Don't tell us when your house is empty
Submitted: Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 03:32
vk1dx
Ever since we started using the internet we were always conscious of not letting on when the house will be empty. Not even to pop down the
shop for milk.
And this is why.
Hey this place is empty - Please rob me
How many are guilty of telling us that we will see you at such and such. It was on either the
Sydney Channel 9 news or ACA tonight.
Worth thinking about.
Reply By: Ozhumvee - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 07:17
Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 07:17
What is even worse that when you connect to that site in the "live feed" section on the right it says" From exploreoz xxxxxx NSW connected"
Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 07:47
Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 07:47
Hi Phil,
Yeah I saw that last night. I think they're a great tool for keeping in contact with Family & Friends that are spread all over the place. But you must learn how to use the sites, their security & privacy settings and also just be mindful of what you tell people.
No wonder why people get scammed or robbed, I've seen that some people have over 200 to 1000 friends, Geez, they're just asking for trouble.
Good post Phil
Have a good one
Reply By: Wilko - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 09:07
Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 09:07
Hi vk1dx,
Good post and very timely,
Cheers Wilko
Reply By: DIO - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 09:24
Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 09:24
Something I cannot understand, why would anyone want to go onto an internet site and tell the world when they were going away, how long for, their destination etc. I have always considered such 'advertising' to be beneficial to anyone inclined to want some free furniture, electrical appliances, etc. Gee ther'e some stupid people around.
Follow Up By: rosso1234 - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 10:50
Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 10:50
not all are stupid, some make an informed risk assesment of what info can be used and what benifit they get from the said site. Correctly set up and managed social networking sites are a fantastic addition to help keep spread out familys stay in touch.
Poke your head out of your cotton wool and you may see this
Follow Up By: Crackles - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 11:52
Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 11:52
"why would anyone want to go onto an internet site and tell the world when they were going away"
And yet yime & time again on ExOz we see exactly that (Guilty) & worst still have a live feed from their GPS locator viewable by anyone showing at any time where they are. Still haven't quite worked out the need for that "Look at me" driving accross Australia but got to admit it is a pretty cool feature :-)
I suppose the key to all this is to avoid linking your discussions on where you are going to your actual address.
Cheers Craig..........
Follow Up By: ob - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 11:52
Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 11:52
I guess if you have assessed the risk as being negligible and posted your location on such a site with the attitude that "it will never happen to me" don't come whingeing on the
forum about how someone robbed you
ob
Follow Up By: 2000 Red Rodeo - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 21:42
Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 21:42
I use a SPOT satellite tracker when away so friends know where I am. However we don't turn it on until we are at least 5o kms from home so unknown viewers don't know where home is.
Also I am careful with what info we put on our website. ie no last names, address, etc.
They are wonderful tools, but on the web you still need to be careful and smart.
Follow Up By: Oztravellers - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 23:09
Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 23:09
On the same theme (from someone who has had their house burgled when on holidays) how about when you arrange with Aust Post to redirect your mail. How many people in Aust post get to know you're away.
A dead give away is the junk mail shoved in your letter box (having a
sign "No Junk mail" doesn't work), the lawn not mowed , the local papers left on the lawn, the house burglar local alarm triggered and who cares and so it goes on....
Follow Up By: rosso1234 - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 23:19
Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 23:19
"How many people in Aust post get to know you're away."
About 4 and all info is handled with in
privacy policy laws...
"(having a
sign "No Junk mail" doesn't work), "
Contact the company's on the junk mail and find out which contractor is delivering it, there is ways to combat this, google it.
Follow Up By: Oztravellers - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 23:26
Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 23:26
Finding out who is the contractor delivering "Junk mail" is not all that easy as it is often school kids putting a wad of pamphlets/papers in the letter box. However its good to hear that redirected mail is reasonably safe.
Reply By: Member - RobnJane(VIC) - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 13:17
Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 13:17
Phil and All,
Interesting thought, and to this point, while we were away last year and registering for National
Park camping and other such things we didn't include street number or street name for exactly that reason.
All that info on a peice of paper 3,000kms from home is a fantastic source of info for nasties.
Phone/car rego details will provide relevent authorities with enough info to gather additional details should that be necessary.
Rgds,
Rob.
Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 13:25
Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 13:25
Other one is; how many people advertise their home for sale with a web link showing every room and all your lovely expensive gear? The big ad just begs for someone to pay you an unwelcome visit.
Reply By: vk1dx - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 14:26
Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 14:26
For the last 5 years before retirement, I worked it was on a project that joined agencies throughout Australia together and also provided excellent highways into our friends. Of course those ones were "filtered". My involvement was on the hardware side with enough access to prove it worked. They did a profile on me. They even found a reference to me in the USA Military Police records. Okay So thats what I go up to that night in Saigon. Hmmm.
Its not just facebook people you also have the frequent flyer and shoppers cards. And any online shopping links. What about Woolies etc. You order online a couple of cartons of
camping type foods and supplies!!! The order is dispatched via an online courier with lousy security. Says a lot. You go online to the newspaper and suspend the delivery for a month or more!!! Another flag. Let the neighbour read it.
The internet has certainly opened things up a lot. That could be better said another way Hey!!!
I am not a specialist even though I worked in that field for 30+ years. Things have progressed way beyond my knowledge. But not my imagination.
Just be aware.
Now back to the F1 race. No At home.
