We alll hear about the great vehicles we have owned !!, What about the Wors

Submitted: Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 18:19
ThreadID: 77761 Views:5154 Replies:25 FollowUps:32
Mine was a Mazda E2200 ute with the R2 motor, The wors't engine ever put on the planet , Still having nightmares over that thing!....LOL

Reply By: Spade Newsom - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 18:32

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 18:32
A 1983 or 84 LWB 2 door Jackaroo Wagon. Four Cylinder petrol. Dreadful vehicle.

Follwed cosely by a brief stint with a Nissan Marano/Namaro or something stupid like that. About a 90s vintage I think. Four door wagon.
AnswerID: 413178

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 18:50

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 18:50
LOL!. ,,,,Their out there mate!

FollowupID: 683248

Reply By: townsville - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 18:37

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 18:37
Havent had a bad one yet..owned "Toyotas" for most of the time..he.he...
AnswerID: 413180

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 18:44

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 18:44
LOL!,, Mate,..... Run out and buy a bag full of lotto tickets whilst such a run of good luck is happening, as a TOYO , owner i would be concerned !!...LOL'

FollowupID: 683243

Reply By: Nutta - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 18:41

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 18:41
An old hunter hillman, that thing was the biggest pile of cr@p i ever owned!

Had to push start it nearly everyday, it caused me tremendous stress!!!!
AnswerID: 413181

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 18:48

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 18:48
Yeah remember them!!, Two good ones to every Ten Bad!!.

Axle.
FollowupID: 683245

Follow Up By: Nutta - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 18:50

I still break out in a sweat thinking about it 25 years later!
FollowupID: 683249

Follow Up By: Member - Wayne B (NSW) - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 21:00

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 21:00
They won the London to Sydney Marathon. They must have been good. LOL
FollowupID: 683283

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 06:21

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 06:21
Wayne B
They only won because the Citroen had a crash about an hour from the finish line. Being left hand drive , he didn't see the person coming towards him on the wrong side of the road. (overtaking)
Murray

FollowupID: 683322

Reply By: Wrong Way Jon - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 18:50

Hi Axle,
The biggest piece of crap I've ever had the miss fortune of owning, without a shadow of a doubt would have to be a 96 VS Dunny Door Acclaim 7 seater.
Paid $16990.00 with 12 months rego. Within the first week of owning I thought that the fuel economy was up the creek. On the H'way I was getting far worse than around town usage. Took it back to the yard, "No we can't give warranty on fuel economy" was the response. Took it to a good mate, who put it on a one of those most expensive machines that goes 'Ping'. Had crap leads and plugs, replaced them. what a difference.
The dealer paid for them. 6 Months later the Crank Angle sensor gave up, then two weeks later it was the coil modulator, 2 months after that the muffler box blow itself to pieces, than the steering column pinched the wiring harness and shorted the fuse box, then the left hand front shock let go and punched a hole in the bonnet and finally just when I thought I would sell it the battery throws in the towel. All this in 18 months. I traded it in on the 80, I got $5000.00 for it and I never looked backed

The thing was cursed.

AnswerID: 413184

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 18:57

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 18:57
Hahahahaha!, Maaaaate!, my Nephew owns one of those model Dunny dores,,, Know what your saying!!.

FollowupID: 683250

Follow Up By: Wrong Way Jon - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 19:26

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 19:26
At the same time we owned the VS we also owned a VL 3Lt Turbo wagon for some 18 years. Changed 2 crank angle sensors, a thermostat and a set of injectors and normal running costs.It owed us nothing.
The difference between chalk & cheese.

FollowupID: 683263

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 20:59

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 20:59
Gidday

Maybe I shouldnt mention it here ... but the VL Commodore 3 litre and 3 litre turbo was a nissan engine ... my late brother was a traffic policeman and once told me that a VL turbo set up for highway patrolling (special diff etc) was the fastest car he ever drove. Could handle too apparantly Once did an blood urgent blood delivery from Geraldton to Mullewa in some obscenely fast time, averaging over 120mph or something.

