Building flat board in back of Patrol

Submitted: Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 10:25
ThreadID: 76316 Views:15057 Replies:13 FollowUps:1
This Thread has been Archived
I have been cruising around in the Patrol for 2 years now and have finally decided to try to improve the layout to make things easier. The rear seats are removed but the floor is so uneven that packing gear is not easy. I know you can buy the drawer set up for the rear but is a full floor available? I havent seen anything but I know a lot of people make there own. What I am asking is for info or photos of some ideas. I was thinking of a board with adjustable poles underneath for the varying distances. It will need to be strong as I store tool box, genset etc in there. The other way is to make compartments but that would entail a lot of cutting and fitting to fit the contours of the floor. It would also double as a bed when the camper is left behind. Any ideas welcome. Thanks
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: feathery - Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 10:58

Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 10:58
Hi Kirk & Jeanette can't help you much but I built a false floor for my r50 pathfinder used large sheet of that plastic cardboard looking stuff as a template and used bracing ply as finished product I also bent aluminium strips and bolted them where the seats were bolted this allowed me to put tie down points in the floor never moved even on the CSR Gunbarel and Simpson desert.
AnswerID: 405902

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 11:43

Thursday, Feb 25, 2010 at 11:43
Kirk,

There are a few of us who have built our own storage systems. Some have done a really detailed job, aluminium frames and lightweight ply shelves often carpeted so they look every bit as good as the store bought option.

I blame my birth, but I am a bit careful with my money.