridge and use the extra room for packing things that doesn't realy need to be in the fridge but benifit from being in, such as fruit, veg, bread, etc.

Without the freezer section we simply won't eat as good as we do, and we last longer between supplies

Hope this helps!

CJ
AnswerID: 404619

Reply By: Member - lyndon NT - Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 21:00

Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 21:00
From what you have said you definitely don’t need a freezer! Just go the fridge. Re your meat, as you know getting stuff vac packed is the way to go, most butchers will do this for you. How long will it last? Chicken(marinated) 10 days max kept real cold, steaks(get boneless), 6 weeks kept cold. Keep at the bottom and try not to put warm stuff directly on top, i.e. contacting with the meat. Just try not to freeze it, we keep ours in a big Tupperware container, this allows for SLIGHT errors in your temps, won’t freeze real quick nor warm up to quick being a large mass. Don’t freeze your vac packed stuff unless near it used by, why some plonkers do this is beyond me??
Have you considered where you are going to put your beer.................................
Surely a dedicated fridge is needed for this essential in life ?
Cheers Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 404621

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 21:35

Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 21:35
Egzackery

Freezers only chew batterys, about 2 - 3 times as much as a fridge only. Also the space use is not very efficient as frozen food wont flex, and you have to defrost 6 - 20 hours in advance.

Get a fridge and cryovac. It will outlast almost any trip. You can even see what is in the bags ( try that with frozen food).

FollowupID: 674320

Follow Up By: Tenpounder (SA) - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 15:43

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 15:43
Lyndon. You say "Don’t freeze your vac packed stuff unless near it used by, why some plonkers do this is beyond me?? " Perhaps it is beyond you because you haven't asked. There are some good reasons, I can assure you. But then perhaps I'm just a plonker!!
FollowupID: 675301

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 20:30

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 20:30
Hi Chris
I'm happy to hear the reasons.
Cheers Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

FollowupID: 675359

Follow Up By: Tenpounder (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 09:47

Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 09:47
Greetings, Lyndon.
My preference is to have a fall back position in important matters. And there are few things more important while camping than food, as far as I am concerned! But I also carry a second spare and a few other precautionary things!
I have never had problems with my Engel itself, but I have had my share of other electrical issues over the years (a battery that died; a loose connection that meant the second battery wasn't receiving charge). By starting with frozen packs in the bottom of the Engel, I have had a buffer against such problems. I managed to last almost a week without refrigeration on one occasion in the desert, courtesy of pre-frozen vacuum packs. Indeed, by starting with a good solid block of frozen stuff, the non-frozen food is also kept cold longer as well.
Also, pre-cooked stuff (like caseroles, curries etc.) is much easier to vacuum pack frozen, to avoid stuffing up the weld with sauce/gravy.
I carried back up supplies for a friend from Adelaide to Mt Dare by vacuum packing and freezing, then packing in ice in second-hand foam boxes (the ones greengrocers throw away). The food arrived still frozen.
None of this detracts from the fact that, for much of the time, freezing of vacuum packed food is not necessary.
Works for me!
FollowupID: 675438

Follow Up By: Tenpounder (SA) - Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 10:33

Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 10:33
PS perhaps I should have explained that we have a 40l Engel with a Twozone on the top. For serious bush trips, we fill the bottom with frozen food, plus block ice if there's any space left. Then a ply sheet goes in the bottom of the upper basket (to stop the top getting too cold), and the non-frozen food goes in the top. This means about 20l of chilled food (sorry about the beer, but what wrong with claret anyway) in the top (enough for dairy and some salads, bacon and a few other items).
FollowupID: 675450

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 21:38

Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 21:38
I have a Trak Shak and I use a 60l Engel.

Works well for our family of 4, although I am looking to get a 32 or 40l Engel to use for those shorter trip when we go without the Trak Shak.