Rocco
FollowupID: 683282

Follow Up By: Member - Wayne B (NSW) - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 21:04

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 21:04
They were QUICK Very QUICK Some would say too QUICK as many of them ended their days wrapped around light poles.
FollowupID: 683285

Follow Up By: Wrong Way Jon - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 21:14

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 21:14
Hmmm, She had 300000k's on the clock and still pull170kph out of third, never came across a straight long or wide enough to let her have a full head of steam in top gear.
Once while up at a mates place at Springwood qld,she made a WRX earn it's keep between a set of lights. Still had the original clutch.
They don't makem like that any more ;(
FollowupID: 683286

Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 21:24

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 21:24
if only nissan could find the blokes responsible for that motor and put em to work on a patrol powerplant ... wishful thinking ...

FollowupID: 683287

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 14:48

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 14:48
Of course this motor was used in Patrols(rb30) some still going strong at 500000ks, which was way bett er then the old 2.8 petrol which usually needed rings by 160000ks.
FollowupID: 683381

Reply By: outsider - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 19:04

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 19:04
Worst car for me was a 86 Nissan navara, it cost me thousands.
Ended up cutting my losses and trading it for next to nothing.

I will never own another nissan.
AnswerID: 413185

Reply By: disco driver - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 19:57

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 19:57
Worst car I ever owned?
Easy, 1977 Toyota FJ55 with 2F petrol motor, rusty, rough to travel in and thirsty as buggery: a real heap of crap.

Turned me totally off Toyota's. Haven't had another one since I discovered Landrovers.

The second worst, my first car bought in 1958, a 1927 Austin 7 but I still have fond memories of that tiny little box on wheels.

It was in that car that I popped my first cherry.

I guess that makes up for all the little Austin's shortcomings.

Disco.
AnswerID: 413191

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 20:32

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 20:32
Lol Disco!!,.....That little Austin will never leave the space in your brain where you parked it !!,hahaha,..... Yeah!!, Landrover versus Toyota, as years go on the difference is hardly noticeable, I trust my landy now more than my landcruiser!!.

FollowupID: 683270

Reply By: Fatso - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 20:27

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 20:27
Holden UC Sunbird 2.4l 4 cylinder.
Bought it brand new in 1980 for $5680.
Gutless with bad fuel economy & I flogged the guts out of it for 240,000k.
Pranged it a few times.
Got $200 for it in the end.
Even though it was the worst car I have owned It was still a great car for me. Had some real good times in it & took it to places a lot of 4x4s owners wouldn't dream of going. She got left in the middle of nowhere a few times while we walked home to get a car to tow us out in my canoeing days.
Since then they have just got better.
AnswerID: 413193

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 20:35

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 20:35
That dog of a thing was a rebadged Torana with that poxy "cam in head" 2.0 L motor sourced from who knows where?

We owned an 80 UC Torana with the old 202 (3.3 L) and she ws a fair old jigger. Heaps of grunt for its day and never gave us a day's trouble; such was the old "Red Motor".

FollowupID: 683272

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 20:50

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 20:50
Such was the" Old Red Motors".....reliable' ....But the fuel!!! "My God!!!"

Hi Jim

FollowupID: 683276

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 21:31

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 21:31
Yes, a mate had a 79 hatch auto. Best he ever got was 17mpg on a long trip, otherwise he didn't even want to know what consumption it gave round town. An engine past its prime....
FollowupID: 683288

Follow Up By: Nutta - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 21:45

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 21:45
Werent those 4 cyl turdrunners starfire motors?
FollowupID: 683289

Follow Up By: 1arm - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 21:58

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 21:58
I owned one of these for a few years. A VC Commodore 81 I think. As I remember it was a star fire motor. Used more oil than fuel.
FollowupID: 683292

Follow Up By: Nutta - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 22:00

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 22:00
Maybe it was the opel, they were as bad as each other!
FollowupID: 683293

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 22:22

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 22:22
OK, I'll clear this up.

