Buyer beware

Submitted: Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 08:22
ThreadID: 76408 Views:4457 Replies:9 FollowUps:18
Choosing my words carefully but there is an item on the trader forum priced way below it's true market value which makes me remind you, "If a deal seems too good to be true it probably is." 'Nuf said.
Caveat emptor.

Rob

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 08:33

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 08:33
Wonder how a Fiat Ducato and a Holden Rodeo Motor home can be similar prices ??

AnswerID: 406447

Follow Up By: signman - Monday, Mar 01, 2010 at 12:41

Monday, Mar 01, 2010 at 12:41
Probably coz the Rodeo is under- priced !!
FollowupID: 676425

Reply By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 08:35

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 08:35
Rob.
Maybe a typing error!!!!!
Vince
AnswerID: 406448

Follow Up By: racinrob - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 08:52

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 08:52
Vince, that was my first thought, a typing error so I contacted the seller and got a reply which made me even more wary. Reason why I am so suspicious is that I remember reading about a scam a few months ago along the same lines.

Rob.
FollowupID: 676179

Follow Up By: GQueue - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 09:25

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 09:25
Not surprised, quite the wheeler & dealer is this fellow....

http://www.google.com.au/search?q=+vdudu10%40aol.com&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a
FollowupID: 676183

Follow Up By: GQueue - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 09:27

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 09:27
Burr, linky-no-worky!

Google the email address provided, it comes up associated to a few similiar scams.
FollowupID: 676184

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 09:35

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 09:35
A good article on him and his friends or aliases here

http://www.horseyard.com.au/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=152399&Itemid=204

Looks like they are into everything
FollowupID: 676188

Follow Up By: Member - Peter E1 (VIC) - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 18:10

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 18:10
Saw something like this on Gumtree when I was in the market for a campervan last October. Same deal, same type of Motorhome.
FollowupID: 676267

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 09:54

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 09:54
Has anyone notified David or Michelle?
AnswerID: 406460

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 10:43

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 10:43
Yes.

FollowupID: 676198

Reply By: Member - Andrew L (QLD) - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 10:10

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 10:10
These sorts of advertisements are seen in Saturday newspapers, particularly with popular 4wd vehicles, Landcruiser, Prado at a seemingly bargain price, and as usual, an email address to contact.

I have even seen the add repeated, ....if the add was genuine at the indictaed price, the vehilce would be sold.

There was an article recently where if you contact the seller, the vehicle won't be where you are, but they assure you it is legitimate, you won't be dissappointed, send a deposit and they will freight the vehicle to you for inspection, and if your not happy, they will pay the freight back and refund your money....lol..lol..

Unfortunately, some people will believe them, but then people also buy dodgey fuel saving gimicks too..
AnswerID: 406462

Reply By: ModSquad - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 10:22

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 10:22
Thanks all for the warning. Yes it probably is a scam and the office has been notified. Unfortunately it's a long weekend here in WA so the office is shut through Monday.

Mod Team.
Moderation is just rules

AnswerID: 406464

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 20:31

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 20:31
Hey,
what's "unfortunate" about it being a long weekend here in WA, ha ha ha

I'm not mainey
FollowupID: 676308

Reply By: The Landy - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 12:48

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 12:48
Good pick-up Rob!

AnswerID: 406482

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 19:57

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 19:57
I dont see how anyone could be scammed!! You wouldn't buy without seeing it. You would check through REVS or the appropriate govt body in your state to see who owns it and its history. You would only pay by a bank cheque after all the relevant checks.. I just bought a car for my other half and did just that.. Maybe i have overlooked something, i would be interested to know if there is a way around the system,, we all need to know .. Michael

AnswerID: 406553

Reply By: Member - Barry (NT) - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 20:17

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 20:17
THEY ARE OUT THERE,,, READ THIS EMAIL FOR A CARAVAN,,, motor runs well??????

