Free camping and obtaining water

Submitted: Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 13:25
ThreadID: 76257 Views:5143 Replies:7 FollowUps:12

Related Pages

Hello all, I am relatively new to this site.
(Please be gentle)
We have recently upgraded our pop top to a caravan with full ensuite. We plan to take a month or 2 travelling from Victoria to WA next year.
We often free camp in Victoria but has access to water when needed to fill the tanks, for shower, toilet, cooking etc.
If we hit the road and stay over night in free camping stops, how do we keep the water tanks filled?
Do we connect our hose into toilet blocks taps?
Do we fill up with petrol and top up the water tanks at petrol stations?
Do we expect to pay to fill up our water tanks?
We can carry some plastic containers for water, but of course every drop adds to the weight.
We met some people free camping from way up north on the WA coast almost all the way down to central Victoria. Didnt think to ask them about water.

Another question, emptying the toilet cannister?
We have the Camps 5 book and there are a number of dump stations listed. Heathcote for us is the easiest, just out on the road in front of the Queen Meadows CP (If we are up that way).
When we cant find a dump station close by, do you/we take the cannister into public toilets and empty the contents?

Thanks for reading and hopefully answering.
TandT

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 14:01

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 14:01
Hi Tina G,

My wife and I also free camp most of the time with our small caravan.

Obtaining water has never been a problem during our travels. With a conscious effort to keep an eye out for opportunities you might just surprise yourself when it comes to topping up water tanks...

Do not hesitate to ask at service stations, drop into the shop and tell the operator that you need to purchase about x litres of fuel then ask if they have any objection to you connecting to their tap to take on x litres of water. I have never been knocked back although my son was once refused at Coolongolook in NSW after having purchased 70 + litres of diesel. I have only used service stations on two occasions asking first and filling the water prior pumping the fuel.

We have filled up at: railway stations and sidings, numerous town parks, showgrounds, schools, council depots, local halls, Boy Scout Halls, cattle sale yards the list is endless. We try to spend a bit of money in as many country towns as we can, particularly the smaller towns as we figure they need it the most. If needing water we will ask at the cash register when paying for our purchase and have always been given a lead as to an available tap.I have often gone into a pub, purchased a beer and been given directions to a water supply.

Unless you are right out in the outback water need not be a problem, perhaps a minor inconvenience at times but that would be all.

Don’t overlook the chance to be self sufficient, we have just returned home after twenty days touring with heaps of rain. By dropping the awing on one end we ran rain water into a bucket then transferred it to the tanks by way of a funnel, a couple of layers of Chux Superwipes filtered out any solids.

Now the toilet thing. Nah! No aadvise to offer there.

AnswerID: 405578

Reply By: Tina G - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 14:05

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 14:05
Excellent ideas and suggestions Ian.
Thanks for sharing.
(Giving me peace of mind too).
AnswerID: 405582

Reply By: Redback - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 14:05

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 14:05
If we hit the road and stay over night in free camping stops, how do we keep the water tanks filled?

Do we connect our hose into toilet blocks taps? ....YES

Do we fill up with petrol and top up the water tanks at petrol stations? ....YES

Do we expect to pay to fill up our water tanks? .... YES

We can carry some plastic containers for water, but of course every drop adds to the weight. ....YES this is true but if you want water it's something you have to live with.

You can if you want wait until you get to where your going to camp and fill up, but what if there is no drinking water apart from the river water, you will probably need to boil it or fiilter it.

AnswerID: 405583

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 14:07

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 14:07
Sorry that's NO to paying for water.

What about a edit funtion EO
FollowupID: 675283

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 15:41

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 15:41
As water isn't free & often in very short supply in small towns, I would expect to pay for it.
FollowupID: 675300

Follow Up By: DIO - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 16:16

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 16:16
I don't know of any places with reticulated water supply that someone doesn't have to pay. If you are travelling you wouldn't expect to obtain your food, patrol, clothing etc for free - would you. Therefore you should always be prepared to pay regardless of the cost. You could always go into a supermarket and buy cartons (10 litres) of water - nothing wrong with that. Whatever you do DON'T expect someone to give you water for free especially considering the desperate plight for water (still) in many locations throughout this country. Good luck with your travels.
FollowupID: 675312

Reply By: dbish - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 14:29

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 14:29
Hi Tina, We carry a 4 way tap handle for security type taps, av from Bunnings about $10. Cheers Daryl
AnswerID: 405585

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 14:45

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 14:45
Hi Tina, We do most of the above from time to time to refill our water tanks.