The poxy "cam in head" motor fitted to the Sunbird was an Opel Motor and what a dog it was.

Later, around 1981/2 Holden intoduced the "Starfire Four". It was essentially the 173 ci (or 2850 cc) red motor with two cylinders cut off. It was 1.9 L of OHV 1950's technology that produced lacklustre power and perfiormance. Toyota also fitted this dog of a motor to locally produced Coromas to adhere to "local content" rules of the time.

FollowupID: 683295

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 20:34

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 20:34

The most expensive vehicle we had was a Ford Explorer, servicing costs and repairs cost us a fortune, Front Wheel Bearing $1200 plus labour, Thermostat replacement $785-00, Auto Transmission / Engine Management Adustment $4900, and trade in valuation shocking, bought it for the Cook brand new, couldn,t wait to get rid of it.

AnswerID: 413196

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 20:40

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 20:40
Dazza, Looking after the cook is always a worry!!..lol.

That thing certainley cost a quid though EH!!?

FollowupID: 683274

Follow Up By: Fatso - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 20:54

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 20:54
The brother-inlaw had one of those Exploders. It was on a tow truck within 2 hours of leaving the dealership the day he picked it up.
He copped a real lemon.
FollowupID: 683279

Follow Up By: Nutta - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 21:47

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 21:47
Werent they the biggest selling suv in the states? Makes u wonder how!
FollowupID: 683290

Reply By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 20:53

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 20:53
i had an ezy loader with the R2 in it, she did 489k before she spat a head gasket, then i had another R2 E2200 and it was good also. i had heard of many head problems with the early ones but i guess i was lucky. the worst..............probably the 4D56 powered Bitsa bleep i van i had. leaked oil, forever broke down, hard to start etc etc. was glad to see the back of it.
AnswerID: 413198

Reply By: Dave... Adelaide (SA - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 21:07

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 21:07
Worst vehicle i ever owned was a 68 Valiant Pacer with the 225 slant 6 in it, had plenty of balls, but what a piece of CRAP!!...Couldn't wait to get rid of it, and to think i swapped a HT Holden ute with a 350 Chev block in it .....God i had rocks in my head!!....In the end i swapped the Valiant a couple of months later for a Mini

Cheers...Dave
AnswerID: 413200

Reply By: Member - Wayne B (NSW) - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 21:12

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 21:12
Dark Blue Holden Camira. What a heap. Only had it for 12 months and sold it. Worst New car I have ever had.

Second worst was a Datsun 1600 GL.. Now normally people rave over these cars but ours was a dud big time. Did not go , used heaps of fuel and uncomfortable to drive. Sold that one after 6 months.

Most impressive car for what it was in its time was a 440 1.6 Cortina ( the boxy one) For some reason this car went like a rocket. Even Ford Mechanics did not know why it was just one of those cars. At 80 MPH it would still push you back in the seat on full acceleration.
AnswerID: 413201

Follow Up By: Nutta - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 21:55

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 21:55
My uncle had a 4 cyl 2.0l td, it actually hammered, i used to love driving it!
I dont know how it made so much power, it was like a one off fluke!
FollowupID: 683291

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 21:54

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 21:54
Axle,

After owning a few new ones now, I have come to the conclusion that all new ones start out as dogs but if you iron out the faults and keep em long enough they turn into the best ever.

Point in question: 99 GXL Cruiser 4.2 na diesel. Only had it 18 months but rebuilt g/box twice among other bits of warranty work and flogged it at first realistic opportunity....I reckon it was a dog but so many owners will tell you great stories of 500+ thousand k's on theirs and best vehicle they ever had. Had I kept fixing it and kept it long enough I may well have been singing these same praises.

Another point in question: 2000 ST t/d Patrol. Have had it 10yrs but the first 2yrs were an absolute nightmare leaving no other option but to keep fixing it and perservere with it. With nearly 400 thousand on the dial now, I now rate it among the top of vehicles I have owned...so much so I have bought a twin for it to sit side by side in the driveway.