AnswerID: 404634

Reply By: Member - William B (The Shire) - Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 22:48

Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 22:48
HI portlester,
When we had the 3 kids travelling with us we cryo vacced a lot of our food and used our Bushman fridge as a fridge/freezer.
For general use we used a small engel fridge that we filled every morning with the drinks and food that we would use during the day.
That meant we didnt have to keep going to the big fridge all the time so the fridge didnt have to work as hard.
I know not exactly a answer to your question but maybe another avenue for thought.
Will
Always planning the next trip. VKS-737 mobile 1619

AnswerID: 404654

Reply By: Peter_n_Margaret - Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 00:21

Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 00:21
Are you "handy"?
Building your own is not so hard. Buy evaporator and compressor seperately and build a box.
We have a front opening 130L fridge ONLY plus a chest 28L freezer ONLY.
Both have remote Danfoss compressors and extra insulation to reduce duty cycle.
The DIY freezer has 150mm of urethane insulation and runs at around -15C. Frozen stuff is put into the fridge to thaw.
Doing DIY allows any size/shape you want. Could be under the floor?

AnswerID: 404663

Reply By: greybeard - Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 01:14

Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 01:14
ever been really thirsty and all your beer is frozen :(

using a fridge as a freezer uses a lot of power.

have travelled around oz since mid '80's and have migrated from a gas fridge to a compressor fridge.
all are pretty easy to work with. you just need to plan a little more with the gas fridge.
also cryovac is your friend :)
AnswerID: 404671

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 07:33

Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 07:33
If height is not an issue, you could buy a Twozone adapter to fit your 40 litre Engel.

Simple as removing the lid, installing the Twozone, which has no top or bottom, then placing the lid on top. The twozone is secured with original clamps.

You basically run the Engel on a low setting which gives a freezer section at the bottom and a fridge on top, or just one big fridge.

As we have no rug rats to cater for, we do not need a freezer.
Just the 40 litre Engel suits us and is a lot kinder on battery draw.

Bill.

AnswerID: 404686

Reply By: trainslux - Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 10:32

Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 10:32
We have an evakool 47lt, and have used it as a small fridge, using freezer section only on low, fridge for whole compartment, and fridge freezer.
Once down to temp, it used 2.4amps/hr as freezer/ fridge, and we used it in this configuration for a month on the road, and really enjoyed the versatility it gave us.
Also had a 20lt icecool ice box as well, used as a crisper, and we rotated a 1.25ltr bottle of frozen water from the freezer section to the icecool esky every 2nd or 3rd day.
Even cold beers from the night before, left in the iceool for a day or 2 were still perfectly chilled.

Trains

The 60lt uses about 0.5 amp/hr more than the smaller one.
AnswerID: 404713

Follow Up By: trainslux - Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:56

Monday, Feb 22, 2010 at 11:56
Was travelling in 36C heat, and no issues with cooling, even in the back of the canopy.
Also had it running during our heatwave was 47deg in the shade, and still running -15 in the freezer.
Just didnt open it alot when it was stinking hot.
The icecools I tested with 2 1.25ltr bottles of frozen water in them in the direct sun over 35C.
Took 24 hrs for the outside 2mm of ice to begin to melt, kept contents at 0 deg, and I opened them every hr during the day in the sun to simulate getting to drinks/ morning tea, lunch afternoon snack etc.
Was so hot that the sticker peeled off the lid, but contents were fine.

Trains
FollowupID: 675060

Follow Up By: portlester - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 15:23

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 15:23
Thanks Trains for that info.

The evakool does look impressive based on experiences like yours.

FollowupID: 675292

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 10:47

Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 10:47
Some questions back to you , do you and your kids like ice cream ? Do you fish ? How much battery power and recharge capabillity do you have ? If only 1 unit what do you do if /when it plays up ? 2 units use more power ? yet are more versatile , long trips use both - short trip only need 1 ect , Nothing beats ice in your scotch at the end of a long day.
AnswerID: 404715

Reply By: Member - William Harold B (WA) - Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 18:56

Thursday, Feb 18, 2010 at 18:56
Hi.
Do not under any circumstances but Waeco fridges.
We saw 2 of them crushed with a steel bar and another rapped around a tree on the Gary Junction track 5 months ago. They will not freeze above the 26th para.
They are rubbish when up North.
We use an 80 ltr or a 40 ltr engel on what ever trip we go on. The 80ltr gives us a 35ltr freezer in it. It allows us to freeze 8 or 9 prepared meals before we leave.
I have had engles for 20 years. They are the only fridge that will work on their side or upside down.
Hacka
AnswerID: 404787