Hello there and thanks for your interest,
The caravan is in perfect working condition.It has no scratches on and hasn't been involved in an accident, no rust.
The motor runs very well.The caravan was always garaged and never been smoked in.The interior is very clean.
Also I want you to know that the caravan is fully paid off, it's not under leasing or bank liabilities.
I decided to sell the caravan at this price AU $21,800 because i need the money urgently.
I hope to find a buyer as soon as possible.I attached some pics for you.
Where are you located? because I have listed the caravan on many web sites so I can sell it asap.
If you have any further question please do not hesitate to ask in order to make this a successful deal.
Best Regards
Susan

this was recent and she wouldn't tell anyone where the van was just wanted the $ "held" with money back guarantee.

Said van was in Darwin and I would look at it but she found every excuse not to say where it was.

Mate in Qld got same responses,, many ,,, pay now and see later.

BEWARE
AnswerID: 406557

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 20:22

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 20:22
If anyone was to pay first without sighting the product then they deserve to have their pants pulled down.

A fool and his money..............

FollowupID: 676305

Follow Up By: Member - Barry (NT) - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 20:23

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 20:23
just looked at the Fiat address is vdudu@,,, etc etc
FollowupID: 676306

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 20:59

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 20:59
I know I cannot believe it, but my mate told me of someone who lives in NSW but purchased a 4by in WA sight unseen, unbelievable but a fool and his money are soon parted as my old Dad use to say.
FollowupID: 676319

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Mar 01, 2010 at 10:54

Monday, Mar 01, 2010 at 10:54
You really have to laugh vdudu@ ---------- we dud you @. Just another scam to take money off the gulible "bargain hunter".
FollowupID: 676407

Reply By: Steve - Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 20:42

Sunday, Feb 28, 2010 at 20:42
I recently came across a Range Rover "bargain" and made the usual enquiries. The location on Carsales was Brisbane and when I enquired, it transpired that the vehicle was actually in Tassie. Not just in Hobart or somewhere equally convenient for a cheap flight and Rac inspection etc, but at the ends of the earth and neatly packaged away in a shipping container ready to be shipped to my door after which i had 5 days cool off period/inspection opportunity. Meanwhile, I'd already paid via ebay's paypal. No phone number, just an email to which every inquiry I made was always met by an economy of words and would entertain no discussion. Also saw something similar on Gumtree.

Beware.
AnswerID: 406561

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Mar 01, 2010 at 08:09

Monday, Mar 01, 2010 at 08:09
you actually forked out money?
FollowupID: 676386

Follow Up By: Member - Barry (NT) - Monday, Mar 01, 2010 at 10:51

Monday, Mar 01, 2010 at 10:51

sounds like the same scam I posted above - re caravan in my case
FollowupID: 676406

Follow Up By: Steve - Monday, Mar 01, 2010 at 11:41

Monday, Mar 01, 2010 at 11:41
did I buggery pay any money - that's how it would've transpired though

forgot to mention that this character had moved to Barcelona where he was working for two years and needed a quick settlement.
FollowupID: 676413

Follow Up By: Member - Barry (NT) - Monday, Mar 01, 2010 at 12:01

Monday, Mar 01, 2010 at 12:01
yep Susan had moved to London and needed money quickly also,,,

hence low price and dubious info provided ie couldn't view the merchandise,,,lol

as I said above BEWARE
FollowupID: 676415

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Monday, Mar 01, 2010 at 13:10

Monday, Mar 01, 2010 at 13:10
Barry NT , surely your not talking about "Susan" who swore that she would never return to Australia because of the hounding [well deserved] her huband recieved but then came back to claim a widows pension any way.
FollowupID: 676435

Follow Up By: Steve - Monday, Mar 01, 2010 at 13:14

Monday, Mar 01, 2010 at 13:14
I tried to do a REVS check when I was under the impression that this car was in Brissie as advertised. When the Qld REVS told me it wasn't registered there I emailed the bloke to see if I could have the vehicle inspected. "no, it's in a sealed container but you'll have 5 days to ispect on delivery" after I'd handed the money over, of course. No chance matey. He never contacted me and if he was a genuine seller he would've pursued it with a compromise or solution of some sort.
FollowupID: 676437