In hindsight the best of all was probably the one I hated most in the begining. Dare I say it but it was a brand spanking 96 3.5 Petrol Paj with DOHC. Took that damn thing back so many times for an annoying auto box whine from day dot it was not funny. Nobody could find the problem but all agreed it was a whiner (not me the car)...the more I drove it and I drove it very hard towing very big loads the more it just thrilled me. 170 thousand k's in a couple of years and traded it for better fuel economy but realised soon after that, that this was a big mistake ....anyway such is life. Never put a spanner to it in 170K, forget the fuel, the lack of repairs meant it was probably cheapest car to ever own and run in my garage. Mongrel caravan hating truck driver that tried to run 3 caravanners off the road in about 5 k's (me one of them) had his eyes turned to the size of dinner plates when I rounded him up at 135+ kph and feed it to him both barrels all the way to the next town while I was on the phone to his boss back in Brissy who told me his driver was getting the big DCM treatment when he arrived back at the dock. Not something many other vehicles can do with a fully loaded van on the back. No slouch offroad might I add, I remember a very difficult 2.5km stretch of playground that took more than a couple of hours to complete but the stock Paj turned a few modified cruiser and Jeep owners heads when it come through unscathed. My passengers were not so happy and this little stunt is the whole reason why my better half will not come and play in the mud any more.

Best and cheapest one you will ever own is the one you own now, fix what needs fixing and forget it ever needed fixing in the first place. THIS RULE DOES NOT APPLY TO LANDIES!!!! hahahaha

Cheers, Trevor.
AnswerID: 413203

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 22:45

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 22:45
Trevor, agree with your sentiments 100%. Never bought a brand new car in my life and at 63 probably wont. I think people that have the most disappointment in their cars are the ones that bought new and quite rightly expected a trouble free run and didn't get it. When you buy 2nd hand you expect something is going to stuff up. When it does you fix it with the money you saved and move on. I guess being a mechanic does help a bit in that department.
Best car owned is my current 1991 HZJ75. Had it for 16 years.
Worst owned a long time ago 1970 something Mazda Bongo van. Came very close to burning it several times. Even a mechanic has his patience tested by some cars.

FollowupID: 683302

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 08:50

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 08:50
Trevor

I had a 3.5 DOHC Paj too. Great car and great motor. The need for PULP was its achilles heel. Carrying those expensive little bottles of octane booster everywhere in the bush was a pita.

PS Current Disco is a great vehicle (2003 D2 with 140k on clock). I just had a drive of a new Workmate wagon and I can't convince myself the changeover is worth $50k.
FollowupID: 683342

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 09:01

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 09:01
Lol Trevor,....... I think your right, My problem at the moment is i have two that need attention, The trouble is the Landy over a 7yr period has cost me less than a 04 v8 landcruiser has cost me in 18mths, Beautiful to drive , Just can't get the rattle out of the top end, Its wearing me down!!!.

Cheers Axle
FollowupID: 683345

Reply By: BuggerBoggedAgain - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 21:57

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 21:57
You've never known what a crap vehicle is until you buy something from Russia

and the honour goes to the Cossack 650cc motor/cycle for $650

The rider gets a single seat, the pillion gets a 10 inches by eight inches padded square crap glued on frame or back mudguard.

Never ever ever get a flat tyre,after bloodining all knuckles and 2 hours later finally get wheel off, now for the tyre, oh crap.

Hold torch in mouth,throws out more light than headlights,never buy a M/C in daytime,put on brakes left indicators blink,turn on headlights,horn blows.

HOW LONG BEFORE PART COMES FROM RUSSIA, your kidding, I can walk faster,

So much for supporting my friend Simon at Parramatta rd Five Dock who convinced me its a great machine,yes,if u lived in Russia

Two cylinders of crap crap crap,pulled over by cops so many times and explained,yes,the headlights are on full beam,see,this is parking light and

Why is the horn blowing,asked the young constable, I don't know officer?