As to the toilet canister, we have used public toilet facilities to empty it. It is probably not the right thing to do though? But I can't see that it does any harm provided it is not connected to it a septic tank as the chemicals in your canister could be harmfull to the workings of the septic tank.
AnswerID: 405586

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 14:50

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 14:50
Most small towns would be septic tanks.
FollowupID: 675288

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 15:33

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 15:33
Use the nappy treatment type products as mentioned in several recent threads and this is not a problem.
FollowupID: 675294

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 15:40

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 15:40
Good tip!
FollowupID: 675298

Follow Up By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 16:14

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 16:14
Hi all I agrree,
I bought a 4 way security tap fitting and just used it about 10 min ago at a park I dont think they mind they just dont want kids leaving taps running and waisting,I also drove into eden and could not find water ,so we used the tap at a Cemetary there and it was all good ,I think the ask before you buy fuel is a good idea, I have not been knocked back yet but I think things will change when out back and crossing the Nullas to W/A :)
FollowupID: 675311

Reply By: Member - Carl- Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 16:15

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 16:15
Hi Tina,

All the above plus:

1, Organise water so that you can refill water at the same time you get fuel. We have a short hose and snap on connectors direct to the water tanks. First thing we do (at petrol station) is connect water and start that, then get fuel, pay for the fuel and then disconnect the water. You are not holding up other customers. Picture.

2, Get a water pump so that you can take water from troffs, tanks, dams, creeks and rivers.

3, Add additional water holding tanks and have them seperated from each. We can hold as much as 459 litres in 5 tanks. Mostly they are empty but can be filled for a short trip.

4, Get a 4 way tap fitting from Bunnings. This will allow you to open semi locked council taps.

5, Talk to other travellers going the opposite direction and ask them where they got water.

6, In the outback be aware of others that live there. Don't waist water.

AnswerID: 405598

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 17:18

Tuesday, Feb 23, 2010 at 17:18
Hi Tina

We need fuel more often than we need water, so if needing water, i always ask before filling if we can top up our water tanks. Sometimes this is not convenient to them (eg it may block the flow of traffic through the pumps). Some have not had suitable taps. IN this case we find another servo. We have not had to pay, but i understand in some inland areas, a charge is levied.

We have not needed to pump water into our tanks. If water is available, we use it direct from a bucket and bath rather than shower. Our tanks remain with water of a known quality.

Dump points can be few and far between although there are now many more than shown in Camps 5.Check out the recent toilet threads on using sodium percarbonate. If you do need to dump into toilets, it is a good idea not to have an audience. They may not understand that you are not using a formaldehyde toilet chemical which cannot be dumped into long drops or public toilets. If out in the desert, stop away from a rest area and carry the cassette a safe walking distance from the road where no-one else is likely to go. Dig a hole and empty. The by now liquid slurry disappears into the sand. Obviously distances from water courses still apply.

AnswerID: 405606

Follow Up By: Tina G - Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 09:54

Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 09:54
Thanks everyone for their suggestions.
We will take them on board.
When we have free camped in central Victoria, husband has often found a bunny hole and emptied the toilet cannister into it, ready made hole (so if you see any bunnies hopping around with bits of white toilet paper or worse, on their head, could be our fault!).
I will have to find out more about sodium percarbonate and formaldehyde toilet chemical, and the nappy treatment products.
FollowupID: 675440

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 10:01

Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 10:01
That is exactly what you shouldn't do! Suggest to him that he buys a shovel.

FollowupID: 675441

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 23:10

Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 23:10
Hi Tina

Do an internet search for Formaldehyde, and see how nasty it is. We would never use it in a toilet. I don't know how to dispose of the bottle we got from the previous owners of our caravan. It is a preservative, whereas the environmentally friendly products help break up the solids quicker; a much safer solution.

We started out using Bio Magic; expensive and OK, but cassette always smelt a bit musty. Even more expensive when generally it was charged up and only used once, before the passage of time dictated emptying. Much better results with the nappy powders as listed above.

Hi Shaker - What? Are you on the side of the feral bunnies? Anyway, most warrens we have come across are disused, so long as Tina's husband filled it in on top of the disposal, i can't see the problem. Even if active, there are always a number of exits from the one warren.

Mh

FollowupID: 675538

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 23:30

Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 23:30
QUOTE: so if you see any bunnies hopping around with bits of white toilet paper or worse, on their head, could be our fault!).

No, I am not on the side of rabbits, just advocate correct disposal of rubbish & effluent.
Even cats cover their droppings!
FollowupID: 675542

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 23:39

Wednesday, Feb 24, 2010 at 23:39
Fair enough Shaker, but i took Tina's remark to be meant in humour. After all, the contents of the cassette have turned to liquid after travelling. I'm sure hubby covered the hole, which would have been far deeper than most of us will dig.

Mh

FollowupID: 675544