Follow Up By: whale - Friday, Feb 19, 2010 at 17:41

Friday, Feb 19, 2010 at 17:41
well i don't know where you get that waeco's don't freeze. we have had our 80 litre for 5 years and only problem we have had is when direct sunlight has warped the lid and control panel our fault as left exposed to direct sun on 45 + days.
we travelled through the nt, days on end of 40 degrees plus and freezer section always frozen including frozen vegies. we ran ours on 4 lights our of 7.

we average 24 plus hours on a 100 amp hour deep cycle up north.

it hasn't missed a beat, have met heaps of people with both engel and waeco and all brands have their faults.

you have to choose the one you can afford on your budget and what it offers.
we chose waeco as it fitted our budget. engels were priced out of our range. other brands we didn't like the compressors hanging off the end of ice boxes as they took extra space.
there are many more to choose from now.
FollowupID: 674654

Follow Up By: Steve - Friday, Feb 19, 2010 at 18:16

Friday, Feb 19, 2010 at 18:16
I once saw a Toyota wrapped around a tree and one crushed by a steel bar. Better steer clear eh?

I do anyway, but that's another story.

;-))
FollowupID: 674662

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Friday, Feb 19, 2010 at 20:30

Friday, Feb 19, 2010 at 20:30
Actually the fridges with the worst insulation and performance in high temperatures are ENGLE. They are on nearly 100% of the time.
FollowupID: 674674

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 15:56

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 15:56
My Engel certainly used a lot more power than the Waeco on our recent CSR trip.
The Waeco stopped working 7 days in to our 6 week trip!
FollowupID: 675305

Follow Up By: Steve - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 17:52

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 17:52
I have only ever had one fridge and that's a Waeco FF70. One of the older style before they went hi-tech. It's a big chest job and can be used as a fridge or freezer but not both at the same time. Just a knob that graduates from 1 to 7. My beer freezes at number 4 and we've only used it as a freezer once. We've since discovered cryovac and just keep our setting on 3.5. It has been the best bit of camping gear I've bought and I've had it 10 years this year. Now I've put the mockers on it I'll have to look around for what's the go these days. There's some pretty flash stuff about with prices to match.
FollowupID: 675339

Reply By: portlester - Friday, Feb 19, 2010 at 17:30

Friday, Feb 19, 2010 at 17:30
Thanks guys for your thoughts.

Unfortunately (fortunately?) with such a big family it means compromises.

We have a vacuum sealer and on our trips up to now have always vacuum sealed our meat. With the kids growing I'm guessing we will only need more room (for both food and clothes etc).

So my thoughts were leaning towards moving from the 40L Engel to the 60L and staying with the fridge only option. A fridge & freezer option would be nice, but the one 60L seems to be the best fit. Which also brings the downside of (usually) the beer missing out on a spot in the fridge.

Thanks again.
AnswerID: 404944

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Feb 19, 2010 at 20:45

Friday, Feb 19, 2010 at 20:45
It would seem you have your heart set on an Engel. I'd advise buy a fridge according to design, not brand.

The units with removeable dividers allow you to have a freezer compartment when you need it and take them out to go all fridge if it suits. Go for versatility.

Also consider insulation. Engel and Waeco (I've owned both are terrible). The Evakool range offer excellent insulation and versatility.

I DON'T sell fridges of ant variety or brand.

FollowupID: 674680

Follow Up By: portlester - Friday, Feb 19, 2010 at 21:40

Friday, Feb 19, 2010 at 21:40
Hi Jim

No I'm not really stuck on getting an Engel. It is just what I've used up to now. They have done what I wanted it to, as I'm sure others would have also.

You have got me thinking however, as I hadn't thought outside of Engels & Waeco's. I have not paid too much attention to Evakool before now.

Here are a couple questions (without wanting to start WW3)

If you had the Engel MT60F fridge (60L), the Waeco CF-60AC (59L) and the EvaKool RFE60-FF (60L) all running as a fridge in exactly the same conditions (say mid 30s) which one would have the lowest power usage (& therefore longest time between battery charge when camping)? My (very quick) reading on the EvaKool does pick that one (due to thicker insulation?).