Just a minute,thump, horn stops blowing, on your way now son.

Resale, don't talk about resale to me, I'll give yah $50 for it,take it or leave it.
thanx,tah.
AnswerID: 413204

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 22:17

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 22:17
2006 Nissan Navara. Need I say more :)
AnswerID: 413206

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 23:23

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 23:23
Peter,

After speaking with you and seeing your Nav's chassis down (up for you) at West Kunderang I can understand why you say this, I know of another owner up here that would disagree and I can also understand why he would as it is a pearler with balls the size of the Olgas that well and truely sit you back in your seat when you sink the right boot. Not sure how many k's on his but I think it is pushing 200 thousand now.

How's my pics looking for the photo comp? will a couple of bottles of Bourbon secure it for me? LOL!!

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 683311

Reply By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 22:22

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 22:22
A TC Cortina!!!! Had the suspension dynamics of a baby's perambulator.

AnswerID: 413207

Reply By: Roughasguts - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 22:42

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 22:42
Have to go to me first car. Dad made me buy a new one, I had half the money and he lent me the rest, but had to pay it off with all my wages, but he did provide the petrol.

Anyway after much re-search I ended up with a new 1979 Chrysler Sigma, 2.0 5 speed, what a pile of junk. Bad on fuel got towed within 3k from new, and handling like a wet sponge, take your eyes of the road for a second and she be in the bushes or over the other side of the road. Or put your foot down on dirt and the back wheels spinning would turn the car around 180 degrees every time.

Bought for 6550.00 and sold her with 25K on the clock for 5700.00 very luck I was.

Then came my second worse car XC GS Falon with the 351 cleavland motor,
never owned a V8 since.
AnswerID: 413209

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 22:56

Friday, Apr 16, 2010 at 22:56
Mine was this Honda Van. not very fast, had it for about 6 months and traded it on a Honda Civic.

AnswerID: 413210

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 08:52

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 08:52
But it looked pretty good!
FollowupID: 683343

Reply By: Rockape - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 06:20

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 06:20
Worst, 2 x series 2 landrovers, I had to come back and get punished more as I didn't get enough of a belting with the first one.

Best was a VC dunny door wagon with a 173 motor, that little motor and diff/gearbox were never opened up, I sold it with a road worthy and 400,000K on the clock.

Have a good one
AnswerID: 413225

Reply By: Yadaki - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 07:02

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 07:02
Worst: Datsun 180B, good motor but everything around it fell apart, and rust!
Best:Toyota Landcrusiser 1998 4.2 diesel, still have it, no rust and just keeps going strong.
First car: 1954 Morris 1000, slow but a strong little thing, then 2 VW's 1959, 1964, they are [I am sure] still on the road.
AnswerID: 413227

Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 07:12

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 07:12
Gee Axle, you know how to get the emotions going mate!

95 Ford Falcon. My last Ford! Door locks (they made us pay before I knew about it was common); blocked radiator – actually a design fault, quite a story; crazy drop in price due to Ford later dumping huge number of leased cars on the market.

2001 V6 Camry. My last Toyo! Every service, electric windows wouldn’t work, come down and stay down – company showed no interest in problem. Oil pouring out all over head in the end. 3 failed (plastic) hinges of central console lid – “minor” you say, well check out the cost.
AnswerID: 413228

Follow Up By: Member - Donks1 (NSW) - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 11:19

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 11:19
I don't want to upset you but in regard too the camry console lid. there is a repair kit for these which is about $20.00 today. Would have been less years ago. Maybe your "stealer" wasn't aware of it...

FollowupID: 683359

Reply By: Ray - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 08:07

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 08:07
I have had three bad vehicles:-
1. Ford Popular. Engine only lasted 30,000 miles. No heater, Transverse leaf springs, Unstable over 50 mph. Diff gave up the ghost. Permanent shudder in the clutch. Rust all over after four years.