Reply By: Jude&theboys - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 16:19
Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 16:19
if I ever mention when I'm going I always take care to mention that I have a housesitter looking after the place. I use facebook but my address is private and I'm choosy about my friends and restrict access to a few even...
but ultimately if I'm away I'm not worried about my house. I have my most valuable and irreplacable things with me (kids special teddies etc come with us) we have insurance for a reason and I make sure that I have ample insurance to cover us for anything that may be lost, I make sure my
bins go out etc too as you do.
We take calculated risks every day....even crossing the street...
Jude
Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 17:11
Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 17:11
Hi Phil
A good warning. Known times such as when you go to the shops can be observed and will have a pattern - so are probably more of a risk than irregular holidays away. Knowing your neighbours and looking after each other is the only solution.
The internet is a wonderful social media, but it has its risks. None of my immediate family have a presence on Facebook or similar, and we use pseudonyms on the net. We are overly privacy conscious. EBay reveals your name and address to the sender each purchase of course - and that too could be a risk as you don't really know who you are dealing with. I do say on the forums when i am going away, and have met wonderful
forum members this way as
well as researching where to go and stay while out on the tracks. However we still have family living at home while we are away.
Have faith that most people do the right thing, however the threat is there from the few unscrupulous ones; whether they steal your car from a
parking lot, break into your house while you are taking the children to school, or mug you on your way home from work, as
well as going to your house while you are on holidays. Sadly these days the potential is there.
Still anonymous
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 18:21
Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 18:21
Still anonomous Chuckle!!!
No such things as shopping patterns here. Management is laid up for a few weeks and I am TRYING to do the shopping. Always manage to get something wrong and need to make multiple trips. Oh
well.
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 19:05
Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 19:05
Hope she's up and about soon - you sound like my man.
Mh
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 19:24
Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 19:24
Four more weeks and then she does another 4WD course. This time up in the steep country. I don't think dhe will be walking anyway. One of those things where only one driver per car. Its supposed to stop the "back
seat driver" from interfering.
I have to mind the house this time. Our son the house sitter is out with one of those fancy new drills (clean environment or somethint ) drilling geothermal holes for a long shift this time.
Reply By: Olsen's 4WD Tours and Training - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 18:17
Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 18:17
Just because you aren't there doesn't mean nobody is there- scaremongering by the sensationalist ahhh journalist me thinks.
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 19:28
Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 19:28
Sorry Don't understand the first part.
I am also not a journalist. Apparently you were not watching the news last night.
I was just raising the awareness. You do as you wish but you will have to explain the first sentence.
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 19:50
Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 19:50
vk, I think that Mr Olsen means that, just because you aren't there, it doesn't mean that you haven't got someone else looking after your house in your absence.
That's what I do. When I'm away my house is occupied by a 500kg, 8 foot tall Gorilla........, and he's gay.
Any house-breakers need to bring the KY jelly.
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 20:12
Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 20:12
Fair enough.
Well I think I made a few people consider what they say about their next trips. No ned to change plans or not go.
Just consider what has been saiud by everyone on this thread including our Olsen friend.
Have agreat trip wherever you go. I am off to bed again early.
MH I hope this ends soon and I can get back to the bush. You know what I mean.
HHHOOORRROOO all
Follow Up By: Olsen's 4WD Tours and Training - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 20:42
Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 20:42
Sorry for the misunderstanding, I just can't stand any of that so called journalism. In no way was I criticizing you.
Modern media appeals to base fears to win ratings. Scare em and keep em interested is the motto.
Reply By: Jedo_03 - Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 20:13
Saturday, Mar 27, 2010 at 20:13
Doesn't seem to matter that much whether you're away or not...
Where I live (don't ask...) we've had a recent bad spate of daylight break-ins. Cheeky and blatant jobs...
Bar-stewards are trashing the houses too...
Smashed through several back doors in mid afternoon...
Knock at front door - if no answer, easy to remove flyscreen on backwindow
Knock at front door - and while you're answering that, his mate is in the back door and away with yr wallet...
Empty house..?? No prob: nick round side of house and turn off main switch of electricity - if still turned off next day - then the house is empty...
Bloke having arvo-nap on the settee - woke up to find a 13yr old boy in the room with him, brandishing iron bar...
How easy is it to knock on somebody's front door and, if answered, ask where Mr and Mrs Smith live... If not answered..??
There are only so-many precautions we can take to deter these scumbags... The Govt/Law is no help - I'm not allowed to wire-up my window frames to the 240v supply, nor leave upright shards of broken glass on the benches under my windows... Hell, I can't even flog an intruder with a baseball bat...
My solution is: My elecricity box is padlocked. I have motion detectors inside the house. These are linked to spotties. Also linked to 3x 110dB screamer alarms. 2 internal and one external. Internal and external flashing blue lights. Motion detectors set to 4 minutes. Also considering to buy a "smashing glass" detector which sets the alarms off when sound/frequency of breaking glass detected.
Only problem is - I won't be there to see the look on their faces when they gain entry...
Jedo
Follow Up By: vk1dx - Sunday, Mar 28, 2010 at 05:00
Sunday, Mar 28, 2010 at 05:00
We also have a B2B alarm with those screamers in the house in the main rooms. Have you ever "stuck it out" under one of those things. I actually felt sick when they installed it and triggered it.
The alarm can run for several days on its own batteries. So at least the noise may get them out before trashing the place etc.
Two neighbours also have access and know when we are away. No mail redirection and the letterbox cleared and garbage etc put out AND taken back in.
So we just hope and still enjoy our trips.