The Trak Shak we just bought came with a Leimack. Because our Engel doesn't fit in, we used it over Christmas & were only getting 28-20hr before the battery was flat. Our Engel lasted more than double this on the same battery. We have since got rid of the Leimack, when we sold the old trailer. We would not want to get something along these lines (no matter how good or quick they may be as a fridge).

I've seen Engels last 10years and more, heard of Waeco lasting as well (& also heard of problems with both), how does the EvaKool hold up over time with 'normal' use.

And one final question if I can, does the EvaKool require any more airflow around it when in the trailer than the other brands?

Like I said, I hadn't even thought of EvaKool and now you have me thinking.

so thanks for that :)
FollowupID: 674684

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 07:05

Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 07:05
Ian,

I've still got a Waeco 80 at the moment. I bought it as a "second" over 5 years ago and the old girl hasn't missed a beat. The design is excellent, it can be all fridge and can be run as a fridge/freezer with the dividers in. The freezer compartment can be reduced in size by removing one of the dividers as the frozen food gets consumed.

However, it has poor insulation and even with a bag it eats the power. Hence when the time comes to replace it I'll be going Evakool due to their excellent insulation and reasonable price.

As for reliability; they run a danfoss compressor so should be no more or less reliable than any other fridge. They also run a simple older style rotary dial thermostat as opposed to electronics ie one less thing to go wrong.

I can't see any reason it would need any more airflow. Given that the compressor hangs off the back of the fridge and is narrower than the fridge body, it may get away with less.

Engel IMO are overpriced and under insulated. And I do not like the lack of versatility in their Combi models.

FollowupID: 674698

Follow Up By: portlester - Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 20:10

Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 20:10
Thanks Jim for the info.

I've had a good look on the net today & there doesn't seem to be too many bad reports on the EvaKool fibreglass fridges.

You may well have pointed me in their direction. They do seem to fit our wish list - good insulation, 'low' power draw & the option of using it as a fridge/freezer would be nice.

FollowupID: 674794

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 20:44

Saturday, Feb 20, 2010 at 20:44
Portlester,
I think you have worked it out. Apart from our van fridge, I have 2 x 40 litre Engels, which is great for us. Lots of versatility and redundancy. Often both on freeze. Currently one freeze, one fridge. Recently, one broke down, the other was still in service during repairs. Just under 3 years old and fixed under warranty.

But for you, one bigger fridge is the go, I think. You will appreciate it with your tribe - must be great fun camping.

As for brand, Evakool are good, probably the best insulation around but the extra insulation makes it bigger. Compromise again - life is full of them. Engel have been good for us. We spend a lot of time in NT and on freeze, they hold around -14 degrees very well. In Tas at the moment, and -22 is easy -LOL.

Depends which compromise fits your circumstances best.

Norm C
AnswerID: 405090

Reply By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 22:11

Sunday, Feb 21, 2010 at 22:11
I use an Explorer DC65 on my trayback. It is a big unit and would not suit everyone.

It has 42 litres of fridge and 23 litres of freezer. There are larger models in the range as well.

I considered getting two fridges, one as a fridge, the second as a freezer but in the end found the Explorer and also the Trailblaza units met my other requirements for reliability and ruggedness so well that earlier ideas were abandoned.

Advantages of the Explorer are that it works and keeps working. Direct sun on a hot January day - works no worries. Does not need an insulating blanket like some lesser brands do. In fact such extra insulation cannot be used. The fridge is a fridge. The top section of the fridge is still a fridge. Some lesser brands do not cool the top portion of the fridge effectively. The freezer works as a freezer, yeah actually works.

Why I wanted a freezer section (in the end) was that many small towns sell meat already frozen. Frozen meat is better put into a freezer than a fridge until shortly before it will be used. The type of holiday travel I do is mainly through the smaller and more remote places where frozen meat is common so a freezer section is useful. Storage of ice cream is not of much nterest to me.

I did not even consider the Engel at any point as they are known to be a noisier unit than those with Danfoss compressors and as I would sometimes sleep near it I wanted it quiet. I am familiar with Waeco as I own one and use it as a car fridge. When it came time to getting a serious expedition fridge I looked elsewhere.

Flynnie
AnswerID: 405283