2. Ford NA Fairlaine. Auto gearbox cacked it after 50,000 Kls. Head rotted out. Windows fell down. Climate control would not heat vehicle.

3. Ford F150 tray top. Clutch problems twice. Second time friction plate exploded. Exhaust manifold kept leaking. Very slow to put fuel in. Couldn't use rear fuel tank. Dash board fell to pieces.

I am not a Ford man and would never buy another Ford.
AnswerID: 413233

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 08:25

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 08:25
HZ Holden Kingswood wagon, bought 2nd hand in 1989 for $6K. Spent another $6K over the next 4 years repairing it! We actually tried to have it stolen once by leaving it at the airport car park while we went to Sydney for a long weekend. Unloaded all of our belongings from it, left the doors unlocked and the car park ticket in full view. Even left it full of fuel! Sadly we returned to find it still there! Eventually sold it for $200, although I was in two minds about this. I really wanted it to die, so I was considering setting fire to it just for the pleasure of seeing it destroyed, (it wasn't insured at this time so the payout wasn't a carrot). In the end, we were so poor that the $200 was necessary for us to live.... LOL.... I HATED that car! Turned me off Holden's forever!

AnswerID: 413239

Follow Up By: Spade Newsom - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 19:03

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 19:03
Funny.... I had a 1973 or 74 Datsun four door 120Y that I left stealable many times. I was broke and the insurance was double what it was what I could sell it for. But alas, no body flogged it and sold it in 1990 for $350.

It was a great little car, had minimal problems, used next to no fuel. In the end the paint was holding the body work together though.
FollowupID: 683403

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 08:41

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 08:41
My first car - a 1959 Austin Lancer. Given to me in 1971 by grand mother too old to drive (so was the car in retrospect). Every thing failed- axles, gearbox, engine (rings/bearings, head), starter motor, diff etc. But I did learn a lot about self sufficiency and working on cars. I bought a Morris Major 1620 for parts.

The Lancer was full of rust, the passenger floor didn't exist- some joked you could do a Flintstones impersonation when the car was unable to propel itself.

I had friends with similar cars. The best was the Wolseley variant. I dreamed of owning a Riley 1.5. One mate got an MGA 1500. I liked the twin carbs so started to acquire the bits but the car died finally when a mate did a wheel spin in reverse and snapped another axle. By then I'd had enough and bought a Hillman Minx with a 1725 motor. Now that was a good car.
AnswerID: 413240

Reply By: landed eagle - Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 08:43

Saturday, Apr 17, 2010 at 08:43
For most of my life I've been a working Rock muso.
This has necessitated having a 'good' car and a 'pub' car. I've owned four XT (1968) Falcon Wagon pub cars and every one has been brilliant. They were old but didn't attract attention outside pubs. I didn't really care if I found someone standing on the roof or asleep on the bonnet after a gig,and yes, it happened quite often.That great big shiny piece of railway track they called a front bumper bar was useful for push-starting fellow players vehicles on the odd occasion that a flat battery happened.

In between these XTs I decided to upgrade to a newer model and picked up an 83 XE wagon.

What a load of rubbish! Thirsty and handled like a ship,and what was the point of the pointless 'econoguage' on the dash? Things broke and it rattled after few trips with a back full of gear.
Got rid of it after 8 months and got another XT , this is in 1990, and felt right at home again.

I'll also put my hand up to owning a 91 Magna.........no more to be said really.
AnswerID: 413241

Reply By: Member - Geoff H (QLD) - Sunday, Apr 18, 2010 at 09:56

Sunday, Apr 18, 2010 at 09:56
I had some sort of nostalgic attachment to Land Rovers in my young day and bought 2 series 2 Land Rovers thinking the second would be better than the first.

Any sort of moisture stopped them from starting, but it was fun being able to accelerate flat out from the turnoff to home and not exceed the speed limit.
AnswerID: 413381